The best cinema hall in Malaysia!

ring41835
post Aug 13 2020, 02:30 PM

QUOTE(wongcalvin73 @ Sep 28 2019, 12:30 AM)
Actually according to lfexaminer calculations, Sunway Velocity IMAX screen is the largest in Malaysia with 19.4m in height and 25.9m in width which is almost as tall as the 70mm Imax in Paragon Bangkok with 19.9m in height with 27.3m in width.
Due to the seating and angle problems, along with the projector not really 70mm IMAX and not even latest IMAX Laser and most of the movies released are not opt for the screen, you will feel the screen is much smaller because the image projects right at the centre where most of the seats were too high thus it felt too small, compared with 1U screen which is just 12.5m in height and 22m in width but the image projects perfectly from bottom to ceiling along with the good seating making it feels superbly large.
Thus, I guess if movies that were released in 70mm IMAX such as Dunkirk or upcoming TENET, will fully utilized the tall screen. While I am sure 70mm IMAX scene would not fully fit in 1U screen as it just not tall enough for the image.
But I am not sure if it will expand along with the screen height on those 70mm IMAX sequence in Velocity.
Anyone experienced or seen 70mm IMAX scenes in Velocity before? Any updates??
Are you sure about this. Coz back in 2013 when TGV announced IMAX TEBRAU, it was declared as the biggest in Malaysia for 70ft height. The hall is old now with ceilings all worn off but the screen to seat position is the best. I've watched in Lido IMAX which is bigger screen but seating position sucks. Tebrau IMAX is still good AF.
ring41835
post Aug 13 2020, 02:35 PM

QUOTE(IdiuU @ Dec 17 2019, 02:19 PM)
They changing all maxx to imax????
Coz now don see any maxx hall option in app
Yes. No maxx hall here in southkey. Got IMAX but conventional dual xenon ones only same as other TGV. GSC don't even hype about it at all. Odd actually. Screen not so big but the seats are super comfy. Even the speakers are the old ones with bass at rear corner.

They have another HALL 4 with Skybox. Hall 4 is as large as IMAX with recliner seats and Skybox is like a private room uptop in same hall with closed window view and individually speakers only for the rooms but you had to buy 4x couch seats in order to watch there.
ring41835
post Nov 5 2024, 05:19 PM

QUOTE(megakeygen_zero @ Jul 20 2024, 08:41 AM)
stated under normal imax in tgv's website
I watched D&W in 3D last August
I can 100% confirm Tebrau IMAX is still the old dual xenon projector
No upgrade done on projection side
And its a mystery why they shut down for some months...
ring41835
post Nov 5 2024, 05:30 PM

QUOTE(megakeygen_zero @ Jul 25 2024, 08:04 AM)
Flexound hall is gone now from TGV?
I donno but I went Toppen TGV few weeks ago
Didn't actually look at the big Flexound logo on the side wall
Sad thing is Infinity Hall is falling as well
The hall is way old compared to how it looked during Dec 2019 launch

No more Infinity logo at the back
No more lights on the Atmos ceiling speakers
The projector is pale, not as bright as it use to be (obviously not bright enough)
Worst part is the ATMOS - atmos content movies sound so dim and bass feel terribly buried
Non atmos content sounds good in Infinity Hall
Even the TV that displays movie title & seating during entrance to Infinity is removed
Screen is still small compare to GSC Paradigm BIG
I was heart-broken looking at how lazy Toppen TGV management are

Dear TGV, if you're reading this
Please built a huge 65ft IMAX like Sunway Velocity in JB with Dual Laser & 12 channel
Even SG people are waiting for new big IMAX in JB (fyi their biggest Shaw Lido is only 35ft high)
Both Tebrau & Southkey are Xenon 35ft puny IMAX, so smalllllllll
We are ready to cash in, what are you guys even doing???

ring41835
post Nov 7 2024, 11:05 AM

QUOTE(Katharsis @ Nov 7 2024, 08:37 AM)
Bro, if the renovation of Sunway Velocity didn't get dual laser even if it originally had that suitable screen, especially in an area of KL, you sure as hell ain't getting it in Johor HAHAHA. You can make a complaint to Toppen TGV but renovation/maintenance will take a lot of time to process and actually happen. Overall, rough for you guys over there.
hahaha you are right bro
I do know one fact that dual laser does exist but even western side of the world won't invest on it because of its price
Its around USD $ 2 million ++
And to be honest IMAX has stopped CoLa projector, idk why
But IMAX now only focus on Single Laser XT Projector which can shoot around 40,000 lumens only
Fyi, their obsolete dual xenon projector can give upto 33,000 lumens
So tbh all the Single Laser XT projectors installed around the world by IMAX is just a tad bit better than Xenon, that's all
So that's what they did on Sunway Velocity as well

The GT Dual Laser is still the best IMAX projector in the world
But its very very rare now
One example is the Cineworld Leicester Sq in London
Even BFI IMAX London have only single laser and I noticed the same letterboxing like in Sunway Velocity

We need a really rich investor to built a whole new cinema building for a huge 70ft screen with dual laser GT IMAX
Basically like how Shaw Brothers worked around 80 years ago
I don't think anyone will invest that much money in our country... haishhh...
ring41835
post Nov 11 2024, 09:33 AM

QUOTE(Katharsis @ Nov 8 2024, 04:30 PM)
Apparently, Sunway Velocity is a using IMAX CoLa projector (https://imax.fandom.com/wiki/List_of_IMAX_venues). After researching and understanding the difference between XT and CoLa, I do believe I noticed that Velocity's image was brighter and the colours were more vibrant; recalling my viewing of Deadpool x Wolverine between Bukit Jalil and Velocity and noticed Velocity's one being superior.

I'm pretty shocked that 1U is using XT considering how big the screen is there. The other CoLa projector is in TRX but that one luxury hall, so they should provide the best (ironically, the screen there is modest in size).

Overall, I think the difference is quite subtle and won't really matter. IMAX is an expensive venture and considering our Ringgit is weak when converting to USD, guess TGV find it hard to afford the more canggih IMAX projectors (GSC is cheap anyway, so I know they won't invest in it considering their recent IMAX halls have quite small screens). It makes sense for IMAX Corp to develop a cheaper yet high value projector so more global cinema chains can afford them and then build more IMAX halls. Overall, I do wish we have more CoLa projectors in IMAX halls, but even more so, I want a proper IMAX GT 1.43:1 hall. However, I am still quite happy that we actually got IMAX Laser, even more so with 12-channel. Audio is becoming important for me in cinemas hahaha.
true, CoLa is better than XT in terms of lumen brightness and colors. I've been to UK's BFI IMAX and its the same case as Sunway Velocity. Both are same screen size even though BFI claims that is largest screen in UK. The screen can only be filled completely by 1570mm projector, not the single CoLa. I watched Aqua 2 which had complete 1.90:1 and it was letterboxed. Same thing as Sunway Velocity. But do check on Sydney IMAX, Melbourne IMAX, Grand Sunshine Tokyo IMAX & Traumplast IMAX, all these have Dual GT Laser coz they can afford it. And GSC is basically using IMAX as a gimmick to cash in more rather than actually built a cinema hall dedicated for IMAX's true large experience. My question was why can GSC spend so much on TRX's luxury but cannot built a good size GT Laser IMAX. I mean RM70 is quite big money for a normal size screen. I would be happy to pay rm100 for a 70ft screen with Dual Laser. They can but they didn't do it, that's my frustration. They are cinema exhibitors but work like noobs.
ring41835
post Nov 11 2024, 10:06 AM

QUOTE(Katharsis @ Nov 8 2024, 04:30 PM)
Apparently, Sunway Velocity is a using IMAX CoLa projector (https://imax.fandom.com/wiki/List_of_IMAX_venues). After researching and understanding the difference between XT and CoLa, I do believe I noticed that Velocity's image was brighter and the colours were more vibrant; recalling my viewing of Deadpool x Wolverine between Bukit Jalil and Velocity and noticed Velocity's one being superior.

I'm pretty shocked that 1U is using XT considering how big the screen is there. The other CoLa projector is in TRX but that one luxury hall, so they should provide the best (ironically, the screen there is modest in size).

Overall, I think the difference is quite subtle and won't really matter. IMAX is an expensive venture and considering our Ringgit is weak when converting to USD, guess TGV find it hard to afford the more canggih IMAX projectors (GSC is cheap anyway, so I know they won't invest in it considering their recent IMAX halls have quite small screens). It makes sense for IMAX Corp to develop a cheaper yet high value projector so more global cinema chains can afford them and then build more IMAX halls. Overall, I do wish we have more CoLa projectors in IMAX halls, but even more so, I want a proper IMAX GT 1.43:1 hall. However, I am still quite happy that we actually got IMAX Laser, even more so with 12-channel. Audio is becoming important for me in cinemas hahaha.
Actually didn't know Sunway Velo is CoLa, I thought it was XT. But anyone here know the screen size of TRX's IMAX?
ring41835
post May 26 2025, 12:09 PM

Guys so I finally catch up with TGV Sunway Velo IMAX after its laser upgrade. Last I watched there was Flash so I can really tell the difference. Also I usually watch in GSC Southkey IMAX which uses 3rd gen Xenon. So here is my thought

Sunway Velo IMAX is the best cinema hall I’ve been in the country. Hands down for this statement. It is single laser and I sat at Row E which is nearer to the screen. But the CoLa laser is super good. Brightness, color, contrast, and native 4K resolution all were obviously better than 3rd gen Xenon in Southkey IMAX

And the 12 channel sound - this is next level experience. There are 4 overhead speakers together with 4 corner speakers (balance 4 behind screen I guess) and the overhead speakers works way better than Atmos. Everytime helicopters fly above screen the sound passes from front to overhead speakers. Amazing precise banging sound quality

One more thing - maybe I overlooked so I hope someone here can re-confirm. Sunway Velo is a 1.43:1 screen not 1.90:1. It is the only such screen in the peninsular. And when they played Superman trailer, the image was from top to bottom of screen. Which means it was 1.43:1 footage rather than 1.90:1 which other IMAX would play. When they played MI8 even with expanded ratio, the images didn’t reach top & bottom of screen. Which is how I realised Superman trailer footage was indeed 1.43:1 which means the CoLa in Sunway Velo can project 1:43.1 footage maybe because the throw up distance between projector and screen is not far like the one in BFI IMAX London

Mind that both BFI London & Sunway Velo screen size are quite the same (85ft x 65ft) but I’ve been to BFI where it cannot even show 1.90:1 footage from left to right of screen because projector is too far from screen

I hope someone can re-confirm the Superman trailer in Sunway Velo. And the experience of watching MI8 in Sunway Velo IMAX was truly OUT OF THE WORLD 😍
ring41835
post May 28 2025, 12:47 PM

QUOTE(ChrisNoob @ May 28 2025, 11:17 AM)
I just did a quick check on Aurum TRX's IMAX price for Mission Impossible.... Frickin' RM140 for twin seats, and no single seats available WTF!
I did reach the entrance of Aurum TRX and but didn’t go watch IMAX there. Yeap its rm140 for twin seats but there are some single seats also. Its CoLa so I’m still curious to know how big the screen really is… no measurements given so far
ring41835
post May 28 2025, 12:50 PM

QUOTE(Katharsis @ May 27 2025, 08:19 AM)
Yo, cool for you to experience Velocity's IMAX and great that you had a good time. The screen is indeed 1.43:1 (1.33:1 to be exact) but the projector is still single laser, thus the max aspect ratio it can produce is 1.9:1. The Superman trailer was in 1.9:1 as there was letterboxing at the top and bottom. I have visited that hall many-a times and watched that trailer too. I wished it was 1.43:1 but alas, it's up to TGV to upgrade to it if or eventually.

If it was 1.43:1, we would have gushed about it here, particularly with Dune part 2 and this year surprisingly, Sinners which has true IMAX scenes. Still, it has the biggest screen in Malaysia so it's still the "best" hall our country has to offer.
So it should be my over-sighting. Thanks for the reply. And I guess I’ll be back here for christmas later for Avatar 3. I know CoLa can handle imax hfr 3d so good.
ring41835
post Jun 4 2025, 06:37 AM

QUOTE(edmund_yung @ Jun 3 2025, 10:24 AM)
I've watched the Inifinity War at BFI London in IMAX 3D, wasn't impressed with the motion and contrast, maybe it is a 3D issue.
Top Gun 2 in GSC Big Starling Mall, love the sounds and great contrast, but it can't do IMAX AR.
Avatar 2 in IMAX 3D at i-City was great visually even without HFR, but could use more contrast and speakers sound so-so compared to GSC ATMOS.
MI in IMAX Velocity was great both vision and sound.
I guess during Infinity War year 2018 BFI was still using dual xenon. They had complete revamp of seats, screen canvas & laser CoLa projection at around 2021 I think. They even did explain why they didn’t go dual laser which is disappointing to everyone coz the image never fills up top bottom left & right side of screen. Its like you zoom out to get better brightness & contrast. Why BFI IMAX is famous is because of the 1570mm projection film of IMAX which is rare. If you wanna catch digital imax movies best option is Leicester Sq Cineworld IMAX which has dual laser, impressive picture quality & great hall.

But then again, IMAX Sunway Velo is such a nice experience. I wanna come back for Avatar 3.

0.0401sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 01:33 PM