The best cinema hall in Malaysia!

skylinelover
post Oct 4 2024, 01:40 PM

Future Crypto Player😄👊Driver Abamsado😎😎
11,244 posts

QUOTE(ericling @ Oct 4 2024, 08:29 AM)
Took a half day leave to watch Joker 2 in Velocity IMAX..

Aduh what a letdown. The visuals are great (especially the lighting in some scenes) but couldn't compensate with the severe lack of story and misplaced musical scenes.

I rarely say this, but if you're on the fence whether to watch this in IMAX, you don't have to, it's not worth spending the RM35.

But of course if you already plan to watch this in IMAX, go ahead, but lower the down your expectation and enjoy it!

Side note: in terms of censoring, I think there's only one sex scene being cut. Gutted about it because I think it's one of the more crucial scene.
lol the bomb is real laugh.gif

I guess no more Oscars for Joker 2 then icon_idea.gif

Kinda like Godfather 2 and Godfather 3 with latter drop in quality after 15 years rclxub.gif
Katharsis
post Oct 5 2024, 03:54 PM

QUOTE(ericling @ Oct 4 2024, 08:29 AM)
Took a half day leave to watch Joker 2 in Velocity IMAX..

Aduh what a letdown. The visuals are great (especially the lighting in some scenes) but couldn't compensate with the severe lack of story and misplaced musical scenes.

I rarely say this, but if you're on the fence whether to watch this in IMAX, you don't have to, it's not worth spending the RM35.

But of course if you already plan to watch this in IMAX, go ahead, but lower the down your expectation and enjoy it!

Side note: in terms of censoring, I think there's only one sex scene being cut. Gutted about it because I think it's one of the more crucial scene.
Ooooof, I feel so lucky as I didn't book a ticket for this film. I actually watched the Joker re-run a few days before Joker 2 release. I was tempted to book the IMAX ticket, but felt like should wait since the reviews were rough. Oh well, I'm considering going to watch The Wild Robot and Transformers One again; the latter underperforming so badly cause Hashbros are idiots in advertising it well.

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Oct 4 2024, 01:40 PM)
lol the bomb is real laugh.gif

I guess no more Oscars for Joker 2 then icon_idea.gif

Kinda like Godfather 2 and Godfather 3 with latter drop in quality after 15 years rclxub.gif
Yo don't do Godfather 2 like that. That movie was fantastic and is equal or even at some parts, exceed the first Godfather in terms of Michael's character arc in parelle to young Vito's past. Godfather 3 then yea xd.
skylinelover
post Oct 5 2024, 04:14 PM

11,244 posts

QUOTE(Katharsis @ Oct 5 2024, 03:54 PM)
Yo don't do Godfather 2 like that. That movie was fantastic and is equal or even at some parts, exceed the first Godfather in terms of Michael's character arc in parelle to young Vito's past. Godfather 3 then yea xd.
Haha i never mentioned part 1 because its already a masterpiece itself laugh.gif

By the way Coppola newest flicks Megalopolis just tanked the charts rclxub.gif

I guess it shows art heavy movies no longer relevant with gen Z market sweat.gif

By the way it still surreal De Niro sign up for the Joker and his death scene still as impactful as some death scene in Godfather 1 and 2 rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by skylinelover: Oct 5 2024, 04:15 PM
nnannon24
post Oct 7 2024, 12:59 PM

95 posts

My 5 years long awaited has been fully destructive with a single movie. I'm depressed now... Demotivated and lifeless
skylinelover
post Oct 9 2024, 09:18 AM

11,244 posts

QUOTE(nnannon24 @ Oct 7 2024, 12:59 PM)
My 5 years long awaited has been fully destructive with a single movie. I'm depressed now... Demotivated and lifeless
Haha i think this year end will fizzle out just like last year post Barbenheimer laugh.gif laugh.gif Nothing big will be out from this moment yo yawn.gif yawn.gif
ChrisNoob
post Oct 9 2024, 10:14 AM

177 posts

QUOTE(nnannon24 @ Oct 7 2024, 12:59 PM)
Is ok.... Time to invest in home theatre and watch the classics instead! Godfather 1 & 2 nvr disappoints haha
Katharsis
post Oct 9 2024, 11:14 PM

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Oct 9 2024, 09:18 AM)
Haha i think this year end will fizzle out just like last year post Barbenheimer laugh.gif laugh.gif Nothing big will be out from this moment yo yawn.gif yawn.gif
QUOTE(ChrisNoob @ Oct 9 2024, 10:14 AM)
Is ok.... Time to invest in home theatre and watch the classics instead! Godfather 1 & 2 nvr disappoints haha
We have our mini dual films of Transformers One and The Wild Robot. Amazing animated films for both kids and adults. Highly recommended to check them out; no IMAX or Atmos required haha.
skylinelover
post Oct 9 2024, 11:42 PM

11,244 posts

QUOTE(ChrisNoob @ Oct 9 2024, 10:14 AM)
Me still in shock how did Megalopolis bombed worst than Godfather 1 and 2 laugh.gif rclxub.gif
Katharsis
post Oct 14 2024, 11:14 AM

LOL, Transfromers One and The Wild Robot is back in IMAX in TGV cinemas from Thursday onwards. I guess TGV do read this Lowyat thread hahaha (keep up the good work guys. PS. open a IMAX GT and/or Dolby Cinema hall, please? xd).

While not necessarily required to watch these two films in IMAX, both have great visuals and the Laser projection will help a lot with the colours to be more popping. If GSC also follow suits, I don't recommend visiting IOI City Mall 2's IMAX for these films. I watched Wild Robot there and the middle speakers have problems; when dialogue is spoken in the middle of the screen, it is muffled.

Edit: Seems like a lot of the blockbuster films are re-airing in IMAX, futher including Deadpool and Wolverine and Alien Romulus. Guess Joker 2 is such a flop that they rather use the other slots for these more successful prior films.

This post has been edited by Katharsis: Oct 14 2024, 11:51 AM
redza2k4
post Oct 15 2024, 04:39 AM

31 posts

QUOTE(Katharsis @ Oct 14 2024, 11:14 AM)
LOL, Transfromers One and The Wild Robot is back in IMAX in TGV cinemas from Thursday onwards. I guess TGV do read this Lowyat thread hahaha (keep up the good work guys. PS. open a IMAX GT and/or Dolby Cinema hall, please? xd).

While not necessarily required to watch these two films in IMAX, both have great visuals and the Laser projection will help a lot with the colours to be more popping. If GSC also follow suits, I don't recommend visiting IOI City Mall 2's IMAX for these films. I watched Wild Robot there and the middle speakers have problems; when dialogue is spoken in the middle of the screen, it is muffled.

Edit: Seems like a lot of the blockbuster films are re-airing in IMAX, futher including Deadpool and Wolverine and Alien Romulus. Guess Joker 2 is such a flop that they rather use the other slots for these more successful prior films.
I love when they bring back great films in IMAX. The visuals really pop, and it's just a different experience.
skylinelover
post Oct 16 2024, 11:56 AM

11,244 posts

QUOTE(Katharsis @ Oct 14 2024, 11:14 AM)

81% drop yo laugh.gif new record yo rclxm9.gif

https://variety.com/2024/film/news/joker-fo...lop-1236176479/

QUOTE(redza2k4 @ Oct 15 2024, 04:39 AM)
I love when they bring back great films in IMAX. The visuals really pop, and it's just a different experience.
Haha cant wait laugh.gif rclxms.gif

I think i gonna watch DP & Wolf again

Tolong kasi pump $1.5 billion hahahaha
Katharsis
post Oct 18 2024, 11:30 PM

Well, guess all of us here has got to experience a bad sequel to an anticipated film. You guys got Joker 2, I got Smile 2. hahaha. Watched it in Pav BJ Atmos and it wasn't a good time movie wise as the script imo sucked and wasn't as scary or stressful as the first film.

I also had the courtesy of experiencing rude viewers there being disruptive af by talking loud during quiet, chill moments then messing up the tense build up of a scary scene (seriously, fuck these people).

That aside, hall wise, I visited this it a numeral times already and I can safely say that it is great with its top notch atmos speaker and surprisingly great image quality with the 4k Christie projector (better than most Big halls). Modest screen size but still bigger than normal halls. This is the closest we can get in terms of Dolby Vision/Cinema in Malaysia for now haha.

Anyway, now I can safely say I feel you guys, @ericling and @nnannon24. October has been a bad month for sequels. Guess only Venom now, but the past 2 films haven't gotten great reception, just meh too so HAHAHA. Plus, it is a Sony film so yikes.

This post has been edited by Katharsis: Oct 18 2024, 11:32 PM
ericling
post Oct 19 2024, 07:58 AM

323 posts

QUOTE(Katharsis @ Oct 18 2024, 11:30 PM)
Well, guess all of us here has got to experience a bad sequel to an anticipated film. You guys got Joker 2, I got Smile 2. hahaha. Watched it in Pav BJ Atmos and it wasn't a good time movie wise as the script imo sucked and wasn't as scary or stressful as the first film.

I also had the courtesy of experiencing rude viewers there being disruptive af by talking loud during quiet, chill moments then messing up the tense build up of a scary scene (seriously, fuck these people).

That aside, hall wise, I visited this it a numeral times already and I can safely say that it is great with its top notch atmos speaker and surprisingly great image quality with the 4k Christie projector (better than most Big halls). Modest screen size but still bigger than normal halls. This is the closest we can get in terms of Dolby Vision/Cinema in Malaysia for now haha.

Anyway, now I can safely say I feel you guys, @ericling and @nnannon24. October has been a bad month for sequels. Guess only Venom now, but the past 2 films haven't gotten great reception, just meh too so HAHAHA. Plus, it is a Sony film so yikes.
I will skip Venom as I dont follow the franchise. Eyeing Gladiator 2 as the next IMAX visit, but its a sequel and looking at the trend of sequels, I gotta hold and wait for the reviews from wider audience before going in.. lesson learnt.. hahah

and weeks after Joker 2, I still cant fathom how they really messed up the sequel

This post has been edited by ericling: Oct 19 2024, 07:59 AM
skylinelover
post Oct 22 2024, 04:26 PM

11,244 posts

QUOTE(ericling @ Oct 19 2024, 07:58 AM)
I will skip Venom as I dont follow the franchise. Eyeing Gladiator 2 as the next IMAX visit, but its a sequel and looking at the trend of sequels, I gotta hold and wait for the reviews from wider audience before going in.. lesson learnt.. hahah

and weeks after Joker 2, I still cant fathom how they really messed up the sequel
Normally i had faith in most sequels after 30+ years

Twisters meh
Furiosa meh

Great
Top Gun Maverick

Next in line
Gladiator 2
Ballerina (Wick spin off in POV of Wick 3 ballerina character)

This post has been edited by skylinelover: Oct 22 2024, 04:28 PM
nnannon24
post Oct 24 2024, 07:25 PM

95 posts

Which cinema is the best option for Dolby Atmos?
khainiz94
post Oct 26 2024, 11:16 AM

2,856 posts

BTW does anyone notice that TGV Suria KLCC now have multiple Dolby Atmos + 4K Laser hall in one place?
I think this is the first location in MY that have multiple DA halls.
😆😆😆
vickno
post Oct 26 2024, 12:12 PM

68 posts

QUOTE(khainiz94 @ Oct 26 2024, 11:16 AM)
BTW does anyone notice that TGV Suria KLCC now have multiple Dolby Atmos + 4K Laser hall in one place?
I think this is the first location in MY that have multiple DA halls.
😆😆😆
Not the 1st multiple, as IOI city's Maxx halls 10 & 11 have been equipped with Atmos for the longest of time however KLCC seems to be the 1st to have 3 Atmos halls (not sure if there's more halls).
khainiz94
post Oct 27 2024, 11:10 PM

2,856 posts

QUOTE(vickno @ Oct 26 2024, 12:12 PM)
Not the 1st multiple, as IOI city's Maxx halls 10 & 11 have been equipped with Atmos for the longest of time however KLCC seems to be the 1st to have 3 Atmos halls (not sure if there's more halls).
They are still the first one tho, because all halls are fully 4K Laser with DA.
IOI still dual Xenon projector.
nnannon24
post Oct 27 2024, 11:54 PM

95 posts

QUOTE(khainiz94 @ Oct 27 2024, 11:10 PM)
They are still the first one tho, because all halls are fully 4K Laser with DA.
IOI still dual Xenon projector.
The only downside at Suria KLCC is the hall is quite small to my liking. I would prefer Pav BJ for now
ring41835
post Nov 5 2024, 05:19 PM

QUOTE(megakeygen_zero @ Jul 20 2024, 08:41 AM)
stated under normal imax in tgv's website
I watched D&W in 3D last August
I can 100% confirm Tebrau IMAX is still the old dual xenon projector
No upgrade done on projection side
And its a mystery why they shut down for some months...

63 Pages « < 47 48 49 50 51 > » Top

0.0215sec    0.60    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 03:25 PM