Singapore REITS, S-REITS

AVFAN
post Sep 18 2015, 02:44 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Sep 18 2015, 01:05 PM)
Got to be patient bro. You might be better off let the money sit in the bank doing nothing than risk it in a volatile market. Unless you are a risk taker.
it is surely wise to do that at certain times.

investing for the sake of staying vested can be a disaster! biggrin.gif
Showtime747
post Sep 18 2015, 06:24 PM

4,258 posts

STI today follow DJI. From +24 points to -16 at close tongue.gif

Both Suntec and Capitalmall down a bit.

Fast fast Q early for Monday !
AVFAN
post Sep 18 2015, 06:56 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Sep 18 2015, 06:24 PM)
STI today follow DJI. From +24 points to -16 at close  tongue.gif

Both Suntec and Capitalmall down a bit.

Fast fast Q early for Monday !
ya, volatility continues.

no rush, watch and watch.

plenty of buying opportunities coming for usa and sgx!
TSprophetjul
post Sep 19 2015, 09:02 AM

12,267 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Sep 18 2015, 12:31 PM)
Hopefully no need to wait for another month. If something bad out of China between now and that October date for Janet Yellen to speak again, then the chance comes again.

SOmehow,... I am beginning to lose hope that I can depend on the Feds to help me,...us to be able to buy-in cheaper for SG REITs. Must look for other stimulus news already.
China may devalue thevyuan again?
gark
post Sep 19 2015, 10:04 AM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Sep 19 2015, 09:02 AM)
Not likely.. they have seen the damage it can do to them from the recent devaluation.

Most likely they will take a more softer approach next time, lowering interest rate, bank reserve ratio (which they did recently) and flooding the economy with more yuan.
AVFAN
post Sep 19 2015, 10:52 AM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Sep 19 2015, 09:02 AM)
that is a possibility.

if u hv not read:
http://www.cnbc.com/2015/09/16/why-chinas-...evaluation.html
Hansel
post Sep 21 2015, 06:35 AM

9,347 posts

Regulation of trading activities in Singapore to protect investors !

Don’t wait for trading queries before disclosing big deals, SGX warns firms

Insider trading must be stopped at all costs. The Singapore Exchange reiterated that companies are responsible for halting the trading of their own shares in order to prevent insider trading when they are on the cusp of a large deal. Although choosing the timing of an announcement can be challenging, SGX said that the onus is on the company to halt trading if trading activities of its shares suggest there could be a potential leak of the matter under negotiations or discussions. “Should the company not be ready to make the disclosure, it should release a holding statement to explain its position. The company may request for a suspension of trading if it is unable to release the material information by the end of the trading halt to allow more time for the matter to be concluded and disclosed via announcement,” said the SGX. “Should SGX suspect insider trading, we will take action including obtaining from the company the name list of parties privy to the material announcement, analysing trades, obtaining information from brokers and referring cases to the Monetary Authority of Singapore (MAS),” the SGX warned.

thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by Hansel: Sep 21 2015, 06:37 AM
elea88
post Sep 21 2015, 07:58 AM

4,174 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Sep 19 2015, 10:04 AM)
Not likely.. they have seen the damage it can do to them from the recent devaluation.

Most likely they will take a more softer approach next time, lowering interest rate, bank reserve ratio (which they did recently) and flooding the economy with more yuan.
Wow Gark.. welcome back....
gark
post Sep 21 2015, 10:37 AM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(elea88 @ Sep 21 2015, 07:58 AM)
Wow Gark.. welcome back....
Bought any REITs lately?

I am still adding to Creosus Trust.. rclxms.gif
AVFAN
post Sep 21 2015, 01:21 PM

24,453 posts

nibbled again at capitamall and suntec. biggrin.gif

still waiting for aimsamp 1.34. tongue.gif
yisien
post Sep 21 2015, 01:27 PM

400 posts

i bought some Saizen Reit at 0.825 =)
Hansel
post Sep 21 2015, 01:53 PM

9,347 posts

Did not load any. Waiting for further dips.
elea88
post Sep 22 2015, 09:22 AM

4,174 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Sep 21 2015, 10:37 AM)
Bought any REITs lately?

I am still adding to Creosus Trust..  rclxms.gif
from the time i started in 2013.. collected one long list already.
But sad to say, most of it is now negative Capital.

Yes adding.. slowly.
elea88
post Sep 22 2015, 09:22 AM

4,174 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Sep 21 2015, 01:21 PM)
nibbled again at capitamall and suntec. biggrin.gif

still waiting for aimsamp 1.34. tongue.gif
everyday key in aims 1.33...
Cap mall.. i dun hv. maybe will take bit.

Now very kiasu buy little by little.

SGX my brokerage reduce to SGD12... minimum. so, boleh tahan abit.
gark
post Sep 22 2015, 09:25 AM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(elea88 @ Sep 22 2015, 09:22 AM)

Yes adding.. slowly.
I am sure your forex gain to be substantial.. wink.gif

For REITs, more is not necessary better.. as they move more or less the same

Just go for solid properties, and not so much on yields.

For me I always like malls, as they are more or less recession proof and also rentals reversions can at least match inflation. thumbup.gif

Industrial and office, are more depending on the economy.
AVFAN
post Sep 22 2015, 10:44 AM

24,453 posts

Yes adding.. slowly.
true, if bought in 2013-2014, they will be red or neutral.

but dividend and fx gain in rm is substantial, so OK.

the situation for us equities is about the same.

overall, better than keeping in rm! tongue.gif

no need to have a long list.

i keep my list to pretty much 4-6.

need to sell when too high like in the cases of capmall and suntec, then wait to buy again. smile.gif

everyday key in aims 1.33...
Cap mall.. i dun hv. maybe will take bit.

Now very kiasu buy little by little.

SGX my brokerage reduce to SGD12... minimum. so, boleh tahan abit.
i couldn't wait yesterday, took a bit of aims at 135.5, capmall 187.5, suntec 149.5.

looking ok today. wink.gif
elea88
post Sep 22 2015, 10:58 AM

4,174 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Sep 22 2015, 10:44 AM)
true, if bought in 2013-2014, they will be red or neutral.

but dividend and fx gain in rm is substantial, so OK.

the situation for us equities is about the same.

overall, better than keeping in rm! tongue.gif

no need to have a long list.

i keep my list to pretty much 4-6.

need to sell when too high like in the cases of capmall and suntec, then wait to buy again. smile.gif
i couldn't wait yesterday, took a bit of aims at 135.5, capmall 187.5, suntec 149.5.

looking ok today. wink.gif
My objective is Yield... returns over time.
and preferably Cap appreciation too.
Storing funds in SG for my kid to use for overseas study.

And.. since i am not so good in Analysis.. i go for the diversification concept.
Hence a little bit in everything.

Overall portfolio is not that huge a negative.
Eg: my Lippo Malls is -ve 30%... but i get +ve 29% for Sheng Siong...

Since i do not have a huge position, i do nothing.. Did not take profit or Cut loss...
Also, i dunno right or wrong.

My biggest total holdings is in AIMS so far...

like u said.. after costing in Yield collected and Forex, return is definately better
than keeping in RM.

This post has been edited by elea88: Sep 22 2015, 10:59 AM
gark
post Sep 22 2015, 11:03 AM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(elea88 @ Sep 22 2015, 10:58 AM)

And.. since i am not so good in Analysis.. i go for the diversification concept.

Since i do not have a huge position, i do nothing.. Did not take profit or Cut loss...

like u said.. after costing in Yield collected and Forex, return is definately better
than keeping in RM.
If you want to invest in international reits, you got to keep informed on forex and macroeconomics.

Lippo Malls yield is initially high, but it is denominated in IDR, and when IDR falls vs SGD, the yield hence price falls with it. The malls under lippo is doing ok, there are rental revision upwards, but they cannot fight versus forex headwinds.

Some securities cannot hold forever, there are times to buy and there are times to let go. You need to asses your REIT holdings at least once per Quarter. If the REIT no longer fulfills your objectives (in terms of yield, asset class or asset quality) they you have to look for more suitable candidate.

This post has been edited by gark: Sep 22 2015, 11:07 AM
AVFAN
post Sep 22 2015, 11:10 AM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Sep 22 2015, 11:03 AM)
Some securities cannot hold forever, there are times to buy and there are times to let go. You need to asses your REIT holdings at least once per Quarter. If the REIT no longer fulfills your objectives (in terms of yield, asset class or asset quality) they you have to look for more suitable candidate.
right, i belong to the camp that does not believe in buying to keep forever whether for cap gains or yield.

there are surely times one has to do some pruning - pluck the juicy fruits or cut off dead branches. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Sep 22 2015, 11:11 AM
Showtime747
post Sep 22 2015, 11:12 AM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(elea88 @ Sep 22 2015, 10:58 AM)

than keeping in RM.
I used to be same like you. Looking for yield, and yield only. Buy, keep and forget. But recently the volatile market gives us opportunities. Trading is more profitable. In and out in days or a week can make decent returns. Like Singtel in recent months fluctuation is relatively big. Even Reits fluctuates a lot and can make some pocket money tongue.gif Start to change from a long term boring investor to a "quais-trader" already. Not a true goreng trader but still into fundamental stock because even if I make mistake, I still can hold long term and don't feel like cutting loss tongue.gif

689 Pages « < 82 83 84 85 86 > » Top

0.0463sec    0.15    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 05:31 AM