thanks sifu entau. which model of tamiya airbrush you using and what happen to the cheap one airbrush? mind to share more in detail? haha
Model Kits Plastic Car Models, ******* Car Modelers!! Come In *******
Dec 17 2010, 06:06 PM
183 posts Joined: Jul 2009 |
thanks sifu entau. which model of tamiya airbrush you using and what happen to the cheap one airbrush? mind to share more in detail? haha
Dec 20 2010, 11:49 AM
0 posts Joined: Sep 2010 |
QUOTE(benedict1213 @ Dec 17 2010, 06:06 PM) thanks sifu entau. which model of tamiya airbrush you using and what happen to the cheap one airbrush? mind to share more in detail? haha I'm using this one:http://www.hlj.com/product/TAM74532 the cheap one still usable but i duwan to use it anymore, it always stuck if not cleaned properly, so i had to waste a lot of time cleaning it before i can even start to paint, can't spray too wide or too fine, really not nice to use, but still can achieve nice work, just very troublesome & waste my time every time i use it, the Tamiya AB can spray very fine & very wide (good for car body) very easy to clean, and finger no cramp when use for a long period. IMO for starter can just use cheap AB first, after you gain your skill then only buy the Tamiya AB, is like buying your first car, buy a proton, langgar also no problem, cheap to fix This post has been edited by Entau: Dec 20 2010, 11:49 AM |
Dec 21 2010, 05:58 PM
hahaha still got like that? how about one go buy honda? will that better? not need to spend 2 AB.. how about if i get da AB that you using, will that alright? what yr comment? sigh... i got no credit card..... ><
Dec 21 2010, 06:09 PM
if money is not an issue, then buy Tamiya AB
Tamiya AB + Compressor will easily reach RM1K, better make sure you are serious about it, later you lost interest in modeling you dun blame me for burning 1K in your pocket |
Dec 21 2010, 06:20 PM
hmmm.. true pun. so how ah? should i proceed? you play R/C? hmmm.. RM1K get R/C or Air compressor and AB kit.. hmmm.. headache! haha
Dec 21 2010, 06:34 PM
since u got budget issue, i suggest you get those cheap 0.3 airbrush for starter, preferably around RM100, i think compressor(with tank) is around rm350-400,
i'm not really sure coz i just got mine (2nd hand compressor) from a friend for rm250 since my bro took back his compressor no, i dun play RC |
Dec 21 2010, 06:44 PM
i see.. i think i get compressor better because from experience can become a work and service to other next time. next one.. btw, don mind to give me a comment on this compressor?
http://www.hobbiescorner.com//product_info...products_id=454 http://www.mgs2u.com/shop/browse.php?mode=...48&prrfnbr=3528 which one is better, sifu? thanks |
Dec 21 2010, 07:10 PM
2,948 posts Joined: Jun 2007 |
you can get compressor with gun set for around rm400-500. Doesn't have tank but the small filter bottle act as a mini tank so the compressor doesn't run all the time with it's autocut function.
Dec 21 2010, 07:15 PM
Advocado, thanks, i got your meaning, so that the tank without compressor would not easily hot and overheat right?
Dec 21 2010, 08:14 PM
to be honest, i don't know...already said, i never bought a compressor before
the only way to know is do research & ask those that might have bought them advocado is right, can get the set for RM500, if ur budget is rm500 & below then get the cheaper one lor from what i heard, with or without tank also will heat up (of course without tank will heat up even faster), to be safe, after 30min use, rest for 15min before continuing |
Dec 21 2010, 09:15 PM
2,948 posts Joined: Jun 2007 |
Entau u bud urs from a friend so it's consider a purchase!
You won't be using the compressor continuous. Imagine the paint you'd be using if you do. You most likely do 1 spray for 1 minute, then you're probably need a refill. With a tank, the compressor will fill up the tank then stop, once the tank pressure drops to certain level the compressor starts topping it up. Tank gives more stable output but is bigger and heavier. Without tank, the compressor will run when you press the pen nozzle. Even though there's no tank, the water remover acts as a micro tank so when you press the nozzle pressure goes out from the water remover triggering the compressor to start, so the initial pressure won't be that bad. So the compressor will start stop often. Like entau say both will heat up, depending how you use it. Continuos pumping air into tank will heat it up but it doesn't need to start stop too often. Without tank the compressor will start stop often, it will heat up also but not as fast as continuous, but start/stoping might increase the wear but i'm not too sure. Just make sure it has auto stop funciton. Anyway if you are short of money you can get one without tank 1st, you can get an add on portable tank later which just looks like a canister. This post has been edited by advocado: Dec 21 2010, 09:17 PM |
Dec 22 2010, 11:39 AM
yes, but i haven't COD with him yet, so i dunno how the compressor looks like, my bro's compressor is over 20 years old, very different from most of today's model, that's why i can't comment on the purchase
Dec 22 2010, 04:44 PM
thanks sifu sifu...!
I worried those compressor easily spoilt as i am new in modeling.. do anyone selling compressor here? >< |
Dec 22 2010, 04:49 PM
249 posts Joined: Jun 2006 |
QUOTE(benedict1213 @ Dec 22 2010, 04:44 PM) thanks sifu sifu...! well, i doubt compressors will spoil easily.. see how entau's brother's compressor is 20 years old and still fine.. if you're looking for a compressor, find tkting. selling with tank for 300+ iirc.. pm him to check..I worried those compressor easily spoilt as i am new in modeling.. do anyone selling compressor here? >< |
Dec 22 2010, 05:04 PM
do tkting compressor is suitable for modeling and durable?
anyone brought and used tkting's compressor here? don't mind drop a comment here... thank you very much! |
Dec 22 2010, 05:34 PM
249 posts Joined: Jun 2006 |
i have one from tkting. used for almost half a year already. still no problems at all. and yes, the compressors are for modelling. just go to his website and see www.mgs2u.com
Dec 22 2010, 06:00 PM
that will be great, shauno.. thanks for comment bro! look toward to the future and wait for my car model picture soon... all the best!
Merry Christmas! |
Dec 28 2010, 09:25 PM
3 posts Joined: Dec 2010 |
Halo mr cham2020...
im big fan of car collection, and im just starting to collect them... so, u as a most senior person for this kind of field, i hope u can give me some advice regarding to my new hobby.. tongue.gif (actually im crazy of Mitsubishi Evo) 1. beside time square, where else i can find all those cars??..(at TS, what floor?)... 2. what is the average price of the car.?. I hope my question not make inconvenience to you.... TQVM mr.cham2020.. |
Dec 31 2010, 10:35 AM
38 posts Joined: Aug 2008 From: malacca |
great collection of model kits ...
btw..anyone interested in initial D model kits..?? http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1503347&hl= PM me for instant reply.. |
Jan 8 2011, 09:58 PM
9,436 posts Joined: Oct 2006 From: Oz |
Finally this thread is alive. I have a porsche model kit with me but should I buy all the paint required in the instruction manual?
| Change to: | 0.0321sec
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 01:00 AM |