Alternator & Starter Overhaul Shop, 40 years of experience
Jan 8 2022, 07:48 AM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
4,081 posts Joined: Aug 2005 |
Went there las week. On avanza 2006 wit 2xxk km mileage. Thumbs up. Jus minor service plus change carbon brush. Rm100. Go behind sshop as front shop getting hot. » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « kimjs90 and Scissorshand liked this post
Jan 11 2022, 06:17 PM
4,350 posts Joined: Oct 2010 From: KL |
QUOTE(low yat 82 @ Jan 8 2022, 07:48 AM) Went there las week. On avanza 2006 wit 2xxk km mileage. Thumbs up. Jus minor service plus change carbon brush. Rm100. Go behind sshop as front shop getting hot. Wow. I think the cheapest bill i see here in this thread» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « |
Jan 11 2022, 10:40 PM
672 posts Joined: Sep 2011 |
QUOTE(babygrand123 @ Apr 21 2017, 05:48 PM) i just went this old shop and get my ori vios alternator repaired but didn't change the bearing because still in good condition with total damage RM170. The husband and wife very friendly and there will shift to new shop for the attached photo. Thanks My Alternator stop charging so went to this new shop again for repairing. RM120 for IC Chip faulty |
Feb 22 2022, 05:44 PM
230 posts Joined: Apr 2008 From: Somewhr... |
came back to Kwong Weng today 22/2/22
weird sound coming from alternator as expected its bearing has worn out as per last visit 26/6/20 didnt change those bearings..was still ok. did also carbon servicing..practically everything in it. still people-friendly..still da best place to check alernators..starters & wiring. Attached thumbnail(s) |
Mar 6 2022, 09:07 AM
1,494 posts Joined: Jun 2012 |
QUOTE(mikeeeee @ Dec 22 2021, 02:28 PM) Went to Kwong Weng today to get my starter fixed. Went early about 9am, I think probably their first customer today 😅 Do they open up the entire starter to service? The sentul shop Magic SLI quoted me rm320 to service and change carbon only for avanza 2011. Seems over priced compared to this Kwong Weng kepong shop.Show the problem to them, starter giving tik tik tik sound only and occasionally it will start after n numbers of tries. They say probably switch/solenoid kaput. Took them a bit of time and additional labour to figure out how dismantle the starter since this is first time they work on my car type. Around 10:40 like that they manage to finally dismantle the starter and start working on it. I had an appointment with dentist nearby so walked there and 1 hour later I'm back and the car is ready 😁 Got charged RM 360 for replacement of switch/solenoid, changing carbon, brush and some servicing as they mentioned there were some friction and caused some rust in the motor. They clean those up. The price is slightly higher than what I was quoted for a half cut starter but I choose to repair as I wouldn't know what's the condition of the half cut starter . Now the car starts everytime 😁. Would like to say thanks to this thread for sharing this workshop. Definitely one of the better and honest shop [attachmentid=11062290] |
Mar 6 2022, 10:25 AM
3,026 posts Joined: Oct 2004 From: KL, Penang & JB |
QUOTE(butthead76 @ Mar 6 2022, 09:07 AM) Do they open up the entire starter to service? The sentul shop Magic SLI quoted me rm320 to service and change carbon only for avanza 2011. Seems over priced compared to this Kwong Weng kepong shop. Ya they did, to change the carbon they have to do that. If not mistaken Kwong Weng is normally charging 200-300 only but my case was a little bit more harder to remove the starter due to tight spaces and uncommon layout, so extra labour charge. |
Mar 6 2022, 02:08 PM
111 posts Joined: Dec 2007 |
Parking for future
Mar 10 2022, 06:16 AM
1,064 posts Joined: Apr 2020 |
Wow.. 10 yrs old & still running thread
Nice sharing.. Wonder is TS still around this forum? 😂 Just wondering, how to know when we need to service our starter & alternator? Myvi 350k mileage here, never done anything on starters & alternator before.. Need to service? Touchwood la |
Mar 23 2022, 08:46 PM
164 posts Joined: Aug 2009 From: KL/Ampang |
Hello..thank you TS..this shop manage to fix my alternator..uncle there is very friendly..I'm using old mivec engine..so the alternator is really expensive nowadays.. even getting free gift..thank you.. amscouzach57 liked this post
Apr 21 2022, 01:32 AM
2,549 posts Joined: Apr 2008 |
Apr 21 2022, 11:00 AM
4,350 posts Joined: Oct 2010 From: KL |
Apr 21 2022, 04:17 PM
QUOTE(cempedaklife @ Apr 21 2022, 11:00 AM) thx buddy cempedaklife liked this post
Apr 21 2022, 08:03 PM
518 posts Joined: May 2006 |
Apr 21 2022, 08:47 PM
May 18 2022, 02:16 PM
640 posts Joined: Feb 2008 |
My car is Hyundai Sonata YF 2010, a 12 years old car. The past 6 months, changed 2 batteries, start suspecting alternator problem, but from the usb plug-in meter, after start engine, it shows sometime 12.5, after running for 30 mins back to 13.8 Yesterday after starting engine, ride for a while the dashboard battery warning light up for 2 seconds then gone. Scare me, straight drive to Kwong Weng Electrical and look for the uncle and untie. Uncle's staff, a mid-aged fellow check and measure, said my alternator sometime work sometime not work. Dismantled the alternator and point out to me that my alternator is not original one, is a recond-unit fixed by the previous owner. He said since it is a recond-unit with unknown quality, not advisable to repair, better change to a new one. He ask me to take the "Original Refurnished KIA / HYUNDAI alternator". All in plus installation with new pully RM580. A it pricey, but i feel better to take the so called "Original Refurnished Unit" over recond dont know what brand one. He told me there is a middle-man company always go to the Official Service Center of different car brand ( Kia, Toyota, Hyundai etc ) to buy their customer replaced alternator and sold to them. Most of the alternator still in very good condition because SC does not do repair, a small issue also advised customer to replace new one. Hope this can last few years. cempedaklife liked this post
May 18 2022, 02:39 PM
it is always better to install NEW Alternator if we can afford it. Even after repairing the old one, it is still not new
May 18 2022, 02:57 PM
640 posts Joined: Feb 2008 |
May 28 2022, 08:33 PM
365 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Done mine today after 4 years tahan telinga with "Grok gok gok" soundtrack at lower rpm (2000 below), replacing pulley & carbon brush.
» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « |
May 30 2022, 11:56 AM
554 posts Joined: Jan 2014 |
QUOTE(47ronin @ May 28 2022, 08:33 PM) Done mine today after 4 years tahan telinga with "Grok gok gok" soundtrack at lower rpm (2000 below), replacing pulley & carbon brush. Is this a pic of the shop?» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Seem different from other pics. Is it the same location? |
May 30 2022, 04:01 PM
365 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(kdr93 @ May 30 2022, 11:56 AM) Same location.You may try Google the company name to get the address & direction. kdr93 liked this post
| Change to: | 0.0221sec
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 05:42 PM |