peeps, anyone of u done sound proofing on iswara? any recommendation?
LYN Proton Saga/Iswara Drivers' Forum! V26, Keeping up with the others for over 27
Aug 26 2012, 02:32 AM
4,306 posts Joined: Oct 2006 |
peeps, anyone of u done sound proofing on iswara? any recommendation?
Aug 26 2012, 05:54 PM
my hood cold start that time rpm less than 500 causing the hood to vibrate, very noisy, thats y need to find something to stick in between the hood and the chassis. so which 1 u guys recommend? P rubber or D rubber?
Aug 26 2012, 06:55 PM
QUOTE(Peekab0o @ Aug 26 2012, 12:56 AM) Tyre & Rim Info This post has been edited by evolution120: Aug 26 2012, 06:56 PM1) PCD -> stands for pitch circle diameter, numbers of bolts on the wheel -> got a few PCD types: 100 (eg: wira, honda), 114.3 (eg: saga iswara, satria neo), 110 (kancil), etc. ![]() 2) Offset -> distance from the center of the rim to the attaching disk part -> normally can be adjusted using spacer ![]() 3) Spacer -> a round piece of metal that has holes on it, the function is to avoid/adjust the wheel from rubbing the arch/fender -> got few sizes/thickness -> if u r using 8 holes rim sure need to add spacer on the front 4) 14" or 15" -> i prefer 15" bcoz 14" less choices for performance tires tongue.gif 5) Best PCD and offset -> 114.3 and 38-40 (need check with sifoo..) ![]() |
Aug 26 2012, 08:05 PM
@lowyat, quazacolt
u guys joining the 4g1series time attack? |
Aug 26 2012, 10:12 PM
QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Aug 26 2012, 09:35 PM) whats your reason for sound proofing though? and yes ive done it as low yat 82 mentioned, both front doors and engine hood well, im not really sound proofing, but the materials im getting are for sound proofing purpose, so asking around only..Added on August 26, 2012, 9:40 pm i recommend you to fix the original problem instead Added on August 26, 2012, 9:42 pm havent decided, lowyat82 is going i believe. lacking money, car havent fixed. and thinking of putting ARB/sport springs etc before going to prevent round 2 of sampan, as this time semi slick banned, scare my car over turn or something weih lol and this means, a lot of extra expenses again :/ Added on August 26, 2012, 9:50 pm weird, ur air filter macam more expensive, but your oil filter damn cheap, sure didnt terbalik? LOL also, bosch plug cable rm50 je la, LYN folks selling, those are damn good and more than enough already for our car (drex/howie also on general consensus XD) the rest, just about right la, in fact you gotten some really good pricing too for distributor, to save headaches, i personally recommend sticking with proton original despite the much more expensive price. recond ones tend to stall/die off, or even incorrect idling or rough engine performance. too much headaches for my preference to be honest. and at the end of the day, what you pay is what you get just changed my mounting about a year ago, when engine is warmed up, free gear is 1k to 1.2k rpm and D gear is about 800rpm.. but sadly, the front mounting already kong due to always engage D during traffic light, jam, etc.. but that doesnt bother me much. so my intention is to get 1 or 2 meter of the sound proofing rubber between the hood and the chassis, so it doesnt give any sound.. but iirc, auto iswara, 3speeder, guess u have to engage 2nd gear to get good speeds, wouldnt that hurt ur engine and gb? |
Aug 27 2012, 01:40 AM
QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Aug 27 2012, 01:24 AM) if you fixed your rough idling, wouldn't that void the need for sound proofing? think about it. yeah i know, my foreman did a few tuned of the rpm thingy b4, but that doesnt last long, some time later, it came back.. so instead of going back to tuning the rpm thingy again, so just get something to stick in between so that the sound doesnt come out. just let it vibrate, as long the sound doesnt pop up again, im totally good with it.also, even on rough idling, usually the hood would not vibrate that much, if any at all. perhaps there is free play? engine mounting issue? you claim that it doesn't bother you much... but you're seeking for sound proofing because of engine hood vibration, contradiction? i just red line rev it to pass 1/2 gear and just sit in 3 gear lol. as for engine/gear box damage, maybe not? since i use good engine oil (either torco or liqui moly semi syn). gear box... well i am using almost rm300 per oil change worth of oil and additive. (Q8 semi syn and lubegard platinum lol) Added on August 27, 2012, 1:25 am there is obviously not the case as not everyone also kena makan duit, right? there are honest workshops out there, just got to find them wow, u can really spend big bucks on ur service each time.. im just just using some average mobil engine oil and atf though. but isnt it even if u use good lubes, ur exhaust system arent upgraded, will cause engine oil to drain away? |
Aug 27 2012, 02:23 AM
QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Aug 27 2012, 02:07 AM) the carb idling tuning is obviously not the root cause then, you need to fix the root cause which is causing all this problem (require to fix idling, require to sound proof) no idea which part of the engine bay went faulty, but i think it cost much more than buying a couple of metre to do some simple absorption though.considered de-carbon your carburetor? when is the last time you replaced spark plugs? are there any fouling/premature worn on your spark plugs? what about spark plug cable? is your car grounding ok? (bad circuitry = shitty spark/misfiring = rough idling) gear box oil only every 20k km or so change, and i am considering extending it to maybe 30k km. gearbox always smooth, oil drained out damn clear/clean and no signs of degradation, a bit wasting to change at 20k km for such good quality oil/additives lol. and no, engine oil draining are caused by oil seal/piston rings etc leaking. nothing to do with good lube or exhaust system aren't upgraded. in fact, exhaust system has little to nothing to do with engine oil lol. that said, my exhaust system is completely replaced with cap ayam upgrade though 2 years ago done corbon cleaning using threebond from thundergod_cid, not much of white smoke came out. felt wasted.. even thundergod_cid himself said my engine still in pristine condition. replaced all 4 spark plugs when doing top overhaul about 1/2 year ago, so i think shouldnt be spark plugs. not sure about spark plug cable though, but definitely is stock black cable. bought a set of vs + thick grounding cable from ericteoh too.. so i guess grounding should be fine too. thats weird, there was a time that after i done my top OH, my engine oil was at the peak level, done is crazy max speed sprint @ plus highway from sepang to kl for a couple of times, surprisingly my engine oil gone down to 1/2 level. shocked me, and since then i never speed more than 140kmh. now even worse, my GB started to have oil stain and my parking lot floor has some oil stain and i suspect is GB oil. based on my knowledge which i obtained from my friend, he said if always do high rev, if your exhaust system is not modded for bigger flow, the pressure created due to high rpm will cause the engine to suck up the engine oil. not sure he was crapping around or fact. |
Aug 27 2012, 11:46 AM
QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Aug 27 2012, 03:50 AM) eh 2 years ago? prior to that trip to de-carbon, have you done it before? or did previous owner (not sure if you owned the car since the beginning) did it? because i decarbon my car around every 20k km, and that always exhaust a decent amount of white smoke lol. though since i am a "frequent" decarboner, only need to use around half bottle as the engine/carb isnt really that dirty im the 2nd owner of the car, when i got the car, the mileage was around 83k+-, and iirc, i de-carbon it around 100k mileage. i think i should go for another de-carbon too.. my current mileage is almost 130k. it took around 3 months for me to reach 5k mileage as i only use the car to travel around the city, not much highway speeding.takes about 1-2 months for 5k km, so between 4-8 months for 20k km in estimation? also, those 4 spark plugs are stock/cheapo NGK? (as in rm30-40+ or so for a pack of 4) or fancy platinum/iridiums? because if using those cheapo ones, i just change every 5k or 10k km if they are still in good conditions upon inspection lol. maybe try inspecting it? have you tried taking out your stock cable and inspect if there are any damage/corrosion on the cable contacts/tips? or even damage to the housing/cable exteriors? at least we got groundings out of the way (i also recently just bought a set of VS + grounding from ericteoh when you inspect your engine oil, is it right after you speed? because the oil will take time to settle down back into the oil sump. best to do oil inspection is the next day in the morning to get a more accurate reading (also make sure your car is not on a slope too lol, iinm tilt to front = more while tilt to back = less?) btw, i just did a ~165-167 max speed sprint from lcct to subang yesterday (lol figure got detained by customs. rm70 tax my GB also have minor oil stains, prolly due to the gb oil sump dmg? (could be just the contacts/gasket unable to seal properly) however i inspect the gb oil levels, everytime also adequate as if never leak. i may not have the experience to inspect, however i let my mechanic to do it, also same results (they will have 1 more guy in the car to engage gear while the guy in front inspect the oil levels) and furthermore the ground never have any oil stains... so yeah ill just leave it as it is until the next gearbox oil change, then maybe replace the GB oil sump and gasket/gb oil filter all at the same time (got a long way to go on this as for your friend, personally i think he is crapping. other sifu do comment/correct me if im wrong for sparks plugs, yes 4 stock spark plugs, the top overhaul package came together with those cheapo plugs. frankly speaking, i never take out the cable and the spark plugs for inspection before as i do not have those tools to take it out and also im noob on it.. i inspect my engine oil after i left my car to cool down overnight, so i think should be accurate, the floor is pretty much flat, no slope and whatsoever. well, probably my gb is about time to get some new stuff replacement though.. i hate oil leakage, as the oil level will drop drastically makes me feel nervous. but my ground has some oil stain, so i think it started to have some minor leakage, asked my foreman, he said its still very minor yet, so just leave it there, and the heck, changing gb stuffs cost alot though.. i think my friend is, he is the leader of his car group, so i guess his words should be reliable.. who knows he is bs-ing around or what. but he is more into visual enhancements rather than performance modification. @lowyat82 i wanted to join, see how far i can push my car to, but my car is pretty much stock, afraid will let ppl laugh and oversteer.. |
Aug 27 2012, 05:48 PM
QUOTE(low yat 82 @ Aug 27 2012, 12:39 PM) lol.. my stock as in engine and also exterior.. exterior only have 1 black evo 3 side skirt just to cover my damage as i banged divider. how come online bookin so much different? wat they meant by sampan is bcoz it seems ur ride abit tall thus makin it feels like sampan huyung hayang.. its bcoz d spring is too long.. sport spring will solve it..lol car jack i guess alot will bring d big 1..lol no 1 will laugh lo..haha.. any type car is welcome.. outside of my car also looks stock. no bodykit.. shawn's n quaza's iswara also stock QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Aug 27 2012, 02:00 PM) well it was "clean" when you brought it to elton, so wondering if previous owner got it done or something. i mainly travel city too btw, just that i guess i use it a lot more especially for my work (travel between sites lol) my trusted mech shop is about 20+km away from my house, so lazy to go so far unless i have something to repair. if you noob (like me!) ask mechanic help you unplug/take out la do note that if you cant remember/label ur plug cables connection (distributor to the spark plugs), please do this sequentially because if you mess up the connection from distributor to spark plug, your engine is going to have some bad mis-timings/firings lol if thats the case, makan engine oil ady lo. maybe instead of top overhaul, consider saving up for a full overhaul and bukak semua? lol do note that if your engine oil leaking on the ground is severe, it will be much worse if you speed/put more stress and temperature to the engine as engine oil viscosity gets thinner on higher temperatures, which means easier flowing aka leaking out GB stuff if you're just dealing with the gasket, external oil sump, filter, isnt a lot. maybe 200-300 (or less) for the 3 things i mentioned Malaysia banyak butt dyno people ma, are they reliable? hard to say. depends on your judgement i guess. its ok la, they want to laugh can laugh at me lulz. (yes i also pretty much stock, though that day brought semi slick tires la LOL! ) already done top OH, so dont think imma do any OH too lol.. i think i should change for a better engine oil during next change talking about semi slicks, does their performance much more lesser than normal asym tyre? btw, how far can ur 1 full tank petrol goes? QUOTE(low yat 82 @ Aug 27 2012, 02:57 PM) ooo... i planin to book hotel in melaka town as well...lol.. but d hotel u intro, dun hav for superior double d.. in d mid findin other hotel.. wira auto is 4speeder, but iswara 1 is 3speeder.. very sad to rev till max yo.. so far i never rev more than 6k before.. even 5.5k also like screaming for help already.. lol..its d spring... car wont flip la..lol. mayb oversteer / understeer la.. huhu..act, got another car also AT..d proton wira green light color. belongs to iszo. and what is yada yada? |
Aug 27 2012, 06:14 PM
QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Aug 27 2012, 06:06 PM) my engine ok la. no leak/engine oil consumption lol oh damn, i missed out the keyword lol..they are damn good on dry grip, so good you actually need more engine power to push these rubbers as they kinda stick to the tracks lol. that said, they are dangerous (not to mention damn uncomfortable/noisy) for normal driving and they are in fact illegal too as posted on my fuelly, my car goes between 7-8km/l, each refill around 40-43l, so * that, is how much my "full tank" takes me lo. afaik izso's wira is a 3speeder auto highest i've rev is around 7.5k+ for idle/neutral "short burst of vroom vroom" lol for actual driving, around 6.5-7k only (redline liao lol) what i wanted to ask is does semi slicks have poorer performance during wet surface lol.. and why is it illegal? i see plenty of people using those and shops are selling it openly. oh damn, then u are really more a furious driver than me lol. i dont push my gear to 2 nowadays.. ill just step it deeper to change it by itself. max rev 5k.. why urs can get that much of mileage where mine only able to clock around 300~320km per tank.. |
Aug 28 2012, 01:17 PM
QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Aug 27 2012, 06:22 PM) wet ah? your car will just aquaplane, period. no grip at all. zero, nada. see why is it illegal now? lol LOL patutlah the tyreman recommended me cdrive2 instead of some semi slicksit is illegal to drive it on open roads, not illegal on tracks. shops selling it assume you're going to use it responsibly (which isn't the case, and that's a bit irresponsible and no, i keep my gear knob on d on normal roads. it can rev 6-6.5k on gear 1/2 -> 3 shifts. only on 3rd gear pushing over 160km/h it will go 6.5-7k rpm and where is this "that much of mileage" coming from la, 7-8km/l weih. i think im having the lowest mileage around this boards already >.> case in point: 40 liters of fuel x 7 km = 280km wei, lol. but how did u managed to push up to 6 to 6.5k? i tried it, but the max also 5.5k only.. u removed the carpet behind the pedal? QUOTE(low yat 82 @ Aug 27 2012, 07:23 PM) ooo... mayb evolution wanna go also? m goin wit waifu, so cannot kongsi wit u bro then what brand do u recommend for semi syn oil? haha... semi synthetic can use, y canot? jus make sure u use 5/10w40.. 10w30 will make engine oil hilang.. mine tried b4.. hilang roughly 1 liter... yada yada means his mod still vry long list.. from balancing crankshaft to head job.. |
Sep 26 2012, 05:06 PM
anyone selling front perdana brake set without the rotor?
Oct 13 2012, 09:57 PM
guys, not sure if u guys encountered this problem before, but yesterday i firstly encountered, and i think is freaking dangerous..
i changed the whole braking system except for front, now i usually step on around 30% of the brake, then can feel the brake force coming, few seconds later, the car totally stopped and i maintained 30% of the pedal, suddenly the car can just move by itself like i release the brake already. i need to step harder to stop it, goes deeper like 50% for example, the car stopped again, but then after a few seconds, the car started to move again, now i have to step until deep deep like stock braking system the only the car can totally stopped. worse thing, just now i was cruising @ federal highway, then the car infront suddenly gave mild e brake, my brake suddenly dont eat at all, need to step until like 70% depth then only can feel the brake force. almost shitbrix at there wtf sial. then i contacted my foreman, he said most probably the seal inside the master pump give problem ady. so anyone encountered this problem b4? very funny 1 wor, not all the time happen, quite random 1.. my brake got cursed izit? |
Oct 13 2012, 10:04 PM
Oct 13 2012, 10:21 PM
QUOTE(low yat 82 @ Oct 13 2012, 10:05 PM) nop. mine maintaiin like normal. mayb got udara inside d tube? or mayb starts show failure sign..so better check thoroughly. dont think is air gone in.. cz it happens like.. 2 or 3 times out of 10 brake? not sure about rat, but recently i found both cockroachman and spiderman inside my car.. and that stupid spiderman caused me to bang the car infront.. damn hate rat!! QUOTE(j-insigh @ Oct 13 2012, 10:08 PM) last time my break suddenly become like urs also. went for analysis, apparently the tube at rear wheel (left) bocor. so yeah, its like so freaking near to the car in front, and we are pressing damn hard for break. i get u man.. go for checkups tml alright, noted. but did the brake fluid came out? or any brake oil stain around ur tube? QUOTE(low yat 82 @ Oct 13 2012, 10:09 PM) rat r crazy man... it chew my headlamp wayar b4 this. latest it chew till putus my 2 spark plug cable.. find something to cover the engine compartment base like conti cars sound proof + anti rat = winrar QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Oct 13 2012, 10:11 PM) check the brake pumps for leaks. check brake hoses for leaks. re-bleed/flush the brake oil as required. alright, noted bro. but jenal told me that the rear only function as hanbrake, normal braking the drum doesn't function.. but anyway, sunday gonna drive to my garage and have some checkups.if still persist, could be front or rear caliper jammed. get it fixed ASAP before accidents. =edit= oh as a reminder: our default rear drums bite much harder than solid discs, they just response slow and are prone to fade easily. so considering your recent mod, you might want to take a closer look at that |
Oct 14 2012, 09:23 PM
QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Oct 14 2012, 03:55 AM) no lar rear also functions during normal braking. notice there's 2 hoses going into the rear drums (for my case at least, dunno bout your modded disc) yup, theres 2 cables, 1 for normal brake and 1 for handbrake. iirc, what he told me is that for maintenance, i only need to check the brake pads only and leave the drum aside as the drum will serve as handbrake purpose and it doesnt really required maintenance because it doesnt function as a brake, and probably able to last for another 10 years or more.. need some pros to clarify this 1 is for hand brake and the other for normal braking either you misinterpreted him or he explained to you wrongly no matter how, tmr i also need to visit my garage to do some check ups, hopefully it doesn't cost a bomb to fix it though.. else my front mod is gone |
Oct 14 2012, 11:13 PM
Oct 15 2012, 12:07 PM
Oct 15 2012, 05:42 PM
QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Oct 15 2012, 04:31 PM) usually it sounds like metal grind, like "ngek ngek" or rat squeaks as the bush worns out the metal parts will be having friction against each other. that would be driveshaft problem. im having the problem right now. not bother to fix it.kluk kluk sound could be something else hmm can i guess really really worn bearings? or free play around the axle area? (worn/damaged nuts/screws?) what about other sifu comments? just got my brake problem solved, the is spring thingy inside my master pump gone faulty. cost 170 to replace that damn spring. damn it.. im so pissed right now |
Oct 15 2012, 05:57 PM
QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Oct 15 2012, 05:48 PM) except we don't have drive shafts in the rear. i mean the front 1, just underneath our left foot rest pad (the left thingy for u to put ur foot instead of clutch)btw 170 for the spring inside the pump? i think top up a bit you can get an entire master brake pump original from proton too bad i changed my servo to accord sm4 one, the master pump+servo together. at first the boss told me to fix thing probably cost around 40 to 60 only (changing the rubber thingy inside the master pump) after that everything is done, then when the receipt came out, i was like wtf why rm170 and tried to argue with the boss, he said sm4 master pump dont have the rubber thingy alone, must change whole set, but before that, he didnt inform me anything about changing the entire thing and the price. if i know rm170, i would go to halfcut shop and change to vr4 complete set instead. wtffffff my dad was right, that shop simply potong customer with unreasonable labour parts charges. |
| Change to: | 0.0408sec
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 08:28 AM |