QUOTE(ken_ng @ Oct 15 2012, 09:18 AM)
LYN Proton Saga/Iswara Drivers' Forum! V26, Keeping up with the others for over 27
Oct 15 2012, 10:16 AM
6,249 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
Oct 15 2012, 11:25 AM
114 posts Joined: Jul 2007 |
Hi everyone,
I have a choice to make which is either Overhaul my iswara engine or change a Secondhand/new car. It begins with a black oil leak which I didn't pay much attention to it at first, slowly it get worse and I begin to change the gasket. After that my mechanic told me to change a thing called "Oil silk" ? and advise me to send for an engine wash after that. One week later he called me to bring the car back to check whether everything is ok. I go back to my mechanic and he say there is a big leakage. I dont know what is the "part" called that cause the leak but apparent it is located right in front or I would say right below the engine cover where we usually pour our engine oil (any idea what I mean?) something like a big metal pipe which according to my mechanic is quite serious, he also mentioned which this condition, the oil might slip into other part which is located beside the gear box and advise me to do engine overhaul in order to solve the oil leakage issue. Price quote for eveyrthing (labour + overhaul engine) = RM4k +- Just want to ask for opinion is anyone encountered such situation before, what is your move? does the RM4k worth the overhaul ? or it is better to purchase another second hand car / new car ? Btw my iswara sedan (1997) has not many big issue, those plastic rattle sound is visible here and there but it has become "normal" to me haha. Front bumper aly crack here and there, head light already senget bcz last time bang front car. Colour paint of car already fade, roof top colour is basically white liao (the blue colour aly gone). Please advise and many thanks . |
Oct 15 2012, 11:49 AM
5,369 posts Joined: Jan 2007 From: KL Malaysia |
QUOTE(low yat 82 @ Oct 15 2012, 08:45 AM) LOL..u stay at sri petaling? me also. dat corner shop hankook? dat shop potong orang punya leher mia. last time i ask for quote for rear axle bush include install, they gib me rm 2xx-3xx. i was like wtf.. last last i went to my usual unker shop at old klang road settle all at rm14x huah really chop kao kao.there was once i ask them how much workmanship to change 1 side rear lamp, they charge me rm 90 bucks. fuu..in d end i change myself n it cost me nothing. u r better off at other shop... this hankook workshop, somemore got gomen tax. wtf i change rear axle bush at kent also rm180 XD but for the work/effort hes done, i think its well worth it, lol... (whole f***ing day's work oTL) Added on October 15, 2012, 11:54 am QUOTE(jerrymouse @ Oct 15 2012, 11:25 AM) Hi everyone, 1) oil seal, not silkI have a choice to make which is either Overhaul my iswara engine or change a Secondhand/new car. It begins with a black oil leak which I didn't pay much attention to it at first, slowly it get worse and I begin to change the gasket. After that my mechanic told me to change a thing called "Oil silk" ? and advise me to send for an engine wash after that. One week later he called me to bring the car back to check whether everything is ok. I go back to my mechanic and he say there is a big leakage. I dont know what is the "part" called that cause the leak but apparent it is located right in front or I would say right below the engine cover where we usually pour our engine oil (any idea what I mean?) something like a big metal pipe which according to my mechanic is quite serious, he also mentioned which this condition, the oil might slip into other part which is located beside the gear box and advise me to do engine overhaul in order to solve the oil leakage issue. Price quote for eveyrthing (labour + overhaul engine) = RM4k +- Just want to ask for opinion is anyone encountered such situation before, what is your move? does the RM4k worth the overhaul ? or it is better to purchase another second hand car / new car ? Btw my iswara sedan (1997) has not many big issue, those plastic rattle sound is visible here and there but it has become "normal" to me haha. Front bumper aly crack here and there, head light already senget bcz last time bang front car. Colour paint of car already fade, roof top colour is basically white liao (the blue colour aly gone). Please advise and many thanks . 2) you don't need an engine overhaul to solve a pipe leak (as per your description) or even gasket/oil sump leaks. 3) 4k seems like a huge chop unless it includes performance tuning/rebore etc. (typical complete overhaul/rebuild prices are between 2-3k, again, without performance tuning/major part replacements) so quoting 4k without even internal part assessment seems excessive 4) consider refurbishing/recondition your car, like i did This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Oct 15 2012, 11:54 AM |
Oct 15 2012, 12:07 PM
4,306 posts Joined: Oct 2006 |
Oct 15 2012, 01:10 PM
114 posts Joined: Jul 2007 |
QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Oct 15 2012, 11:49 AM) 1) oil seal, not silk 2) you don't need an engine overhaul to solve a pipe leak (as per your description) or even gasket/oil sump leaks. 3) 4k seems like a huge chop unless it includes performance tuning/rebore etc. (typical complete overhaul/rebuild prices are between 2-3k, again, without performance tuning/major part replacements) so quoting 4k without even internal part assessment seems excessive 4) consider refurbishing/recondition your car, like i did thanks for the comment. I will upload photo later about the condition then maybe u have a better understanding. I really dont know how to explain 3) my mechanic told me if dont want to do overhaul engine there it only cost around 1.7k to 2.3k just to change the leaking part but he mentioned something about a part located near the gearbox which might be affected by the oil leakage from the top engine there. And he quote if want to change the "part near the gearbox" there, it would require to remove all the engine part as it is located below and the labour is expensive. Thats why he advise to do overhaul, everything tukar baru lo. I am sure he never include any performance tuning/rebore (may I ask it is necessary to do this when overhaul?) 4) If I proceed with overhauling, then I might need to re paint or change bumper bcz after overhaul I dont think I will be selling in 1 or 2 years time since the engine is like new already. Or I was thinking if I add up (overhaul + change front bumper + repaint), is it the price will be equavalent to change a car? or is it worth it to just change all this and maintain my car for another lets say 5 years?possible? Thank you very much |
Oct 15 2012, 02:33 PM
QUOTE(evolution120 @ Oct 15 2012, 12:07 PM) QUOTE i change rear axle bush ^ bush only, however it was a b**** to open up the axle and eventually needed to bring to machinery shop to open. (similar to rotors/wheel bearing replacement) not to mention reassembling the thing and making sure it is properly aligned. then some additional service in rubber wrapping it to prevent exhaust heat melting the middle bush/link like it did to my previous bushing (self note: melted rubber is a b**** to wash off if replace whole axle i think easier just plug and play new axle in rofl. Added on October 15, 2012, 2:47 pm QUOTE(jerrymouse @ Oct 15 2012, 01:10 PM) 3) my mechanic told me if dont want to do overhaul engine there it only cost around 1.7k to 2.3k just to change the leaking part but he mentioned something about a part located near the gearbox which might be affected by the oil leakage from the top engine there. And he quote if want to change the "part near the gearbox" there, it would require to remove all the engine part as it is located below and the labour is expensive. Thats why he advise to do overhaul, everything tukar baru lo. I am sure he never include any performance tuning/rebore (may I ask it is necessary to do this when overhaul?) 3) some people want more performance, some people just want to mod for the heck of it, some people butt itchy "might as well do" sorta deal. overall really depends on your budget.4) If I proceed with overhauling, then I might need to re paint or change bumper bcz after overhaul I dont think I will be selling in 1 or 2 years time since the engine is like new already. Or I was thinking if I add up (overhaul + change front bumper + repaint), is it the price will be equavalent to change a car? or is it worth it to just change all this and maintain my car for another lets say 5 years?possible? Thank you very much regardless, considering the vague description of your mech, sounds like you've been set up for the chopping block. either you get more precise detail, or you ask for 2nd/3rd opinions 4) go ahead then, repainting the entire car with good paint and clear coat cost between 2-3k. (slightly more if you changing color) bumper maybe rm200-400 if you get back OEM. headlamps maybe 200-300 or less for the old saga/iswara i believe, new LMST ones cost a lil bit more (i mod my iswara to be updated to the latest LMST design/headlamps lol, really liking the new plastic headlamps lol) and yeah, the price will be more or less changing a car, however heres the thing: you know what is your car performing now, while changing another old car would be up to luck. if you get a problematic car, you get headaches and money is still spent and you're welcome This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Oct 15 2012, 02:47 PM |
Oct 15 2012, 04:11 PM
4,081 posts Joined: Aug 2005 |
QUOTE(jerrymouse @ Oct 15 2012, 01:10 PM) Hi bro, it might b oil seal near gearbox / engine... its important to noe from which part if u wish to continue to use it till ur overhaul period.thanks for the comment. I will upload photo later about the condition then maybe u have a better understanding. I really dont know how to explain 3) my mechanic told me if dont want to do overhaul engine there it only cost around 1.7k to 2.3k just to change the leaking part but he mentioned something about a part located near the gearbox which might be affected by the oil leakage from the top engine there. And he quote if want to change the "part near the gearbox" there, it would require to remove all the engine part as it is located below and the labour is expensive. Thats why he advise to do overhaul, everything tukar baru lo. I am sure he never include any performance tuning/rebore (may I ask it is necessary to do this when overhaul?) 4) If I proceed with overhauling, then I might need to re paint or change bumper bcz after overhaul I dont think I will be selling in 1 or 2 years time since the engine is like new already. Or I was thinking if I add up (overhaul + change front bumper + repaint), is it the price will be equavalent to change a car? or is it worth it to just change all this and maintain my car for another lets say 5 years?possible? Thank you very much b4 this u got change clutch plate / car overheat / etc? usual leakage r due to wear n tear oil seal , or overheated gaskets / blocked PCV valve located near engine cover. d important thing b4 u fix it is always monitor ur engine oil jus incase it dry up... u can still run ur car, jus make sure engine oil always enough / use heaiver oil like 20w50. if these oil sip into clutch plate, u might hav slight clutch slip.. |
Oct 15 2012, 04:26 PM
1,911 posts Joined: Jun 2007 From: Ang Mo Kio, Singapore |
can i know the symptoms of axle bush wearing out? because i my rear has this kluk kluk sound when i go tru uneven road, or accelerate hard..
Oct 15 2012, 04:31 PM
QUOTE(Shawnzz @ Oct 15 2012, 04:26 PM) can i know the symptoms of axle bush wearing out? because i my rear has this kluk kluk sound when i go tru uneven road, or accelerate hard.. usually it sounds like metal grind, like "ngek ngek" or rat squeaks as the bush worns out the metal parts will be having friction against each other.kluk kluk sound could be something else hmm can i guess really really worn bearings? or free play around the axle area? (worn/damaged nuts/screws?) what about other sifu comments? |
Oct 15 2012, 04:33 PM
1,911 posts Joined: Jun 2007 From: Ang Mo Kio, Singapore |
QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Oct 15 2012, 04:31 PM) usually it sounds like metal grind, like "ngek ngek" or rat squeaks as the bush worns out the metal parts will be having friction against each other. Haha, im not sure. Tot it was the axle since u guys talk about it earlier. Nvm la, i better bring it to the mechanic.kluk kluk sound could be something else hmm can i guess really really worn bearings? or free play around the axle area? (worn/damaged nuts/screws?) what about other sifu comments? |
Oct 15 2012, 04:35 PM
Oct 15 2012, 05:15 PM
QUOTE(low yat 82 @ Oct 15 2012, 04:35 PM) worn side axle bush easy to identify by mechanic, they will jack it up n shake shake d rear tyre. if already worn, can b detected haha yea that too, now my rears are rock solid and no stupid sound.now stupid sound comes from rear seat and my driver seat (too much g force whacking corner and the internal springs/joints kaput |
Oct 15 2012, 05:42 PM
QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Oct 15 2012, 04:31 PM) usually it sounds like metal grind, like "ngek ngek" or rat squeaks as the bush worns out the metal parts will be having friction against each other. that would be driveshaft problem. im having the problem right now. not bother to fix it.kluk kluk sound could be something else hmm can i guess really really worn bearings? or free play around the axle area? (worn/damaged nuts/screws?) what about other sifu comments? just got my brake problem solved, the is spring thingy inside my master pump gone faulty. cost 170 to replace that damn spring. damn it.. im so pissed right now |
Oct 15 2012, 05:48 PM
QUOTE(evolution120 @ Oct 15 2012, 05:42 PM) that would be driveshaft problem. im having the problem right now. not bother to fix it. except we don't have drive shafts in the rear.just got my brake problem solved, the is spring thingy inside my master pump gone faulty. cost 170 to replace that damn spring. damn it.. im so pissed right now btw 170 for the spring inside the pump? i think top up a bit you can get an entire master brake pump original from proton |
Oct 15 2012, 05:57 PM
QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Oct 15 2012, 05:48 PM) except we don't have drive shafts in the rear. i mean the front 1, just underneath our left foot rest pad (the left thingy for u to put ur foot instead of clutch)btw 170 for the spring inside the pump? i think top up a bit you can get an entire master brake pump original from proton too bad i changed my servo to accord sm4 one, the master pump+servo together. at first the boss told me to fix thing probably cost around 40 to 60 only (changing the rubber thingy inside the master pump) after that everything is done, then when the receipt came out, i was like wtf why rm170 and tried to argue with the boss, he said sm4 master pump dont have the rubber thingy alone, must change whole set, but before that, he didnt inform me anything about changing the entire thing and the price. if i know rm170, i would go to halfcut shop and change to vr4 complete set instead. wtffffff my dad was right, that shop simply potong customer with unreasonable labour parts charges. |
Oct 15 2012, 06:00 PM
QUOTE(evolution120 @ Oct 15 2012, 05:57 PM) i mean the front 1, just underneath our left foot rest pad (the left thingy for u to put ur foot instead of clutch) Shawnzz said rear sound ma, lol.too bad i changed my servo to accord sm4 one, the master pump+servo together. and itulah modding/half cut. one shit will lead to another. almost guaranteed (im dealing with said shit also wut. now got noise in my seats |
Oct 15 2012, 06:17 PM
QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Oct 15 2012, 06:00 PM) Shawnzz said rear sound ma, lol. well, frankly speaking, i expect JDMs last longer than local stuffs. but of course, when comes to repairing, its much more expensive than the locals. so i guess for my case, im being chopped kao2 already. i dont think that spring thingy alone cost rm100 lor..and itulah modding/half cut. one shit will lead to another. almost guaranteed (im dealing with said shit also wut. now got noise in my seats |
Oct 15 2012, 06:19 PM
Oct 15 2012, 07:01 PM
waa...170..dat mechanic no ask u wanna change or not a since d price is so expensiv...
Oct 15 2012, 07:25 PM
| Change to: | 0.0226sec
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 07:54 PM |