Alternator & Starter Overhaul Shop, 40 years of experience

fishmango
post Apr 27 2021, 12:51 AM

796 posts

QUOTE(danial01 @ Jul 30 2019, 10:10 AM)
Nope, this one at Jalan Dedap, Taman Melodies, Johor Bahru.
Hi, if starter problem, drive the car to this workshop? They can remove d starter and fix it?
Chrix
post Apr 27 2021, 11:32 AM

1,186 posts

QUOTE(fishmango @ Apr 27 2021, 12:51 AM)
Hi, if starter problem, drive the car to this workshop? They can remove d starter and fix it?
technically, you may utilize your insurer's free towing service drool.gif

as long within the radius...
culain99
post Sep 25 2021, 11:47 AM

-----
765 posts

Guys where alternator repair shop in Ipoh?
Boy96
post Sep 28 2021, 07:57 PM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

Car started abit weak today so went to my regular battery shop, was told that my charging system was abit weak so got recommended to this shop.. so went there, they weren't attending any cars at the moment when i arrived

user posted imageuser posted image

Got the carbon brush thingy done in around half an hour.

Before the battery voltage was around 12.9v something with engine running, after done around 14v

Thrust
post Sep 29 2021, 09:36 AM

Power To The People!!!
3,760 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Sep 28 2021, 07:57 PM)
Car started abit weak today so went to my regular battery shop, was told that my charging system was abit weak so got recommended to this shop.. so went there, they weren't attending any cars at the moment when i arrived

user posted imageuser posted image
Got the carbon brush thingy done in around half an hour.

Before the battery voltage was around 12.9v something with engine running, after done around 14v
Which day u went there?
Boy96
post Sep 29 2021, 11:01 AM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

QUOTE(Thrust @ Sep 29 2021, 09:36 AM)
Which day u went there?
Yesterday. Arrived around 12+
lkm51
post Oct 1 2021, 07:36 PM

Hello! Kennot!
2,260 posts

Thanks TS and those who contributed.. went this afternoon as preventive measure, turns out pulley and bearing already KO..

highly recommended place to save you thousands of ringgit

This post has been edited by lkm51: Oct 1 2021, 07:37 PM
culain99
post Oct 1 2021, 08:54 PM

-----
765 posts

QUOTE(culain99 @ Sep 25 2021, 11:47 AM)
Guys where alternator repair shop in Ipoh?
Anyone?
rompers
post Oct 17 2021, 02:36 PM

76 posts

Great write-up and sharing of your experience.

Curious though; how did you get yourself (and the weak alternator) over to Kwong Weng from your home?
Did you remove the alternator unit on your own, OR took a gamble and drove there?

This post has been edited by rompers: Oct 17 2021, 02:38 PM
wshoh
post Oct 20 2021, 10:11 AM

176 posts

QUOTE(rompers @ Oct 17 2021, 02:36 PM)

Great write-up and sharing of your experience.

Curious though; how did you get yourself (and the weak alternator) over to Kwong Weng from your home?
Did you remove the alternator unit on your own, OR took a gamble and drove there?
Gamble LOL. Calculated risk lah - car started okay hence drove to workshop early in the morning to minimise braking. Healthy battery definitely helped and so did turning off air cond and radio
Chrix
post Oct 21 2021, 01:27 PM

1,186 posts

Prior to today, just reply without actually experience, but today is the day that changed.

Vehicle batt light on, it would be intermittent,go over bumps it would momentary off. Anyway workshop tested not charging yterday. Thus today utilise insurance towing to Kwong Heng.

Now waiting remove alternator, hopefully it's more reasonable cost compared to recond (rm650) or new (rm few K).

Final Rm240 not including Rm11 lunch.
Thrust
post Oct 31 2021, 09:44 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,760 posts

Does this place accept credit card?
Chrix
post Nov 1 2021, 10:57 AM

1,186 posts

QUOTE(Thrust @ Oct 31 2021, 09:44 PM)
Does this place accept credit card?
Yes they do
Thrust
post Nov 1 2021, 11:16 AM

Power To The People!!!
3,760 posts

QUOTE(Chrix @ Nov 1 2021, 10:57 AM)
Yes they do
That's great as I plan to replace all the worn out parts in my existing alternator which has been running for 11 years in my current car.
abubin
post Nov 1 2021, 05:46 PM

10,429 posts

QUOTE(Thrust @ Nov 1 2021, 11:16 AM)
That's great as I plan to replace all the worn out parts in my existing alternator which has been running for 11 years in my current car.
If the car was bought used. How to know condition or age of the alternator? I would like to do preventive maintenance too for my alternator if not that expensive.
Thrust
post Nov 1 2021, 06:02 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,760 posts

QUOTE(abubin @ Nov 1 2021, 05:46 PM)
If the car was bought used. How to know condition or age of the alternator? I would like to do preventive maintenance too for my alternator if not that expensive.
Mine was new until now.. Already 11 years clocking in 123,000km.. excluding idle time in traffic jam.. So I thought just let them replace the worn components inside the alternator.

It is better to do so rather than being stranded later on due to a faulty alternator.
mikeeeee
post Dec 22 2021, 02:28 PM

*~Tien9Chi~*
3,026 posts

Went to Kwong Weng today to get my starter fixed. Went early about 9am, I think probably their first customer today 😅

Show the problem to them, starter giving tik tik tik sound only and occasionally it will start after n numbers of tries. They say probably switch/solenoid kaput.

Took them a bit of time and additional labour to
figure out how dismantle the starter since this is first time they work on my car type.

Around 10:40 like that they manage to finally dismantle the starter and start working on it. I had an appointment with dentist nearby so walked there and 1 hour later I'm back and the car is ready 😁

Got charged RM 360 for replacement of switch/solenoid, changing carbon, brush and some servicing as they mentioned there were some friction and caused some rust in the motor. They clean those up. The price is slightly higher than what I was quoted for a half cut starter but I choose to repair as I wouldn't know what's the condition of the half cut starter .

Now the car starts everytime 😁. Would like to say thanks to this thread for sharing this workshop. Definitely one of the better and honest shop

Chrix
post Dec 22 2021, 03:00 PM

1,186 posts

is that a NA miata

noice
Thrust
post Dec 22 2021, 03:03 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,760 posts

QUOTE(mikeeeee @ Dec 22 2021, 02:28 PM)
Went to Kwong Weng today to get my starter fixed. Went early about 9am, I think probably their first customer today 😅

Show the problem to them, starter giving tik tik tik sound only and occasionally it will start after n numbers of tries. They say probably switch/solenoid kaput.

Took them a bit of time and additional labour to
figure out how dismantle the starter since this is first time they work on my car type.

Around 10:40 like that they manage to finally dismantle the starter and start working on it. I had an appointment with dentist nearby so walked there and 1 hour later I'm back and the car is ready 😁

Got charged RM 360 for replacement of switch/solenoid, changing carbon, brush and some servicing as they mentioned there were some friction and caused some rust in the motor. They clean those up. The price is slightly higher than what I was quoted for a half cut starter but I choose to repair as I wouldn't know what's the condition of the half cut starter .

Now the car starts everytime 😁.  Would like to say thanks to this thread for sharing this workshop. Definitely one of the better and honest shop

Hi Mikeeeee.. long time no play Street Fighter with you.. 😁
mikeeeee
post Dec 22 2021, 10:21 PM

*~Tien9Chi~*
3,026 posts

QUOTE(Chrix @ Dec 22 2021, 03:00 PM)
is that a NA miata

noice
😁

QUOTE(Thrust @ Dec 22 2021, 03:03 PM)
Hi Mikeeeee.. long time no play Street Fighter with you.. 😁