PC Audio Please Recommend... a 2.1 or 5.1 speaker set V5, Comparison and Advice

Edifier
post May 7 2013, 03:44 PM

Store Representative
9,174 posts

QUOTE(money_rule @ May 5 2013, 04:02 PM)
hi
i am looking for 2.0 or 2.1 speaker
usage: movies, songs and some games
budget: 200 to 300
thank you~
For RM200 - RM300, i will recommend you give Edifier HCS2330 a try.

This post has been edited by Edifier: May 7 2013, 03:45 PM
Duckies
post May 7 2013, 05:00 PM

Rubber Ducky
9,804 posts

QUOTE(wim1983 @ May 7 2013, 03:25 PM)
I just bought HiVi Swans M50W for MYR702, I think u can skip the sound card and buy this set, test audition is available at heavyarm gaming store, subang jaya thumbup.gif
Wow RM702? That's quite expensive sweat.gif Without sound card would it project the sound properly?
dellshioo
post May 7 2013, 07:39 PM

22 posts

Hi guys, I need recommendation for 2.1 speakers.

Currently using Altec Lansing ATP3 (with Asus G55 laptop and PS3).
Normally used for gaming 50%, music 30% and movies 20% However I'm most picky when listening to music. (clarity most important, bass power come second)

Currently looking at
1. Corsair sp2500 (~700)
2. Edifier s530d (~750)
3. Logitech z623/ edifier s330 + creative sound blaster x-fi hd ext sound card (~750)
Budget rm800 max. Please recommend.

Note that I'm from Alor Setar and will probably buy from lowyat seller/lelong. I probably limited to those common pc speaker brand. If got other suggestion, please let me where can I purchase online.

Thank you.
power911
post May 7 2013, 07:42 PM

Misguided Angel of Death
6,513 posts

QUOTE(dellshioo @ May 7 2013, 07:39 PM)
Hi guys, I need recommendation for 2.1 speakers.

Currently using Altec Lansing ATP3 (with Asus G55 laptop and PS3).
Normally used for gaming 50%, music 30% and movies 20% However I'm most picky when listening to music. (clarity most important, bass power come second)

Currently looking at
1. Corsair sp2500 (~700)
2. Edifier s530d (~750)
3. Logitech z623/ edifier s330 + creative sound blaster x-fi hd ext sound card (~750)
Budget rm800 max. Please recommend.

Note that I'm from Alor Setar and will probably buy from lowyat seller/lelong. I probably limited to those common pc speaker brand. If got other suggestion, please let me where can I purchase online.

Thank you.
definitely Edifier S530D laugh.gif

but instead of getting those speakers on choice .3 you can buy Edifier R2700 with soundcard for your picky music taste.
Though 2.0 is best for music, I find myself enjoying gaming experience with huge 2.0 setup rather than a subwoofer unit
money_rule
post May 7 2013, 07:47 PM

182 posts

QUOTE(Edifier @ May 7 2013, 03:44 PM)
For RM200 - RM300, i will recommend you give Edifier HCS2330 a try.
thxx
wad is its difference with c3?
which one is better and wad is the current price for c3>
thank you very much
rclxms.gif
power911
post May 7 2013, 08:33 PM

Misguided Angel of Death
6,513 posts

QUOTE(money_rule @ May 7 2013, 07:47 PM)
thxx
wad is its difference with c3?
which one is better and wad is the current price for c3>
thank you very much
rclxms.gif
C3 is around RM400

with bigger speakers and bigger amp, you get more sound out of your speakers which means more details

HCS2330 will sound like toys when you use C3 icon_rolleyes.gif
dellshioo
post May 7 2013, 09:53 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(power911 @ May 7 2013, 07:42 PM)
definitely Edifier S530D  laugh.gif

but instead of getting those speakers on choice .3 you can buy Edifier R2700 with soundcard for your picky music taste.
Though 2.0 is best for music, I find myself enjoying gaming experience with huge 2.0 setup rather than a subwoofer unit
I assume you are talking about r2600 because I can only find that. How is it performance on gaming and movies? Although I said i'm picky on musics, I still want to strike a balance between each. tongue.gif

Btw, will external sound card give enough performance boost to Justify the extra $$ ? I had heard someone said won't see the difference if speaker not good enough. Those rm700+ speakers we discuss good enough?

power911
post May 7 2013, 10:36 PM

Misguided Angel of Death
6,513 posts

QUOTE(dellshioo @ May 7 2013, 09:53 PM)
I assume you are talking about r2600 because I can only find that. How is it performance on gaming and movies? Although I said i'm picky on musics, I still want to strike a balance between each. tongue.gif

Btw, will external sound card give enough performance boost to Justify the extra $$ ? I had heard someone said won't see the difference if speaker not good enough. Those rm700+ speakers we discuss good enough?
it's R2700... the 3 way studio speaker Edifier produced.

I have not much comments about it yet (because I have not tried it out) but as far as performance goes it's definitely balanced (assuming E30 had close to similar sound signature)

It really depends on your ears to be able to notice the difference. It also depends on the file you're playing (high quality goods or cheap audio files)

If you are comparing by using low quality ripped MP3s then chances of you hearing soundcard difference is very low.

It doesn't have to be RM700+ speakers to know the difference... My cheapo Edifier E3100 is able to present the difference of good and bad soundcard
money_rule
post May 7 2013, 11:46 PM

182 posts

QUOTE(power911 @ May 7 2013, 08:33 PM)
C3 is around RM400

with bigger speakers and bigger amp, you get more sound out of your speakers which means more details

HCS2330 will sound like toys when you use C3 icon_rolleyes.gif
but den
im using y500 to play songs and movie
i dun think it has any special soundcard
will it affect the audio quality of it?
thxx for answering yaa
rclxms.gif
power911
post May 8 2013, 12:12 AM

Misguided Angel of Death
6,513 posts

QUOTE(money_rule @ May 7 2013, 11:46 PM)
but den
im using y500 to play songs and movie
i dun think it has any special soundcard
will it affect the audio quality of it?
thxx for answering yaa
rclxms.gif
is that a laptop?

if yes you can always buy USB soundcards (or DAC)
money_rule
post May 8 2013, 01:26 AM

182 posts

yea
its a laptop

is buying an amplifier better or using this usbsound card?

wim1983
post May 8 2013, 08:11 AM

Whiz
1,531 posts

QUOTE(Duckies @ May 7 2013, 06:00 PM)
Wow RM702? That's quite expensive sweat.gif Without sound card would it project the sound properly?
with M50W, just an onboard sound card will blow you away biggrin.gif , coz the sub ady built-in a lot circuit boards tongue.gif

with a decent sound card, I don't think u hear much difference.

Also, audiophile always claim loseless audio files like flac/ape play better than mp3, that's bullshit to me, with today technology it's not the same, an mp3 can perform on par with a flac/ape file, definitely, it depend how you encode a file and how you get the original audio file, persoanally I recommend this software called Audacity, I use it to encode VBR MP3 with best quality, always work like a charm for me, when listen and compare, I hear no difference, MP3 works for most situation like playing your musics in your card, there is a huge space save for your USB drive too rclxms.gif . Of course if possible I also keep a copy of loseless audio track, I do both way tongue.gif

penmarker
post May 8 2013, 11:23 AM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(wim1983 @ May 8 2013, 08:11 AM)
with M50W, just an onboard sound card will blow you away  biggrin.gif , coz the sub ady built-in a lot circuit boards  tongue.gif

Also, audiophile always claim loseless audio files like flac/ape play better than mp3, that's bullshit to me, with today technology it's not the same, an mp3 can perform on par with a flac/ape file, definitely, it depend how you encode a file and how you get the original audio file, persoanally I recommend this software called Audacity, I use it to encode VBR MP3 with best quality, always work like a charm for me, when listen and compare, I hear no difference, MP3 works for most situation like playing your musics in your card, there is a huge space save for your USB drive too rclxms.gif . Of course if possible I also keep a copy of loseless audio track, I do both way  tongue.gif

What is your audio setup?

ktek
post May 8 2013, 11:29 AM

小喇叭
13,215 posts

QUOTE(dellshioo @ May 7 2013, 09:53 PM)

audio stuffs usually never justify the cost of purchase shakehead.gif
got budget, buy it. over budget, ignore it.

QUOTE(money_rule @ May 8 2013, 01:26 AM)
is buying an amplifier better or using this usbsound card?

amplifier is used for headphone and passive speaker.
active speaker (got power cord) cannot use amp becos inside already got amp rclxub.gif

QUOTE(wim1983 @ May 8 2013, 08:11 AM)
with M50W, just an onboard sound card will blow you away  biggrin.gif , coz the sub ady built-in a lot circuit boards  tongue.gif
Also, audiophile always claim loseless audio files like flac/ape play better than mp3, that's bullshit to me, with today technology it's not the same, an mp3 can perform on par with a flac/ape file, definitely, it depend how you encode a file and how you get the original audio file, persoanally I recommend this software called Audacity, I use it to encode VBR MP3 with best quality, always work like a charm for me, when listen and compare, I hear no difference, MP3 works for most situation like playing your musics in your card, there is a huge space save for your USB drive too rclxms.gif . Of course if possible I also keep a copy of loseless audio track, I do both way  tongue.gif

just saying onboard sound has improved over time.
usually pc speaker have simple processing only, like crossover, bass /treble equalizer. the rest of job belongs to sound card.
lossless do have advantage when u play loud enough, becos the dyamic range is sustained from original rip.
otherwise, mp3 is preffered for casual listening wink.gif
tany
post May 8 2013, 01:10 PM

608 posts

recommend me a speaker budget rm400
wim1983
post May 8 2013, 02:51 PM

Whiz
1,531 posts

QUOTE(penmarker @ May 8 2013, 12:23 PM)
What is your audio setup?
Speakers:
Sonic Gear Blue Thunder I (this one still rocking for rather mid sound stage with minor distortion)

Swans HiVi M200MKII (so far the best sound stage and sound quality for me, but still some bass effect not working good enough, barely can hear any distortion)

Swans HiVi M50W (overall great balance, great bass with the sub but can't be turn to high, mid/high not as great as M200MKII but just great enough, barely any distortion too)

Headphones:
AKG K420 (entry level headphones, great in overall, sound messy if you compare to really good headphones with great sound isolation & sound stage)

Sennheiser PX 100-II (great in comfort, and overall sound quality, don't expect punchy bass from this headphones though)

Sennheiser HD 598 (so far the best headphones for me, with greatest comfort, sound stage, and sound quality. If pair with a cheap USB DAC, will compensate the lack of bass, i bought one from here https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2265846/all, it's cheap only MYR85 include postage)

Audio card/USB DAC:
Onboard REALTEK sound card
T-Muso PCM2704 USB DAC

BTW, My setup got a lot of "WOOD" color, absolutely love this classy color biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by wim1983: May 8 2013, 03:09 PM
penmarker
post May 8 2013, 02:54 PM

2,017 posts

Ah I see.
wim1983
post May 8 2013, 02:59 PM

Whiz
1,531 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ May 8 2013, 12:29 PM)
audio stuffs usually never justify the cost of purchase shakehead.gif
got budget, buy it. over budget, ignore it.
amplifier is used for headphone and passive speaker.
active speaker (got power cord) cannot use amp becos inside already got amp rclxub.gif
just saying onboard sound has improved over time.
usually pc speaker have simple processing only, like crossover, bass /treble equalizer. the rest of job belongs to sound card.
lossless do have advantage when u play loud enough, becos the dyamic range is sustained from original rip.
otherwise, mp3 is preffered for casual listening wink.gif
sifu, correct me if i am wrong, so loseless format can play louder with little/without distortion? Correct?
ktek
post May 8 2013, 04:27 PM

小喇叭
13,215 posts

QUOTE(wim1983 @ May 8 2013, 02:59 PM)
sifu, correct me if i am wrong, so loseless format can play louder with little/without distortion? Correct?

yes. besides louder, also more complete frequency spectrum (above human ear)
dellshioo
post May 8 2013, 06:39 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(power911 @ May 7 2013, 10:36 PM)
it's R2700... the 3 way studio speaker Edifier produced.

I have not much comments about it yet (because I have not tried it out) but as far as performance goes it's definitely balanced (assuming E30 had close to similar sound signature)

It really depends on your ears to be able to notice the difference. It also depends on the file you're playing (high quality goods or cheap audio files)

If you are comparing by using low quality ripped MP3s then chances of you hearing soundcard difference is very low.
It doesn't have to be RM700+ speakers to know the difference... My cheapo Edifier E3100 is able to present the difference of good and bad soundcard
Seems like R2700 not really arrive in Malaysia yet. At least not readily available. But the price seems to be around RM500 according to some post in lowyat. HOw is it compare to s530d ? (If ignore the sound card upgrade)

Btw, any suggestion for ext sound card beside the one I suggested ? (creative x-fi hd)

144 Pages « < 43 44 45 46 47 > » Top

0.0286sec    1.51    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 12:37 AM