THE DD-WRT V1, For Linksys WRT54G/GL/GS Fans -ONLY-

OKLY
post May 23 2006, 07:01 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,090 posts

DD-WRT SP1 is really working well for me ! Been running it for 27 hours already ! thumbup.gif
Frenly
post May 23 2006, 08:41 PM

381 posts

QUOTE(hardyboyz888 @ May 23 2006, 07:01 PM)
DD-WRT SP1 is really working well for me ! Been running it for 27 hours already ! thumbup.gif
how much will be the cable cost?

OKLY
post May 23 2006, 09:42 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,090 posts

Cable ? I just bought my new WRT54GS since the WRT54G was v5. laugh.gif
prasys
post May 24 2006, 09:45 AM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

JTAG Cables are pretty expensive

http://wiki.openwrt.org/JTAG_Cables

There is a guide on how-to create your own JTAG Cable [for the braves]

As for the rest of us , we have eBay
http://www.ebay.com.my/viItem?ItemId=9729561030
The cable itself is around RM 40-50
PRINZE
post May 24 2006, 11:53 AM

I'm 1337..
2,404 posts

JTAG cable needed only for v5?

what if i'm using WRT45G v3?
zeehond
post May 24 2006, 01:59 PM

94 posts

QUOTE(prasys @ May 24 2006, 09:45 AM)
JTAG Cables are pretty expensive

http://wiki.openwrt.org/JTAG_Cables

There is a guide on how-to create your own JTAG Cable [for the braves]
As for the rest of us , we have eBay
http://www.ebay.com.my/viItem?ItemId=9729561030
The cable itself is around RM 40-50
Building your own JTAG cable is the easy part. Soldering a JTAG header on the WRT board is the difficult part. And none of the Linksys WRT54G/S models have an JTAG header, so what is the use of buying a JTAG cable if you lack the skills to solder the header ?

kev_neville
post May 24 2006, 04:10 PM

Holy Shit!!!
676 posts

Hi, I wanna ask if I wan to buy a WRT54G router, how i can check the firmware? Is it shown at the box?
OKLY
post May 24 2006, 04:30 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,090 posts

Try to avoid the serial number that is starting with CDFB. But it would be difficult as most WRT54G routers out there now is v5 unless you go for the WRT54GS.
kev_neville
post May 24 2006, 05:29 PM

Holy Shit!!!
676 posts

So the safest way to avoid WRT54G v5 firmware is to buy WRT54GS router?
OKLY
post May 24 2006, 05:47 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,090 posts

Yeah. I've gone around searching for WRT54G that is older than v5 but can't find any of them. So in the end I just bought WRT54GS which has the serial number starting with CGN6.
kev_neville
post May 24 2006, 05:57 PM

Holy Shit!!!
676 posts

So S/N starting with CGN6 is the best?? v5 GS also same with v5 G rite??
soulmate
post May 24 2006, 09:08 PM

..your girlfriend said im a good kisser
1,276 posts

QUOTE(PRINZE @ May 24 2006, 11:53 AM)
JTAG cable needed only for v5?

what if i'm using WRT45G v3?
then u shud be able to use dd-wrt flashing method without any hesitation
weeluvmal
post May 25 2006, 09:44 AM

316 posts

or get a WRT54GL... that's a "rebadged" version v1~4 WRT54G running Linux based system.
prasys
post May 25 2006, 10:05 AM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

i cant find WRT54GL in malaysia
kev_neville
post May 25 2006, 07:14 PM

Holy Shit!!!
676 posts

Anyone here knows GS is wat version now?? v5 also?? Can be flashed?
OKLY
post May 25 2006, 07:34 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,090 posts

Nope. v5 and above can't be flashed with 3rd party firmware. There is still WRT54GS v4 in the market. Grab it while you still can.
tvcat
post May 26 2006, 04:21 AM

Mr. Dumb Dumb
2,916 posts

v5 can be flash but only for very very pro people lah..... last month i go lowyatt but cant get v4...
OKLY
post May 26 2006, 12:57 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,090 posts

Have to get the JTAG cable and stuff plus v5 has low RAM and ROM which I say it's not worth the money to get it in my opinion.
tvcat
post May 26 2006, 07:44 PM

Mr. Dumb Dumb
2,916 posts

haha really not worth for it and the risk is too high.........
Dannyl
post May 26 2006, 08:35 PM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

Ok, I'm using WRT54G v2.2 with DD-WRT v23. I'm quite sick of my router disconnections, is there anything I can try? The strange part is that if I don't use the PC, it can BT happily for a day or two with excellent speed. If I start to use the PC, the connection may die anytime.

How often does your router disconnect, prasys?

126 Pages « < 15 16 17 18 19 > » Top

0.0217sec    0.69    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 02:51 AM