Model Kits Plastic Car Models, ******* Car Modelers!! Come In *******

Entau
post Sep 3 2010, 05:11 PM

Hi all, I'm new here, just want to share with you guys some of my previously built 1/24 cars

1/24 Tamiya S2000, change wheel to 19", added GT wing & modified bodykit
more pics:
http://z12.invisionfree.com/ScaleModelsMal...wtopic=4914&hl=

1/24 Tamiya Impreza WRC 04 Rally Japan
more pics:
http://z12.invisionfree.com/ScaleModelsMal...wtopic=6029&hl=

1/24 Tamiya Fairlady Z ver NISMO
more pics:
http://z12.invisionfree.com/ScaleModelsMal...wtopic=7106&hl=

comments are welcome smile.gif

This post has been edited by Entau: Sep 3 2010, 07:23 PM
Entau
post Sep 3 2010, 06:05 PM

cham, yeah! whistling.gif

hellcutespawn, ya, i built them, wanna post more pics unfortunately there's images limits doh.gif
Entau
post Sep 6 2010, 11:39 AM

QUOTE(hellcutespawn @ Sep 5 2010, 04:14 PM)
thumbs up with ur perfect job! thumbup.gif  really dreams can build my model car with such magnificent piece of art...ur painting make me  rclxub.gif
thanks for the flattering word biggrin.gif not really hard, patience is the key, i built very slow anyway tongue.gif
Entau
post Sep 6 2010, 08:55 PM

QUOTE(advocado @ Sep 6 2010, 08:25 PM)
Wow, your cars look just like, if not better than diecast cars. The interiors are superb.

May I know what paint you use for the chrome headlights, also the brake discs?

What material you used for the carpet?

What color/material you use for the mirrors?

And where to get seatbelts, if they don't come with 1?
thanks.. tongue.gif

headlights are original chrome in the s2000, but i use mr color Plate Silver (super metallic series) for the nismo fairlady z chrome headlight

disc brake are painted alclad chrome for s2000, impreza & nismo 350z i use photo-etch parts,

carpet it is Flocking Powder, i trace out the shape, and apply the flocking powder onto double sided tape, and apply like stickers
here's a tutorial, the difference is that he use glue, i use double sided tape, not so messy biggrin.gif
http://www.italianhorses.net/Tutorials/Flocking/flocking.htm

mirror are metal transfers, apply like stickers, they are usually include, especially Tamiya kit

seatbelt u can try www.hobbyeasy.com, shipping is cheap if it's small item, u can also get flocking powder from there too, but limited colors blush.gif

belt material i savage from those pvc fabric (shopping bag u can find at daiso)
Entau
post Sep 8 2010, 11:59 AM

QUOTE(advocado @ Sep 7 2010, 09:57 PM)
May I know what brand n code is the alclad chrome? Is it shinier than the Plate Silver?

I have Metallic Color Silver Chrome not sure the difference between plate silver n it?

I'm building Fujimi cars so i guess Tamiya cars are much more advance and superior than Fujimi, but Fujimi have more choices for street cars.
Alclad is the brand, code is 107, depends on application, if you do it right it's shinier than plate silver biggrin.gif

here:
http://www.luckymodel.com/scale.aspx?item_no=ALC-107

I think Plate Silver is slightly shinier than silver chrome
Entau
post Sep 8 2010, 02:23 PM

i'm not sure, because i usually bought those stuff online tongue.gif

but i heard Hobby HQ did had alclad last time, not sure now, tkting also had alclad but i not sure how much

for alclad application, it can only be airbrush, and must be airbrush on to black enamel or black acrylic base, no need to thin, use straight from the bottle

i do flock the interior roof, but honestly it is not visible sweat.gif
Entau
post Sep 8 2010, 03:54 PM

ok, i saw some flocking powder at Hobbiescorner, u can try contact "oldman" aka Lam from zero-G

here is the link:
http://www.hobbiescorner.com//index.php?cPath=47_54

or you can try look for Kit at

RSS Hobby
19-1, Jalan Wangsa Delima 2A,
Section 5, Wangsa Maju,
53300, K.L, Malaysia

KIT- 012-3923278
+603-41439968

Mon-Sat : 12 pm - 7 pm
Sun : 2pm - 6pm

(copy form cham's post tongue.gif )

i think Kit does have some photo-etch seatbelt, buckle i made using plastic card/styrene sheet 0.5mm, paint it black & red

normally i used to shop at www.hobbyeasy.com, shipping is cheap and lots of add up detailing parts

do not use the thinner provided in the box, I prefer to use the plate silver without mix with thinner, never try with brush though tongue.gif

alternatively, u can aslo try this for the headlight:
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1397850/+280

it is a type of powder, need to rub on gloss black surface or dark glossy surface

before rubbing the powder:

after rubbing the powder:
Entau
post Sep 9 2010, 12:19 AM

ya, actually really can't do much without airbrush sweat.gif i havent try rub the powder on headlights, so not sure alclad or powder is better tongue.gif

the seat buckle i dun have pictures, but not really hard to do:

1) find some 1mm pla-plate/ styrene sheet
2) cut a long strip around 2mm width, then chop off around 4mm length using knife, lighty sand with 800 if neccessary
3) then cut another long strip of pla-plate around 1mm width, length around 3cm, this time use 0.3mm thickness
4) glue the 0.3mm to the 1mm pla-plate, paint the realease button red first, then only paint the rest semigloss black, after that glue it to the seat, if 3cm too long, trim to appropriate length

can't say it's very easy but not too hard either laugh.gif
Entau
post Sep 13 2010, 03:21 PM

advocado: Tamiya cars are generally easier to built, less work required, parts fitting are usually perfect, hence suitable for beginner, but less choice of cars.
Fujimi cars depend on which model, some are very detail but some are not, fitting are ok, but still require some work to get them looks good.
Aoshima cars are usually simplified, easy to built but some parts like bumpers usually warp and require some work to get them fit right..this is because Aoshima usually separated the bumpers from the body so they could make few variation on a single model, like R34, R34 NISMO, R34 blitz, R34 veildside...body same bumper different.

hellcutespawn & hiroki8704, sorry bros, i don't built for others, i had limited time for building models due to busy work, only built for myself and my built rate is 2-3 kits per year, way too slow doh.gif
Entau
post Sep 13 2010, 11:08 PM

i can't say tamiya are more detail than fujimi, but 1 thing i can assure is tamiya cars are usually more enjoyable to be built compare to fujimi or aoshima. some of the extra stuff u see might be aftermarket stuff, not neccessary from tamiya.

BUT tamiya kit usually does come with metal transfers & window mask, and also colored tailight, that's why i said tamiya are more enjoyable to be built tongue.gif

price wise, u can check hlj or hobbysearch, tamiya kit are slighty expensive but i think it's worth every sen laugh.gif

yeah, that aston martin are quite nice, comes with engine smile.gif if you seen/built Tamiya's Enzo Ferrari or Porsche Carrera GT or the Aston Martin, you will not look at fujimi or aoshima kit tongue.gif
Entau
post Sep 13 2010, 11:47 PM

the clear parts are mold in color, so no need to paint, they dun have grade, but usually from the price you can tell it got engine or dun have

the diablo sv is indeed consist a lot of parts included engine but not easy to built because some fitting issue if i not mistaken sweat.gif

depends, if i need to lowered the car, then i modified the suspension, if not i'll leave it as per since u install the wheel...nothing much can be seen tongue.gif

carbon fiber decal mainly got 2 type, twill weave & plain weave..u just search and you'll know what's the different, yeah, u need to trace out the shape first

like my impreza wrc rear poiler i had to trace out a total of 20 pieces sweat.gif

yeah, i think the fine particle is to create rough texture like sandpaper, to replicate texture like momo stering or bucket seat tongue.gif
Entau
post Sep 14 2010, 02:33 AM

not hard, just time consuming..and little patience tongue.gif
i haven't tried those particles, but i tried add putty into flat paint and spray using airbrush at long distance, works fine

you are right, a decent diecast with details just cost around rm300-400, while a car kit cost around rm100, reason is because not much people into car modeling, that's why the price is not cheap...although it is much cheaper in HK, i got my tamiya fairlady z nismo just for around rm70, but of course not included Photo-etch set, paint and flocking and etc..estimated each kit i usually spend around rm150-rm200 for everything, BUT there's some difference between model kit and die-cast, both had pros & cons biggrin.gif

and owning a diecast & buidling a model kit had different kinda satisfaction as well laugh.gif

i have seen model kits much much more detail than diecast, reason is that diecast is also made by hand, some are mass, some are limited production, and usually the limited one are very expensive. tongue.gif

each diecast had a total building time, let say 20 hours (not including designing the mould & diecast, just paint & construction time), they try not to spend too much time on it or else they rugi workmanship, BUT you can spend many hours on a model kit, those super detail model kit takes around 1-2 years of building time, so you think which is more detail? laugh.gif

here's a VERY detail 1/20 F1 model kit, built by a japanese, you wouldn't see such detail in a 1/20 diecast brows.gif

more pics here:
http://gdist43.com/gallery/index_23.htm
Entau
post Sep 17 2010, 08:33 AM

QUOTE(hellcutespawn @ Sep 17 2010, 01:28 AM)

thats extremely  rclxub.gif  japanese built it?...u send ur model to be built by japanese?
not mine, some work by japanese modeler that i accidentally found on the web sweat.gif
Entau
post Sep 20 2010, 02:24 PM

Currently i'm building a Novitec Rosso 599, converted from a normal Ferrari 599 biggrin.gif

The original kit

I added front splitter, rear spoiler, modified the side air vent and replace wheel to Novitec Rosso wheel

Entau
post Sep 20 2010, 10:10 PM

I made my self, using 0.5 pla-plate aka styrene sheet tongue.gif

here's the detail process:
http://z12.invisionfree.com/ScaleModelsMal...opic=7076&st=15
Entau
post Sep 21 2010, 07:30 PM

so many questions.. laugh.gif

Can explain more about this pla-plate aka styrene sheet? Where can we get it cheap?
you can find it almost everywhere, Tamiya have it, most model shop sell it, i got it quite cheap from ICW, 0.5mm x 6pcs for rm13 i think, in case you havent heard of ICW here: http://z12.invisionfree.com/ScaleModelsMal...wtopic=7103&hl=

Also is there anyway to heat it other than cigarrette smoke?
hot water, hair dryer, candles, any thing that produces heat

And what tool do you use to cut it?
blade, the trick is you draw a line with a sharp knife, then snap it instead of cutting many times with full force, except curve line u need to cut many times, then sand smooth

And what tool you use to remove the extra bits you glued on the side of the front skirt to make it look like 1 piece?
normal file, then sand paper 400 and 600 grit, usually i trim it with knife first, then only file, then only sand

And would using clay be good to do custom parts?
never try clay, but you can try epoxy putty (need to mix A+B type) but epoxy putty normally used for making wide bodykit or body modification, hard to make thin part like spoiler

And how to sand the windows without making it blurry due to scratches? Even 2000 sandpaper will make the window blurry, or no? Can we do the same on diecast windows that have minor scratches, or even CD's, Arcylic Display Cases...
yes, after sand with 2000, you will see scratches, those scratches can be eliminate by compound/polishing, i used tamiya coarse, fine & finish compound and also Gunze Sanyo rubbing compound 2000, yes it is same, but removing scratches is not easy task...and often time consuming tongue.gif
Entau
post Dec 8 2010, 04:53 PM

Thanks subaru22b biggrin.gif

Just complete this last week:

More pics here:
http://z12.invisionfree.com/ScaleModelsMal...?showtopic=7668
Entau
post Dec 8 2010, 07:02 PM

thanks hellcutespawn laugh.gif

madmoz, can...but other brand, not the one i'm using, usually i bought online, more choices...KL is very hard to find..and expensive tongue.gif
Entau
post Dec 9 2010, 05:26 PM

QUOTE(TOROBO @ Dec 8 2010, 10:15 PM)
AWESOME WORK THERE!! woot!!
couldnt believe my eyes,one of my top fav car being done so perfectly drool.gif
^__________________^
thanks! laugh.gif
Entau
post Dec 9 2010, 11:43 PM

QUOTE(hellcutespawn @ Dec 9 2010, 09:23 PM)
entau, can i comment?...erm,y ur novitec rosso front grill looks not well painted... hmm.gif but overall is awesome...  thumbup.gif
sharp eye tongue.gif yeah, i didn't sand up that part nicely before i paint it,

btw..modeling car almost kinda dead in msia hor...i know less than 10 peoples still doing cars, actually the active one is less than 5 laugh.gif

0.0430sec    0.29    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 02:14 PM