PC Audio Please Recommend... a 2.1 or 5.1 speaker set V5, Comparison and Advice

xenomesh
post Apr 18 2013, 03:16 AM

QUOTE(power911 @ Apr 17 2013, 09:52 PM)
I find the E30 sounds much better compared to B&W MM1
not sure about MM1 comparing to Soundsticks 3... I believe it's not so good

about the subwoofer out in E30 I have yet to test it out. Will try it this friday when I got home
But Spinnaker E30 do come with subwoofer?

What subwoofer is recomended for it and will Soundstick III subwoofer work as subwoofer?

power911
post Apr 18 2013, 09:06 AM

Misguided Angel of Death
6,513 posts

QUOTE(xenomesh @ Apr 18 2013, 03:16 AM)

What subwoofer is recomended for it and will Soundstick III subwoofer work as subwoofer?
Spinnaker E30 had 2 built in woofers... not subwoofers

you don't get that cinematic rumble

and as mentioned... allow me to check the subwoofer line out on friday first lol... I am not sure if you can connect ordinary computer speakers into it

Soony
post Apr 19 2013, 03:22 AM

I love Photography !
2,131 posts

Speaking of the E30, its on offer now so I'm deciding between this two. Is the E30 really worth for its money over the C2XD?

Are the wires less messy? I'm planning to use it with my laptop though. Any comments would be much appreciated.
power911
post Apr 19 2013, 10:50 AM

Misguided Angel of Death
6,513 posts

QUOTE(Soony @ Apr 19 2013, 03:22 AM)
Speaking of the E30, its on offer now so I'm deciding between this two. Is the E30 really worth for its money over the C2XD?

Are the wires less messy? I'm planning to use it with my laptop though. Any comments would be much appreciated.
the E30 can get messy sometimes because the main amplifier is on the right speaker so all the wires,powerbrick, wires to subwoofer (if you have one), and wires to left speaker are all connected to the right speaker.

In some way it can get very messy if you want your speakers nearer to the edge of the table instead of being near to the walls

C2XD... you can anytime hide the main amplifier unit and make everything looked clean...
but in terms of wires compared to E30 it actually is more messier than E30

it's just how you arrange things (I'm a messy person)

C2XD would not deliver trebles and vocal clarity as good as the E30
however C2XD had a subwoofer so it thumbs bass louder than E30

E30 had 2 4" woofers which "kicks" harder than C2XD 6.5" subwoofer but then it lacked of oOOoOomph when it's on movies mode during those deep sounding rumbles whistling.gif

in my very true opinion I would highly recommend E30 over C2XD

This post has been edited by power911: Apr 19 2013, 10:51 AM
ktek
post Apr 19 2013, 11:09 AM

小喇叭
13,210 posts

what is the price range for e30?
Soony
post Apr 19 2013, 12:59 PM

I love Photography !
2,131 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Apr 19 2013, 11:09 AM)
I'm not really sure as I'm overseas so the price range differs, E30 cost around Rm700~ while the C2xd cost around Rm 350.
wim1983
post Apr 19 2013, 01:49 PM

Whiz
1,531 posts

Hi All, I am a Sonic Gear Blue Thunder 1 owner, been using it for almost 10 years, I think it worth add to the buget RM200 list. Between, I have a Senheider HD598, but it does not sound good when plug in to onboard soundcard, I am wondering in future if I want to upgrade to Edifier C3, will the sound be better for my HD598? Anybody have same headphone as mine? Or a comparison between Blue Thunder 1 vs Edifier C3? biggrin.gif
no~name
post Apr 19 2013, 02:45 PM

72 posts

hey guys, i still looking for c3, but nw i found s330 and R501 5.1 have almost same price(c3 399, S330 399, R501 409)...n tos r gud stuff...and nw it made me hesitate to choose.
currently i use asus laptop without chg any soundcard, so i dun knw c3 suitable or nt bcos heard many ppl said dun choose c3 if dun hv good sound card n cable...
give me commenttt

This post has been edited by no~name: Apr 19 2013, 02:46 PM
ktek
post Apr 19 2013, 03:44 PM

小喇叭
13,210 posts

QUOTE(Soony @ Apr 19 2013, 12:59 PM)
I'm not really sure as I'm overseas so the price range differs, E30 cost around Rm700~ while the C2xd cost around Rm 350.

3 way high-mid-low setup +bluetooth support, no doubt a good product.
high price range for pc speaker sweat.gif

QUOTE(wim1983 @ Apr 19 2013, 01:49 PM)
if I want to upgrade to Edifier C3, will the sound be better for my HD598? Anybody have same headphone as mine? Or a comparison between Blue Thunder 1 vs Edifier C3? biggrin.gif

BT1 is something quite powerful..
are u trying to make hd598 use c3 amp?

QUOTE(no~name @ Apr 19 2013, 02:45 PM)
give me commenttt

i would suggest u, dont buy speaker based on outlook.
listen to them instead, find demo set from shop

c3 has failed many person despite the good look. problem is not sound card, some say the amp under power.
i'd say the designer intended to let the satelite shine but somehow ppl put high expectation on sub whistling.gif

s330 satelite is too small to produce proper sound. size does matter.
r501 is surround set. got 8" subwoofer yo! get new generation that have tweeter
power911
post Apr 19 2013, 05:45 PM

Misguided Angel of Death
6,513 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Apr 19 2013, 11:09 AM)
QUOTE(Soony @ Apr 19 2013, 12:59 PM)
E30 costs RM990 on most stores I see though

QUOTE(wim1983 @ Apr 19 2013, 01:49 PM)
Hi All, I am a Sonic Gear Blue Thunder 1 owner, been using it for almost 10 years, I think it worth add to the buget RM200 list. Between, I have a Senheider HD598, but it does not sound good when plug in to onboard soundcard, I am wondering in future if I want to upgrade to Edifier C3, will the sound be better for my HD598? Anybody have same headphone as mine? Or a comparison between Blue Thunder 1 vs Edifier C3? biggrin.gif
C3 will never sound any close to Sennheiser HD598 lol
my goodness... go get a new soundcard if you want upgrade... your Sennheiser HD598 can do so much better with a good soundcard.

QUOTE(no~name @ Apr 19 2013, 02:45 PM)
hey guys, i still looking for c3, but nw i found s330 and R501 5.1 have almost same price(c3 399, S330 399, R501 409)...n tos r gud stuff...and nw it made me hesitate to choose.
currently i use asus laptop without chg any soundcard, so i dun knw c3 suitable or nt bcos heard many ppl said dun choose c3 if dun hv good sound card n cable...
give me commenttt
Reason why I usually recommend C3 over S330D and R501 is that C3 is a simple and good system to go with

the S330D sounds too bright for average users... and the bass is messy at times... the mids and vocals are very artificial sounding

The R501 is good in many ways but it's a 5.1 system and many users do not know how to set it up.
I usually recommends R501 and use them as a 2.1 setup while keeping the extra 3 satellites as a spare.
Plus the only way to adjust volume is by a remote control... lost that and you lose your entire speaker
Soony
post Apr 19 2013, 06:59 PM

I love Photography !
2,131 posts

Just got my E30, loving it =D ,but the bass a bit lacking.
power911
post Apr 19 2013, 08:28 PM

Misguided Angel of Death
6,513 posts

QUOTE(Soony @ Apr 19 2013, 06:59 PM)
room positioning and solid table i highly required wink.gif

don't forget good soundcard

it helps improve the bass of E30
wim1983
post Apr 19 2013, 08:40 PM

Whiz
1,531 posts

QUOTE(power911 @ Apr 19 2013, 06:45 PM)
E30 costs RM990 on most stores I see though
C3 will never sound any close to Sennheiser HD598 lol
my goodness... go get a new soundcard if you want upgrade... your Sennheiser HD598 can do so much better with a good soundcard.
Reason why I usually recommend C3 over S330D and R501 is that C3 is a simple and good system to go with

the S330D sounds too bright for average users... and the bass is messy at times... the mids and vocals are very artificial sounding

The R501 is good in many ways but it's a 5.1 system and many users do not know how to set it up.
I usually recommends R501 and use them as a 2.1 setup while keeping the extra 3 satellites as a spare.
Plus the only way to adjust volume is by a remote control... lost that and you lose your entire speaker
I got it, so I just need to buy a good soundcard then? But I worry this soundcard not working on HD598 and Blue Thunder 1, then GG shocking.gif
power911
post Apr 19 2013, 08:42 PM

Misguided Angel of Death
6,513 posts

QUOTE(wim1983 @ Apr 19 2013, 08:40 PM)
I got it, so I just need to buy a good soundcard then? But I worry this soundcard not working on HD598 and Blue Thunder 1, then GG  shocking.gif
umm I don't that would happen lol
wim1983
post Apr 19 2013, 09:02 PM

Whiz
1,531 posts

QUOTE(power911 @ Apr 19 2013, 09:42 PM)
umm I don't that would happen lol
Oh great, what soundcard should I buy?
Edifier
post Apr 19 2013, 09:47 PM

Store Representative
9,166 posts

QUOTE(Soony @ Apr 19 2013, 06:59 PM)
If you have active sub, you can connect it to your e30, it will increase the bass effect.
power911
post Apr 19 2013, 09:56 PM

Misguided Angel of Death
6,513 posts

QUOTE(wim1983 @ Apr 19 2013, 09:02 PM)
Oh great, what soundcard should I buy?
i don't know much about soundcards but... DAC I know a few

UD100 is good
I'm using T-Muso PCM2704

also good stuff~
power911
post Apr 19 2013, 10:15 PM

Misguided Angel of Death
6,513 posts

QUOTE(xenomesh @ Apr 18 2013, 03:16 AM)

I think your soundsticks will work as a great subwoofer but it can get a lil annoying (or dangerous lol not sure)

My subwoofer line out had a very low volume to it so on my subwoofer volume I had to max out the volume entirely just to get the bass singing

a slight hiss/pop in it but it's okay

This post has been edited by power911: Apr 19 2013, 10:15 PM
ktek
post Apr 20 2013, 11:08 AM

小喇叭
13,210 posts

QUOTE(power911 @ Apr 19 2013, 10:15 PM)
I think your soundsticks will work as a great subwoofer but it can get a lil annoying (or dangerous lol not sure)

My subwoofer line out had a very low volume to it so on my subwoofer volume I had to max out the volume entirely just to get the bass singing

a slight hiss/pop in it but it's okay

never heard any active sub that has low volume... u use RCA or what kind of connection?
no~name
post Apr 20 2013, 11:36 AM

72 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Apr 19 2013, 03:44 PM)
3 way high-mid-low setup +bluetooth support, no doubt a good product.
high price range for pc speaker sweat.gif
BT1 is something quite powerful..
are u trying to make hd598 use c3 amp?
i would suggest u, dont buy speaker based on outlook.
listen to them instead, find demo set from shop

c3 has failed many person despite the good look. problem is not sound card, some say the amp under power.
i'd say the designer intended to let the satelite shine but somehow ppl put high expectation on sub whistling.gif

s330 satelite is too small to produce proper sound. size does matter.
r501 is surround set. got 8" subwoofer yo! get new generation that have tweeter
that y i asking here, all gt their weak point...
if u were me with same condition, which one would u choose?

144 Pages « < 41 42 43 44 45 > » Top

0.0339sec    0.65    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 09:28 PM