126 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Bottom

LYN Proton Saga/Iswara Drivers' Forum! V26, Keeping up with the others for over 27

megadisc
post Oct 11 2012, 04:29 PM

4,349 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Oct 11 2012, 05:23 PM)
1) yeah wd40 works lol
- try the boot lifters (or absorbers)
- boot closing latch
- both upper/lower joints of the rear absorbers (need to jack car up, also may want to do it 1 side at a time because jacking both rears means no handbrake and can be dangerous!)
- rear axle bushes

duct tape wrapping!
- rear seat latches
- rear door latches

wonder if im missing anything else, tried the ones i listed yet? also, before absorber change no issue, after change got sound?

previouslyy had no sound but once i changed the back absorbers and boot absorbers
i notice that the sounds is coming from the boot just not certain which area
coz i can only hear the squeaking sounds when the car is in motion.
damn irritating
thanks for the advise
will try it later this weekend after badminton

2)
- spark plug cables
- distributor rotors/cap
- air filter

i am assuming your OCI is properly maintained and your alternator (around 13-14v on voltmeter) & battery (around 12v when engine off) is no problems ya? smile.gif
i did not ask the guy to hceckc since i just top up the battery water only
and not check the VOLTs...
dear workshop
hwere i coming.
the funny workshop i use to go ..even charge me service tax ...
wtf ..
Quazacolt
post Oct 11 2012, 04:32 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(megadisc @ Oct 11 2012, 04:29 PM)
the funny workshop i use to go ..even charge me service tax ...
wtf ..
wtf? since when they can charge that? lol
Quazacolt
post Oct 11 2012, 04:33 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Oct 7 2012, 05:05 PM)
anyways guys:

can anyone confirm if our air conditioning compressor runs aligned with our engine's rev?
eg: 6k engine rev = compressor running at same speed regardless of load?
^

so can anyone confirm on this?
(still waiting for LYN sifus to answer lol)
megadisc
post Oct 11 2012, 04:34 PM

4,349 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Oct 11 2012, 05:32 PM)
wtf? since when they can charge that? lol
i bengang to the max when i saw the service charges of 6% on the bill
haahhaa..
Notoriez
post Oct 11 2012, 09:56 PM

I am Notty and Notorious !!!
2,499 posts

I am selling off my brand new IMP Comfort rear absorber. Been using KONI soft hard adjustable shocks and decided to let go this good pair of shocks.

RM300, please do PM me if interested and price is still open for negotiable wink.gif

- RM 60 for sale as well. Straight flow 2'inch muffler.
AzeL
post Oct 11 2012, 09:59 PM

304 posts

QUOTE(megadisc @ Oct 11 2012, 04:34 PM)
i bengang to the max when i saw the service charges of 6% on the bill
haahhaa..
Not surprising...is the workshop a nice place?, with waiting area, a/c, tv, magazines/newspapers etc....over here in KK those places have service charges...but equipment and workmanship is very good la.....servicing my iswara there feels like me checking in to a 5 star hotel hahaha...
zenix
post Oct 11 2012, 10:30 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(Notoriez @ Oct 11 2012, 09:56 PM)
I am selling off my brand new IMP Comfort rear absorber. Been using KONI  soft hard adjustable shocks and decided to let go this good pair of shocks.

RM300, please do PM me if interested and price is still open for negotiable wink.gif

- RM 60 for sale as well. Straight flow 2'inch muffler.
a little bit of poison to brighten the day drool.gif
jedi_master
post Oct 11 2012, 10:38 PM

165 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Oct 11 2012, 03:17 AM)
watch that temperature reading sinking as fast as your heart does  brows.gif

on a more serious note, if you can drive back home, and if you can start the car back the next morning, you're probably problem free ^^
Yes! My car is problem free! The only minor niggle was after going through the waters my fan belt goes squeak squeak. But today, it's back to it's normal state. rclxms.gif

Btw to hazard a guess on the AC compressor at high rev, this is from another forum - not sure if it applies to our car.

The compressor clutch is (in basic terms) powered by 4 switches in series:
The dash switch, the low pressure cut-off switch, the high pressure cut-off switch, and the evaporator thermo-switch.
Any one opens and the compressor stops (or cycles off).

megadisc
post Oct 12 2012, 12:01 AM

4,349 posts

QUOTE(AzeL @ Oct 11 2012, 10:59 PM)
Not surprising...is the workshop a nice place?, with waiting area, a/c, tv, magazines/newspapers etc....over here in KK those places have service charges...but equipment and workmanship is very good la.....servicing my iswara there feels like me checking in to a 5 star hotel hahaha...
there is a waiting area with a/c ...but his kids just lepak there with their laptop.
i went there coz the place was empty ...
but still took like 3 hrs to do ...coz had to wait for other spare parts... rclxub.gif
Quazacolt
post Oct 12 2012, 12:54 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(jedi_master @ Oct 11 2012, 10:38 PM)
Btw to hazard a guess on the AC compressor at high rev, this is from another forum - not sure if it applies to our car.
switches aside, im trying to confirm that once the clutch engages, does it follows our engine RPM. i've gotten 3-4 sources saying that it does, just need a couple more just to have a firm (dead firm, firm until cannot firm lol) confirmation sweat.gif
jedi_master
post Oct 12 2012, 09:25 AM

165 posts

Well, I guess if there are switches to decouple the clutch upon high revving or hard acceleration, then it must only mean that the compressor follows the engine RPM. There would be no point putting in those switches if the compressor is always at a constant RPM. Unless of course it's fully electric driven, not belt driven..
C2KBAS2005
post Oct 12 2012, 10:41 AM

185 posts

guys and sifu here,

i have just got myself an iswara 1.3 sedan manual 1996, i need to do some body work on the boot area as water are coming in, just to find out how much is the rear set of lamps??..... some people advice to get original, some says taiwan and some even advice to get the white/clear lights........ anyone have changed their rear lamp and what is the advice? and roughly how much is cost for the different type??........ thanks a million and hope to get some advice on this as i will be sending to the mudguard guy next week.......... cheers.

megadisc
post Oct 12 2012, 12:10 PM

4,349 posts

QUOTE(C2KBAS2005 @ Oct 12 2012, 11:41 AM)
guys and sifu here,

i have just got myself an iswara 1.3 sedan manual 1996, i need to do some body work on the boot area as water are coming in, just to find out how much is the rear set of lamps??..... some people advice to get original, some says taiwan and some even advice to get the white/clear lights........ anyone have changed their rear lamp and what is the advice? and roughly how much is cost for the different type??........ thanks a million and hope to get some advice on this as i will be sending to the mudguard guy next week.......... cheers.
my boot also leaking water but not sure how to troubleshoot
aduhai ...

the guy just say send to mudguard workshop...
C2KBAS2005
post Oct 12 2012, 12:36 PM

185 posts

QUOTE(megadisc @ Oct 12 2012, 12:10 PM)
my boot also leaking water but not sure how to troubleshoot
aduhai ...

the guy just say send to mudguard workshop...
one of my rear light also creak ...... so was thinking of changing both ......... trying to find out the price and where to get, maybe changed to look more nicer pair............ cheers
Quazacolt
post Oct 12 2012, 12:51 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(jedi_master @ Oct 12 2012, 09:25 AM)
Well, I guess if there are switches to decouple the clutch upon high revving or hard acceleration, then it must only mean that the compressor follows the engine RPM. There would be no point putting in those switches if the compressor is always at a constant RPM. Unless of course it's fully electric driven, not belt driven..
hmm good point, does our iswara have the appropriate switches to disengage it (eg: high revving) to protect itself?

and yes, the way you explained it, it seems that the compressor follows the engine's rpm, and it is no doubt belt driven.

any idea if we can do mod or change the compressor to something more intelligent or something?

Added on October 12, 2012, 1:14 pm
QUOTE(C2KBAS2005 @ Oct 12 2012, 10:41 AM)
- do proper sealing, and have the workshop/foreman do leak tests (hose the car and make sure not a single drop is in the boot
- around rm200/pair IINM
- get original is recommended
- please do not get white lights.

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Oct 12 2012, 01:14 PM
AzeL
post Oct 12 2012, 03:07 PM

304 posts

QUOTE(C2KBAS2005 @ Oct 12 2012, 10:41 AM)
guys and sifu here,

Last time my problem due to the rubber thinghy surrounding the whole boot....and then coming in from my right side rear lamps (those were imitation).

Changed the rubber thinghy...and fortunately my rear lamps got into another unfortunate parking accident so got myself original ones....I didn't do any testing but so far car washes, heavy rain also no water in boot. I think perhaps imitation lights leaking because the fit not perfect..so if you do get imitation, like quazacolt says get it sealed properly.
C2KBAS2005
post Oct 12 2012, 04:58 PM

185 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Oct 12 2012, 12:51 PM)
hmm good point, does our iswara have the appropriate switches to disengage it (eg: high revving) to protect itself?

and yes, the way you explained it, it seems that the compressor follows the engine's rpm, and it is no doubt belt driven.

any idea if we can do mod or change the compressor to something more intelligent or something?

- do proper sealing, and have the workshop/foreman do leak tests (hose the car and make sure not a single drop is in the boot
- around rm200/pair IINM
ok, thanks for your advice, cheers
megadisc
post Oct 12 2012, 05:58 PM

4,349 posts

is it possible to fix rear boot absorber to the front ah ?
just curious ...
Quazacolt
post Oct 12 2012, 07:34 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(megadisc @ Oct 12 2012, 05:58 PM)
is it possible to fix rear boot absorber to the front ah ?
just curious ...
\dont think so. front uses bonnet lifters.
jedi_master
post Oct 12 2012, 11:41 PM

165 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Oct 12 2012, 12:51 PM)

- around rm200/pair IINM
No idea bro. Must find air-cond expert already. Mod the compressor? Get it to compress air into your intake instead? brows.gif brows.gif

White lights, maybe he means those Altezza-style ones on the limited edition silver Iswara..

126 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Top

0.0211sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 01:53 PM