Private Retirement Scheme Started?
Dec 4 2012, 01:08 PM
26 posts Joined: Mar 2009 |
I applied Public mutual moderate convention fund. Paid RM3k. However it required Management fees (2%) + service cahrge (1.5%) and the PPA account open for RM10.
Dec 4 2012, 02:09 PM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
21,308 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kuala Lumpur |
Dec 4 2012, 04:30 PM
3,294 posts Joined: Dec 2005 |
HwangIM is cheapest among the three at the moment.
Dec 4 2012, 07:23 PM
919 posts Joined: May 2005 |
how much hwangIM is charging, there are not many hwang office and branches around in KL and PJ.
Dec 4 2012, 07:46 PM
8,259 posts Joined: Sep 2009 |
Can we invest in few PRS provider? Maybe 2 provider? As not all provider is going full fledge yet, only next year we will know who is offering the best deal..
Dec 4 2012, 08:59 PM
218 posts Joined: May 2008 |
Dec 4 2012, 09:09 PM
2,547 posts Joined: Sep 2011 |
I'm interested as well. Do we just walk-in the branches and apply for the account on the spot?
Dec 6 2012, 08:25 PM
10,314 posts Joined: Dec 2009 From: Malaysia |
Lyners, pls help urgently.
I intend to invest in this prs scheme. So far i think only ing, cimb, hwang and public have launched prs scheme. Am doing a comparison and so far these are what i manage to find out. Public; 3% entry cost. If taking growth fund, there is a 1.6% management and admin fees yearly. Transfer fee to other prs operators at rm25 Hwang; No entry cost. Exit cost unknown. Management and admin fees unknown but someone told me it is 2.5% yearly. Transfer fee to other prs operator at rm50. Ppa charges is the same for all funds. Rm8 for every year if there is deposit. Exempted for entry year and year where account is not active. Not sure about ing and cimb. Pls advise as i intend to buy asap. Thanks. |
Dec 6 2012, 08:40 PM
I just opened a PRS account with Hwang yesterday with a pretty nice young lady CRM. For HwangIM, there is no sales charge, trustee fee is 0.04%, management fee is up to 1.8%, switching is 0%. Those charges by PPA is same for all the providers.
Dec 6 2012, 08:46 PM
70 posts Joined: Jan 2009 |
If not mistaken, HwangIM has the highest management fee among the PRS providers, which is up to 1.8%. Other providers only charge 1.5%....
Dec 6 2012, 08:47 PM
QUOTE(echoesian @ Dec 6 2012, 08:40 PM) I just opened a PRS account with Hwang yesterday with a pretty nice young lady CRM. For HwangIM, there is no sales charge, trustee fee is 0.04%, management fee is up to 1.8%, switching is 0%. Those charges by PPA is same for all the providers. Pretty nice young lady crm???Trustee fee for public is the same at 0.04%. Is hwang's 1.8% for the growth fund or moderate or conservative. Public have different rates for different fund. Their most expensive is growth at 1.5%. Are you sure hwang does not have exit fees? |
Dec 6 2012, 09:58 PM
QUOTE(kochin @ Dec 6 2012, 08:47 PM) Pretty nice young lady crm??? Not sure about exit fees, what is that actually?Trustee fee for public is the same at 0.04%. Is hwang's 1.8% for the growth fund or moderate or conservative. Public have different rates for different fund. Their most expensive is growth at 1.5%. Are you sure hwang does not have exit fees? Growth - up to 1.8% Moderate - up to 1.5% Conservative - up to 1.3% |
Dec 6 2012, 10:22 PM
ok, i got the breakdown liao.
taking growth fund as an example. hwang is charging 0 entry fees, 0 exit fees, management fees of 1.8% + trustee fees of 0.4%; PPA is taking another 0.4% as management fees; transfer fees at rm50 per transaction to other providers PB is charging 3% upfront fees (entry fees), 0 exit fees, management fees of 1.5%, trustee fees of 0.6%; PPA is taking another 0.4% as management fees; transfer fees at rm25 per transaction to other providers so basically it boils down to fund performance as the difference is quite minor. any advice on which of these perform better historically? fyi, cimb is at management fees of 1.4% + trustee fees of 0.4%. transfer at rm75. cheers! |
Dec 6 2012, 11:10 PM
546 posts Joined: Sep 2010 |
QUOTE(kochin @ Dec 6 2012, 10:22 PM) ok, i got the breakdown liao. Happy Investing!taking growth fund as an example. hwang is charging 0 entry fees, 0 exit fees, management fees of 1.8% + trustee fees of 0.4%; PPA is taking another 0.4% as management fees; transfer fees at rm50 per transaction to other providers PB is charging 3% upfront fees (entry fees), 0 exit fees, management fees of 1.5%, trustee fees of 0.6%; PPA is taking another 0.4% as management fees; transfer fees at rm25 per transaction to other providers As far as Public Mutual PRS fund is concern, contributors may obtained it from 2 distribution channels, either Public Bank or Public Mutual Private Retirement Consultant (PRC). The entry fee is at 3% with no exit fee for the moment and applies to all 3 core funds & 3 shariah compliance PRS funds. Interested contributors may check out Public Mutual PRS fund titles at www.ppa.my. However, the management fee of 1.5%pa DOES NOT apply to all Public Mutual PRS funds as it varies from one fund to another. Do visit the nearest Public Bank branch and get a Product Highthlights Sheet (PHS) so basically it boils down to fund performance as the difference is quite minor. Agree any advice on which of these perform better historically? PRS funds have only been launched at nothing more than 7 days, hence... fyi, cimb is at management fees of 1.4% + trustee fees of 0.4%. transfer at rm75. cheers! This post has been edited by felixwang: Dec 7 2012, 03:09 PM |
Dec 6 2012, 11:31 PM
8,259 posts Joined: Sep 2009 |
I want to invest...
Added on December 7, 2012, 12:02 amCan put beneficiary in PRS account? This post has been edited by Kaka23: Dec 7 2012, 12:02 AM |
Dec 7 2012, 12:06 AM
QUOTE(felixwang @ Dec 6 2012, 11:10 PM) but i got it from public mutual website wor:http://www.publicmutual.com.my/LinkClick.a...os%3d&tabid=496 pls advise. thanks. |
Dec 7 2012, 09:32 AM
952 posts Joined: Feb 2011 |
QUOTE(kochin @ Dec 6 2012, 10:22 PM) ok, i got the breakdown liao. go for default option. u can avoid any manual transfer in future. or, choose which fund is match with ur risk tolerance. just stick with the fund until u retire.taking growth fund as an example. hwang is charging 0 entry fees, 0 exit fees, management fees of 1.8% + trustee fees of 0.4%; PPA is taking another 0.4% as management fees; transfer fees at rm50 per transaction to other providers PB is charging 3% upfront fees (entry fees), 0 exit fees, management fees of 1.5%, trustee fees of 0.6%; PPA is taking another 0.4% as management fees; transfer fees at rm25 per transaction to other providers so basically it boils down to fund performance as the difference is quite minor. any advice on which of these perform better historically? fyi, cimb is at management fees of 1.4% + trustee fees of 0.4%. transfer at rm75. cheers! market always volitile,u just need to ride with market. regular contribution is better way compare with lump sump, if u not sure abt market directions. historically? PRS is new to market, so, no past record. but basicaly, its a UT. so, read the relevant documents, the asset allocation, local, oversea. and u can compare similar pure UT funds in the market. u can get some clear picture. get a PRS consultant to brief/guides you. suggestion only. |
Dec 7 2012, 02:39 PM
359 posts Joined: Dec 2012 |
i spoke to a PRS agent and apparently i was encouraged to buy their unit trust instead. In fact i was told that it is the government that put a mandatory for these banks to set up this PRS and they had no choice but to accept the government offer.
Also the fund size according to the agent will be very small, whereby only higher income tax payers will buy and max will only be RM3k. Imagine in reality who and how many ppl in Malaysia really pay tax? This times RM3k/year and then divided into 8 funds approved by government. Therefore the PRS fund size is very small for each bank and also no historical proven record. I really into this PRS as it give 26% returns every year (via income tax). on the other hand, i am worried that with PRS given at lowest priority among the other unit trust by the 8 banks, the capability of fund managers assigned by the bank may not generate any growth of money. Any thoughts? |
Dec 7 2012, 03:17 PM
218 posts Joined: May 2008 |
QUOTE(turbopips @ Dec 7 2012, 02:39 PM) i spoke to a PRS agent and apparently i was encouraged to buy their unit trust instead. In fact i was told that it is the government that put a mandatory for these banks to set up this PRS and they had no choice but to accept the government offer. Firstly, Unit Trust Agents cum PRS Agents are sales men. They will want to sell you products that gives them the highest commission. Selling Unit Trust gives them higher commission than selling PRS (compare the sales charge) Also the fund size according to the agent will be very small, whereby only higher income tax payers will buy and max will only be RM3k. Imagine in reality who and how many ppl in Malaysia really pay tax? This times RM3k/year and then divided into 8 funds approved by government. Therefore the PRS fund size is very small for each bank and also no historical proven record. I really into this PRS as it give 26% returns every year (via income tax). on the other hand, i am worried that with PRS given at lowest priority among the other unit trust by the 8 banks, the capability of fund managers assigned by the bank may not generate any growth of money. Any thoughts? Secondly, what's wrong with small fund size? The drawback of big fund size is that the fund manager will incur "impact cost" when managing the fund. Thirdly, PRS is not managed by banks, just like Unit trusts, they are managed by Unit Trust Management Company (UTMC) Fourthly, if you are worried if the UTMC fund manager capability, you can check on his historical performance in managing his other funds. (Of course, historical performance does not guarantee future performance.) This post has been edited by creativ: Dec 7 2012, 03:20 PM |
Dec 7 2012, 03:34 PM
546 posts Joined: Sep 2010 |
QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Dec 6 2012, 11:31 PM) I want to invest... Added on December 7, 2012, 12:02 amCan put beneficiary in PRS account? Ans: Unlike EPF, nomination of beneficiaries is YET to be made available to PRS. Added on December 7, 2012, 3:51 pm QUOTE(turbopips @ Dec 7 2012, 02:39 PM) i spoke to a PRS agent and apparently i was encouraged to buy their unit trust instead. This post has been edited by felixwang: Dec 7 2012, 03:51 PMIn fact i was told that it is the government that put a mandatory for these banks to set up this PRS Ans:Untrue and they had no choice but to accept the government offer Ans:Untrue . Also the fund size according to the agent will be very smal Ans:Untrue l, whereby only higher income tax payers will buy Ans:Untrue and max will only be RM3k Ans:True, if you are referring to tax exemption . Imagine in reality who and how many ppl in Malaysia really pay tax? This times RM3k/year and then divided into 8 funds approved by governmentAns: 8 PRS Providers and NOT 8 Funds . Therefore the PRS fund size is very small for each bank Ans:Untrue and also no historical proven record.Ans: True, because it is NEW I really into this PRS as it give 26% returns every year (via income tax) Ans: Whether you are referring to "investment returns" or "tax returns", both are NOT true. Frankly speaking, I have the slightest idea what you are trying to say since the beginning of your comment. . on the other hand, i am worried that with PRS given at lowest priority among the other unit trust by the 8 banks Ans:We are referred as PRS Providers and some of the PRS Providers distribution channel is via finance institution (Banks etc.) , the capability of fund managers assigned by the bank may not generate any growth of money.Ans: I am not following you at all Any thoughts? |
| Change to: | 0.0244sec
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 09:51 PM |