Samsung Galaxy Note II LYN's Official Thread, It's coming on 11/10! AP sets here now!
Sep 14 2012, 11:04 AM
556 posts Joined: Oct 2007 |
Note2 like win all except the thickness and weight
![]() |
Sep 14 2012, 11:05 AM
7,044 posts Joined: Nov 2007 |
QUOTE(suntzulee @ Sep 14 2012, 10:59 AM) Why we are contemplating between iphone5 and note 2 is which give a better value for money. Not like you mentioned here spare money to spend. Many ip users want to test out android and many android users want to test apple product. Why so difficult for you to understand? What matters most is also the pricing...not everyone afford to get both which is wishful. what benny888 is trying to say is... if compare between i5 and s3... then can understand la. it's about the same size (not really, but close la)Therefore considering both devices is perfectly fine. No maladjustment on it. i5 compare with note2 is very much different... screensize is no where near each other. one has added pen function. they are different class. this one is like comparing apple with durian (pun intended). |
Sep 14 2012, 11:18 AM
Trade Dispute
5,689 posts Joined: Nov 2008 |
Sep 14 2012, 11:24 AM
337 posts Joined: May 2006 |
I am also comparing both ip5 and note2 because I need to get a phone replacement so that it is nothing right or wrong if we compared both models, to me I also want to see which one can release in MY first then just decide. Hopefully Note2 wont make me wait too long.
Sep 14 2012, 11:25 AM
4,874 posts Joined: Sep 2011 |
Note 2 & Ipon 5 different market segments. Not in direct competition.
Sep 14 2012, 12:00 PM
6,804 posts Joined: Sep 2010 |
thiking of sell my s3 and sign plan for this note 2.... see how it goes when telco launch...
Sep 14 2012, 02:00 PM
27,801 posts Joined: Jun 2007 From: Johor |
Buying a smartphone should solely be based on your NEEDs not your WANTS. This is important if you can only have one choice
Both has its pro n cons Ask yourself what you need in the smartphone n you have your answer Other reasons of buying is just buying for satisfaction n enjoyment n splashing money unnecessary and is alright if you have it Regrettably you cannot have best of both phones Decide based on your NEEDS not your wants Look at your needs vs the features of the phone n decide which phone meet best your needs. As long as the phone can meet 80% of your needs that is your choice. Sorry you wont find one that can meet 100% of your needs . IPhone fans might disagree as they always harp theirs is best in the world n if so why the need even to compare with others? This post has been edited by benny888: Sep 14 2012, 02:13 PM |
Sep 14 2012, 02:13 PM
908 posts Joined: Feb 2009 |
QUOTE(benny888 @ Sep 14 2012, 02:00 PM) Buying a smartphone should solely be based on your NEEDs not your WANTS. This is important if you can only have one choice +1Both has its pro n cons Ask yourself what you need in the smartphone n you have your answer Other reasons of buying is just buying for satisfaction n enjoyment n splashing money unnecessary and is alright if you have it Regrettably you cannot have best of both phones Decide based on your NEEDS not your wants |
Sep 14 2012, 02:16 PM
12,683 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Petaling Jaya |
i think the key point here is the OS...Android Jelly Bean, hopefully it will be a huge improvement.
iOS is proven to be smooth and very stable |
Sep 14 2012, 02:22 PM
Sep 14 2012, 02:39 PM
826 posts Joined: Nov 2009 |
QUOTE(mydragoon @ Sep 14 2012, 09:04 AM) this is not about gadget hype but rather planning of the release... Wow what is being said is that apple can already say what dates the phones will launch in what country when they announce iPhone 5. the best Samsung can do so far is... "phones will be available real soon". |
Sep 14 2012, 02:57 PM
556 posts Joined: Oct 2007 |
samsung is clever in the way:
1) announce first 2) see what the fruit gonna make 3) amend the final product remember what sammy did to first the galaxy tab 10.1? This post has been edited by aerobowl: Sep 14 2012, 02:58 PM |
Sep 14 2012, 03:12 PM
5,362 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Johor Bahru |
QUOTE(aerobowl @ Sep 14 2012, 02:57 PM) samsung is clever in the way: they thought they are clever but they are actually not. Putting the uncertainty in product availability date might just drive your potential sales away. 1) announce first 2) see what the fruit gonna make 3) amend the final product remember what sammy did to first the galaxy tab 10.1? I am siding with Apple too for the handling of product launch - they do it at very pro level - kudos to their marketing department. Just look at how the IP 4S was launched by Maxis. Compared to Samsung SIII initial launch - no stock for blue colour last minute, crazy limited stock for all outlets, no info on the stock replenish, etc. HTC Desire HD launched by DiGi 2 years back also the same stock availability and lack of stock replenish info issue. Apple is selling their products at premium pricing because they take into consideration the "consumer experience" that they provide. Btw, before anyone flame me for being an "iFag" |
Sep 14 2012, 03:35 PM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
26,524 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
I am new to smartphones/touch screens and this Note 2 is really enticing me. Just some question, from a noobie point of view:
1. Can it play movies in rmvb format? 2. It is using microsim. I think my current phone is using normal sim. So what do I need to do? I am using prepaid by the way and there is about RM300 credit |
Sep 14 2012, 04:05 PM
QUOTE(aerobowl @ Sep 14 2012, 02:57 PM) samsung is clever in the way: i think it was note 10. anyway, that one was considered different (at least in Note10's case) as that one was a tech expo to show prototypes, etc... 1) announce first 2) see what the fruit gonna make 3) amend the final product remember what sammy did to first the galaxy tab 10.1? but when you announce a product (like the case in berlin and a few days back for apple), like what others have said... apple is good in the sense that they already planned it all out... which country gets what release date. samsung... still saying "wait la... when it comes, it comes"... |
Sep 14 2012, 04:10 PM
27,801 posts Joined: Jun 2007 From: Johor |
QUOTE(Human Nature @ Sep 14 2012, 03:35 PM) I am new to smartphones/touch screens and this Note 2 is really enticing me. Just some question, from a noobie point of view: 1. Yes - use 3rd party app1. Can it play movies in rmvb format? 2. It is using microsim. I think my current phone is using normal sim. So what do I need to do? I am using prepaid by the way and there is about RM300 credit 2. Change to microsim at telco or cut yourself or any phone shop. Your credit remain even u change simcard |
Sep 14 2012, 04:19 PM
1,151 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
QUOTE(Human Nature @ Sep 14 2012, 03:35 PM) I am new to smartphones/touch screens and this Note 2 is really enticing me. Just some question, from a noobie point of view: 1. Actually there is a lot of movie player in Play Store. U jz need to download the movie player that can play rmvb format. RMVB Player1. Can it play movies in rmvb format? 2. It is using microsim. I think my current phone is using normal sim. So what do I need to do? I am using prepaid by the way and there is about RM300 credit Or u can refer to the discussion here. 2. There is 2 options, whether u change ur normal sim to microsim in telco or cut the sim in any phone shop. |
Sep 14 2012, 04:28 PM
6,804 posts Joined: Sep 2010 |
QUOTE(Human Nature @ Sep 14 2012, 03:35 PM) I am new to smartphones/touch screens and this Note 2 is really enticing me. Just some question, from a noobie point of view: 1. if u install mobo player or other 3rd party player from play store yes it can play rmvb files1. Can it play movies in rmvb format? 2. It is using microsim. I think my current phone is using normal sim. So what do I need to do? I am using prepaid by the way and there is about RM300 credit 2. don worry... goto any phone shop they are happy to cut the sim for you....cause they will charge you...hahaha... or you go buy a sim cutter for rm15 and cut urself. |
Sep 14 2012, 04:54 PM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
26,524 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
wow, 3 replies! thanks alot. i plan to get it before CNY as angpow, so hope pricing decrease abit by then and easier to get stock
Sep 14 2012, 04:55 PM
823 posts Joined: Jun 2009 |
i heard the price is more hefty than iphone 5 a little bit