Samsung Galaxy Note II LYN's Official Thread, It's coming on 11/10! AP sets here now!
chongkiatz
Oct 7 2012, 12:14 PM
QUOTE(KuLi @ Oct 7 2012, 12:05 PM) got many reasons 1) from most ppl impression, korean stuff is lower than american. apple is considered premium and prestige brand. 2) although samsung sells their phones high price initially but mostly is geek/nerd buyers. to continue sales they must lower the price immediately. otherwise sales suffer. 3) the quality of their premium phones also is quite cheap...using plastics/ apple uses premium materials with high quality manufacturing. 4) samsung releases their phones so fast. the latest flagship becomes 2nd grade within months. good example is note2 and s3. 5) samsung does not give a rat's arse for previous users. latest software cannot be used by older gen phones. apple takes care of its customers bcos it is premium. even iphone 3gs can have latest software/ anyway, it is just like korean cars like kia and hyundai... +1 Samsung is open market, apple only can purchase thru auth reseller , so who can eat big volume for samsung phone then can get cheaper price , apple different, u wont have special rate even u order large quantity, because they are hot cake lol
Human Nature
Oct 7 2012, 12:15 PM
i am worried on the firmware update (multi-window). is it done automatically ie just need to download + install or need some advance knowledge?
i am buying after 2-3 months time, so would the new firmware be bundled or users still need to DIY?
SUSKuLi
Oct 7 2012, 12:20 PM
QUOTE(Human Nature @ Oct 7 2012, 12:15 PM) i am worried on the firmware update (multi-window). is it done automatically ie just need to download + install or need some advance knowledge? i am buying after 2-3 months time, so would the new firmware be bundled or users still need to DIY? Thanks Likely is bundled
mydragoon
Oct 7 2012, 12:21 PM
QUOTE(Kanat_KZ @ Oct 6 2012, 08:52 PM) Samsung store it's near escalator and Jusco this shop in IOI gets my personal blacklist... coz they were nice enough to sell me a rm99 screen protector for Note 1 at rm60... when i bought my Note 1 from them last year. i know... willing buyer, willing seller. i also dunno why i actually paid rm60 for a crap cheapo SP. when i asked them for the whole SP packaging (wrapper, etc), they said threw away liao... to me... the people in this shop is not so ethical. i dun expect sales/ business ppl to be 100% angels... but at 1U SEP, they never go and 'sell' this way la...
benny888
Oct 7 2012, 12:25 PM
Gadget Freak
QUOTE(Human Nature @ Oct 7 2012, 12:15 PM) i am worried on the firmware update (multi-window). is it done automatically ie just need to download + install or need some advance knowledge? i am buying after 2-3 months time, so would the new firmware be bundled or users still need to DIY? Thanks You can only update it OTA provided your firmware is UK and France ( XXALIC) for now If your firmware is different, only way to upgrade is download the latest UK/France rom ( from sammobile.com ) and use Odin in PC to flash it. Very simple process - just launch odin in PC , select the rom tar file as PDA and press START. Your rom will be upgraded within 2-3 minutes I supposed the update will be in the newer firmwares down the road. these updates are usually according to countries and will occur progressively over 2-3 months
mydragoon
Oct 7 2012, 12:27 PM
QUOTE(benny888 @ Oct 6 2012, 06:28 PM) Off topic : groupon misleading adverts of special discounts on micro SD cards. Their discounted prices easily can get at garage sales or any shops at lowyat http://www.groupon.my/deals/national-deal/...280&a=715827970these days, groupon 'offers' is no longer what is used to be... groupon is supposed to be gathering the numbers so buyers can negotiate for a bulk order price -- meaning, seller says if you can get me 1000 buyers, ok, i sell you at this price which you cannot get anywhere else. these days... even with 1 buyer on groupon, deal is already on. this one... it basically just means another e-commerce site rather than actually group purchase.
PeanutButter~~
Oct 7 2012, 12:29 PM
QUOTE(mydragoon @ Oct 7 2012, 12:27 PM) these days, groupon 'offers' is no longer what is used to be... groupon is supposed to be gathering the numbers so buyers can negotiate for a bulk order price -- meaning, seller says if you can get me 1000 buyers, ok, i sell you at this price which you cannot get anywhere else. these days... even with 1 buyer on groupon, deal is already on. this one... it basically just means another e-commerce site rather than actually group purchase. yup any shop also tht price~~ x feel want order cause just order 1 64Gb C10~
thpace
Oct 7 2012, 12:47 PM
QUOTE(benny888 @ Oct 7 2012, 12:25 PM) You can only update it OTA provided your firmware is UK and France ( XXALIC) for now If your firmware is different, only way to upgrade is download the latest UK/France rom ( from sammobile.com ) and use Odin in PC to flash it. Very simple process - just launch odin in PC , select the rom tar file as PDA and press START. Your rom will be upgraded within 2-3 minutes I supposed the update will be in the newer firmwares down the road. these updates are usually according to countries and will occur progressively over 2-3 months mobile odin does not work based on your previous post? mind elaborating abit on this?
benny888
Oct 7 2012, 01:07 PM
Gadget Freak
QUOTE(thpace @ Oct 7 2012, 12:47 PM) mobile odin does not work based on your previous post? mind elaborating abit on this?  I dont know why it cannot work. I use the latest ver 3.4 ( meant to be compatible for Note 2) After flash it got stuck/freeze at the blue android logo - did it twice But some XDA users manage to flash it successfully Only problem using odin in PC is lose root and CWM but small issue , just need another minute flash these back to regain root/cwm
Noobi3
QUOTE(KuLi @ Oct 7 2012, 12:05 PM) got many reasons 1) from most ppl impression, korean stuff is lower than american. apple is considered premium and prestige brand. 2) although samsung sells their phones high price initially but mostly is geek/nerd buyers. to continue sales they must lower the price immediately. otherwise sales suffer. 3) the quality of their premium phones also is quite cheap...using plastics/ apple uses premium materials with high quality manufacturing. 4) samsung releases their phones so fast. the latest flagship becomes 2nd grade within months. good example is note2 and s3. 5) samsung does not give a rat's arse for previous users. latest software cannot be used by older gen phones. apple takes care of its customers bcos it is premium. even iphone 3gs can have latest software/ anyway, it is just like korean cars like kia and hyundai... I dont agree on that . I cant even run SIRI on Iphone 4 even with the latest IOS when iPhone 4s was launched unless I jailbreak it . Sure , Apple do give u all the latest updates and IOS yet it will lack out something in it's update for older models . IF not , who wanna upgrade right ?
superamd

our local Note II will be based on LTE or 3g version ? heard Singapore is only releasing the LTE version for now.
expressfon
Oct 7 2012, 01:14 PM

based on our celcom insider, we'll get the 3g version. same like most EU/UK set now
TSbooooster
Oct 7 2012, 01:20 PM
Please carry on your discussions here! http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2538415V2 hehe!