37 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Bottom

Hobbies The Bleeding Edge, Discussion on all genres of knife

BikerVoodoo
post Feb 20 2010, 11:32 AM

448 posts

Check out this Ebay store - http://stores.ebay.com/Wholesale-Knives-and-Swords?_rdc=1 Lots of other stuff there too. Why not get something bang for buck that you'll actually use. If the blade is too expensive you might be tempted to just use a parang and keep the knife as some sort of collectible and it will just gather dust.
FLu_Shots
post Feb 22 2010, 11:25 AM

31 posts

hopefully no la when i purchase it. I already have a china made tanto about 11.5" with 6" blade, somehow i just dont really trust it since I might one day really need to rely on it when hiking/trekking. Its a handsomely made fixed blade tanto but always wonder when the blade will fall off the handle.
Crusader
post Mar 6 2010, 07:01 PM

783 posts

A bump with my latest addition....

SOG super Bowie !!!

alqa
post Apr 16 2010, 11:56 AM

346 posts

Spyderco produces very high quality production knives that offer a perfect balance between form and function. Their knives are pocket friendly, always come shaving sharp right out of the box, with smooth opening action and features firm and secure locking systems.

While most of Spyderco knives were manufactured in Japan or USA, Spyderco recently decided to outsource the production of Tenacious and Persistence to China. Yes, I say again: China. Since I've always associated the term "Made in China" to cheapo low quality buy-it-at-your-own-risk, I was kinda sceptical about these two... and boy was i wrong!

Out of the box

I've ordered a few of these knives as a cheap alternative for customers who wouldn’t want to spend anymore than a couple hundred ringgit on a pocket knife but still wanted a good quality tool. These two are pretty cheap by Spyderco's standard. And guess what: I haven't stop replenishing the stocks since!

Despite being manufactured in China, the overall fit and finish of both of these knives are surpirsingly good and consistent with Spyderco's reputation for quality. Both of these blades weight around 130g each, pocket friendly and not too heavy, with just enought heft to get your cutting job done without causing fatigue.

Tenacious

Persistence

Tenacious have a 8.6cm drop point blade with the famous spyderco 'hump' and Persistence comes with a 7cm blade. The blades are made of 8CR13MOV, a Chinese steel which has been in use by Spyderco for quite some time on their “Byrd” line of knives. This steel can hold an edge for a reasonable amount of time, and it’s easy to sharpen. Right out of the box, the blades are shaving sharp and the flat grind made them a good slicer.

The handles were made from textured black G-10, giving it kinda classy tactical look. The shape of the handle is quite well done very comfortable to hold, although it might be a bit large for small hands. Both knives are wider than most previous Spyderco models like Endura or Delica for example.

The handle is drilled to allow the clip to be placed in four different positions, where you can place the stainless steel pocket clips for any of the four different carry positions: left or right side of the body, tip up or tip down.

The blades on these knives are secured by liner locks, which is common among pocket knives of this size. The locks are firm and require a little bit of pressure to disengage it. There's also no sign of blade play when opened nor closed.

The Tenacious is a dependable field knife. The Persistence, a scaled down version of Tenacious is suited for new users. I think both of these knives offer great value for your money.. in fact I doubt that you can find a better knife for the same price!
konakok
post Apr 19 2010, 11:25 PM

19 posts

Please pm the price of Spyderco
Thx
alqa
post Apr 19 2010, 11:42 PM

346 posts

bro UGPM
bezet
post Apr 25 2010, 11:31 PM

245 posts

QUOTE(alqa @ Apr 16 2010, 11:56 AM)
Spyderco produces very high quality production knives that offer a perfect balance between form and function. Their knives are pocket friendly, always come shaving sharp right out of the box, with smooth opening action and features firm and secure locking systems.

While most of Spyderco knives were manufactured in Japan or USA, Spyderco recently decided to outsource the production of Tenacious and Persistence to China. Yes, I say again: China. Since I've always associated the term "Made in China" to cheapo low quality buy-it-at-your-own-risk, I was kinda sceptical about these two... and boy was i wrong!

The Tenacious is a dependable field knife. The Persistence, a scaled down version of Tenacious is suited for new users. I think both of these knives offer great value for your money.. in fact I doubt that you can find a better knife for the same price!
Any size indication for both knife? Let say with a coin?
Hard to imagine the size in my hand...
BikerVoodoo
post Apr 25 2010, 11:55 PM

448 posts

I love my 7" blade tool steel (rusts!) survival blade. Hollow aluminium handle. Brass guard.
alqa
post Apr 26 2010, 01:06 AM

346 posts

Bezet, sorry my stock of Tenacious have all sold out. Here's my last stock of Persistence for size comparison:

QUOTE(bezet @ Apr 25 2010, 11:31 PM)
Any size indication for both knife? Let say with a coin?
Hard to imagine the size in my hand...
This post has been edited by alqa: Apr 26 2010, 01:23 AM
alqa
post Apr 26 2010, 01:20 AM

346 posts

SOG, Surefire & Maxpedition... good taste bro!

QUOTE(Crusader @ Mar 6 2010, 07:01 PM)
A bump with my latest addition....

SOG super Bowie !!!

alqa
post Apr 26 2010, 01:21 AM

346 posts

QUOTE(BikerVoodoo @ Apr 25 2010, 11:55 PM)
I love my 7" blade tool steel (rusts!) survival blade. Hollow aluminium handle. Brass guard.
Wow that looks like a classic rclxms.gif

BikerVoodoo
post Apr 26 2010, 06:05 AM

448 posts

alqa
post Apr 26 2010, 01:35 PM

346 posts

bro, you made the knife yourself? shocking.gif shocking.gif

wow man, you're my new idol!! thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
BikerVoodoo
post Apr 27 2010, 06:02 AM

448 posts

QUOTE(alqa @ Apr 26 2010, 01:35 PM)
bro, you made the knife yourself?  shocking.gif  shocking.gif

wow man, you're my new idol!!  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
Naw man! I wish I did. A guy I know made this. Actually some of our Royal Malaysian Navy workshop guys have been making stuff like this for some time. Poor man's version of the Randall Model 18.
bezet
post Apr 27 2010, 08:16 AM

245 posts

QUOTE(BikerVoodoo @ Apr 27 2010, 06:02 AM)
Naw man! I wish I did. A guy I know made this. Actually some of our Royal Malaysian Navy workshop guys have been making stuff like this for some time. Poor man's version of the Randall Model 18.
Wish I have the same workshop.
BikerVoodoo
post Apr 27 2010, 08:47 AM

448 posts

QUOTE(bezet @ Apr 27 2010, 08:16 AM)
Wish I have the same workshop.
Me too, man! flex.gif
alqa
post Apr 27 2010, 11:58 AM

346 posts

actually there's a shortcut: www.knifekits.com
BikerVoodoo
post Apr 27 2010, 12:01 PM

448 posts

QUOTE(alqa @ Apr 27 2010, 11:58 AM)
actually there's a shortcut: www.knifekits.com
Cool stuff eh? Have you tried any of the kits?
alqa
post Apr 27 2010, 12:17 PM

346 posts

nope, i'm not the handy type... but I know a few people who did.
alqa
post Apr 27 2010, 12:25 PM

346 posts

Last week met a friend who had a nice piece of sharp steel to sell.

I've always been a sucker for tactical knives and Buck 184 used to be on top of my wish list quite some time ago. So when this friend offered his for sale, I just cant help myself from giving it an eyeball.

Here's some shots of the merchandise:

He bought this blade from UFL through World of Sports outlet back in the late 90s. This item have never been used and have been kept in storage, gathering dust for over a decade and a half. It have since lost its box, small pouch and silva compass, so only the knife and scabbard left.

This is a later model, most probably post 1986 production of Buck 184 a.k.a. "Buck Master". For more info see here: http://www.buck-184.com/

Upon inspection, the blade doesnt show any sign of use, or resharpening and still retain the original factory edge. only nicks and scratches visible (at least to my eyes) are caused by the sheath. Even the sharpening stone doesnt show any sign of use.

Although unused, the condition is far from pristine, the dust and years of neglect havent been kind to the 184. It'll require some serious cleaning, restoration and TLC.... nothing that a good loving owner cant provide.

I would've loved to relieve this piece of knife history from its current owner, unfortunately I've already stretched my cash flow to the limit and with a few more events to be concluded in the coming months, I had to decline this most tempting offer.

If anybody interested in getting it, shoot me a PM.

37 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Top

0.0178sec    0.45    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 12:17 AM