100 Pages « < 95 96 97 98 99 > » Bottom

Model Kits Plastic Car Models, ******* Car Modelers!! Come In *******

Entau
post Jan 10 2011, 06:56 PM

QUOTE(XiuKeong @ Jan 8 2011, 09:58 PM)
Finally this thread is alive. I have a porsche model kit with me but should I buy all the paint required in the instruction manual?
not necessary to buy all colors, only those that used a lot like semi-gloss black & interior color, all visible colours that used on the body, under chassis no need lah laugh.gif
jpoption
post Jan 10 2011, 08:19 PM

71 posts

Salute to all notworthy.gif , these models require a lot of patience and experience to complete... rclxms.gif
XiuKeong
post Jan 11 2011, 08:53 PM

[OMG] Sweetie™
9,436 posts

QUOTE(Entau @ Jan 10 2011, 06:56 PM)
not necessary to buy all colors, only those that used a lot like semi-gloss black & interior color, all visible colours that used on the body, under chassis no need lah  laugh.gif
Ok. Acrylic paint or enamel easier to paint those parts?
SUSadvocado
post Jan 11 2011, 11:55 PM

2,948 posts

Arcylic. but most pple prefer enamel as its tougher.

Added on January 11, 2011, 11:58 pmbtw i'm trying to touch up a scratch on my car any tips?

i bought those color coded paint from car shop and after sanding used brush to touch up but filling the scratch up is hell as the paint just won't sip into the scratch to make the surface flat. The area where i sand also become different color not sure i need to spray those areas or just apply topcoat?

After that need to sand to flat then airbrush, but the car paint are quite thick, not sure hobby airgun can handle or not if not i need to thin it.

Hope the rm6 clear coat works also.

This post has been edited by advocado: Jan 11 2011, 11:58 PM
XiuKeong
post Jan 12 2011, 02:52 AM

[OMG] Sweetie™
9,436 posts

If acrylic then it doesn't last long? I'm planning to paint the interior using acrylic followed by a layer of transparent coat.

And does the interior and engine part have to be sand before painting?
Entau
post Jan 12 2011, 02:36 PM

QUOTE(XiuKeong @ Jan 12 2011, 02:52 AM)
If acrylic then it doesn't last long? I'm planning to paint the interior using acrylic followed by a layer of transparent coat.

And does the interior and engine part have to be sand before painting?
what u mean by "last long"? sweat.gif make sure the transparent coat/clear coat is also acrylic or enamel paint, don't use industrial spray can because they will melt the acrylic that u are using

just sand away those mold line and nip mark with 800grit sand paper

if u r going to hand paint the interior, make sure u add some acrylic thinner and do some practice first tongue.gif
XiuKeong
post Jan 12 2011, 06:24 PM

[OMG] Sweetie™
9,436 posts

Friday going rss hobby see some paint...Today did 1st layer of spray...Result is very bad...Can see thick paint at certain area
Entau
post Jan 12 2011, 06:27 PM

QUOTE(XiuKeong @ Jan 12 2011, 06:24 PM)
Friday going rss hobby see some paint...Today did 1st layer of spray...Result is very bad...Can see thick paint at certain area
you use industrial type spray can? maybe u can try tamiya spray can, quite nice & easy to use tongue.gif
SUSadvocado
post Jan 12 2011, 07:34 PM

2,948 posts

Or you spray too close? Those cans in industrial really burst when you spray. Pressure too high too much volume coming out no way to reduce the pressure just keep a further distance... The angle is pretty wide also.
XiuKeong
post Jan 12 2011, 08:56 PM

[OMG] Sweetie™
9,436 posts

I used tamiya pearl white...now have to sand back and spray again sad.gif

What if my tamiya can finish then I use industrial can to spray now can mix ah?
apanama0202
post Jan 13 2011, 07:27 AM

Deleted

This post has been edited by apanama0202: Jan 13 2011, 07:59 AM
XiuKeong
post Jan 15 2011, 04:13 PM

[OMG] Sweetie™
9,436 posts

Went to those hardware shops and they said must spray black first then only spray pearl white to have the effect. Is it true?
SUSadvocado
post Jan 16 2011, 10:21 AM

2,948 posts

I also curious, why some paints require gloss black undercoat?
Entau
post Jan 17 2011, 10:29 AM

hard to explain...but it's true, some paint need black as basecoat, because only black can give the 'best' reflection, you can't really see reflection clearly on a white surface..just try it on both black base & white base and you u'll know the different
SUSadvocado
post Jan 17 2011, 06:36 PM

2,948 posts

So does it mean your final coat cannot be too thick? If too thick black or white makes no difference right?
Entau
post Jan 17 2011, 10:52 PM

actually it really depends on situations sweat.gif u need to give me an example what u want to achieve laugh.gif
SUSadvocado
post Jan 17 2011, 11:37 PM

2,948 posts

for example mirror like chrome.
Entau
post Jan 17 2011, 11:54 PM

oh...actually i'm still trying that tongue.gif

so far i manage to achieve chrome effect but with one downside, the chrome effect kinda dark, plus it is achieve by rubbing those black chrome powder into a mirror black finish, in other words, if the surface aint smooth, so does the chrome's reflection, and it can't be topcoat, can't be handle with wet hand, i can't get the same chrome effect on white or silver, the powder turn yellowish, it only works on black or gun metal which is very dark metallic gray, see below

alclad chrome and other chrome paint had the disadvantage of can't be 'touch' regardless of polish, topcoat or what ever, means the FINAL finish is spray finish, as smooth as it is, paint still shrink when dried, so it will texturise a bit, means no perfect reflection although the shine & brightness is correct

sorry for being too technical tongue.gif

Added on January 18, 2011, 12:01 amlooks like i showed the chrome spoon before tongue.gif , as for those complicated shape & tight corners like headlight lamp, using alcad chrome is sufficient enough, just that the reflection is not sharp, and yes, you need to lay the alclad chrome as light & thin as possible. alclad chrome can't give you the same chrome effect on white or flat black, only gloss black, because it depends on the surface beneath biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Entau: Jan 18 2011, 12:04 AM
XiuKeong
post Jan 18 2011, 05:13 PM

[OMG] Sweetie™
9,436 posts

Decided to paint full black on the body. Save those pearl white for something more useful parts.

Does red interior matches the black exterior?
DapRocket
post Jan 19 2011, 08:18 PM

81 posts

any hobby shop selling kit model for cars which a lot of choices around pj area? thanks..

100 Pages « < 95 96 97 98 99 > » Top

0.0300sec    0.41    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 10:34 AM