Singapore REITS, S-REITS

prince_mk
post Jun 3 2017, 01:29 PM

2,679 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jun 3 2017, 01:27 PM)
Yes. North canal road. But the staff there are not very knowledgeable. All old aunties (no offences against old people). If you compare DBS V staff vs maybank KE staff, DBS V staff know what to do. These aunties are like very blur.

I think it's better if you go to westgate as what elea and gark did.

You can try email maybank ke and ask can you link your standard charterd account to maybank ke as the EPS  form doesn't have standard chartered available (only DBS, OCBC, UOB, Citibank).

No charges. Unless you meant maintenance fees for overseas shares?
what is the charges when buying and selling shares ?
Ramjade
post Jun 3 2017, 01:35 PM

24,330 posts

QUOTE(prince_mk @ Jun 3 2017, 01:29 PM)
what is the charges when buying and selling shares ?
For now until end of Dec min SGD10 or 0.18%. After that, if they decide not to continue promo, it will be min SGD18 or 0.18%.
Maybank KE prefunded chaeges

Dividend will be paid into trading account.

To get money back into your bank account, have to contact your remisier.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jun 3 2017, 01:37 PM
prince_mk
post Jun 3 2017, 01:51 PM

2,679 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jun 3 2017, 01:35 PM)
For now until end of Dec min SGD10 or 0.18%.  After that,  if they decide not to continue promo, it will be min SGD18 or 0.18%.
Maybank KE prefunded chaeges

Dividend will be paid into trading account.

To get money back into your bank account, have to contact your remisier.
oic....why don you sign up Sg MBB savings acc so that the dividend can be bank in directly into you savings ?
Ramjade
post Jun 3 2017, 01:54 PM

24,330 posts

QUOTE(prince_mk @ Jun 3 2017, 01:51 PM)
oic....why don you sign up Sg MBB savings acc so that the dividend can be bank in directly into you savings ?
Already sign up. My Maybank KE prefunded is link to my MBB SG account. This is how the system works. If you use Maybank KE cash account, then dividend will be paid out from CDP into your selected bank account. Actually I don't really need this maybank account since I have DBS. Waste my SGD500 (minimum amount).

Don't know want to close maybank account or DBS account. Haiz.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jun 3 2017, 01:56 PM
prince_mk
post Jun 3 2017, 02:00 PM

2,679 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jun 3 2017, 01:54 PM)
Already sign up. My Maybank KE prefunded is link to my MBB SG account. This is how the system works. If you use Maybank KE cash account, then dividend will be paid out from CDP into your selected bank account. Actually I don't really need this maybank account since I have DBS. Waste my SGD500 (minimum amount).

Thanks Ramjade.

I also have DBS too. still thinking whether to close DBS multi currency acc or not as the sgd3k is sitting there with no interest paid.

what is your view on this ?
Ramjade
post Jun 3 2017, 02:17 PM

24,330 posts

QUOTE(prince_mk @ Jun 3 2017, 02:00 PM)
Thanks Ramjade.

I also have DBS too. still thinking whether to close DBS multi currency acc or not as the sgd3k is sitting there with no interest paid.

what is your view on this ?
Go try luck.Visit any of the POSB branches and ask them is there a SGD500 account you can open. I heard there's one but only for SGrean. Not sure if they will let us open.
If can, open that, close MCA.

Reason for keeping my DBS MCA
1) it's SG bank. Maybank is MY bank. People said if something happen to Maybank, Maybank SG also not spared although MAS have taken steps to prevent this kind of thing to happen. Maybank along with SCB have been granted full licensed by MAS that means to operate in SG, they must meet the min safety requirements.

If you have no need, just close it. You can also put SGD65 inside there for them to deduct while you put the SGD2940 to good use. Investing in something which give 5% also good enough to cover DBS fees.

If I am in your shoes, close it. Stick with standard chartered and cimb sg (for 1%pa parking place as it's free). That way, I still have 2 trading account. SCB (main one) and Maybank KE as backup. I am working towards getting SCB and close my DBS (there's a way)

The best multicurrency so far I found so far is OCBC. No fall below fees. But like all SG banks, charge you 1% to deposit foreign currency.

For me my plan
1) work towards getting SCB account
2) get posb SGD500 account if possible
3) close DBS MCA and Maybank account.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jun 3 2017, 02:23 PM
prince_mk
post Jun 3 2017, 02:24 PM

2,679 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jun 3 2017, 02:17 PM)
Go try luck.Visit any of the POSB branches and ask them is there a SGD500 account you can open. I heard there's one but only for SGrean. Not sure if they will let us open.
If can, open that, close MCA.

Reason for keeping my DBS MCA
1) it's SG bank. Maybank is MY bank. People said if something happen to Maybank, Maybank SG also not spared although MAS have taken steps to prevent this kind of thing to happen. Maybank along with SCB have been granted full licensed by MAS that means to operate in SG, they must meet the min safety requirements.

If you have no need, just close it. You can also put SGD65 inside there for them to deduct while you put the SGD2940 to good use. Investing in something which give 5% also good enough to cover DBS fees.

If I am in your shoes, close it. Stick with standard chartered and cimb sg (for 1%pa parking place as it's free). That way, I still have 2 trading account. SCB (main one)  and Maybank KE as backup. I am working towards getting SCB and close my DBS (there's a way)

The best multicurrency so far I found so far is OCBC. No fall below fees. But like all SG banks, charge you 1% to deposit foreign currency.

For me my plan
1) work towards getting SCB account
2) get posb SGD500 account if possible
3) close DBS MCA and Maybank account.
I alrdy asked abt POSBank. They said must maintain min sgd3k for foreigner. so, no choice.

I will let the sgd3k sitting in dbs for time being.
TSprophetjul
post Jun 3 2017, 02:41 PM

12,267 posts

QUOTE(prince_mk @ Jun 3 2017, 01:23 PM)
boss,

what is the benefits of having Close End fund ?

I m new in this too. I see the Dividend Yield is around 3.92% ( the price was usd20.40 )

was this a dividend stock or capital appreciation stock ?
Hi prince,

Look at the dovidend declaration. It is for 20 cents PER MONTH.
elea88
post Jun 3 2017, 02:42 PM

4,174 posts

QUOTE(prince_mk @ Jun 3 2017, 01:15 PM)
Thanks Ramjade.

which branch did you go ? 50 North Canal Road Singapore 059304?

But my bro doesn't have Sg Maybank savings acc ? How ?

no need MAYBANK SG.. any Singapore bank will do. as can use FAST to transfer.

and what is the monthly charges for MKE ?
i went to WESTGATE. Its a shopping centre. (JURONG EAST MRT)
inside got MAYBANK KIM ENG office. upstairs is DBS bank.
and if not mistaken nearby also got STandard Chart .

within walking distance is also many banks. even Maybank is near by about 5 mins walk across the road.

My suggestion is DBS BANK ac (as there is plenty atm).. then open CIMB SG.

dun bother MAYBANK SG. unless you want to open this Maybank from Malaysia. and transfer funds via TT as, there is limited ATM machines for bank in cash.

i hv all 3 bank ac. DBS, MAYBANK SG & CIMB SG (for temporary parking of funds for 1% interest)
elea88
post Jun 3 2017, 02:46 PM

4,174 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jun 3 2017, 01:54 PM)

haha.me too. i thinking want close MAYBANK . as SGD 500 sitting there too..\
not sure if they are like M'sia bank.. need log in every 3 months
Need to check if they have DORMANT account requirement or not.

DBS must keep as a lot of ATM in singapore.
TSprophetjul
post Jun 3 2017, 02:54 PM

12,267 posts

Since we are into yield investment, do you have a portfolio of CORE holdings, which lets you SWAN? Sleep Well At Night.

How do you come up with your core stocks?

What is the % of your total portfolio is your core holding?
Ramjade
post Jun 3 2017, 02:58 PM

24,330 posts

QUOTE(elea88 @ Jun 3 2017, 02:42 PM)
i went to WESTGATE. Its a shopping centre. (JURONG EAST MRT)
inside got MAYBANK KIM ENG office. upstairs is DBS bank.
and if not mistaken nearby also got STandard Chart .
within walking distance is also many banks. even Maybank is near by about 5 mins walk across the road.

My suggestion is DBS BANK ac (as there is plenty atm).. then open CIMB SG.

dun bother MAYBANK SG. unless you want to open this Maybank from Malaysia. and transfer funds via TT as, there is limited ATM machines for bank in cash.

i hv all 3 bank ac. DBS, MAYBANK SG & CIMB SG (for temporary parking of funds for 1% interest)
Actually my intention was not to open Maybank. It was more of backup plan. But since teropen already, just leave it there. tongue.gif Got my DBS bank account then I found out that my Maybank application was send down to SG (together with brother. That time send first. Can get or not is 2nd question) already.

I never use any DBS ATM machine to withdraw money. Only deposit money Only spend max SGD20 in SG. (kiamsiap) laugh.gif

QUOTE(elea88 @ Jun 3 2017, 02:46 PM)
haha.me too.  i thinking want close MAYBANK . as SGD 500 sitting there too..\
not sure if they are like M'sia bank.. need log in every 3 months
Need to check if they have DORMANT account requirement or not.

DBS must keep as a lot of ATM in singapore.
Just do a transfer then withdrawal between any of the 3 banks via FAST so that account is not dormant. I cannot get any info about dormancy account in SG. For those with DBS, login, go check out the apply tab. There's a eEveryday Savings account (the SGD500 POSB account). Supposedly able to apply via online. Haven't tried.

elea88, if you have lots of money to park, try Citibank Maxigain. Can get close to 2% No fall below fees.
prince_mk
post Jun 3 2017, 04:29 PM

2,679 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jun 3 2017, 02:58 PM)
Actually my intention was not to open Maybank. It was more of backup plan. But since teropen already, just leave it there. tongue.gif  Got my DBS bank account then I found out that my Maybank application was send down to SG (together with brother. That time send first. Can get or not is 2nd question) already.

I never use any DBS ATM machine to withdraw money. Only deposit money Only spend max SGD20 in SG. (kiamsiap) laugh.gif
Just do a transfer then withdrawal between any of the 3 banks via FAST so that account is not dormant. I cannot get any info about dormancy account in SG. For those with DBS, login, go check out the apply tab. There's a eEveryday Savings account (the SGD500 POSB account). Supposedly able to apply via online. Haven't tried.

elea88, if you have lots of money to park, try Citibank Maxigain. Can get close to 2% No fall below fees.
why wan to put in Citibank maxgain. just put in FSM CMF or Sg reits. Aus shares is not bad too > 6%

spent sgd20 per day. sigh..so many good foods there. enough kah ? hahahahaha

This post has been edited by prince_mk: Jun 3 2017, 04:33 PM
Ramjade
post Jun 3 2017, 04:45 PM

24,330 posts

QUOTE(prince_mk @ Jun 3 2017, 04:29 PM)
why wan to put in Citibank maxgain. just put in FSM CMF or Sg reits. Aus shares is not bad too > 6%

spent sgd20 per day. sigh..so many good foods there. enough kah ? hahahahaha
Bro this is for warchest. If stocks market crash tomorrow, you can withdraw in time to deploy or not? tongue.gif

Too expensive for my stomach. (SGD is 3x RM)
prince_mk
post Jun 4 2017, 12:39 PM

2,679 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jun 3 2017, 04:45 PM)
Bro this is for warchest. If stocks market crash tomorrow, you can withdraw in time to deploy or not? tongue.gif

Good idea too Ramjade. I also have some savings in Amanah Saham. I guess that is enough.

Never withdraw from my Sg accounts so far as it was meant for retirement savings.

Keep up.. icon_rolleyes.gif
elea88
post Jun 4 2017, 01:40 PM

4,174 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jun 3 2017, 04:45 PM)

i actually do not think price of SG food expensive as the portion is big and the quality is there...

ConquerorX
post Jun 4 2017, 07:34 PM

GeN™
2,655 posts

hello to all sifus,

just wanna ask, assuming you have sgd10k worth of reits and the dividend is 3% yearly, are you expecting 300sgd gain on yearly basis? notworthy.gif
Ramjade
post Jun 4 2017, 08:08 PM

24,330 posts

QUOTE(ConquerorX @ Jun 4 2017, 07:34 PM)
hello to all sifus,

just wanna ask, assuming you have sgd10k worth of reits and the dividend is 3% yearly, are you expecting 300sgd gain on yearly basis? notworthy.gif
Dividend gain + capital appreciation. thumbup.gif
But 3% for reits is too low. biggrin.gif Min should be 6% la.
ConquerorX
post Jun 4 2017, 08:52 PM

GeN™
2,655 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jun 4 2017, 08:08 PM)
Dividend gain + capital appreciation. thumbup.gif 
But 3% for reits is too low. biggrin.gif  Min should be 6% la.
thanks ram. the 3% was just an assumption biggrin.gif again, assuming you have 10k sgd for reits alone, how would you diversify and based on what categories?

I've been reading this thread for quite awhile, and most sifus recommended industrial reits? thus, how would you diversify amongst the reits?
Ramjade
post Jun 4 2017, 09:23 PM

24,330 posts

QUOTE(ConquerorX @ Jun 4 2017, 08:52 PM)
thanks ram. the 3% was just an assumption biggrin.gif again, assuming you have 10k sgd for reits alone, how would you diversify and based on what categories?

I've been reading this thread for quite awhile, and most sifus recommended industrial reits? thus, how would you diversify amongst the reits?
Not sure if you have read this.

From my previous post
QUOTE(kart @ May 20 2017, 10:44 PM)
How do you all decide the best price to buy S-Reits? Do you use something like 10-day average price, or 30-day average price, as a guide?

For example, the current share price of Soilbuild Business Space REIT is SGD 0.680. What would be the best price to buy this S-Reit?

Thanks for the advice. smile.gif
1) For me, I determine how much yield I want. Very simple it must beat malaysia's amanah saham in the long run.
A 5.75% yield can beat a 6%+ amanah saham over long period of time.
Eg. You know a reit can give 6%+ yield but right now it's giving 5.8%+ yield, do you want it or do you want to wait? I will wait. (eg. CCT at current price. Will I buy CCT? No. See reason 9. If they give me 7%, yes, I will take not 6% biggrin.gif )
2) How much debt it have
- again this is not set in stone. Lower debt of course better la. But Mapletree greater china IMO is better than capital china retail eventhough mapletree have ~40% gearing -way higher than Capitalland. But we need to see, mainland china are esavvy shopper. In china, you have online store everywhere (alibaba, 360, baidu, tencent, xiaomi, etc) We all know that amazon is beating the crap out of brick and mortar shopping lot. Do we still want capital china retail? If Fortune reit (a HK reit with shopping malls can survive HK, then shopping mall can still survive in HK). Fortune reit would be better option shopping reit vs Mapletree GCC but Fortune reit dividend only 5+% vs 7%+ of mapletree. Next thing you do is look at the mall owned by Mapletree. Is it it good? Even though it's only one mall, but it's a higher version of vivocity. I will bite but not now. Anyway with that high gearing, sooner or later Mapletree will have to issue rights.That time, price will drop. Div yield may reach 8%+ drool.gif
3) Occupancy rate - the higher the occupancy, the higher the rental (not always true but having the place occupied and people paying rental is better than vacant), does it beat it's peer.
4) Types of building and location
5) Whether it achieve (+) rental reversion
6) NPI - a good reit should increase NPI
7) How the reit manager handle bad times (CMT, FCpT, FCT, CCT, Aims)
8) Read blogs (investmentmoat, fifth person, turtle investor (he's mostly index investor but sometimes does reit review), assi (some I don't agree like ASSI going for Capitalland China Trust and Starhill Global) does good reviews on reit
9) I am sucker for diversification. That's why my reits I choose are not all pure play SG-reit (Hence FCT, MLT and MCT is in my portfolio)
10. I want access to certain market but do not wish to pay withholding tax (I at looking at you AU and US). Hence I add FLT and manulife US when the time is right. Both does not incur 30% withholding tax.
20. How to know price high or not? Use google finance to find out. They have nice chart which shows previous prices.

My goal (when I started in Jan) is buy at whatever market price and collect dividend first. Later when opportunities present itself, use dividend collected to average down. A bad strategy but so far it works. Some of my reits I bought at market price giving me 11-12% paper gain (including latest dividend). If opportunity present itself to average down, I will take it. There's still some reits on my shopping list I have got yet. See eg in reason 1.

Right now, not buying anything. No money. No discount. sad.gif

689 Pages « < 255 256 257 258 259 > » Top

0.0207sec    0.20    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 06:07 PM