12 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

News Y500FHD i7,GT750@2999/SLI@3899;Y400 GT750@2499 V1, Thread closed & continue to V2 ^^

TSytlay
post Nov 16 2012, 07:32 PM

1,087 posts

QUOTE(devour @ Nov 16 2012, 06:53 PM)
the external card available on next week, hence, the stock hold first to sell, lol
Y500 stock in your hand? brows.gif
Any other variant for Y500? Any news on Y400?
TSytlay
post Nov 21 2012, 01:27 PM

1,087 posts

QUOTE(storm88 @ Nov 21 2012, 01:08 PM)
Y400 coming soon early December
What is the spec & price for Y400?
Any ultrabay external GT650M? brows.gif
TSytlay
post Nov 21 2012, 06:45 PM

1,087 posts

Lenovo official specs Y500 with dual GPUs GT650M(2GB) stock ready according to trustworthy reseller Devour. thumbup.gif
http://www.facebook.com/pages/Frixfox-Solu...249192148450486

Y500(5934-9366), i7-3630/Nvidia GT650 (2GB)/15.6" FHD/4GB/500GB/W8/red backlit keyboard/16" Backpack/2 years warranty
Free GN36 External Graphic / Removable + additional Y500 170W Adapter
Price : RM3799.

Lenovo malaysia facebook is quite slow in new product update.
Sometime they are not aware the new laptop already available in the market till the user update them. biggrin.gif

Y400 specs below will reach us in December, price will be around Y480. rclxms.gif
Y400 come with ultrabay DVD but no option for ultrabay GT650M.

Y400, i7-3630/Nvidia GT650 (2GB)/4GB/500GB/W8/red backlit keyboard/2 years warranty
ODD: DVDRW (swappable)
ETA: early December

QUOTE(Jabberwocky @ Nov 21 2012, 06:35 PM)
but what gn175546 is offering is 655M not 650M for the external.
GT655M is the SLI version of GT650M.

This post has been edited by ytlay: Nov 21 2012, 06:49 PM
TSytlay
post Nov 23 2012, 11:02 PM

1,087 posts

Y500 benchmark Live from China rclxms.gif
http://ideapad.it168.com/thread-2722558-1-1.html
Y500 China spec, i5-3210/Nvidia GT650M (GDDR5) with GN36 External Graphic / Removable + Y500 170W Adapter
All temp reading taken at room temp 20C without cooler.

Single GPU cpuz, gpuz, AIDA64 benchmark
http://ideapad.it168.com/thread-2725686-1-1.html

3Dmark11 SLI score 3400 vs single card score 2183
3DMark11 for SLI vs 3DMark11 for single GPU

Gaming fps & temp. benchmark

GN36 External Graphic / Removable + Y500 170W Adapter
http://ideapad.it168.com/thread-2733166-1-1.html

Y500 GN36 external graphic/170W psu vs ODD/120W psu
http://ideapad.it168.com/thread-2733184-1-1.html

Y500 SLI setting, not support Nvidia optimus.
Idle temp, cpu 50C, on-board gpu 42C, ultrabay gpu 38C, HDD 36C
http://ideapad.it168.com/thread-2733241-1-1.html

Y500 AIDA64 stress temp
cpu at 66C, HDD at 41C
http://ideapad.it168.com/thread-2725997-1-1.html

Y500 internal layout, ultrabay slot
http://ideapad.it168.com/thread-2725373-1-1.html
http://ideapad.it168.com/thread-2725587-1-1.html

ODD & normal caddy bay comparision, ODD can replace with slim caddy bay.
http://ideapad.it168.com/thread-2722558-1-1.html

Y500 unboxing
http://ideapad.it168.com/thread-2725257-1-1.html

This post has been edited by ytlay: Nov 23 2012, 11:02 PM
TSytlay
post Nov 25 2012, 09:29 PM

1,087 posts

QUOTE(Jabberwocky @ Nov 25 2012, 09:19 PM)
Same 2 years as yours. Wow so expensive u bought!  shocking.gif
Is it support Nvidia optimus? Can switch to Intel HD? hmm.gif

Congraz to all new owner of amazing Y500. thumbup.gif

Can post gpuz, HWINFO, cpuz, 3DMARK11? Thanks. notworthy.gif
Eaglely waiting for Y500 review from the bolehland owner. notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by ytlay: Nov 25 2012, 09:40 PM
TSytlay
post Nov 25 2012, 10:42 PM

1,087 posts

QUOTE(Jabberwocky @ Nov 25 2012, 10:30 PM)
Oh apparently its a general SLI problem, which faced by all the SLIs out there, so no worry about that the machine is working perfectly fine. In fact, i turned off SLI and run DOTA2 in max graphic and its smooothhhhh....  brows.gif

btw here's a quick pic, I'll post more later  laugh.gif

It may be the driver issues. hmm.gif Have you update to the latest driver?

Wow! Its look like Alien Y, very gang & tempting. drool.gif
How is the temp.? Any cpuz?

This post has been edited by ytlay: Nov 25 2012, 10:45 PM
TSytlay
post Nov 26 2012, 12:32 AM

1,087 posts

Thank you, bro. notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

Very poisoness 3Dmark11 & backlit! drool.gif drool.gif

Can help to post temp as in pic before & after running AIDA64 stress test? Thanks. notworthy.gif

QUOTE(Jabberwocky @ Nov 26 2012, 12:04 AM)
More photos! sorry about the quality  blush.gif

I've never run any benchmark before, let me know if I'm doing it wrong k!  laugh.gif

GPU-Z

CPU-Z

3D Mark 11

btw the latest Nvidia driver doesn't support 650M SLI, and it says I need to download the package from manufacturer (lenovo) itself, which is the same driver that comes with the machine.
TSytlay
post Nov 26 2012, 12:45 AM

1,087 posts

QUOTE(CidBunansa @ Nov 26 2012, 12:34 AM)
Oh mai god!
Thnk you so much for all that! notworthy.gif

Edit: If you have the gut, do Furmark stress test and record the temp. We all appreciate it.
Y500 cooling look promising. It can even stress further with WPrime & Furmark together. brows.gif brows.gif
TSytlay
post Nov 26 2012, 01:20 AM

1,087 posts

QUOTE(Jabberwocky @ Nov 26 2012, 12:52 AM)
Here is it, am i doing it right?

How stressful is Furmark stress test??  shocking.gif
1st day only don't dare to burn my baby  sweat.gif
Thank you, bro. notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

AIDA64 full stress test
Nice temp for gpu~61C, HDD~42C thumbup.gif
Are you using any cooler or with Air cond?

Since gpu temp. is quite low in AIDA64 stress, you can try post the furmark at 1080p and monitor temp with gpuz & cpuz. Thanks. notworthy.gif

Furmark test result from China for Y500 with single gpu.
http://ideapad.zol.com.cn/60/160_593012.html

This post has been edited by ytlay: Nov 26 2012, 01:26 AM
TSytlay
post Nov 26 2012, 07:29 PM

1,087 posts

Pls help to run & post screen for stress test below. Thanks in advance. notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
Pls monitor temp. closely with cpuz & gpuz.

Setup:
Pls state at room temp or with air cond, using any cooler.
1) Open cpuz , gpuz for on-board & gpuz for external gpu to monitor temp/gpus throttling.
2) Open Furmark & Prime95.
3) Post screen in step 1 & 2 before stress
4) run prime95 & Furmark at 1920x1080, 4X MSAA till the cpu & gpu max temp. stabilize. (take around 30 min)
5) post screen in step 1 & 2 after stress

Refer sample pic below for GTX680M SLI stress test

QUOTE(Jabberwocky @ Nov 26 2012, 04:36 PM)
Sorry guys I'm at work right now, I'll do a Furmark Test when I get home, finger cross it won't fry my GPU   ohmy.gif

Oh btw I ran GW2 last night at full graphic setting (with SLI), FPS appears to be around 30+
This post has been edited by ytlay: Nov 26 2012, 07:35 PM
TSytlay
post Nov 26 2012, 08:40 PM

1,087 posts

The latest stress test for Y500 from China.
http://ideapad.it168.com/thread-2741978-1-1.html

Y500 i5/GT650M single card
Stress with Furmark & AIDA64 at room temp 20C, quite cool in China.
cpu 71C, gpu 65C, HDD 42C. thumbup.gif

Very nice temp reading proven the good thermal design. thumbup.gif

Waiting our pro bro the stress results. brows.gif
Temp. will be higher as ours with higher specs and room temp.

This post has been edited by ytlay: Nov 26 2012, 08:43 PM
TSytlay
post Nov 26 2012, 10:41 PM

1,087 posts

Many thanks. notworthy.gif

Y500 stress temp is very promising. thumbup.gif
External gpu temp before and after stress around the same at 38C.
Look like it only stress the on-board gpu. weird! shocking.gif

Can post display adapter in device manager as in pic.
Wish to confirm any Nvidia optimus support for Intel HD. Wonder how is the battery life? hmm.gif

QUOTE(Jabberwocky @ Nov 26 2012, 09:49 PM)
Ok I've done a Furmark test with 1920x1080, 4X MSAA for 20 mins.

The CPU/GPU temperature starts to stables at 6 min mark and I let it run until 20 min before I took the screenshot.

Here is it.

Don't boom me if I done it wrong, first timer here  blush.gif

Edit:
- No laptop cooler/fan was used when the test is running, except the ceiling fan in my room running at 2x.
- GPU-Z is showing the primary GPU 650M profile while CPUID is showing both.
Place it under the wire mesh ventilation area. biggrin.gif
U3 is more suitable for Y500. u can add additional fans for u2. brows.gif
QUOTE(myotgo @ Nov 26 2012, 10:14 PM)
i bought y500 too...
y500 seem feel more slimmer body look than y580(old design and bulky body)

btw,
i used cooler master notepal u2, any idea where to put those fans?anyone?
This post has been edited by ytlay: Nov 26 2012, 10:48 PM
TSytlay
post Nov 28 2012, 10:22 PM

1,087 posts

Y500 & Y400 ultrabay support both PCIe and SATA as per the pic below. External gpu connected to PCIe port and ODD connected to SATA port.

This post has been edited by ytlay: Nov 28 2012, 10:59 PM
TSytlay
post Nov 29 2012, 08:59 PM

1,087 posts

Look forward for Y500 gaming benchmark to identify: hmm.gif
- how well the Lenovo current driver support the SLI scalling in individual game.
GT650m vs GT650m SLI scalling, GT650m SLI vs gtx670m/ gtx675m
- any annoy micro stuttering issues during SLI gaming especially with low fps <35fps, it can also happen in higher fps also.
- whats the game not scalling with SLI.
- IMO, no need to test the gaming temp. as refer to Furmark stress temp is better.

We are comparing with gaming benchmark from notebookcheck.
GT650m vs GT650m SLI scalling, GT650m SLI vs gtx670m/gtx675m.
http://www.notebookcheck.net/Computer-Game...ds.13849.0.html

Let standardise the gaming setup for gaming benchmark from different users:
- state gpu driver version
- use FRAPS to measure fps, enable SLI
- choose ur favourate game(as hardcore/popular as possible) as stated in notebookcheck
- pls use the standard game setting(as high as possible) as in notebookcheck so that we can compare
GT650m vs GT650m SLI scalling, GT650m SLI vs gtx670m/ gtx675m
- state any micro stuttering issues in SLI gaming.
- post screen for gaming setting, fps on individual screen capture, min/max/average fps, fps chart
- repeat benchmark with single gpu & same setting.

Anything else to add? suggestion/modification are most welcome from pro. notworthy.gif

Waiting for gaming benchmarks from our bolehland users. Thanks. brows.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by ytlay: Nov 29 2012, 09:25 PM
TSytlay
post Nov 30 2012, 07:50 PM

1,087 posts

Can't wait to see more hardcore gaming benchmark from pro bro. drool.gif

Pls disable/uninstall all running background programs( ie.antivirus,etc ) which will affect the gaming benchmark before you start.
Run gpuz(sensors) for both gpus to check their temp and any throttling.
Use the default gpus, no OC if possible.
Use the propose standard gaming setup for benchmark as in spoiler, if possible.
QUOTE(ytlay @ Nov 29 2012, 08:59 PM)

QUOTE(myotgo @ Nov 30 2012, 07:32 AM)
i will test on nfsmw and assasin creed 3..will post this night ..tq
Many thanks. notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
You can refer to nfsmw & assasin creed 3 game setting/benchmark from notebookcheck below for info.
http://www.notebookcheck.net/Need-for-Spee...ed.83880.0.html
http://www.notebookcheck.net/Assassin-s-Cr...ed.84628.0.html

QUOTE(Jabberwocky @ Nov 30 2012, 12:09 PM)
Preciousssssss.... My precccciouuussssss.........
can't wait to see more hardcore gaming benchmark. brows.gif notworthy.gif
TSytlay
post Nov 30 2012, 10:30 PM

1,087 posts

Waiting to see GT650M SLI challenge GTX670M or GTX675M. brows.gif
If GT650m SLI tie with GTX675M, then its really poisoness. drool.gif drool.gif

Waiting for more poison from alien-onizuka when he reach home. tongue.gif

QUOTE(alien_onizuka @ Nov 30 2012, 08:40 PM)
Just got my Y500 from jayacom. Will post more details once I got back home and test it.
TSytlay
post Dec 1 2012, 01:47 AM

1,087 posts

QUOTE(myotgo @ Dec 1 2012, 01:29 AM)
yah sure..i'm done tested fps on nfsmw and assasin creed 3 on v306.00..and the result is  sad.gif
now i gladly hear that fps can be increasing by updating driver version

will test again
please reconfirm what is the current version, so i can make a test
The SLI scalling is very much depend on how well the drivers optimization. If SLI for GT650M is supported by Nvidia site, always use the latest drivers ie 310.64.
http://www.nvidia.com/object/notebook-win8...eta-driver.html

Pls wait for 3DMark11 from minzisme to verify the 310.54 drivers compatibility.

Do keep your results with default 306 drivers for comparision.

QUOTE(Amal @ Dec 1 2012, 01:02 AM)
You can still upgrade(SSD, RAM, etc) the Y500 in the future.
But you can't do anything to improve the gaming performance on the Y580. Except by overclocking.

Just have to wait for more review on the gaming performance and gaming stability of the GT650M SLI.
Whether the improvement over the GTX660M is worth it or not.
+1 thumbup.gif
IMO, its quite worth it for Y500 with
- swappable ultrabay with different options to suit user needs, ie. ODD, HDD, fans, bluray, even additional battery in future if there are demand.
- swap it with additional battery and bring 120W psu(optional) when you needs mobility. swap with GT650M and use 170W psu when you needs extra horse power at home.
- better design/build & bling-bling Red backlit keyboard
- better cooling system & easy maintenance

This post has been edited by ytlay: Dec 1 2012, 02:00 AM
TSytlay
post Dec 7 2012, 11:23 PM

1,087 posts

QUOTE(storm88 @ Dec 7 2012, 01:49 PM)
erm..
well it has enhanced cooling, and windows 8
so... donno whether worth anot la.
but i will have some unit coming insoon
Good news for Y400 with ultrabay ODD. thumbup.gif
Any other variant for Y500/Y400 coming soon?
Any news on ultrabay accessories for Y400/Y500?

Some reseller said that optional ultrabay accessories for Y500 ETA mid Dec. hmm.gif
TSytlay
post Dec 22 2012, 09:26 PM

1,087 posts

QUOTE(arju @ Dec 22 2012, 06:29 PM)
was planning to get y580(swap HDD with SSD, ODD swap with HDD, for better heat)
will hook up laptop with hdmi with my 22inch monitor anyway.

pick up y400 or y500 or y580. obviously screen size doesn't matter to me.
heat wise which one better?
QUOTE(arju @ Dec 22 2012, 07:04 PM)
Thanks sifu, i concerned is the heat, Y580 after i swap HDD with SSD, ODD swap with HDD,
the heat will be on par with y400/500? i will on the laptop entire night DL torrent.
if i get the y400/y500 will only get single GPU, 2 GPU unnecessary for me, also not require swapping SSD/HDD
if i get y580 will configure with swap HDD with SSD, ODD swap with HDD
Go for Y580 with better specs & Nvidia optimus support. Y400/Y500 is without optimus support where u need to run on GT650M will produce more heat & consume more power if u on for long hours.
You can improve Y580 HDD's cooling & system responsiveness by adding SSD & get u3 cooler.

This post has been edited by ytlay: Dec 22 2012, 09:27 PM
TSytlay
post Dec 26 2012, 09:39 PM

1,087 posts

The local official Y500 only come with dual gpus and 170Wpsu spec below.
Ideapad Y500, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT650M + (1920x1080)@RM3799, 4GB, 500GB, W8; GN36 exGPU, 170W AC adapter

Other variant of Y500 are imported unit (AP set) from US with different spec and cheaper price. Pls check carefully with the warranty coverage/extention, recon/refurbish or brand new unit.

The warranty service for Y500 imported from US is not cover by local Lenovo according to Lenovo US website.
http://support.lenovo.com/en_US/product-service/iws.page?

This post has been edited by ytlay: Dec 27 2012, 12:56 AM

12 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0534sec    0.72    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 10:18 PM