5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

Coffee lover please come in

ymeng85
post Nov 30 2015, 10:03 AM

QUOTE(erueimo @ Nov 28 2015, 06:30 PM)
Been looking for a good cafe that serves good espressos around the east of Malaysia...

I have failed so far to identify one...

I am working in one cafe as a barista but the equipment provided are not enough for me to pull a great shot that satisfy me...

is there any cafe utilizing a slayer machine around Malaysia?

I would like to try a shot pulled by a slayer ala slayer style  lust.gif
I kinda agree with @LittleGhost
I would probably look at maintenance and at most, grinder and freshness of beans (of if too fresh!). It's hard to really blame the espresso machine itself unless your using some home-grade machine
ymeng85
post Dec 1 2015, 10:57 AM

QUOTE(wadthehellz @ Dec 1 2015, 10:31 AM)
V60 and aeropress lover here  icon_rolleyes.gif
Joining in the fun soon. Just ordered a ceramic 1-4cup smile.gif
ymeng85
post Dec 3 2015, 12:16 AM

QUOTE(hanny562 @ Dec 2 2015, 11:48 AM)
pourover fans here too,  using kalita 102 to pour everyday after lunch..
Respect! In the office? shocking.gif
ymeng85
post Dec 3 2015, 03:06 PM

QUOTE(wadthehellz @ Dec 3 2015, 02:46 PM)
for me i feel that brew with aeropress have quite stronger body compared to v60 but i like both of them biggrin.gif
Agreed. V60 would be better clarity and focuses on highlighting delicate flavors. Aeropress is more heavy bodied and thus can cover some of those nice fruity/floral notes and overall tastes more muffled
ymeng85
post Dec 6 2015, 09:09 AM

QUOTE(aranny2001 @ Dec 5 2015, 09:32 PM)
hi, im new in this coffee making. Just got my self a Delonghi ECOV 311.

I had a few question to ask for help,

1) Milk Forthing:

i pour the cold fresh milk into my milk pitcher (350 ml) , then remove the steam wand foam maker, use direct nozzle into my milk pitcher. Making the milk in the circular motion until my hand feel the milk is hot enough until my hand cant hold it. Problems is the milk after frothing its not dense enough... when i pour into my espresso, its straight away dissolve into the coffee like simply ouring the milk into a normal black coffee.. why? is it because my espresso has only a thin layer of crema? hmm.gif  it is because lack of microfoam while i frothing the milk without much air introduce into the milk?

2) Crema

I got my ground bean from Renggit coffee, gring it with my burr grinder to the finest grind, tamp it into my portafilter, on the pump and stop it after 25 sec. coffee produce very less crema. what would be the problem? the bean it self? doh.gif  is it much spend much on the expensive bean to get a good crema? normally where you guys normally buy the bean from?
Thank you for the advise~ thumbup.gif
You have almost all the right ideas. Keep it up smile.gif

Milk
Getting it into a circular motion is definitely crucial (also to save your ears from those high pitch noises) but u need to make sure the tip is not too deep. Too low and you will be heating the milk without creating foam. Too high, you will see large bubbles forming. With enough practice, you should be able to listen from the sound itself that you are on the right height. Also, when sufficient microcosm has been achieved, but milk is not yet at temperature, dip the tip lower in to finish to temp without adding more foams

Crema
Beans for espresso is best between 1week to 3 weeks old. Below 5 days, you will get lots of crema but dissipates very quickly in the cup (I call it immature crema). Too old, you get 0 crema ha-ha. How many ml/g do you get with 25sec? Just to see if the grinder is grinding fine enough for you
ymeng85
post Dec 6 2015, 09:57 PM

QUOTE(aranny2001 @ Dec 6 2015, 09:36 PM)
jz now i try to make another try and error, found out that i grind the coffee too fine, over extract and strain my machine which is not good shocking.gif . I would like to ask normally how fine/coarse do you guys grind the coffee? i just realised that very fine coffee is only suitable for depressurized portafilter.. hmm.gif
That's the exact problem with pressurized baskets. You want the coffee to be the restrictor to generate the pressure but instead you have this quirky spring thingy in the portafilter that's doing this. So if you try to grind finer, the coffee grounds will resist the incoming pressure and the resulting output from the bottom end is a lower pressure liquid (but exactly the coffee you want!) which is unable to push thru the spring to exit to your cup and so you end up with a choked machine

Without the coffee being the restrictor however (grinding coarser) you're not going to be able to generate real sweet flavorful crema unfortunately

Again, you want the 9bar pressure pushing through your COFEE to generate ~60ml of coffee within 25-30sec for a double shot and not instead to push against a spring in the portafilter

Latte art however can be done without proper crema. You could get away with nescafe and a few shakes of cocoa powder on top before the milk too smile.gif
ymeng85
post Dec 6 2015, 10:50 PM

QUOTE(aranny2001 @ Dec 6 2015, 10:05 PM)
A very good knowledge notworthy.gif

is it depressurized basket confirm can make a think crema with fresh bean or it still depends on other factor as well? i had read some forum ppl did complaint not all depressurized basket can get such result too... so at this moment i think ill just stick to the default basket first, try to adjust the coffee to bit coarse than jz now.

I thought making a nice latte art will need to have a thick crema will only work?  doh.gif  cause most of the video i watched their crema is so thick and nice drool.gif .
It's the same concept as green tea latte and hot chocolate drinks. Crema is not necessary for good art. A good, thick properly extracted espresso is however important as a good base for a good tasting drink. A low crema shot is usually watery and makes really tasteless latte/capp

Video to try out
http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=-Hby0HmVCno
ymeng85
post Dec 7 2015, 10:35 AM

QUOTE(dwRK @ Dec 7 2015, 09:48 AM)
Not entirely true, at the "proper" grind coffee will still come/flow out nicely, will not choke the machine. I have done this with my friend's Poemia, using grinds tuned to my HX. The flow profile about the same as my HX, the latte tastes about the same. I didn't do much more tuning as I just wanted to see how it flows and taste. It flows very different to her store bought powder.

The crema is more oily emulsion slightly more "bitter". The sweetness of sugar is more in the water part of the coffee.
Interesting. I thought the Poemia is also using a spring loaded valve in the portafilter. Well, experience is more accurate anyways smile.gif
You're right about the bitter/sweet part of crema though. Mixed it up haha

p/s Crema looks a little thin? Need that slightly rust color no?
Good art anyways!, better than what I've ever done

ymeng85
post Dec 7 2015, 02:04 PM

QUOTE(brotan @ Dec 7 2015, 11:16 AM)
i am not addicted to coffee but i do like them. take once a day

last time i always use 3 in 1 (chek hup mainly). although taste nice, too sweet for me and kinda expensive

nowadays, i buy cheapo 3 in 1 (currently aik cheong ones) + add 1 spoonful of instant coffee powder. quite ok now biggrin.gif

anyone can suggest improvement over this combo?
Depends on your budget and what you perceive as your acceptable price:quality ratio

3in1 and the capsule options (nespresso/arristo/dolcegusto) are what I call consistent coffee that don't really need much human effort/adjustments. But it being consistently good or consistently bad is up to the drinker smile.gif

I would suggest you to start off at least with an Aeropress if you want to get into real coffee appreciation without adding all those sugar/cream/milk. Good quality coffee is just like good quality wine, you don't need to add stuffs to it. But this method would need you to put some effort into it - grind coffee fresh, tune grind settings, figure out coffee:water ratio, how long to brew, water temperature etc but that's what makes it fun right? Haha

But maybe you're asking about improving 3-1 combo. In that case, ignore my post smile.gif

This post has been edited by ymeng85: Dec 7 2015, 02:05 PM
ymeng85
post Dec 13 2015, 09:49 AM

QUOTE(dwRK @ Dec 12 2015, 03:54 PM)
Yummy...both machine and beans... smile.gif
Bro, you have a Slayer??!!
ymeng85
post Dec 13 2015, 10:33 AM

QUOTE(dwRK @ Dec 13 2015, 10:20 AM)
In my dreams biggrin.gif no lah was at coffex...played with theirs and drink their coffee biggrin.gif

That's a ~RM100k two-group four-boiler beast smile.gif crazy money for a machine.
I don't dream so far la... Just a single group Slayer is good enough ha-ha. But lucky to even get to play with one. They let you pull shots on it?
ymeng85
post Dec 13 2015, 09:29 PM

QUOTE(alienxp03 @ Dec 13 2015, 12:34 AM)
any good recommendation for great black coffee? biggrin.gif
Elaborate your question? Are you asking about where or which cafe to go to for a good black?
Or as you asking about how to brew a good cup yourself?

ymeng85
post Dec 14 2015, 01:30 PM

QUOTE(alienxp03 @ Dec 13 2015, 10:28 PM)
More like a good black coffee that I make myself at home. Not brew it myself, since I don't really have the equipment. Maybe something like Nescafe, where I can make it myself. By black I mean without sugar of course smile.gif

I don't really know what is the right term for this though. Sorry for that smile.gif
I used to enjoy those 2-1 (but looks like you looking for 1-1 haha) but since I started roasting and brewing my own with Aeropress I couldn't really go back anymore
Some of the more premium freeze dried types of coffee is actually not too bad - something like Robert Timms?
ymeng85
post Dec 15 2015, 09:39 AM

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Dec 15 2015, 01:44 AM)
Aud$8 for 200g not cheap I think

Then again I had Davidoff for like usd$8 100g
Can't do apple to apple compare to coffee beans smile.gif
You probably don't need 7-10g for each cup (1 tablesppon) so might still be affordable per cup

ymeng85
post Dec 15 2015, 04:09 PM

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Dec 15 2015, 10:58 AM)
I am not comparing to bean just to brands like indocafe
When they like rm7 for 50g or less I think

Then for rm26 for 200g not premium.

Daviddoff is rm35 for 100g by exchange rate
I see I see. I stand corrected

ymeng85
post Dec 28 2015, 06:24 PM

QUOTE(arj @ Dec 28 2015, 06:03 PM)
Guys what do you think about this grinder? Good enough to be paired with a Silvia or Oscar?

http://beanshipper.com/collections/coffee-...a-cafegrano-130
Looks like a rebadged Cappresso Infinity actually. Supposedly the minimum option for a decent espresso grind (read fine enough)
ymeng85
post Dec 29 2015, 10:53 AM

QUOTE(dwRK @ Dec 28 2015, 06:29 PM)
Hahaha you beat me...
LOL. And almost the same exact words too! icon_rolleyes.gif
ymeng85
post Dec 30 2015, 03:35 PM

QUOTE(max_cjs0101 @ Dec 30 2015, 03:24 PM)
Tried the Costa Rican coffee just now and i was pleasantly surprised. Light bodied but well rounded. Not bad but i still prefer a fuller bodied cuppa.
Maybe look for fuller bodied beans - natural processed -or- kenyans -or- indonesians
Otherwise, a darker roast profile beans might suit you better too
ymeng85
post Dec 31 2015, 04:54 PM

QUOTE(Irishcoffee @ Dec 31 2015, 12:59 AM)
Hi guys, im selling off my Nuova Simonelli Grinta Coffee Grinder.
The grinder is in supreme condition, well taken care.
This is AMMT version of Grinta, which has timer build in, which give u accurate dosing for your espresso
Please pm me if you are interested  smile.gif

[attachmentid=5661587]

[attachmentid=5661588]

[attachmentid=5661589]

[attachmentid=5661590]
Nice grinder...more interested in the espresso machine next to it though haha
Anyways, good luck with your sales
ymeng85
post Jan 2 2016, 01:14 AM

QUOTE(Irishcoffee @ Jan 1 2016, 02:02 PM)
yeah sure thanks
im upgrading soon, aiming for industry grinder smile.gif
Guessing a proper 64mm. Or even higher end? smile.gif

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0483sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 01:06 AM