Oil & Gas Career, place where grease monkeys gather

pinkdalmation
post Jan 6 2010, 04:29 PM

229 posts

QUOTE(thugs @ Jan 6 2010, 02:56 PM)
High salary? Not really considering the amount of time and effort that you need to put into. And moreover, to warn you that in this oil and gas industry, we're risking our life to do the job.
agreed
theres a reason why you get paid more than an average office worker would get paid .. consider the missed birthdays/christmas/raya/cny/anniversaries/graduations/weddings/general inability to plan anything in advance/etc ... of course lah need some extra compensation .. if not, noone would do it

not to mention the possibility of missing fingers/broken bones/loss of eyesight/loss of hearing/loss of life . . . . .

nothing comes for free
thugs
post Jan 6 2010, 08:09 PM

Tun Tan Sri Datuk Dr. Thug
828 posts

QUOTE(pinkdalmation @ Jan 6 2010, 04:29 PM)
agreed
theres a reason why you get paid more than an average office worker would get paid .. consider the missed birthdays/christmas/raya/cny/anniversaries/graduations/weddings/general inability to plan anything in advance/etc ... of course lah need some extra compensation .. if not, noone would do it

not to mention the possibility of missing fingers/broken bones/loss of eyesight/loss of hearing/loss of life . . . . .

nothing comes for free
That's very right... And bear in mind, some company doesn't pay you OT if you are to work overtime... That normally applies to higher position people like engineer...

Furthermore, you take up a very big responsibility in each project. Normally if you failed to start up a certain platform or whatsoever, which will temporarily stop the production, you're in deep sh*t! Cause one day of loss production equals to million of dollars! What I want to say is, the job is more stressful than the others you can find out there. That explains a little bit higher salary than the other job...
Naratoyo
post Jan 7 2010, 09:58 AM

192 posts

There are 2 different career path that were mingling in my mind for so long, I was confuse and doubt about my decision as i know it would determine some part of my life as well...currently I'm working in Semicond Manufacturing (Top company) in Penang as Facilities Engineer for 1++ year. I had received another job offer as Field Engineer with one of the top 3 OnG services company.

Option 1: Semincond Manufacturing
1. Good base salary & excellent benefits.
2. Other higher opportunity position, supervisor ask to stay back..
3. Easy life, stay with family and hang out with friends.
4. No problem to further Master studies, can choose USM.
5. Not that risky compare to OnG.

Option 2: OnG Services Company
1. Excellent salary and benefits
2. Starting from the ground, training provided.
3. Tough Life, relocate far away...sacrifices needed..
4. Plan to further Master as working...
5. Risky life..

Anyone who has such an indecisive experience before? which path have you taken? Did you regret?
s|dE
post Jan 7 2010, 11:06 AM

Out Of My Mind
715 posts

i have so many friends in OnG industry and my study also cover in this field..
yeah..i know all the risk that u mention about..

but sometimes when i met my fren..walaoOO..

he "payung" everything..money doesnt matter to them already...

maybe i only see him from 1 side...thats true..
thugs
post Jan 7 2010, 12:09 PM

828 posts

QUOTE(Naratoyo @ Jan 7 2010, 09:58 AM)
There are 2 different career path that were mingling in my mind for so long, I was confuse and doubt about my decision as i know it would determine some part of my life as well...currently I'm working in Semicond Manufacturing (Top company) in Penang as Facilities Engineer for 1++ year. I had received another job offer as Field Engineer with one of the top 3 OnG services company.

5. Risky life..

Anyone who has such an indecisive experience before? which path have you taken? Did you regret?
I would say, go with your heart... there's no right or wrong decision. What I can say is, now if you're still single and want more $ and willing to travel, you can choose Oil and Gas. If not, stick with your current job if you're happy with it. smile.gif
pinkdalmation
post Jan 7 2010, 03:36 PM

229 posts

QUOTE(Naratoyo @ Jan 7 2010, 09:58 AM)

5. Risky life..

Question you should ask yourself is why are you considering the change ?
Is it the money? Change of environment ? Want to try different options ?

Bear in mind that moving jobs, especially moving into a different field means you start all over from beginning.. right at the bottom.... so for the first year or so you will work like a slave (this is from my experience, maybe other service companies not so kejam but im not sure la ...)

So be prepared for long long hours, relocation to remote places and getting your hands dirty (like really dirty, forget sitting in a nice office if youre hired as FIELD engineer because that wont happen for a long time)
And the plan for masters will need to be put on hold

Hmmm... other than that. . if youre willing to put your life on hold for a while, give up meeting your friends/family/etc and earn the extra $$ then go for it

Remember that the money may be good but the sacrifices are great ^.^

Its a great experience if you're up for it, but if youre the kind of person who prefers comfortable, clean and routine then you might want to consider carefully
Just go with whatever feels best and good luck smile.gif

Naratoyo
post Jan 7 2010, 05:54 PM

192 posts

QUOTE(pinkdalmation @ Jan 7 2010, 03:36 PM)
Question you should ask yourself is why are you considering the change ?
Is it the money? Change of environment ? Want to try different options ?

Bear in mind that moving jobs, especially moving into a different field means you start all over from beginning.. right at the bottom.... so for the first year or so you will work like a slave (this is from my experience, maybe other service companies not so kejam but im not sure la ...)

So be prepared for long long hours, relocation to remote places and getting your hands dirty (like really dirty, forget sitting in a nice office if youre hired as FIELD engineer because that wont happen for a long time)
And the plan for masters will need to be put on hold

Hmmm... other than that. . if youre willing to put your life on hold for a while, give up meeting your friends/family/etc and earn the extra $$ then go for it

Remember that the money may be good but the sacrifices are great ^.^

Its a great experience if you're up for it, but if youre the kind of person who prefers comfortable, clean and routine then you might want to consider carefully
Just go with whatever feels best  and good luck smile.gif
After I had graduated, I managed to secure a job in OnG service company as well, yet, due to personal reason I have give up that chances and work in Semicond Manufacturing Company until recently I had the second opportunity again...
I would said OnG is interesting...the biggest changes should be the $$ that sounds superb attractive to everybody yet BIG sacrifices needed...
OnG has a better career and future prospect compare to Manufacturing...How long can an engineer in Manufacturing earn RM5k? 3 years?
A fresh graduate engineer can simply earn RM5k in OnG industry within the first year...

Do you guys who work in OnG really regretted with your decision of stepping into OnG??? Mind to share your thought...
thugs
post Jan 7 2010, 06:54 PM

828 posts

QUOTE(Naratoyo @ Jan 7 2010, 05:54 PM)
After I had graduated, I managed to secure a job in OnG service company as well, yet, due to personal reason I have give up that chances and work in Semicond Manufacturing Company until recently I had the second opportunity again...
I would said OnG is interesting...the biggest changes should be the $$ that sounds superb attractive to everybody yet BIG sacrifices needed...
OnG has a better career and future prospect compare to Manufacturing...How long can an engineer in Manufacturing earn RM5k? 3 years?
A fresh graduate engineer can simply earn RM5k in OnG industry within the first year...

Do you guys who work in OnG really regretted with your decision of stepping into OnG??? Mind to share your thought...
Well said from pinkdalmation.

I can see that from what you just said, it's all about $. Yes, O&G is interesting with a better career and future prospect. But then, your career path might not be as smooth as you thought. RM5k for fresh grad engineer? Yes, but it depends on which company you're in. Not every company gives that much. Sometimes, it's the "allocation allowance" which add up till it's RM5k. Most of the time, the basic is only RM2-3k. Well, it all depends on what you're doing as well. Furthermore, they give you so much, they expect you to work and perform much better than those who get only RM2K

There's no regret in whatever we do. We always learn no matter which industry we're in. Same goes to O&G. It's only a matter of what we've learnt throughout the employment in each industry...
EddyHyip
post Jan 8 2010, 04:30 PM

361 posts

well, I join oil and gas company with hopes to go offshore and be a very technical engineer...

i was wrong... got stuck doing office work..
Naratoyo
post Jan 8 2010, 05:20 PM

192 posts

QUOTE(EddyHyip @ Jan 8 2010, 04:30 PM)
well, I join oil and gas company with hopes to go offshore and be a very technical engineer...

i was wrong... got stuck doing office work..
Mind to share what kind of office work you are doing? Sales?
akxj
post Jan 8 2010, 05:35 PM

1,225 posts

QUOTE(thugs @ Jan 7 2010, 07:54 PM)
Well said from pinkdalmation.

I can see that from what you just said, it's all about $. Yes, O&G is interesting with a better career and future prospect. But then, your career path might not be as smooth as you thought. RM5k for fresh grad engineer? Yes, but it depends on which company you're in. Not every company gives that much. Sometimes, it's the "allocation allowance" which add up till it's RM5k. Most of the time, the basic is only RM2-3k. Well, it all depends on what you're doing as well. Furthermore, they give you so much, they expect you to work and perform much better than those who get only RM2K

There's no regret in whatever we do. We always learn no matter which industry we're in. Same goes to O&G. It's only a matter of what we've learnt throughout the employment in each industry...
well, if you were to join any IOC or NOC, you'll definately get 3.3k and above. [shell/pet/exxon]

if you were to join the service companies, you'll get even more. [schlumburger/Baker hughes]

but there are alot of other oil companies as well la, we have oil tankage companies like KIC, we have UMW oil & gas and a whole lot more.

but what you said is true, it is very hard working in an O&G firm, you must be able to fight to learn. No one is free enough to teach you anything!

this is what i learnt from working in daikin and now working in shell.
thugs
post Jan 9 2010, 12:35 AM

828 posts

QUOTE(akxj @ Jan 8 2010, 05:35 PM)
well, if you were to join any IOC or NOC, you'll definately get 3.3k and above. [shell/pet/exxon]

if you were to join the service companies, you'll get even more. [schlumburger/Baker hughes]

but there are alot of other oil companies as well la, we have oil tankage companies like KIC, we have UMW oil & gas and a whole lot more.

but what you said is true, it is very hard working in an O&G firm, you must be able to fight to learn. No one is free enough to teach you anything!

this is what i learnt from working in daikin and now working in shell.
Yeap, but some manpower company just gives less. So, it all depends on which company you join.

Everyone must try to get every single opportunity to learn as much as they could. I find my current company (which I better not name) quite good cause my colleagues are helpful. They teach. I find myself lucky enough. Cause like you said, normally no one is free enough to teach you! But one thing we must do in O&G company, ASK if you don't know! smile.gif

kanabalize
post Jan 9 2010, 12:56 PM

436 posts

Applied for Exxon graduate engineer position....

I figure i would have to wait for 3-4 months for replies riight...
mia_sara
post Jan 9 2010, 08:12 PM

86 posts

i'm a nuclear science student.
do u think there is any opportunity for me to work in oil and gas industry?
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jan 9 2010, 10:34 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

any1 currently doing o n g or wanting to join o n g.. please apply at petrofac in singapore... they are hiring aggresively
nova_freak
post Jan 9 2010, 11:07 PM

99 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Jan 9 2010, 10:34 PM)
any1 currently doing o n g or wanting to join o n g.. please apply at petrofac in singapore... they are hiring aggresively
any idea how to apply? on9 or by post? on9 dun have vacancies in asia (based on the website)...
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jan 10 2010, 12:05 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

aiks.. i will get it from the newspaper for u guys 2molo.,.. sry i dun have scanner here in sg... basically it is from management lvl down to engineers... send in resume to email.. 2molo i post it
nova_freak
post Jan 10 2010, 12:25 AM

99 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Jan 10 2010, 12:05 AM)
aiks.. i will get it from the newspaper for u guys 2molo.,.. sry i dun have scanner here in sg... basically it is from management lvl down to engineers... send in resume to email.. 2molo i post it
ok, will wait for it... thanks a lot bro... notworthy.gif
Naratoyo
post Jan 10 2010, 12:36 AM

192 posts

I have the enthusiasm to further my Master studies in Petroleum/Geoscience related courses while working in OnG industry. Anyone know any university offer long distance learning OnG related courses? Any recommendation?

EddyHyip
post Jan 10 2010, 11:34 AM

361 posts

QUOTE(Naratoyo @ Jan 8 2010, 05:20 PM)
Mind to share what kind of office work you are doing? Sales?
Support team..

Added on January 10, 2010, 11:42 am
QUOTE(EddyHyip @ Jan 10 2010, 11:34 AM)
Support team..
but anyway, I will look forward for opportunity to do more technical job in future...dun wanna waste my effort studying engineering...lolz

I have question to ask for those who already working in oil and gas company.

I find shell safety culture is very strong, which is a good thing as everyone is aware of this life priority when working. Is it the same scenario in other oil and gas company as well?
I find contractors actually account more for incidents...

This post has been edited by EddyHyip: Jan 10 2010, 11:42 AM

214 Pages « < 174 175 176 177 178 > » Top

0.0367sec    0.52    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 09:52 PM