post Jun 2 2009, 05:50 AM

346 posts

wait aaa..... gotta dig the catalog and price list sweat.gif
BikerVoodoo
post Jun 3 2009, 12:56 AM

448 posts

Is there any knifemaker in Malaysia who can build my designs?
alqa
post Jun 3 2009, 12:27 PM

346 posts

whoaaaaaa! our own home-bred knife designer!
come on show us your design la!

depending on your design, I may be able to recommend one or two.. the local ones are more towards traditional design and limited material (metal) selection, or there's a couple of americans and australian knife makers that i've been in touch with who produce high quality blades.. like i said it depends on your design lor
BikerVoodoo
post Jun 5 2009, 06:01 PM

448 posts

Look at the previous pages for my bro's design.
alqa
post Jun 5 2009, 06:28 PM

346 posts

bikervodoo... that's a nice design, but IIRC its already been done. But if you're sourcing for people to to produce that, you'll have more luck with metalworking and CNC machining sector than with custom knifemakers.

from my untrained eyes, the design reminds me of Becker Knife & Tools BK7, BKL9 and BK11. The design principal, size, skeletal tang, etc are similar, except for the metal.. here are the pics respectively:
user posted imageuser posted imageuser posted image

Why dont you head over to Malaysia Knife Forum and bounce your design ideas over there. there are lots of custom knives collectors and a few international knife designers and custom knife makers frequenting that forum who might be able to give you better feedback.

By the way i have forum store there selling production knives like spyderco, becker, ka bar, fallkniven, gerber, victorinox, etc.. feel free to browse and shop icon_rolleyes.gif

Black Bear Blades
post Jun 6 2009, 06:39 AM

196 posts

I am a Custom Knife Maker, I have been making knives for over 30 years! I live in Portland Maine USA. I also am a Tool & Die Maker/ CNC Machinist( for even longer). Here are a few of my knives:

I use Damascus, ATS34, 1095, CPMS30V, CPM154, 440C, AUS10 for blade steels and mostly Acrylic Stabilized Dyed & Natural Exotic Burls for handle material but also use G10 & Micarta.

Added on June 6, 2009, 7:21 am
QUOTE(BikerVoodoo @ Jun 5 2009, 06:01 AM)
Look at the previous pages for my bro's design.
I have looked over your designs and this style of knife has been made by MANY different makers both production and custom. A custom maker named Brian Johnson makes a custom that looks EXACTLY like this. So this tells you that your design is sound. He uses O1 tool steel which is much harder and tougher than D2 but much less corrosion resistant. Another thing I can tell you is as far as the cutouts you need to first make and attach handle material with bolts so you can balance out the knife by removing more and more steel till you achieve perfect balance. Also for this type of knife you want toughness as well as hardness so you need to choose your steel wisely. I would use 440C for my initial prototype and go on to more exotic steels once your design is perfected. If I can be of ANY help please feel free to ask away. I also have a degree in metalurgy and have a full working knowledge of heat treat and tempering.

This post has been edited by Black Bear Blades: Jun 6 2009, 07:23 AM
alqa
post Jun 6 2009, 11:02 AM

346 posts

hello black bear,

welcome to LowYat Net... wow, those are some purty nice damascus you got there! and also thanks so much for the input.

BTW, you sure are wandering pretty far from home wink.gif
kmf123
post Jun 7 2009, 03:58 PM

397 posts

Hello all, I was just wondering, where can i find, or buy a butterfly knife ?

After seeing those people manipulating the butterfly, i got hooked, its way too cool !

Benchmade specifically, are there any sold around klang valley ?
alqa
post Jun 7 2009, 08:19 PM

346 posts

officially they are illegal to own in Malaysia
Black Bear Blades
post Jun 7 2009, 09:16 PM

196 posts

Just a personal opinion here. Dont get me wrong I LOVE Benchmade knives as a whole BUT when it comes to Butterfly knives I prefer the "High End" Cold Steel models over the Benchmades. But if they are illegal which they are here in Maine I would NOT even consider carrying one. This luckily is not a factor for me since I am a Registered Bladesmith I can carry any reasonable blade. I can not carry a Machette for instance. I have a lust for Automatics which are illegal for anyone not an active law enforcement member or Armed Serviceman. But They are also Bladesmith exempt, at least here in the USA. wink.gif
kmf123
post Jun 8 2009, 07:51 PM

397 posts

QUOTE(alqa @ Jun 7 2009, 08:19 PM)
officially they are illegal to own in Malaysia
QUOTE(Black Bear Blades @ Jun 7 2009, 09:16 PM)
Just a personal opinion here. Dont get me wrong I LOVE Benchmade knives as a whole BUT when it comes to Butterfly knives I prefer the "High End" Cold Steel models over the Benchmades. But if they are illegal which they are here in Maine I would NOT even consider carrying one. This luckily is not a factor for me since I am a Registered Bladesmith I can carry any reasonable blade. I can not carry a Machette for instance. I have a lust for Automatics which are illegal for anyone not an active law enforcement member or Armed Serviceman. But They are also Bladesmith exempt, at least here in the USA. wink.gif
Is it illegal in the sense of:
Possession (like guns) or;
It should not be carried in public without a good reason ?
First of all, can it even be brought in without smuggling it ? Like through a tourist ?

Thanks thumbup.gif
Black Bear Blades
post Jun 8 2009, 08:33 PM

196 posts

I believe it is Illegal to carry at ALL Times. OK to own and left at home and can be bought on line for sure. Local shops here in the USA sell them even though they are not legal to carry. Your local expert alqa can answer this much better than I since he lives there....They are a beautifull knife IMHO a work of art. There are some very good Butterfly kits availible that are even higher quality than the production pieces. One done by Daryll Ralphs is particularly fine.
http://www.darrelralph.com/ddr_knives_bali...venturi-ss6.htm

This post has been edited by Black Bear Blades: Jun 8 2009, 08:35 PM
alqa
post Jun 8 2009, 11:41 PM

346 posts

Whoaa there black bear, I'm no expert, just a fella who loves sharp objects, and a few other things wink.gif.. in fact my love for these edged tools are currently limited to production pieces only, thanks largely to *ahem* economic *ahem* reasons blush.gif

Based on my limited understanding, when something is prohibited in the eyes of the Malaysian law, it stays prohibited, whether its tuck away in a drawer in your house, or carried on your person. To my knowledge, just like automatic knives and daggers, butterfly knives and balisongs are a total no-no. if they are discovered by the custom service in a parcel addressed to you, then you'll be called to the custom office to produce your credential (member of the police force, armed service, etc) or to produce the permit to own or/and carry such item.

or normally, they just confiscate the thing, charge you with attempt to possess illegal weapon/prohibited object and make your life a living hell.

To clear the air, let me paste this here (as plagiarized from a post by my good friend and sifu on sharp objects) :-

Under Section 6 of ACT 357, (Carrying Offensive Weapon in Public Places).

(1) Any person who in any public road or place carrries or has in his posession or under his control any offensive weapon otherwise than with lawful authority or for a lawful purpose SHALL be guilty of an offence and upon conviction - be liable to imprisoned for a term not exceeding two years and whipping.

(2) In any prosecution for an offence under Subsection (1) the onus of proving the existance of a lawful purpose shall lie upon the accused.

(3) A weapon shall be presumed to be carried with lawful authority if it is carried -

(a) by a member of the Armed Forcess of Malaysia or any local force of the police force or any visiting force lawfully present in Malaysia under any law relating to visiting forces, or a person in the Government or local authority in Malaysia, and in any such case is carried in connection with the performanceof his duty as such member of person ; or,

by any person as part of his official or ceremonial dress on any official or ceremonial occassion.

Please bear in mind that Malaysia is NOT a land of the free and home of the brave, nor have we the rights to bear arms; hence if there is any reason for the authorities to 'inspect' your house and found this in your possession, or within the compound or property occupied by you, then you shall be made liable and so on and so forth.

a further extraction of the Act 357 also listed the following prohibited items:

1. Any knife sometimes known as "flick knife" which has a blade that opens automatically by hand pressure applied to a button, spring or other device in or attached to the handle of the knife.

2. Any knife, sometimes known as a gravity knife, which has a blade released from the handle or sheath thereof by the force of gravity or the application of centrifugal force and which, when released, is locked in place by the means of button, spring, lever and other devices.

3 Any whip manufactured from bicycle or motorcycle chains or from any kind of similar kind of chainwork.

4. All kinds of knuckleduster.

5. Any blade or other instruments attached to or forming part of a bicycle pump, metal pipe or stick, and concealed therein, which is capable of being used for cutting and stabbing.

6. Any knife-like instrument with three sharp edges and a sharp pointed tip, sometimes known as a "bearing scraper".

7. Any small axe normally used as a weapon and commonly known as "kapak kecil".

8. Any sword, keris, parang or other knife which on any part of it, is written, embossed, inscribed with or which otherwise bears any verse, word or character connected with or related with any religious belief.

9. Any sword or parang which is normally meant to be used as a weapon and not as an agricultural implement or household or garden tool.

10. Any spear or spearhead.

11. Any crossbow.

12. Any Patrolite, Stun Gun, Tase, Control Club or any such similar instrument, device or equipment operated by battery or electricity or any form of power.

This post has been edited by alqa: Jun 8 2009, 11:44 PM
Watta??
post Jun 9 2009, 09:15 AM

1,053 posts

wow..
then would multitools and swiss army knives be illegal on the streets?
alqa
post Jun 9 2009, 12:24 PM

346 posts

funny thing is, multitools and swiss army knives (or SAK) are considered tools and is generally considered acceptable.

most normal folding knives/folders are also considered acceptable. in fact my edc for the last 5 years is a strider SBMF, a classic i know wink.gif and a boker subcom in the wallet.
kmf123
post Jun 9 2009, 05:17 PM

397 posts

Oh well, a butterfly knife is a Gravity knife... I guess i'll just play with other toys >_>
Crusader
post Jun 9 2009, 07:54 PM

783 posts

Strange that I'm allowed to bring in knifes longer than 4" fixed blade after the custom inspection at KLIA.
Black Bear Blades
post Jun 9 2009, 08:15 PM

196 posts

QUOTE(alqa @ Jun 8 2009, 11:41 AM)
Whoaa there black bear, I'm no expert, just a fella who loves sharp objects, and a few other things wink.gif.. in fact my love for these edged tools are currently limited to production pieces only, thanks largely to *ahem* economic *ahem*  reasons blush.gif

Based on my limited understanding, when something is prohibited in the eyes of the Malaysian law, it stays prohibited, whether its tuck away in a drawer in your house, or carried on your person. To my knowledge, just like automatic knives and daggers, butterfly knives and balisongs are a total no-no. if they are discovered by the custom service in a parcel addressed to you, then you'll be called to the custom office to produce your credential (member of the police force, armed service, etc) or to produce the permit to own or/and carry such item.

or normally, they just confiscate the thing, charge you with attempt to possess illegal weapon/prohibited object and make your life a living hell.

To clear the air, let me paste this here (as plagiarized from a post by my good friend and sifu on sharp objects) :-
Please bear in mind that Malaysia is NOT a land of the free and home of the brave, nor have we the rights to bear arms; hence if there is any reason for the authorities to 'inspect' your house and found this in your possession, or within the compound or property occupied by you, then you shall be made liable and so on and so forth.

a further extraction of the Act 357 also listed the following prohibited items:
Expert may have been a bit presumtuous BUT as this post shows you certainly have a very good understanding of the facts you post here;~) Your knife laws are MUCH stricter than ours here in the USA. There are always local laws and ordinances to take into account as well. length of blade seems to be the big factor here. 3.5" is pretty much the standard here and the palm of ones hand is what is often used by local law enforcement. wink.gif
ALSO: America is seldom the "Land of the free and even less often the home of the brave" Dont get me wrong I am very proud of my country but it is not the place it once was, Sad but True. But we do have the right to bear arms and to protect what we hold dear and this is sometimes a very dangerous thing. Also I consider a knife to be more of a tool than a weapon but as with all things they are often misused. Take a Baseball Bat for instance it is a wonderfull thing in the hands of a gifted player yet it is a weapon of disaster in the hands of a deranged psycopath. And one can walk any street with one in each hand. I guess what I am getting to is a little common sense goes a long ways EVERYWHERE!!! But I do apologize for not keeping in mind that not everyone shares the same freedoms that I have the good fortune to have here in this country.

This post has been edited by Black Bear Blades: Jun 9 2009, 08:30 PM
Black Bear Blades
post Jun 9 2009, 09:00 PM

196 posts

QUOTE(alqa @ Jun 9 2009, 12:24 AM)
funny thing is, multitools and swiss army knives (or SAK) are considered tools and is generally considered acceptable.

most normal folding knives/folders are also considered acceptable. in fact my edc for the last 5 years is a strider SBMF, a classic i know wink.gif and a boker subcom in the wallet.
Buck Strider is a Fantastic EDC Choice! My only SMALL beef I have with Buck Knives is their choice of blade steel. I think that a switch from 420HC to lets say for instance 440C would go a long way in improving their whole line of knives. But they do a impecible job of Heat Treating and Tempering their 420HC to make it very close to 440A quality. But these days there is very little cost differance between 420HC and 440C and if they applied the same top notch hardening to the 440C they would have a knife certainly worth the $1-$2 (US Dollars) It would take to do this. That aside the Strider is a Gem of a Military Style Folder It has an incredibly good feel in the hand and built like a tank = A Great EDC. I carry different knives most of the time but the one I carry most is a Spyderco D'allara. I simply love this carry. For me two things are paramount in a good folder= First and by far most important is the lock! And the ball bearing lock is as good as it gets. And second of all is blade steel and VG10 would be my very first choice. (except for maybe San Mai Damascus which has a VG10 core) The Knife I carry second most would be a toss up between a Boker Top Lock II (All Black Police Model) and a CRKT Starlight Both of which I have modified with a coil Spring (Auto) wink.gif
alqa
post Jun 9 2009, 10:06 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(Crusader @ Jun 9 2009, 07:54 PM)
Strange that I'm allowed to bring in knifes longer than 4" fixed blade after the custom inspection at KLIA.
back in the good old days, custom officers dont mind much as long as it's not an auto, a butterfly, or double edged (dagger).. I once brought in a dozen Kershaw's Outcast (a 12" machete, 18" overall) together with a few ka bars and ontario's M9s in one shipment without a hitch .

but since late 2007, there had been a change in the leadership at the custom HQ and the new administration had been more stringent. my last shipment of sharp objects back in 2008 required me to run to Bukit Aman to apply for a permit for importing those "camping tools" and to present them to the custom head at the KLIA Mail & Courier Center within 30 days or they'll confiscate and destroy the package.

but of course you can still get lucky from time to time.

Added on June 9, 2009, 10:24 pm
QUOTE(Black Bear Blades @ Jun 9 2009, 09:00 PM)
Buck Strider is a Fantastic EDC Choice!
I carry different knives most of the time but the one I carry most is a Spyderco D'allara. I simply love this carry.
yeah, the SBMF is a good workhorse, and it has seen a lot of use.. but first and foremost, the economic factor made it as my first choice for edc. SBMF can be had for a bargain (back then, now no more sad.gif) that if it got confiscated or 'liberated', i would'nt be losing much sleep over it.

the D'allara is a nice blade, heck you can never go wrong with a Spydie.. they always use quality material and the locking system is one of the most reliable among the production knives. however they are not for me.. never fancy the design, but that's just me blush.gif

This post has been edited by alqa: Jun 9 2009, 10:24 PM

37 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Top

0.0195sec    0.29    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 12:37 PM