PROTON SAGA BLM, FL, FLX CLUB V33, The People's Car

jerrymouse
post Oct 15 2012, 11:15 PM

114 posts

Hello everyone, how are you all doing?

I have one question regarding tyre and I thought this might be a better place to ask than the Tyre Thread as I am using Saga FL and would like to ask other BLM/FL/FLX owner as well.

Last weekend due to minor accident (my car skid on the highway due to raining) I sent my car to tyre shop for inspection and found out tyre "bunga" already gone. Back tyre still ok but one side already "bengkak". What I have done is changed front 2 tyre to Goodyear Duraplus 185/60/14 (this is the best tyre I can find from the small shop, no michelin, no Continental, no other brand sad.gif) Swap one of the front tyre to the back to replace the "Bengkak" tyre.

I am planning to change back tyre as well bcz one side no "bunga" already. So my question is, should I change both back tyre at once? or only change the no "bunga" tyre?
Should I change back to Goodyear Duraplus for back tyre or I can opt for other brand like Michelin XM2 or Conti CC5? Can I have 2 different brand of tyre for front and back?

Sorry for the long explanation but I would like to know what is the best solution for my "weird" case at the moment.

Thank you very much.
jerrymouse
post Oct 16 2012, 04:06 PM

114 posts

QUOTE(dares @ Oct 15 2012, 11:27 PM)
Considering you use them til the tread all worn out, I assume the tires are quite old dy. Therefore it is advisable to change both rear tires.

You can have different brands for front and back. Assuming you have not done any suspension mods (eg. strut bars, anti-roll bars), the tires with better grip should go to the front.
even though the tyre look new (19 months of usage) but I think the bunga already no more. I didn't modify anything to the car, so the car is in stock/original configuration.

QUOTE(zeone @ Oct 16 2012, 12:01 AM)
Hi Bro...

Agree fully that those rear tyres shld b changed as well...considering their condition as is... thumbup.gif

However, re where the BETTER tyres shld b depends on which school of thought one wld like 2follow... tongue.gif

1. It was believed & advised previously (fr wat me understand) that BETTER tyres (tread condition & grip) shld b at the "Driving" wheels ie Front for FWD & Rear for RWD vehicles.
2. A 2nd sch of thought preaches that BETTER tyres shld b at the Rear cos one can ctrl the Front wheels but NOT the Rear wheels.

What do our Sifus hv 2comment on that diff of opinions?
TQ in adv.  notworthy.gif
QUOTE(zeone @ Oct 16 2012, 12:17 AM)
Hi Bro...

Thk God it was juz a minor accident!! Cld hv been much much worse! True?

Yup, alwaz chk yr tyres regularly... tongue.gif
They are the only parts of the car that has contact with the road!! Juz 4 small (abt palm size) patches!!
YOUR LIFE depends on those tiny patches....  whistling.gif
Once the wear limits are reached, those tyres MUST b replaced ASAP!! 
Also chk 4damage 2them esp if one constantly encounters big potholes & hits the kerbs.... rclxms.gif  thumbup.gif
Hey bro, thanks for the comment. I think I will change it ASAP in order to avoid any unwanted accident in the near future. I really hope my car come equip with ESP/TC, at least my car wont skid here and there that bad and lost control.

QUOTE(masao343 @ Oct 16 2012, 08:43 AM)
change in pairs is adviseable.
also, the better thread should be at the rear, while the front with the lesser threads.
if no-thread, better change ASAP, dont wait for another skid/accident
better threads put behind? I thought put in front as my car is FWD.

ANyway if this is not much to ask from you guys, is there any recommended brand of tyre with a budget under RM200? I heard XM2 not bad but will the price come under RM200? Or should I just stick back with the same brand as the fron tyre (Goodyear Duraplus -RM180 per piece) ?

Thank you very much.
jerrymouse
post Oct 16 2012, 04:34 PM

114 posts

QUOTE(masao343 @ Oct 16 2012, 04:18 PM)
i used to listen to our local tyre shops to put newer tyres in the front.
but found out later that the correct practise is to put them in the rear.
a tailspin is often unrecoverable, esp in a FWD. but an understeer u can recover.
Hi Bro Masao,

you have a point there but what I understand from this skidding issue is like this: isn't a better grip/thread tyre when place at the front will eliminate the possibility of tailspin because we have better control of where the car heading? thus preventing the "tail" to swift here and there. If we have no control of where the car going (without good grip), then for example we want the car to go left but the car go right, at the end car "tail" will go left thus causing tailspin.

Correct me if my understanding towards tailspin is wrong as I would appreciate any comment from your guys Sifu. Me just read car book and listen to ppl, does not really know the real situation outside haha blush.gif

By the way Bro Masao, do you have any recommended tyre brand to use on Saga FL? I am currently using stock tyre 185/60/14.

Thank you very much smile.gif

0.0504sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 04:45 AM