Alternator & Starter Overhaul Shop, 40 years of experience

empire
post Jan 24 2020, 08:19 PM

2,502 posts

Guys, my 1993 ISWARA 1.5 Auto wire came out. Last month it happened too. While driving on the road at about 80km/h ... the air con blower SUDDENLY became so much stronger even though I didnt touch the air con blower knob. Weird!

Then the burning smell came out from the engine bay. I stopped at the road side..opened the hood and saw this wire putus! I can still drive the car home...but once I turned off the engine... i cant start the engine again.

Is it cos my ALTENATOR has overcharged ? I have never changed or the alternator before since the car was new back in 1993 til now in 2020.

The wire will not SUDDENLY putus on its own...unless there is overload of charge, according to my Mechanic over the phone just now. thats why there is a burning smell when it happened.

Can anyone guess if it is the alternator that needs to be serviced so that it wont overcharge or overload?

This post has been edited by empire: Jan 24 2020, 08:21 PM
empire
post Jan 28 2020, 07:08 PM

2,502 posts

QUOTE(mr_geforce @ Jan 25 2020, 02:40 PM)
there is no fuse between alternator to battery?
huh?
empire
post Jan 28 2020, 08:58 PM

2,502 posts

QUOTE(cempedaklife @ Jan 28 2020, 07:40 PM)
My car already 8 years old 126k km. Wonder if i should service my alternator before it breaks? No symptom, battrry also last as per normal.
After My Iswara has done 250,00 km baru I suspected the Alternator got issue now.
I think you dont need to do anything to your alternator. It should be able to last more than 200,000km before you start to worry.
empire
post Jan 29 2020, 12:08 PM

2,502 posts

QUOTE(mr_geforce @ Jan 28 2020, 09:25 PM)
huh?

that burned wire is from slternator to battery? if it is.. then it will have overcurrent protection fuse in between..
That means my ALTERNATOR is confirmed overcharging la? alamak
empire
post Jan 29 2020, 01:02 PM

2,502 posts

mr_geforce thx for your observation!
empire
post Jan 29 2020, 11:16 PM

2,502 posts

QUOTE(mr_geforce @ Jan 29 2020, 01:37 PM)
in case if you dont have fuse in between.. then normally its from a faulty IC on slternator (the output current is way more than the wire can handled).

if there is fuse in bewteen and it is not broken, then you probably need to see wiring expert to trace the source of problem.
I bought a NEW Alternator (not recond) after asking so many people including my trusted mechanic for advice. Yes you could be right. the IC on my old Alternator most likely died which is why it allowed too much current to overflow and overcharge the battery....and in the process 'exploded' my cable.
empire
post Jan 30 2020, 01:01 PM

2,502 posts

QUOTE(mr_geforce @ Jan 29 2020, 11:57 PM)
my car got 90A fuse in between, so i got no worry. on this..

if you sent to replace the IC with carbon brush probably gonna cost you rm150 only.
Can I ask my mechanic to install a fuse in between the alternator and battery?
empire
post Jan 30 2020, 07:25 PM

2,502 posts

QUOTE(speedy3210 @ Jan 30 2020, 02:48 PM)
That was the old type of safety fuse used on old cars. Kancil 1st gen has this type of fuse too. Go spare part shop to get replacement.

Not sure if your battery connector has the place to attach the new connector or not, but you can try this wira type of main fuse.

Wira Type Fuse Holder
thx man! I didnt know such a thing existed!
empire
post Apr 21 2022, 01:32 AM

2,502 posts

QUOTE(orion_xtrmx @ Mar 23 2022, 08:46 PM)
Hello..thank you TS..this shop manage to fix my alternator..uncle there is very friendly..I'm using old mivec engine..so the alternator is really expensive nowadays..

[attachmentid=11123432]

[attachmentid=11123433]

[attachmentid=11123435]

even getting free gift..thank you..
how many hours it took to repair your alternator?
empire
post Apr 21 2022, 04:17 PM

2,502 posts

QUOTE(cempedaklife @ Apr 21 2022, 11:00 AM)
was gonna redirect you here from your thread.
lol.
thx buddy
empire
post Apr 21 2022, 08:47 PM

2,502 posts

QUOTE(speedy3210 @ Apr 21 2022, 08:03 PM)
Did your engine start normally upon restart (after dying for no reason that is)? I mean did the starter crank with gusto or was it a weak crank?
Weak crank...but still can start. MY battery baru changed sep last year.
empire
post May 18 2022, 02:39 PM

2,502 posts

it is always better to install NEW Alternator if we can afford it. Even after repairing the old one, it is still not new

0.0143sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 04:16 PM