12 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

News Y500FHD i7,GT750@2999/SLI@3899;Y400 GT750@2499 V1, Thread closed & continue to V2 ^^

TSytlay
post Dec 27 2012, 08:59 PM

1,087 posts

QUOTE(varinek @ Dec 27 2012, 07:57 PM)
Yes, Y500 - Intel Core i5 3210M Ivy Bridge, 15.6" LED 1920x1080, RAM 8GB, 2x NVIDIA GeForce GT650M 2GB SLI, HDD 1TB 5400, WiFi, Bluetooth 4.0, Webcam, HDMI, USB 3.0, Windows 8 64-bit.
How much is it? Bought where? US imported set?

QUOTE(varinek @ Dec 27 2012, 05:35 PM)
Hello, I own this laptop with i5 cpu. Anybody got a problem with BF 3? after about half an hour of play starts to get angry graphics. Flicker and purple textures ... latest gpu drivers
What is the temp? try to disable v-sync

QUOTE(ajul @ Dec 27 2012, 10:41 AM)
better u carefully with ur info..if this item not cover international...local set also mean not cover international warranty...if u see in that list..Malaysia not in the list...mean no support here for that model...
for sure u dont know how warranty works...even not listed there...u still can send the warranty for claim...but lenovo service will order part or get support from the nearest service center that got part...
Thank you for sharing your experience regarding the IWS warranty for imported set.

According to http://support.lenovo.com/en_US/detail.pag...ocID=MIGR-58926
the IWS warranty cover those country listed:
"Customers can determine a machine's IWS eligibility by using the International Warranty Service lookup page to view:
A machine's warranty entitlement and IWS eligibility.
A list of countries providing IWS service.
Contact information where IWS service is available."

and here http://support.lenovo.com/en_US/product-service/iws.page
"IdeaPad Y500 Limited International Warranty Service
Country or Region
China
Czech Republic
Germany
Kazakhstan
Korea
Russia
Singapore
Ukraine
United States"

Pls also share your experience to clarify the doubts for imported set as discussed in thread
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...19606&hl=ap+set

This post has been edited by ytlay: Dec 27 2012, 10:08 PM
TSytlay
post Dec 31 2012, 05:16 AM

1,087 posts

QUOTE(azmierulcm @ Dec 31 2012, 02:20 AM)
Y500 user reporting in,

so far no major problem, except for the trackpad sometimes having problem, but its okay, once u put ur mouse and disable trackpad, everything work fine, and the battery performance is exceed my expectation.

personally fr me it is the best lptop for its price i guess. =)
Imported set?
TSytlay
post Dec 31 2012, 04:55 PM

1,087 posts

QUOTE(imrance @ Dec 31 2012, 12:13 PM)
i can offer you y500,
8Gb, 1Tb, i7 3630qm 2.4 Screen Display Full HD
lowest i can offer u 2850.

Call/SMS/Whatsapp 0143250919
Bro, this is not a sales thread. laugh.gif
Its more appropriate to post & deal in garage sales. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by ytlay: Dec 31 2012, 09:24 PM
TSytlay
post Dec 31 2012, 09:25 PM

1,087 posts

The upcoming new batch of Y500 with similar spec as below will come with Extra free swappable dvdrom & 120W psu according to Devour. rclxms.gif

Y500(upcoming), i7-3630QM/GT650M(GDDR5)/15.6" FHD/4GB/500GB/W8/red backlit keyboard/170W psu/2 yrs warranty
Free - Y500 GN36 - External Graphic / Removable
Free- Additional 170W AC Adapter
Free- swappable dvdrom and 120w AC adapter
Price: Estimated the same @3799
ETA: 1st week of Jan 2013.

Now, Y500 become more mobile with 120w adapter & dvdrom to carry around. Just swap in the extra GPU & 170w psu when we need the extra gaming power at home. Thats the beauty of swappable ultrabay. thumbup.gif

Wonder when the ultrabay component for Y500/Y400 will selling here. hmm.gif
Lenovo at US already start selling the swappable ultrabay components ie. fans/HDD/eGPU/ODD
http://shop.lenovo.com/SEUILibrary/control...00#.UOGNUSK6-9P

This post has been edited by ytlay: Dec 31 2012, 09:26 PM
TSytlay
post Dec 31 2012, 10:23 PM

1,087 posts

QUOTE(havocchin @ Dec 31 2012, 10:06 PM)
Do you mean in Malaysia, or US set?
Its the local set bring in by Lenovo Malaysia. nod.gif

TSytlay
post Jan 4 2013, 11:57 AM

1,087 posts

QUOTE(kujiro @ Jan 1 2013, 12:07 PM)
I'm having some issues with my Y400:
1) CPU throttle down to 2.4ghz from 3.2ghz after 20sec of stress test
2) weak wifi issue, wifi strength is good after update the driver but facing frequent connection drop and hard to connect to the wifi.
Any of u guys facing this?
Its seem that the local set with atheros wifi adapter facing the same issue like China set (BCM4313 wifi adapter) according to chinese forum http://ideapad.it168.com/thread-2903884-1-1.html

You can try out the solution suggested by them. do let us know whether it work. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by ytlay: Jan 4 2013, 01:57 PM
TSytlay
post Jan 4 2013, 12:29 PM

1,087 posts

QUOTE(kujiro @ Jan 4 2013, 12:11 PM)
Many thanks for the link, but too bad, I'm a banana, I can't read chinese and dun understand even after google translate.
Follow the pics if cant get it. tongue.gif
Here the simple guide according to them: icon_rolleyes.gif
Try option 2 first:

Alternatively, you can try to change your modem setting to 802.11g only instead of 802.11bgn mixed. This will limit ur wifi strength.

do let us know the status.

This post has been edited by ytlay: Jan 4 2013, 12:32 PM
TSytlay
post Jan 4 2013, 04:40 PM

1,087 posts

QUOTE(kujiro @ Jan 1 2013, 12:07 PM)
I'm having some issues with my Y400:
1) CPU throttle down to 2.4ghz from 3.2ghz after 20sec of stress test
2) weak wifi issue, wifi strength is good after update the driver but facing frequent connection drop and hard to connect to the wifi.
Any of u guys facing this?
QUOTE(kujiro @ Jan 3 2013, 02:35 PM)
May I know your wireless adapter model? Mine is using Atheros AR9485WB-EG and the latest driver I can find is 10.0.0.75 for window 7 64bit.
Local Y400 come with W8 and default wifi driver 10.0.0.209, you reinstall to Win7 and unofficial wifi driver 10.0.0.75?
May be its a drivers issues. hmm.gif
If use Win7, try Lenovo official wifi drivers 9.2.0.439 below for Y480's atheros wifi since no official Win7 drivers for Y400.
It seem Y480 user dont have any problem with Atheros wifi adapter using default drivers.
http://download.lenovo.com/consumer/mobiles/0pwm03ww.exe

TSytlay
post Jan 5 2013, 06:29 PM

1,087 posts

QUOTE(myotgo @ Jan 4 2013, 11:23 PM)
i wanna ask how to use always on usb actually bcoz
i had shutdown my laptop and charge my phone with usb cable but it didn't work
You need to enable the function "always on USB" in bios setting. then use the yellow usb2.0 for charging when shutdown.

Follow the steps in link below.
http://ideapad.it168.com/thread-2742780-1-1.html
TSytlay
post Jan 11 2013, 12:15 PM

1,087 posts

QUOTE(Seager @ Jan 10 2013, 12:14 PM)
Hi there, I wish to purchase the Y500, and I understand that there are 2 variants available in the Malaysian market, the Malaysian spec and the US spec.

The US spec seems to be much cheaper compared to the Malaysian one, but however it only comes with the internal graphics card. My question is, if I do get the US spec, where can I buy the external GT650M graphics from? And how much will that cost me?

Also, if I do get the Malaysian spec, without the ODD (since it comes with both internal and external GPUs), where can I get one from, and how much will that cost me?

Thank you.
If you need the gt650M sli, go for the local official set of Y500@RSP3799, nego for it as its selling around 34XX. otherwise, get the cheaper local set Y580@rsp2999 with better battery life. If you get the cheaper imported Y500 with lower spec, you might get the refurbished set or end up with major warranty claims issues. sad.gif

Fyi, one of our unlucky forumer bought an imported set Y580 already faced with the major warranty claims issues as reported in http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2647407 sweat.gif

The official reply from Lenovo in their facebook on warranty coverage on local official set & unofficial imported set (AP set) quoted below:
"Lenovo Malaysia: Hi there, please contact the resellers directly as they would be able to advise you on pricing information better. However we would recommend purchasing the Malaysian set as the warranty would be valid and available for service in Malaysia."
http://www.facebook.com/LenovoMY

Disclaimer: Im not a seller and not against any party, we are here to enlighthen our potential buyers of the problems/issues.

QUOTE(hirota @ Jan 9 2013, 08:48 PM)
ibm reply my email that warranty valid in Malaysia.
rclxms.gif

now thinking to upgrade ram and extend warranty
Pls get written confirmation from Lenovo whether they require the Invoice/official receipt from Lenovo or shop for major warranty claims (one to one replacement, faulty mobo/gpu, etc) on imported set.

Do feedback to us together with the extension of warranty for imported set.

This post has been edited by ytlay: Jan 11 2013, 08:01 PM
TSytlay
post Jan 11 2013, 05:02 PM

1,087 posts

QUOTE(imrance @ Jan 10 2013, 03:16 PM)
US got 1 graphic and one DVD. but if you wana buy one more external graphic card you can buy from lenovo only.
Can you provide proper invoice/ official receipt from Lenovo and not from shop for US imported set? Is it valid for major warranty claims (ie 1 to 1 replacement, mobo burned, etc)? hmm.gif

Any 1 to 1 replacement if we are unlucky to get the refurbished imported set or bad apple (graphic card/mobo issues, dead pixels, etc) during COD or within 2 weeks of purchase?

Wish you could share your experience with us to clarify the major warranty claims issues for imported set reported in http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2647407. rclxms.gif
TSytlay
post Jan 11 2013, 06:25 PM

1,087 posts

QUOTE(imrance @ Jan 11 2013, 06:00 PM)
The warranty 1 to 1 change in 7 days from my shop directly. we have stock no problem. but if burned the laptop no body even lenovo, hp, dell any company never accept burned warranty. receipt i give you from my shop. this US set but not re-furbished 100% original warranty.
but what ever i can give you warranty from my shop also 1 year.
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. rclxms.gif
What i means is mobo burned(breakdown) due to hardware failure(ie overheating due to internal fans breakdown) and not laptop burned. laugh.gif

The 7 days 1 to 1 exchange covered for any manufacturer/hardware issues (ie faulty ports/dvd/keyboard/trackpad, artifact due to graphic card issues, etc)? Any specific terms and conditions? What happen if you might out of stock for 1 to 1 exchange?

If the mobo/graphic card are faulty and need to be replaced within 1 yr warranty and Lenovo insist for official receipt/invoice from Lenovo and not from shop for major claims or 1 to 1 replacement, what will happens? Is that covered by shop and what will happen if you might dont have parts for replacement? hmm.gif

Can we extent the Lenovo warranty to 3 yrs?

This post has been edited by ytlay: Jan 11 2013, 07:48 PM
TSytlay
post Jan 12 2013, 08:35 PM

1,087 posts

Bro, any news on the upcoming Y500 and ultrabay accessories? stock ready or ETA?

Heard that Lenovo going to make a big announcement for Y500/Y400. brows.gif

This post has been edited by ytlay: Jan 12 2013, 08:36 PM
TSytlay
post Jan 21 2013, 10:11 PM

1,087 posts

QUOTE(myotgo @ Jan 18 2013, 05:31 PM)
guys!!i i got some problem
2.when in middle of typing something,
it will stop working and showing like this words ads1f5jkl;\.very annoyed
2. Try to disable the USB always on option in Bios, as it might cause keyboard problems as reported below.
http://forums.lenovo.com/t5/IdeaPad-Y-U-V-...ems/td-p/994517
TSytlay
post Jan 23 2013, 07:42 PM

1,087 posts

QUOTE(Jabberwocky @ Jan 22 2013, 11:04 AM)
I keep getting electrostatic shocks to my hands whenever im typing sad.gif
can be improper electrical earthing hmm.gif
try to use at other place.

QUOTE(myotgo @ Jan 22 2013, 04:09 PM)
nope..the problem happened since bfore i turned on the 'always on usb'

can be hardware issue hmm.gif , suggest to go for warranty repair.

QUOTE(Zepx @ Jan 23 2013, 07:36 AM)
ytlay

you mentioned the new batches have 120w power brick? Any updates/news on that part?
According to Devour's facebook, upcoming local set Y500 come with the same spec and extra ultrabay dvd & extra 120W psu. Refer to post#1 for details.
You can check with Devour whether stock ready. Do update us.

TSytlay
post Jan 23 2013, 07:46 PM

1,087 posts

QUOTE(money_rule @ Jan 23 2013, 09:13 AM)
im planning to get y500
but
i dun knw where to get it from
>.<
is the rm34xx variant diff with the official rm3799 one?
some say its cheaper cz its AP set/ Imported set
some think its discounted price
im reali confused
>.<
i need some guides
Local set Y500@rsp3799 are selling at 34XX by some reseller.

You can check on the box & make sure its local set Y500 before you open it. icon_rolleyes.gif
- all local set come with 2 yrs warranty
- look for "MY" sign on the box, ie IDEAPADY500xxxxxxxxxxMY.
- make sure the spec is the same as local set as in post#1
- make sure the local set part No. stated on the box, ie Y500 part No. 59349366

You can refer to post#1 for more details.

Better wait for the upcoming Y500 with same spec and extra ultrabay dvd & extra 120w psu.
Hope it will available together with the upcoming Z400 touch& Z500 touch soon. rclxms.gif

Z400 touch- 14"/i7-3632/4/1TB/Win8/2yrs/GT645 2GB/CarryCase: 16" BP
http://shopap.lenovo.com/my/en/products/la.../z-series/z400/
http://shopap.lenovo.com/my/en/products/la.../z-series/z500/

This post has been edited by ytlay: Jan 23 2013, 08:32 PM
TSytlay
post Jan 23 2013, 08:10 PM

1,087 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Jan 23 2013, 06:01 PM)
http://www.notebookcheck.net/Review-Lenovo...ok.87585.0.html
Review of Y500.
Lots of benchmark for lots of games.
Nice review from notebookcheck. thumbup.gif

Finally, it clear the doubt on gt650m SLI gaming performance.
Thanks to excellent gaming benchmarks from notebookcheck.

Overall gaming performance (avg of 24 games)
gtx675mx> gt650m sli> gtx670mx

Pro
+ Backlit keyboard
+ Decent sound
+ Speedy hardware
+ UltraBay slot
+ Decent FHD screen
+ SSD cache
+ A lot of metal

Contra
- Unfavorable interface and vent positioning
- Clattery and unstable touchpad
- Reflective screen surface
- Quite sensitive casing
- Somewhat spongy keyboard
- Slim scope of delivery

TSytlay
post Jan 25 2013, 02:10 AM

1,087 posts

QUOTE(money_rule @ Jan 24 2013, 11:09 AM)
OmG
thank you so much~
ur comment reali help me~
thxxxx~~~

but den~
if they give the free dvd and 120 psu~
will they stil give the free graphic card and 17 psu?

and den~
will the price increase or something?
Latest Y500@3799 come with same spec and extra 120W AC adapter biggrin.gif . Not with extra swappable ODD. sad.gif
Refer to post#1 for updated details.

There are some buyers bought the latest Y500(59-364676) with dummy plastic in ultrabay & 120W AC adapter in the box, but some reseller didn't give them the ultrabay gpu and 170W AC adapter. doh.gif sweat.gif

So, remember to check carefully before you pay. icon_rolleyes.gif

Here the pic for ultrabay gpu & 170W AC adapter.
http://ideapad.it168.com/thread-2733166-1-1.html

This post has been edited by ytlay: Jan 25 2013, 06:03 AM
TSytlay
post Jan 26 2013, 12:34 PM

1,087 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Jan 25 2013, 08:06 PM)
I'm considering the Y500 now, 1 question the ultrabay I can add additional harddisk? Eg, SSD?
You can buy the mSATA SSD and insert in mSATA slot. Else you can buy normal SSD and swap with HDD, get Lenovo HDD ultrabay for HDD but quite costly. Its cheaper to use it as external HDD.

Beware the normal HDD caddy bay can not fit in the Y400/Y500 due to its design and ports.

The ultrabay optional accessories are not available in the local market currently. Wonder they will bring in the ultrabay accessories. hmm.gif

You can refer to ultrabay accessories selling at US Lenovo for more details.
http://shop.lenovo.com/SEUILibrary/control...e&cc=us&lang=en

Here the pics for ultrabay accessories.
TSytlay
post Jan 27 2013, 02:05 AM

1,087 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Jan 26 2013, 11:18 PM)
USD189, man I could use that to beef up the budget to buy a bigger SSD instead!

Btw, for those with the new SLI Y500, it only runs on SLI when you are using the 170W adapter? My main reason of purchasing a Y500 is mainly due to the looks + its a quad i7 and 1920x1080 display hehehe...
This is where they make their money lol. tongue.gif

Y500 with dual gpus(gt650m SLI) is overkill since you are not into gaming. laugh.gif
Latest Y500 bundle with both 120w & 170w psu. You can bring the 120w psu when you need mobility. Swap in the ultrabay gpu and use 170w psu when you need the extra gpu performance.

If you want i7 , full HD laptop and don't mind the overkill gtx660m. Better get the cheaper Y580@2999 with gtx660m and longer battery life. Use the remaining budget to buy SSD and swap it with HDD, get a much cheaper HDD caddy bay and swap it with ODD. use the ODD as external drive. If you wish to retain the ODD, then get the mSATA SSD for mSATA slot. icon_rolleyes.gif

12 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0798sec    1.04    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 03:32 PM