Oil & Gas Career, place where grease monkeys gather

apis_jay
post Oct 2 2009, 10:32 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(onejme @ Sep 26 2009, 02:29 PM)
hye guys.
im still a student studying in surveying and spatial sciences(bachelor) now.
and was a graduated student for diploma in geomatic engineering..
is there any chance im working in a oil n gas field in the future?
hehe..
just asking..
QUOTE(madblacktt @ Sep 27 2009, 01:55 PM)
Yes, go for geotech survey company ..Fugro the best for ur background
nod.gif Yes you got chance to work in OnG. You can be either surveyor or processor. Surveyor is responsible to handle the project given, collect data, & do some reports. In other hand processor task is to process the data, do plans & etc (I dunno the job scope as processor tongue.gif)

Surveyor most of the time working at offshore and processor in the office. And sometimes processor may required to go offshore.

AFAIK, no hiring have been made at the moment (from what I heard in the office). Anyway, you graduate from what university? Coz Fugro tend to pick UTM graduates.

Well, still a lot of local offshore survey company out there such Orogenic, TL Geo Hydro, Offshore Works & more....

p/s: I speak myself as I am a Fugro employee... cool2.gif

This post has been edited by apis_jay: Oct 2 2009, 10:38 PM
acces_denied
post Oct 3 2009, 10:17 PM

13 posts

Hi mr. apis_jay, any open vacancy with Fugro? Previously I have several working experienced with navigation+positioning & survey jobs.. emm, base on your & all my frens experience, can I expand my knowledge+career with ROVs. I'm just dip holder in IT.

This post has been edited by acces_denied: Oct 3 2009, 10:20 PM
apis_jay
post Oct 4 2009, 09:58 AM

145 posts

QUOTE(acces_denied @ Oct 3 2009, 10:17 PM)
Hi mr. apis_jay, any open vacancy with Fugro? Previously I have several working experienced with navigation+positioning & survey jobs.. emm, base on your & all my frens experience, can I expand my knowledge+career with ROVs. I'm just dip holder in IT.
Well, you can check http://www.fugro.com/careers for any vacancies... Which company you working right now?

I'm myself not very sure what the requirement for working with ROV (as I'm in survey division sad.gif ). If you got skills they required why not.
BTW, Fugro got new ROV division in Singapore.
onejme
post Oct 4 2009, 09:02 PM

183 posts

QUOTE(apis_jay @ Oct 2 2009, 10:32 PM)
nod.gif Yes you got chance to work in OnG. You can be either surveyor or processor. Surveyor is responsible to handle the project given, collect data, & do some reports. In other hand processor task is to process the data, do plans & etc (I dunno the job scope as processor tongue.gif)

Surveyor most of the time working at offshore and processor in the office. And sometimes  processor may required to go offshore.

AFAIK, no hiring have been made at the moment (from what I heard in the office). Anyway, you graduate from what university? Coz Fugro tend to pick UTM graduates.

Well, still a lot of local offshore survey company out there such Orogenic, TL Geo Hydro, Offshore Works & more....

p/s: I speak myself as I am a Fugro employee... cool2.gif
i graduated my diploma in Kuala Lumpur Infrastructure University College and now i'm in Uni of Tasmania doing my degree(3rd year).Are u graduated from the surveying stream too??
kaiserwulf
post Oct 4 2009, 09:06 PM

1,110 posts

Guys, do you know any website to find out day rates for experienced hires? 5-10 year experience.
mocha0810
post Oct 5 2009, 10:55 AM

65 posts

QUOTE(kaiserwulf @ Oct 4 2009, 09:06 PM)
Guys, do you know any website to find out day rates for experienced hires? 5-10 year experience.
what kinda position u looking at???

for ROV, check this out...

http://www.rovworld.com/docs/rates.html
apis_jay
post Oct 5 2009, 11:11 AM

145 posts

QUOTE(onejme @ Oct 4 2009, 09:02 PM)
i graduated my diploma in Kuala Lumpur Infrastructure University College and now i'm in Uni of Tasmania doing my degree(3rd year).Are u graduated from the surveying stream too??
Yep. I'm in surveying stream. BTW, I'm graduated from UTM in Geomatic Engineering a.k.a Surveying (for some reason not many people doesn't know about Geomatic) ... Been working for 2 years though...

afosz
post Oct 5 2009, 12:37 PM

Justice, My Foot!
1,413 posts

Hi, I'm a fresh grad in civil engineering, now working at consultancy firm for about 3 months already. Actually I'm looking for opportunities in O&G since final year, but then I'm lack of info where to apply to. Lately I'm aiming for big companies like Shell, SLB and Petronas but due to competition, I doubt they would hire a fresh grad. Mostly requires like 5-10 years of experience.

So anyone can suggest few smaller companies around ? Hoping to work offshore as specialist or engineer or anything that suits me.
poosk
post Oct 5 2009, 12:54 PM

113 posts

anyone work wif Ranhill Worley before? enviroment gud? pay for fresh grad engineer hw much? hear tat turnover rate is high... sweat.gif but fri work half day...izzit all oil gas company fri half day?
most of the projects are onshore or offshore? i prefer offshore projects....

Ranhill Worley is consultant or EPCC contractor? can share more of the company?
LeechFever
post Oct 5 2009, 01:27 PM

DodoBird
2,841 posts

Friday half day? No lah. Saturday and Sunday off only. The half day probably apply to muslim only. But that's in Sarawak, what I heard from a friend of mine.

Turnover rate high? I heard all O&G companies have that.

This post has been edited by LeechFever: Oct 5 2009, 01:54 PM
pinkdalmation
post Oct 5 2009, 03:32 PM

229 posts

friday if its not busy sometimes i can take half day ... but sunday working sleep.gif"

Naratoyo
post Oct 5 2009, 04:22 PM

192 posts

Hi guys,
Can anyone please share the experience working as Junior Field Engineer...
1. How to secure a position as Field Engineer?
2. What to expect during the interview? will be assessed on technical knowledge? need to understand rig operation?
3. Any proposed website to study about field engineer responsibility? study materials available?
4. How about salary wise? Any allowance given if work offshore?
5. Which company provide the best opportunity working as Field Engineer?

thanks... icon_question.gif
kaiserwulf
post Oct 5 2009, 08:50 PM

1,110 posts

QUOTE(mocha0810 @ Oct 5 2009, 10:55 AM)
what kinda position u looking at???

for ROV, check this out...

http://www.rovworld.com/docs/rates.html
Got for company men, night supervisors, OIMs etc?
mocha0810
post Oct 5 2009, 10:51 PM

65 posts

QUOTE(kaiserwulf @ Oct 5 2009, 08:50 PM)
Got for company men, night supervisors, OIMs etc?
sorry, unfortunately i dont...
pinkdalmation
post Oct 5 2009, 11:43 PM

229 posts

QUOTE(Naratoyo @ Oct 5 2009, 04:22 PM)
Hi guys,
Can anyone please share the experience working as Junior Field Engineer...
1. How to secure a position as Field Engineer?
2. What to expect during the interview? will be assessed on technical knowledge? need to understand rig operation?
3. Any proposed website to study about field engineer responsibility? study materials available?
4. How about salary wise? Any allowance given if work offshore?
5. Which company provide the best opportunity working as Field Engineer?

thanks...  icon_question.gif
friend, you going for SLB interview ?
Frenzy0412
post Oct 5 2009, 11:47 PM

47 posts

just wonder do ranhill-worley have process design?
Naratoyo
post Oct 6 2009, 07:45 AM

192 posts

QUOTE(pinkdalmation @ Oct 5 2009, 11:43 PM)
friend, you going for SLB interview ?
Nope, SLB have recruitment?
whitesox
post Oct 7 2009, 03:59 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(Frenzy0412 @ Oct 5 2009, 11:47 PM)
just wonder do ranhill-worley have process design?
yes they have, its all about design, process, instruement, electrical, mechanical, piping, pipelines, structural
alanaw
post Oct 8 2009, 10:36 AM

186 posts

Guys.. Wana attain info. If a person hv 3 years of working experience in construction industry specifically in HVAC (heating , ventilation and aircond ) system. Wat are the posibility of getting employed in o&g industry? What are the suitable position to apply for? Heards o&g giving handsome pay. Wana try my luck with my construction industry backgound. Hopefully it will be relevant in someway. TQ.

icon_question.gif icon_question.gif icon_question.gif icon_question.gif icon_question.gif icon_question.gif hmm.gif hmm.gif hmm.gif hmm.gif
new~b0y
post Oct 8 2009, 01:00 PM

456 posts

QUOTE(alanaw @ Oct 8 2009, 10:36 AM)
Guys.. Wana attain info.  If a person hv 3 years of working experience in construction industry specifically in HVAC (heating , ventilation and aircond ) system. Wat are the posibility of getting employed in o&g industry?  What are the suitable position to apply for?  Heards o&g giving handsome pay. Wana try my luck with my construction industry backgound. Hopefully it will be relevant in someway. TQ.
icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif  hmm.gif  hmm.gif  hmm.gif  hmm.gif
You have very good chance. You can apply as field engineer. All offshore facilities have HVAC systems. However I'm not sure which company supply HVAC systems for the OnG industry.

214 Pages « < 155 156 157 158 159 > » Top

0.0298sec    1.41    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th December 2025 - 01:25 AM