Alternator & Starter Overhaul Shop, 40 years of experience

Thrust
post Mar 18 2016, 07:58 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,760 posts

QUOTE(g9000z @ Mar 18 2016, 06:54 PM)
I think it is my turn to visit this shop.
car wont start, not even cranking.
battery still ok, turn on lights still on.

Should be my starter issue rite?
How old is your battery? 99% is due to weak battery that do not have the power to crank up the engine.

A weak battery can still power on your radio & headlights easily.
Thrust
post Apr 28 2016, 02:40 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,760 posts

QUOTE(speedy3210 @ Apr 28 2016, 02:22 PM)
Recently, my alternator seems charging weakly, so decided to pay them a visit. Quite inconspicuous but luckily Waze location shared by Maudermunty above is accurate  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif

Initially tech there (chubby guy) diagnosed it as battery defect (new battery, less than 2mth). Ask me to claim a new battery from my dealer. But I insisted that he service my alternator for it has been untouched for 17yrs/350k km. He agreed and began work to unmount/disassemble my unit.

Turn out true to my suspicion that the carbon brushes were worn. Even the bearing is broken upon inspection. So he did the needful and voila... my car is happy again.

Work performed;
1. 2x carbon brush
2. 1x NTN japan bearing
3. Cleaning of parts/housing
4. Bench testing

Total charges RM90

Will monitor further if got any complication. But initial feel and test at home is the alternator has been rejuvenated.

Voltage measurement when engine bay is hot
When car was quite new 14.3v
Before servicing 13.9v
After servicing 14.2v
The voltage at 13.9 is quite ok... As normally charging voltage will fluctuate between 13.8 to 14.2v.
Thrust
post May 23 2016, 02:22 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,760 posts

QUOTE(ace_halo @ May 23 2016, 02:18 PM)
Just went there to services my old wira alternator, the boss told me just replace the carbon only, the rest still working well. The repair cost only 50bucks.done within 2hours.

5 star services.
How old is your alternator?
Thrust
post Oct 30 2016, 01:10 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,760 posts

QUOTE(aromachong @ Oct 30 2016, 10:10 AM)
repair not so good..

better get a brand new 1 to avoid any inconvenience in future
Repairing alternator will make it as good as new. All it needs is to replace the worn out carbon in it. Why waste few hundred bucks when it can be repair for a lot lesser.
Thrust
post Jun 20 2018, 07:16 AM

Power To The People!!!
3,760 posts

QUOTE(The Silent Killer @ Jun 19 2018, 11:46 PM)
Extremely displeased with the way the boss talks.

Was having a parasitic draw issue. Running voltage was 13+. Usually was 14. The boss say I sinkalan. Went home and fixed the problem myself. Running at 14v again. According to him 14 is "too high". Yeah right my 3 VWs, Subaru, 2 saga all running at 14. He said 14 battery will boil over. I've been fixing my own car for years and AFAIK 15v then yes it's too much. Lousy knowledge and service. Won't be back.
The safe voltage is between 13.5 to 14.2. Above or below isn't good. I guess the boss a bit skl this time but I guess he is trying to play it safe by not going above 14.
Thrust
post Jul 24 2018, 07:06 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,760 posts

QUOTE(VanDriverRocks @ Jul 24 2018, 02:30 PM)
anyone tried.. change new alternator and the engine/car is shaky.. and mechanical said it due to system need to reset as alternator changed.. thus need two day to stabalize..
Doesn't seems logical to me. Alternator working right will generate the right voltage instantly. There is no need to wait 2 days for ECU to relearn.

Anyway, do update us whether after 2 days the shakiness is gone or still there.
Thrust
post Feb 23 2019, 01:36 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,760 posts

Do they do preventive maintenance as in to refurbish running alternator to replace worn out parts?
Thrust
post Aug 14 2019, 06:40 AM

Power To The People!!!
3,760 posts

QUOTE(croydon @ Aug 13 2019, 07:40 PM)
hyundai tucson 2013 new alternator cost 2k

today changed alternator carbon brush & service starter (since carbon brush still good) cost rm280

mileage 205k

They can remove your starter and alternator on the spot?
Thrust
post Jul 22 2020, 08:39 AM

Power To The People!!!
3,760 posts

QUOTE(razerlxz @ Jul 21 2020, 07:59 PM)
Hi Sifus my Old car engine will die sometimes when I press brake during jam. Is this cause by alternator? It will jerk few time and then Macam lose power and die. However if I put N then it will be fine. Sometimes it will die if I reverse too. If aircon off Macam won’t happen. Thanks!
If alternator kong, your car won't start again at all.

I suppose your car is having a clogged throttle body. Clean it together with the MAF, IACV and you should be good to go.
Thrust
post Sep 29 2021, 09:36 AM

Power To The People!!!
3,760 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Sep 28 2021, 07:57 PM)
Car started abit weak today so went to my regular battery shop, was told that my charging system was abit weak so got recommended to this shop.. so went there, they weren't attending any cars at the moment when i arrived

user posted imageuser posted image
Got the carbon brush thingy done in around half an hour.

Before the battery voltage was around 12.9v something with engine running, after done around 14v
Which day u went there?
Thrust
post Oct 31 2021, 09:44 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,760 posts

Does this place accept credit card?
Thrust
post Nov 1 2021, 11:16 AM

Power To The People!!!
3,760 posts

QUOTE(Chrix @ Nov 1 2021, 10:57 AM)
Yes they do
That's great as I plan to replace all the worn out parts in my existing alternator which has been running for 11 years in my current car.
Thrust
post Nov 1 2021, 06:02 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,760 posts

QUOTE(abubin @ Nov 1 2021, 05:46 PM)
If the car was bought used. How to know condition or age of the alternator? I would like to do preventive maintenance too for my alternator if not that expensive.
Mine was new until now.. Already 11 years clocking in 123,000km.. excluding idle time in traffic jam.. So I thought just let them replace the worn components inside the alternator.

It is better to do so rather than being stranded later on due to a faulty alternator.
Thrust
post Dec 22 2021, 03:03 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,760 posts

QUOTE(mikeeeee @ Dec 22 2021, 02:28 PM)
Went to Kwong Weng today to get my starter fixed. Went early about 9am, I think probably their first customer today πŸ˜…

Show the problem to them, starter giving tik tik tik sound only and occasionally it will start after n numbers of tries. They say probably switch/solenoid kaput.

Took them a bit of time and additional labour to
figure out how dismantle the starter since this is first time they work on my car type.

Around 10:40 like that they manage to finally dismantle the starter and start working on it. I had an appointment with dentist nearby so walked there and 1 hour later I'm back and the car is ready 😁

Got charged RM 360 for replacement of switch/solenoid, changing carbon, brush and some servicing as they mentioned there were some friction and caused some rust in the motor. They clean those up. The price is slightly higher than what I was quoted for a half cut starter but I choose to repair as I wouldn't know what's the condition of the half cut starter .

Now the car starts everytime 😁.  Would like to say thanks to this thread for sharing this workshop. Definitely one of the better and honest shop

[attachmentid=11062290]
Hi Mikeeeee.. long time no play Street Fighter with you.. 😁

0.0291sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 09:13 PM