5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Coffee lover please come in

ymeng85
post Aug 11 2015, 01:27 PM

QUOTE(LittleGhost @ Aug 11 2015, 12:09 AM)
just got a bag of beans from Urban Coffee.

Damn this shit is BRIGHT.

Probably doesn't work well for an espresso shot.
LOL. But is it the same blend(if it's a blend) that they are also serving in their own cafe?
ymeng85
post Aug 12 2015, 08:34 AM

QUOTE(luvox @ Aug 11 2015, 10:57 PM)
It is the same bean they use to serve in cafe. I suggest not to try at the cafe. =) Their queensbay barista really brew SHIT. They had changed their bean in July to  the current one and they claim they will stick to current blend. Their previous blend is better, stronger than current. This current one i need to adjust my grind slight finer to produce acceptable cup of latte. This blend is not my preferred choice.
LOL. I asked cos I was wondering if it's really that acidic, how they could serve it in their own cafes
And they opened in QB already? I had tried them before only in Gurney Plaza

ymeng85
post Aug 15 2015, 11:23 AM

Thanks to the good friends here, my stock of Ethiopian, Peru, Burundi, and Sulawesi all have been wiped out biggrin.gif
However, timing is just right and some new ones just got in this week:
1. Ethiopian Harrar Bedeno Natural Process
2. Costa Rica Finca La Rosa Naranjo Washed
3. And something just for myself - Costa Rica Finca Candelaria Washed GEISHA drool.gif

Next week:
1. Ethiopian Yirgacheffe Konga Grade 1 Washed

Mods/Seniors, let me know if this might be breaking any rules and if I should just go create a page in TradeZone to show an updated list of available coffees. Although originally intended as a form of community service but I understand this can be easily interpreted as a business as well so this might not be the right forum
ymeng85
post Aug 15 2015, 06:37 PM

QUOTE(Tikietic @ Aug 15 2015, 04:35 PM)
yes, if you plan to sell and you're the benefactor from the sale proceed, don't do it here, there's selling thread/forum in this site..
Noted bro.
Advice taken and have posted on selling thread instead
ymeng85
post Aug 15 2015, 09:32 PM

QUOTE(mel5582 @ Aug 15 2015, 08:43 PM)
Guys, not as cheap.. But still okay. Cold Storage 1U
Same price at Jusco Queensbay in Penang
ymeng85
post Aug 17 2015, 08:50 AM

QUOTE(Tikietic @ Aug 17 2015, 01:49 AM)
remember the farmhouse UHT freshmilk we purchased earlier? ... it froths and stays..

thus, we wented back and gotted another 6 packs.. laugh.gif
Thats awesome! I'm gonna go get me some as well next time
How about the taste?
ymeng85
post Aug 17 2015, 11:27 AM

QUOTE(loon23 @ Aug 17 2015, 11:05 AM)
Wow bro, 4k can get alot of better machines. Depends are you willing to be a home barista or just want good coffee with minimum effort?
ymeng85
post Aug 17 2015, 11:54 AM

Yup @LittleGhost nailed it.
I would add that in the beginning, usually a lousy tasting shot is caused by the barista but as he/she hones his/her skills, you definitely don't want the machine to suddenly to be a limiter (this typically happens to steam pump, pressurized espresso machines) and the Oscar definitely will not be that case. In fact that machine can even be used to run a small cafe under 50 cups a day since it allows direct piping
I believe some places has a combo deal with the NS Grinta grinder too. Let me see if I can find it
ymeng85
post Aug 17 2015, 12:03 PM

Sorry...I probably saw that from eBay from US lol
Anyways, just the machine -> http://www.cuppa.com.my/nuova-simonelli-os...presso-machine/
ymeng85
post Aug 17 2015, 12:51 PM

QUOTE(loon23 @ Aug 17 2015, 12:41 PM)
ok noted. btw, @ymeng85 what machine are u using ?
I went second hand route. Gaggia Evolution with a San Marco SM90 grinder
ymeng85
post Aug 17 2015, 11:11 PM

QUOTE(LittleGhost @ Aug 17 2015, 01:47 PM)
If you can, try to get the Crossland CC1 or the Silvano.
Just googled up the Silvano. Damn, that machine looks great. Love all the shiny surfaces haha
ymeng85
post Aug 18 2015, 12:00 AM

QUOTE(LittleGhost @ Aug 17 2015, 11:23 PM)
time to upgrade liao  brows.gif
Don't poison poison la...
I had been eyeing the Oscar since forever but decided at one point that roasting is my thing so budget went to the roaster already haha
ymeng85
post Aug 18 2015, 02:26 PM

QUOTE(luvox @ Aug 17 2015, 05:24 PM)
My liberica is local grown & roasted. If u stay in johor, then u can buy over the counter. If not, u can get from http://beanshipper.com
😄
Lol...you probably confused him with "My liberica" thinking you are the seller. Anyways, in fact actually the brand itself is "MyLiberica" biggrin.gif
ymeng85
post Aug 19 2015, 04:57 PM

QUOTE(loon23 @ Aug 19 2015, 04:46 PM)
bro, cost more than 1k la, since when i mention about less than 1k oscar?

for me , its not price factor

if i wan make a good cup of coffee at home , is it base on machine ? skill? or beans ? or water ?
All 4 actually smile.gif

But from where you are coming from, you should just worry about skills and machine
For me, when I started, I knew right away that I need a decent machine so that when i make a bad shot, I don't want to have to have to think if it's machine. So on minimum, I wanted a commercial grade group head/portafilter at least so that what I practice on it (tamping, dosing) is not going to be machine specific. So at least a 58mm brass portafilter, pump(not steam!) driven espresso machine. I forgo the requirement of good steam power (or wand), 3 way solenoid valve and temperature/pressure adjustments which while helpful in getting consecutive shots out fast, is more of convenience than actually influencing shot quality

And like you, being my first machine, I was very unwilling to splurge so I went to the second hand market. Got the machine, pulled it apart to descale and clean, get a new basket and I'm all good till today. In a way, it helped me to get connected to my machine and understand it's quirks and workings which in the end is what it's all about being a barista. It's not machine and not the man individually, it's a combination of good machine in good hands
ymeng85
post Aug 19 2015, 10:52 PM

QUOTE(LittleGhost @ Aug 19 2015, 07:51 PM)
P.S. Scout for a good grinder first. Above all, grinder >>>>>>>>> machine.
That is very true. Otherwise if you get the Oscar but buy ready ground coffee, it's like driving a Ferrari with the handbrakes on doh.gif
But watch out on the budget as good grinders is another rabbit hole and can get exponentially more expensive very quickly
ymeng85
post Aug 21 2015, 10:15 AM

QUOTE(loon23 @ Aug 21 2015, 07:34 AM)
what about isomac  or eureka mignon  ? or even welhome grinder?
Including the LelitPL53, those are all decent entry level burr grinders for proper espresso. If you end up pairing them with a sub1k espresso machine I guess you can't do much wrong
You should try to allocate more of your budget towards the grinder before the espresso machine at entry level but as you move up to Oscar level machine, it should be more of a 50:50
ymeng85
post Aug 23 2015, 04:14 PM

QUOTE(luvox @ Aug 21 2015, 11:38 PM)
U can consider china brand grinder, WPM, if u r not willing to spend extra few K money. They do perform well. By common sense, cornical burr grinder is just a simple mechanism. I dont know what is the significant benefit buying those "high tech" expensive grinder. As long as my coffee taste better than cafe made, i will keep my WPM ZD-16 grinder. My 2 cents
I can't tell from my limited experience and untrained tongue but the idea was that the higher end grinders also factors in volume during their design for the purpose of maintaining quality during a busy service operation of a cafe. Of course, the evenness of grind also gives a better cup/crema

Quality-add features: larger/better burr designs means more uniformed grinds and less fines - more clarity in the cup as you won't have over extracted fines. Titanium/cooling mechanism to avoid overheating of grounds
Cafe-add features: dosing repeatability , cooling and larger durable motor. This is for consistency in every cup the barista makes from start of day to end of day as well as reliability and less breakdowns. But if you're just making 1 cup........meh

There's many more of these features that can drive the price up so as a home barista you need to sometimes make sure if these features are required/not required for your needs

This post has been edited by ymeng85: Aug 23 2015, 10:22 PM
ymeng85
post Aug 25 2015, 09:59 PM

There's Hanground too from Kickstarter. Friend ordered one waiting for it to get here
Looks like a solid grinder for hand brewing

http://handground.com/
ymeng85
post Aug 30 2015, 11:59 PM

Mexican eh? Never had one before, should try me some haha
Drinking Yirgacheffe Konga now, quite interesting cos first few days it's all fruits and flowers then a week after it's milk chocolates lol

This post has been edited by ymeng85: Aug 31 2015, 12:00 AM
ymeng85
post Sep 3 2015, 10:41 PM

QUOTE(Genesis73 @ Sep 3 2015, 10:29 PM)
Interesting description of yigarcheffe konga. May I know if you are making the coffee as pour over, espresso, siphon etc?
I am tempted to open up my beans now 😁
Especially obvious as espresso but have tried it on Aeropress as well

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0396sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 02:33 AM