+Newbie+
post Oct 15 2012, 09:35 PM

To be needed as The Sand's Kazekage
3,055 posts

Gosh ... sad to see another member might be leaving? sad.gif

QUOTE(alister88 @ Oct 15 2012, 05:00 PM)
so normally blinking can drive 40km more?
but my light, lighted up for about a min den only dissolve. Isnt it supposed to be light on and off within seconds?
Sorry last time my Kenari dont have light for low fuel..  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
I believe the fuel sensor in the Saga is a float and this can sometimes be inaccurate. E.g. stuck

Give it a few minutes and you should get the correct reading after awhile.

As for how far you can drive, here's my own experience.

Our tank is rated at 40 liters. The light comes on when you have 10 liters left. You can't use the full 10 liters due to the shape of the tank and position of the pump.

For me, I can normally drive an extra 30km after the light comes on comfortably. The most I've pushed it in city driving is around 50++km. That time I managed to pump in around RM66, which works out to about 34.7 liters. I remember reading about other forumers who had their engine die and refilled around RM68+-? which works out to around 36+- liters. sweat.gif

So my assumption is that not more than 6 of those 10 liters in reserve is usable and I never try to go more than that. My avg consumption in city is around 10++km a liter, so I should not exceed 60km after the light comes on. I rarely reach that limit (it's bad for your fuel pump) unless in emergencies of course, but it's good to know your limits.

Please do bear in mind that mine is the old blm, so fc should logically be inferior to yours.
alister88
post Oct 15 2012, 09:49 PM

1,367 posts

QUOTE(+Newbie+ @ Oct 15 2012, 09:35 PM)
I believe the fuel sensor in the Saga is a float and this can sometimes be inaccurate. E.g. stuck

Our tank is rated at 40 liters. The light comes on when you have 10 liters left. You can't use the full 10 liters due to the shape of the tank and position of the pump.

For me, I can normally drive an extra 30km after the light comes on comfortably.  The most I've pushed it in city driving is around 50++km. That time I managed to pump in around RM66, which works out to about 34.7 liters. I remember reading about other forumers who had their engine die and refilled around RM68+-? which works out to around 36+- liters.  sweat.gif

So my assumption is that not more than 6 of those 10 liters in reserve is usable and I never try to go more than that. My avg consumption in city is around 10++km a liter, so I should not  exceed 60km after the light comes on. I rarely reach that limit (it's bad for your fuel pump) unless in emergencies of course, but it's good to know your limits.

Please do bear in mind that mine is the old blm, so fc should logically be inferior to yours.
hmm... to be safe, see light go find petrol station... laugh.gif

zeone
post Oct 15 2012, 09:51 PM

A Friend...
784 posts

QUOTE(alister88 @ Oct 15 2012, 05:00 PM)
so normally blinking can drive 40km more?
but my light, lighted up for about a min den only dissolve. Isnt it supposed to be light on and off within seconds?
Sorry last time my Kenari dont have light for low fuel..  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
QUOTE(+Newbie+ @ Oct 15 2012, 09:35 PM)

For me, I can normally drive an extra 30km after the light comes on comfortably.  The most I've pushed it in city driving is around 50++km. That time I managed to pump in around RM66, which works out to about 34.7 liters. I remember reading about other forumers who had their engine die and refilled around RM68+-? which works out to around 36+- liters.  sweat.gif

So my assumption is that not more than 6 of those 10 liters in reserve is usable and I never try to go more than that. My avg consumption in city is around 10++km a liter, so I should not  exceed 60km after the light comes on. I rarely reach that limit (it's bad for your fuel pump) unless in emergencies of course, but it's good to know your limits.

Hi Bros... notworthy.gif

Feel one shld fill up our tanks at earliest possible time rather than wait 4low level warning light 2do so...and risk so many cons shld we run out if fuel eg damaging fuel pump, not 4getting the embarrassment of being stranded cos of running out of petrol!! blush.gif

Ever since me saw a Beamer by the roadside, with its driver/owner(?) filling her up fr a plastic bottle of fuel, me din wanna ever be in that "uncomfortable" position! sweat.gif

So, me hv alwaz made an effort 2top up all my cars' fuel tanks early...the longest me wait was when only 2 bars (now for Saga) left...
Better 2b safe than sorry, rite? thumbup.gif
TSdares
post Oct 15 2012, 09:52 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(alister88 @ Oct 15 2012, 09:49 PM)
hmm... to be safe, see light go find petrol station... laugh.gif
Your fuelly really ganjiong. First fuel up is 83.5 l/100km icon_question.gif

Suggest that you remove that first fuel up to get a more accurate long term FC record whistling.gif
alister88
post Oct 15 2012, 10:52 PM

1,367 posts

QUOTE(dares @ Oct 15 2012, 09:52 PM)
Your fuelly really ganjiong. First fuel up is 83.5 l/100km  icon_question.gif

Suggest that you remove that first fuel up to get a more accurate long term FC record whistling.gif
done... smile.gif
+Newbie+
post Oct 15 2012, 11:00 PM

To be needed as The Sand's Kazekage
3,055 posts

QUOTE(zeone @ Oct 15 2012, 09:51 PM)
Hi Bros... notworthy.gif

Feel one shld fill up our tanks at earliest possible time rather than wait 4low level warning light 2do so...and risk so many cons shld we run out if fuel eg damaging fuel pump, not 4getting the embarrassment of being stranded cos of running out of petrol!!  blush.gif

Ever since me saw a Beamer by the roadside, with its driver/owner(?) filling her up fr a plastic bottle of fuel, me din wanna ever be in that "uncomfortable" position!  sweat.gif

So, me hv alwaz made an effort 2top up all my cars' fuel tanks early...the longest me wait was when only 2 bars (now for Saga) left...
Better 2b safe than sorry, rite? thumbup.gif
I agree, it's just that I did a lot of testing back in the old days ... biggrin.gif
jerrymouse
post Oct 15 2012, 11:15 PM

114 posts

Hello everyone, how are you all doing?

I have one question regarding tyre and I thought this might be a better place to ask than the Tyre Thread as I am using Saga FL and would like to ask other BLM/FL/FLX owner as well.

Last weekend due to minor accident (my car skid on the highway due to raining) I sent my car to tyre shop for inspection and found out tyre "bunga" already gone. Back tyre still ok but one side already "bengkak". What I have done is changed front 2 tyre to Goodyear Duraplus 185/60/14 (this is the best tyre I can find from the small shop, no michelin, no Continental, no other brand sad.gif) Swap one of the front tyre to the back to replace the "Bengkak" tyre.

I am planning to change back tyre as well bcz one side no "bunga" already. So my question is, should I change both back tyre at once? or only change the no "bunga" tyre?
Should I change back to Goodyear Duraplus for back tyre or I can opt for other brand like Michelin XM2 or Conti CC5? Can I have 2 different brand of tyre for front and back?

Sorry for the long explanation but I would like to know what is the best solution for my "weird" case at the moment.

Thank you very much.
cephas dawson
post Oct 15 2012, 11:22 PM

QUOTE(V12Kompressor @ Oct 15 2012, 04:37 PM)
yes. The only way to fill it to the brim is to wait till the petrol tank vomits.
ammm im using 1.3 manual...full tank for ron 95 at rm 45 can give me at least 310km.have u tried using esso??

TSdares
post Oct 15 2012, 11:27 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(jerrymouse @ Oct 15 2012, 11:15 PM)

I have one question regarding tyre and I thought this might be a better place to ask than the Tyre Thread as I am using Saga FL and would like to ask other BLM/FL/FLX owner as well.

Last weekend due to minor accident (my car skid on the highway due to raining) I sent my car to tyre shop for inspection and found out tyre "bunga" already gone. Back tyre still ok but one side already "bengkak". What I have done is changed front 2 tyre to Goodyear Duraplus 185/60/14 (this is the best tyre I can find from the small shop, no michelin, no Continental, no other brand sad.gif) Swap one of the front tyre to the back to replace the "Bengkak" tyre.

I am planning to change back tyre as well bcz one side no "bunga" already. So my question is, should I change both back tyre at once? or only change the no "bunga" tyre?
Should I change back to Goodyear Duraplus for back tyre or I can opt for other brand like Michelin XM2 or Conti CC5? Can I have 2 different brand of tyre for front and back?

Sorry for the long explanation but I would like to know what is the best solution for my "weird" case at the moment.

Thank you very much.
Considering you use them til the tread all worn out, I assume the tires are quite old dy. Therefore it is advisable to change both rear tires.

You can have different brands for front and back. Assuming you have not done any suspension mods (eg. strut bars, anti-roll bars), the tires with better grip should go to the front.
zeone
post Oct 16 2012, 12:01 AM

A Friend...
784 posts

QUOTE(dares @ Oct 15 2012, 11:27 PM)
Considering you use them til the tread all worn out, I assume the tires are quite old dy. Therefore it is advisable to change both rear tires.

You can have different brands for front and back. Assuming you have not done any suspension mods (eg. strut bars, anti-roll bars), the tires with better grip should go to the front.
Hi Bro...

Agree fully that those rear tyres shld b changed as well...considering their condition as is... thumbup.gif

However, re where the BETTER tyres shld b depends on which school of thought one wld like 2follow... tongue.gif

1. It was believed & advised previously (fr wat me understand) that BETTER tyres (tread condition & grip) shld b at the "Driving" wheels ie Front for FWD & Rear for RWD vehicles.
2. A 2nd sch of thought preaches that BETTER tyres shld b at the Rear cos one can ctrl the Front wheels but NOT the Rear wheels.

What do our Sifus hv 2comment on that diff of opinions?
TQ in adv. notworthy.gif
zeone
post Oct 16 2012, 12:17 AM

A Friend...
784 posts

Thank you very much.
Hi Bro...

Thk God it was juz a minor accident!! Cld hv been much much worse! True?

Yup, alwaz chk yr tyres regularly... tongue.gif
They are the only parts of the car that has contact with the road!! Juz 4 small (abt palm size) patches!!
YOUR LIFE depends on those tiny patches.... whistling.gif
Once the wear limits are reached, those tyres MUST b replaced ASAP!!
Also chk 4damage 2them esp if one constantly encounters big potholes & hits the kerbs.... rclxms.gif thumbup.gif
V12Kompressor
post Oct 16 2012, 12:24 AM

No carrots here
2,141 posts

QUOTE(cephas dawson @ Oct 15 2012, 11:22 PM)
ammm im using 1.3 manual...full tank for ron 95 at rm 45 can give me at least 310km.have u tried using esso??
used to use Esso. But now has switched to petronas or BhP. Most of the time is petronas coz there's no BhP at my area.

Added on October 16, 2012, 12:27 amUPDATE:

To those interested with the Firestorm bulk, the end date to place your name is on 20/10/2012.

Delivery and/or installation will commence on 22/10.

Thank You.

This post has been edited by V12Kompressor: Oct 16 2012, 12:27 AM
mat79
post Oct 16 2012, 06:09 AM

1,011 posts

for 40l of tank, effective tank is 37l. Same goes as other prtns. Minus 3l. Bye.

Added on October 16, 2012, 6:14 amand its a bottom-fill design with one way shutoff valve to prevent fuel spills in case off vehicle rollovers

Added on October 16, 2012, 7:14 amby the way, congats dares for the new ride. Any car, if u choose space n luggage capacity, then sedan form wolud suit u, but if u prefer dynamic, hatch design is better coz generally, even for same car like fiesta hatch versus fiesta sedan, hatch has better structural bending n torsional rigidity due to its design, thus contribute to its handling attributes.

Good upgrades dares. Test drive hatch n sedan fiesta, then u get what i mean.

This post has been edited by mat79: Oct 16 2012, 07:14 AM
TSdares
post Oct 16 2012, 08:03 AM

834 posts

QUOTE(mat79 @ Oct 16 2012, 06:09 AM)
by the way, congats dares for the new ride. Any car, if u choose space n luggage capacity, then sedan form wolud suit u, but if u prefer dynamic, hatch design is better coz generally, even for same car like fiesta hatch versus fiesta sedan, hatch has better structural bending n torsional rigidity due to its design, thus contribute to its handling attributes.

Good upgrades dares. Test drive hatch n sedan fiesta, then u get what i mean.
Thanks mat79, didn't test drive the sedan though because it was too ugly for me to consider tongue.gif Do you happen to have the torsional stiffness figures of the Fofi hatchback? brows.gif

Does that mean the Savvy has stiffer chassis than the BLM? I had actually wondered about that for a while - for a same base chassis, would the longer sedan car would bend and twist more than it's hatch brother?
iskazulka
post Oct 16 2012, 08:14 AM

62 posts

in response to dares switch to fofi :

M-Sport press release
aakish77
post Oct 16 2012, 08:24 AM

Guys need help. Does anyone know the original brand of saga flx se window tint. ?

One tiny rock hit the passenger right window glass, and it cracked to a million pieces. Yes the work of the grass cutter.

davidke20
post Oct 16 2012, 08:26 AM

Gabby does not have stronger chassis sleep.gif It handle better because it was designed for that length, engine position also contribute to center of gravity. Belive it or not, standard Gabby is lower than GaGa due to wheel size. Weight distribution was focus ON the shiftstick itself. When I pull a hard corner, I can feel the COG was right on my center console, infact 1 of my entertainment console clip always tercabut when I pull a stunt. Chassis flex in Gabby is still weak without external strut bar's assistance. Much more ass pain on GaGa after I own a Gabby, sorry for not sharing here. Don't wanna spoil the mood for happy GaGa ownership sleep.gif

The only thing I can say is, I still love my GaGa, because its 99x prettier than my Gabby wub.gif
iskazulka
post Oct 16 2012, 08:36 AM

62 posts

QUOTE(aakish77 @ Oct 16 2012, 09:24 AM)
Guys need help. Does anyone know the original brand of saga flx se window tint. ?

One tiny rock hit the passenger right window glass, and it cracked to a million pieces. Yes the work of the grass cutter.
IINM, safetint.
masao343
post Oct 16 2012, 08:43 AM

change in pairs is adviseable.
also, the better thread should be at the rear, while the front with the lesser threads.
if no-thread, better change ASAP, dont wait for another skid/accident

This post has been edited by masao343: Oct 16 2012, 08:43 AM
aakish77
post Oct 16 2012, 08:50 AM

QUOTE(iskazulka @ Oct 16 2012, 08:36 AM)
IINM, safetint.
Thanks man !

126 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0184sec    0.24    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 04:55 PM