臭小鬼
4,234 posts

QUOTE(Tikietic @ Aug 17 2015, 02:31 PM)
or you may go the "chinese" way..
kd-130

kd-135b

both of these are thermoblocks, just like the silvano or the crossland.. only thing is, way cheaper than the 2
Silvano and Crossland uses a boiler.

Thermoblock for the Silvano is for steaming only.
LittleGhost
post Aug 17 2015, 07:44 PM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

QUOTE(Tikietic @ Aug 17 2015, 07:16 PM)
so far, i haven't seen anyone in this thread who purchased these 2 models mentioned..
yeah, you're right bro..
biggrin.gif Also those two u mentioned mana is "china".

Those are sunbeams no?

LittleGhost
post Aug 17 2015, 11:23 PM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

QUOTE(ymeng85 @ Aug 17 2015, 11:11 PM)
Just googled up the Silvano. Damn, that machine looks great. Love all the shiny surfaces haha
time to upgrade liao brows.gif
LittleGhost
post Aug 19 2015, 07:51 PM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

QUOTE(loon23 @ Aug 19 2015, 06:47 PM)
ya 3.5k b4 gst. included all those freebies
i m from penang..hahaa..but i stay at kl now
In my opinion, the Oscar is incredibly good, here are some things you should know before getting one:

1) Very well designed. Don't let the plastic casing fool you. (heck the "Plastic" is actually of high grade)
2) Articulate design all over, making it super easy to fix even yourself. Understanding this machine is very intuitive.
3) Wide coverage of documentation.
4) For me, this thing is only great provided if you spend the time to "modify" it. My Oscar is modded with OPV, Anti Vacumm and Flow Restrictors, essentially turning it into a baby-Musica. All of Oscar's original parts are exactly the same as the Musica. (you're actually getting a crippled Musica when you get the Oscar)

All that being said, I would still argue for the Quickmill Silvano. It's probably cheaper and performs much better than the stock Oscar out of the box.

P.S. Scout for a good grinder first. Above all, grinder >>>>>>>>> machine.

LittleGhost
post Aug 19 2015, 08:24 PM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

QUOTE(loon23 @ Aug 19 2015, 08:04 PM)
yea..first comment from my gf on oscar.. "why so cartoon" ..lol

after all the inputs from u all , i think my choice are only welhome 210s2 , oscar ..

still cant find any info about quickmill silvano in malaysia..
If you can afford it, get the Oscar + mod it (if you have the balls). wink.gif Janji won't regret. I can help you mod it if you ever pass by Penang lol.

The Quickmill is probably hard to find if you tarak kangtao. This is the sort of thing you'd have to go deep and ask around.

I did remember someone was going to bring some over earlier in this thread, do search about.

Do remember that the grinder is the most important thing, have you set your mind to one yet?

LittleGhost
post Aug 29 2015, 12:08 AM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

Some updates to my never ending no-life coffee hobby:

1) Modded the Compak K3 by removing the rubber flab. I've managed to get retention down to less than 0.1 grams with the new sequence, essentially making it a single dose machine. Now that I know that low retention is possible, I've begun to contemplate actually "hacking" the front panel off for ease of access. Perhaps even adding a custom chute...

2) Got fedup with the quality of local beans and get myself an auresso subscription. OMG JESUS FUCK the first bag is OUT of this world. Never had coffee which I could pull a shit shot (due to not being dialed in yet) and still tasted great.

EDIT: First bag of coffee from Auresso is

http://www.auresso.com.my/product/19/Mexico-Salitral-Estate/

GODLY stuff. Highly recommended. Lightly roasted and yet without any hint of sour taste. It's sweet, chocolatey and smells damn fine.

This post has been edited by LittleGhost: Aug 29 2015, 12:10 AM
LittleGhost
post Sep 1 2015, 09:22 AM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

QUOTE(luvox @ Sep 1 2015, 03:38 AM)
Do u wana share auresso fortnightly 1kg subscription? Each take 500g = rm 52.5 , can last for 2 weeks.
Haha
sure. Been meaning to ask you that.

Probably after the next 5 bags I have in line?

Let me do some calculations first.

LittleGhost
post Sep 14 2015, 05:54 PM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

Oh fuck me, I just pulled a 24gram in 24 grams out "ristretto".

It tastes like chocolate.

Anyone here does this some time? This is incredibly wasteful of your beans lol.

LittleGhost
post Sep 14 2015, 06:46 PM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

QUOTE(ymeng85 @ Sep 14 2015, 06:39 PM)
Do you need a VST basket to dose that high?
naw.

I used a triple basket.

LittleGhost
post Sep 21 2015, 09:12 PM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

QUOTE(xxxtrym_akabane @ Sep 17 2015, 08:28 PM)
Looks like I have to wait a bit. Oscar @ Dankoff will only restock Oct/Nov T.T
Buy the silvano la.

Oscar no mod = no gooding one.
LittleGhost
post Sep 21 2015, 09:18 PM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Sep 21 2015, 06:41 PM)
Flat white -- A deflated cappuccino. wink.gif
Flat White = diluted diarrhoea.

LittleGhost
post Sep 23 2015, 09:34 AM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

QUOTE(xxxtrym_akabane @ Sep 23 2015, 09:15 AM)
Silvano seems to be more expensive. All i need is a machine which provides a good and consistent shot. smile.gif
Is it? I always had the impression that the Silvano is cheaper than the Oscar.

Without the OPV, the oscar is like a slot machine when it comes to extracting consistent shots.

The OPV mod isn't expensive, you should definitely consider upgrading to it.

LittleGhost
post Sep 24 2015, 06:27 PM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

QUOTE(luvox @ Sep 24 2015, 11:28 AM)
Guys. How often u guys do water back flush & chemical back flush to your Oscar?
I did short cycle water back flush after each shot, 2 cycles, run 5 sec, hold 3 sec.
I did 2 weeksly chemical backflush according to instruction 5 cycles, run 10sec hold 10sec, water back flush 10 cycles run 5sec hold 3sec.
Wana confirm am i doing it right?
Water back flush after every session.

Chemical Back flush every 40+ shots or so, this includes a complete cleaning of the shower screen as well.

The instructions are mostly correct, but you can push the intervals between back flushes (the small back flushes you do during backflushing) longer. The longer it is, the less damaging it is to your pump.

This post has been edited by LittleGhost: Sep 24 2015, 06:28 PM
LittleGhost
post Sep 25 2015, 12:16 AM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Sep 24 2015, 10:28 PM)
my manufacturer ask me to back flush with detergent every month.
but I do it every week.

some ppl back flush before turning off, others do it in between every shot.
if U watch the competition didn't look like they doing in between shots, no harm keeping it clean
competition shots happen in a short frame of time. Hence any residues won't "stale" during the time. It also makes less sense to do it during the competition as it screws with presentation and rhythm.

In proper cafes, there are standards such as the 1 hour timer cleaning procedure. When the timer hits 1 hour, anyone who is operating it should at least scrub the shower screen and do a water back flush. The whole point is to prevent stale loose coffee.

LittleGhost
post Sep 25 2015, 10:11 AM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Sep 25 2015, 09:47 AM)
Timer won't spoil the machine.. My machines all used to run on timers without problems. As you know for Oscar without vacuum valve it just gets hot/warm but not to temp, at least it helps half way getting it warmed up.

The restrictor and opv mod changes the Oscar from a low end entry machine to a mid end machine in performance. Just not sexy in looks. For me the restrictor is also important and I'll do that too with the opv.

Respect your decision not to mod, it may not be all that important for milk drinks. We just feel you're not maximizing your set up that's all. You said wanna maintain until it stops working then upgrade. Well my machines are coming to 10 years already and still going strong. You have a long while to wait biggrin.gif

BTW, the local cafes are not all that great. Be careful not to compare with mediocres.
Apparently the knowledge that a lightly modded Oscar will get them a Musica for cheap isn't appealing enough laugh.gif

The Oscar and the Musica uses the exact same parts and the exact same diagrams!!!

Funny how they have to purposely "cripple" the Musica just to sell an Oscar.
LittleGhost
post Sep 26 2015, 09:16 AM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

QUOTE(luvox @ Sep 25 2015, 06:17 PM)
I dint expect oscar can last that long, 10yrs. Good to hear that ur oscar 10yrs old. Haha

Im lazy to modify oscar, although it looks like involve simple steps. but how u guys know u your brew pressure reduced to desire pressure after modifying  OPV? Wat i saw on youtube is they have pressure gauge portafilter. Where u guys buy the opv?
I can lend you my pressure gauge if you want.

Most of the time you only need to set it once, and then use it forever.
LittleGhost
post Oct 1 2015, 09:48 AM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

QUOTE(kurogetsu @ Sep 30 2015, 04:05 PM)
Hello everyone.. I'm new here... I only go to local coffee shop yet have never make one... except for kopi o, kopi o ais, kopi suam, kopi ais... and yadda2.. but totally new to this... hehe.. usually what coffee beans that you use? i prefer mild taste, with not too bitter as my tummy can't handle... well... urm... GASSES.. hahahahaha.. oso got minor gastric but i'm addicted to coffee... any suggestion.. thanks so much.. sorry.. coffee noob coming through.. biggrin.gif
Get an aeropress.

It's basically cheating at making good coffee. You can't even screw up with this one.

How much is your budget for coffee beans?

This post has been edited by LittleGhost: Oct 1 2015, 09:48 AM
LittleGhost
post Oct 8 2015, 01:02 PM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

QUOTE(stfsoelyn @ Oct 8 2015, 11:21 AM)
Is it me or the grinder/coffee machine? The first thing that the Mandheling hit me with was VERY high acidity? Chocolate, yes, but I'm afraid my coarse tongue is not cultured enough to catch those other flavors.
> coarse tongue is not cultured...

All things equal, tastes is mostly subjective and if it tastes like shit then IT IS shit. (if you've done all the tweakings to your fullest...)

I had "connoisseurs" telling me one coffee is good but in reality tasted like shite. Some of these wankers are even "barista trainers" IRL.

Try the Matt Perger method to tweak your coffee. If it's still bad, then drop the beans.

LittleGhost
post Oct 9 2015, 04:32 PM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

QUOTE(stfsoelyn @ Oct 9 2015, 04:05 PM)
I'm looking for a good electric as well...but it's a bit tough pulling out the stuck wallet!  We're looking at 2k+
Compak K3, whatever latest u can find.

I've recently modded it to run single dose, retention is pretty much less than 0.1g

LittleGhost
post Oct 10 2015, 12:54 AM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

QUOTE(DEVILtonight @ Oct 9 2015, 11:07 PM)
Been hearing about the k3's little retention, but mine consistently retains 2g. Cleaned it out inside, check the chutes, can't seem to find a problem. Any idea why?
Simple.

Remove the top burr, remove the rubber flap/sweeper(this is tricky and will take some patience due to the angle involved).

Remove the "front panel", it's useless and retains shit tons of coffee.

Then, voila, u have an ugly but low retention K3.

I pretty much sweep with a bamboo stick and only have to short grind a little bit at the end to get everything fully out. Be careful not to stick the bamboo stick in when the grinder is still spinning, this is an easy mistake because the rubber flap is gone.

EDIT: Picture of my "naked K3".

http://imgur.com/0vHmtBm

This post has been edited by LittleGhost: Oct 10 2015, 12:59 AM

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0484sec    0.25    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 11:34 PM