5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Coffee lover please come in

LittleGhost
post Jun 24 2015, 04:41 PM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

In the midst of sarcasm and elitism, I've done some modifications to my beloved Oscar.

-Added Vacumm breaker. (Shit werks!)
-Added OPV!
-Changed the steam tip.

My goodness, the OPV is a definitely must have. Immediately after the upgrade, it makes life so much easier. Consistency is so much better and the entire machine is less finicky now.

Definitely a must have upgrade. The installation isn't even that difficult to begin with.

Does take some balls however.
LittleGhost
post Jun 24 2015, 05:28 PM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

QUOTE(Tikietic @ Jun 24 2015, 05:20 PM)
glad it works for you.. we too find alot of similar conclusions by lots of oscar users over the net.. (e.g youtube)
the question is, should newer version of oscar include such items moving forward?.. can't say it's a flaw, but nonetheless, it does inhibits you from making a good cuppa without those upgrades right?

I consider it a flaw, but then adding an OPV to this machine would mean a lot of overhead cost in the process chain. If I were NS, I'd keep it cheap and stupid.

Want an OPV? buy our moar expensive version. laugh.gif

it does make me wonder as to why dankoff didn't feature the oscar during the fair..?! but instead, they intro a standalone milk frother from wpm.. so the oscar is more finicky than the silvia?
Never tried the Silvia, but the main reason I got the Oscar was because considering the price and utility value, it made the most sense to me at the time.

Plus it's easy for me to hack my way through if I ever needed upgrades, I'd definitely prefer a unit with tons of documentation online. The Oscar is a good starter unit.

The OPV isn't necessary if you're the kind of person who adds milk to espresso after 10 am (blegh).

I mainly drink Espresso only, makes more sense to have a consistent shot every time.

LittleGhost
post Jun 24 2015, 05:43 PM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

QUOTE(Tikietic @ Jun 24 2015, 05:37 PM)
in this case, your justification is valid.. espresso is a much complicated drink to get it right.. as opposed to milk-based-espresso drinks..

excuse me for asking this though..
a brass opv doesn't look anything close to a precision-implementation.. what justify the niche pricing?
if espresso is your jam, how about turkish coffee? your view on it?
Because manufacturers don't want to screw up. So any small addition, no matter how simple adds up exponentially. You need more test chains and workers to make sure your yield remains the same. It seems simple. You see this all the time in OEMs. (used to work in Keysight/Agilent R&D and the way production prohibits us from always going for the best stuff due to yield and manufacturability boils me to no end).

Never tried Turkish/Roman coffee before. Didn't really had the chance to. Maybe if I travel to somewhere native with the big wok + sand setup, I'd consider drinking it laugh.gif.

LittleGhost
post Jun 24 2015, 06:50 PM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

QUOTE(luvox @ Jun 24 2015, 06:45 PM)
Mind to share how much u pay for each modification above? Where u get the items?
Got all my crap from Elektros. http://www.elektros.it/my/en/Oscar_modification_Kit/

It's cheaper than usual because I carried them back from Italy.

LittleGhost
post Jun 30 2015, 11:48 AM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

Looking to upgrade my grinder.

Anyone knows any good local source for a espresso grinder among the range of 1.5k to 2.5k?

LittleGhost
post Jul 1 2015, 01:06 AM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

upgrading to the Compak K3 Touch from the Grinta to pair with my Oscar+OPV.

Anyone has any beef to pick with it before I pull the trigger?

I feel like at this point the Grinta is somewhat holding me back. I absolutely enjoyed the Grinta's simplicity in both maintenance and use, but it's just "not there".

LittleGhost
post Jul 1 2015, 01:38 PM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

Selling off my Grinta if anyone's interested.

PM me for moar details wink.gif

LittleGhost
post Jul 1 2015, 04:03 PM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

QUOTE(Tikietic @ Jul 1 2015, 03:45 PM)
if you're serious about grinding and espresso.. may i suggest a mahlkonig? this brand has been sanctioned as the official grinder, the k30 for wbc-2016(and competing baristas can't use their own grinder anymore in wbc; what a rule change  sweat.gif )

mahlkonig vario gen.3? (the proM will be on the far end of your budget)..
my gut feeling is, you might want to pay COFFEX COFFEE a visit?

am not saying that sanctioned grinders are the bestest grinders.. else some sohai haters will start going ballistic about the "lack of standard" is in fact a standard..

by the way.. you're some simonelli fags hor? oscar+grinta..  laugh.gif
can the grinta be shim-modded?
Is the Mahlkonig Vario a Baratza?

I own a Baratza myself, if anything, servicing them is a pain in the ass. They do not understand a good "engineering design" at all. One day I'll probably go for the EK43 straight laugh.gif

LittleGhost
post Jul 1 2015, 04:28 PM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

QUOTE(Tikietic @ Jul 1 2015, 04:26 PM)
ohh yeah.. forgot that baratza oso got this vario thingy..
was referring to mahlkonig vario
54mm ceramic burrs
200 grind setting (stepless can be a bit confusing ba?)
belt-driven motor (as opposed to geared driven).. timming belt?  laugh.gif

unless you want to avoid "electronics"..
Is that a rebadged Baratza or the other way round?

LittleGhost
post Jul 1 2015, 10:03 PM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

QUOTE(mel5582 @ Jul 1 2015, 09:54 PM)
The Compak K3 is good. My friend is using it as a back up grinder at his cafe and it works great. Mahlkonig and Baratza are the same. It's just US or EU markets / badging difference.

As for the Vario, I think it's one of the best home grinders. It has the least retention and easily maintained on your own. I think it's on a similar price level as the Compak K3, and I believe it has better grind consistency than the K3. Only gripe is the build quality.. but the grinds it produces, close to perfection smile.gif
Is your friend KF Chan?

I can't stand how Baratza designs their grinders. They make no sense at all. It's hard to take them apart and to put them back together. Maintenance is a serious pain in the ass with these plastic latch machines.

I'd take a slight "inferiority" in grind performance over maintainability every day.
LittleGhost
post Jul 4 2015, 10:46 AM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

So I finally got my Compak K3 Touch (Ferarri Red) to pair with the Oscar + OPV.

Some thoughts:
-Grinds very fine and consistently. Clumpiness still persist at very fine grinds but not as bad as lower end models. If you already have an efficient WDT sequence, clumpiness is never an issue to begin with. I try not to use the WDT with the K3 unless necessary. So far so good.
-Moderately difficult to know where your grind size is when you first get it. After you get it then the stepless adjustment makes sense.
-Documentation is horrible and shite. Read the manual but use your head as well.
-Timer is awesome. It's in front and adjusting it is easy peasy.
-The PF holder isn't very ergonomical for my naked PF, but otherwise gets the job done.
-Plastic top cap cover is a let down. Some aesthetic defects. Cross threading with the safety screw happened by default. Won't even grind fine enough if I leave the safety screw in tact. Does wonder if they calibrated the thing properly in factory.

Once you get the grind size calibration right, does produce good shots. smile.gif

LittleGhost
post Jul 4 2015, 02:13 PM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

QUOTE(stfsoelyn @ Jul 4 2015, 11:42 AM)
Congrats, LittleGhost!

Do you mean you need to remove or modify the safety screw to get a fine enought grind?
Does it make a lot of difference in the cup, compared to the Grinta?
Mind sharing why you chose Touch over Push?

Regards,
Peter
The safety screw has to be removed otherwise you can't get it fine enough.

The Grinta, despite its limitations is still in my opinion an excellent and well designed grinder. Simply because it is fool proof and so easy to use for any form of beginners.

The K3 definitely provides a much better extraction in comparison. (the price is also at least double of the grinta ><) You can observe this by tasting it (much more complex taste) and visually "see" it (through the naked portafilter).

I didn't even do the WDT with the K3. One thing that still irks me is that it doesn't fit with my naked portafilter. I have to transfer it to a small cup first before pouring it in.

I didn't get the Push because I was too lazy to go the extra mile to track down anything else. Touch was available hence touch it is.

LittleGhost
post Jul 4 2015, 05:08 PM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

QUOTE(stfsoelyn @ Jul 4 2015, 02:59 PM)
>I suppose every machine has it's own quirks, no matter the make?
laugh.gif tongue.gif not if it's the one I design.

Ah, if I had all the money in the world...

LittleGhost
post Jul 4 2015, 05:16 PM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

A pictar of my current setup

Excuse the mess obviously tongue.gif

LittleGhost
post Jul 4 2015, 05:51 PM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

QUOTE(mel5582 @ Jul 4 2015, 05:46 PM)
No worries.. If you're getting a grinder, especially an electronic one, best to look around locally. Mainly because of the shipping charges or tax (from EU or US) and also the maintenance.
Looking good! The red really looks nice. Would like to know for the Compak, if you switch between beans and go back to the initial beans, will the grind setting remain the same? The one I tried varies differently although it's the same type of beans it was originally calibrated with.
Don't have any other beans to try with for now, but I'll report back if I find it different.

I can probably understand where the problem you pose come from though. laugh.gif The inherent mechanism does have the tendency to fuck about your grind setting over time.
LittleGhost
post Jul 10 2015, 11:05 AM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

QUOTE(happyking4ever @ Jul 10 2015, 09:51 AM)
Just want to know if drinking Starbuck considered drinking real coffee?
"A cup of your finest hot water with brown grease in it, unless by some miracle your coffee shop has started selling coffee?" - Blackadder

Starbucks don't serve drinks with brown grit + water eh? laugh.gif

Don't let the shit snobs tell you otherwise. Coffee is coffee. Sure what you're drinking is shite in most cases when it comes to starbucks, but it's still coffee.

LittleGhost
post Jul 17 2015, 11:22 PM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

QUOTE(luvox @ Jul 17 2015, 10:13 PM)
3.5k Oscar, before GST.  Can look for it at Dankoff, sri kembangan.
second this.

Great machine with tons of documentations online.

Mods towards Musica levels are cheap and very achievable.

P.S. anyone who wants their Oscar modded but don't have telur to do it, I can do it for you.
LittleGhost
post Jul 20 2015, 05:49 PM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

QUOTE(chiahau @ Jul 19 2015, 10:27 PM)
Hi guys, I am currently into making my own coffee to fill my free time during the weekends.

Saw a couple of basic machines like Delongi that looked pretty decent. Wondering if there is any recommendation for anything around 1k region? Don't really feel like blowing a hole in my wallet 1st as I might be very busy the next coming month and the machine would somewhat sit in my room until year end laugh.gif
get a good grinder first.

The Espresso machine is a pain in the ass if there is no decent grinder.

I would suggest you to get a good grinder, and then go with the pour over.

Espresso machines should start with a CC1 or Silvano level at least, everything else is just an upgraditis waiting to happen.
LittleGhost
post Jul 20 2015, 11:53 PM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

QUOTE(sapora @ Jul 20 2015, 11:47 PM)
hai there, where to get those machines? hehe newbies here
lu mia budget berapa boss?

Lu suka minum ape boss? Suka hipster pour overs or espressos?

LittleGhost
post Jul 21 2015, 01:37 AM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

QUOTE(sapora @ Jul 21 2015, 12:22 AM)
espresso la boss, now got saeco phillips dy, tak cukup power laa, budget 1k plus oniii, if got second hand lagi powerr
Your Philips depressurized already or not? Might want to try the route first.

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0221sec    0.19    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 06:51 AM