65 Pages « < 49 50 51 52 53 > » Bottom

Travel Travelling Tips & airport/airline rules, Thing to bring & things to avoid

10&Counting
post Jun 14 2016, 09:08 PM

QUOTE(Balalaika @ Jun 14 2016, 11:19 AM)
i'm traveling to tokyo this september, with a 15hr transit at Ho Chi Minh city on the way back. 15 hrs is loooooooooooooooong. and i don't want to be lying around in the airport the whole time. would it be possible for me to exit the airport, and return like 3 hours before the connecting flight?
Yes, you can exit the airport, go to city and come back for your connecting flight.
In Dec last year transit in HCM, did city tour and a 4 days 3 night stopover in Hanoi.
Doing another stop over this Dec.
No need visa or transit visa for Malaysians passport holders biggrin.gif
Trust me,have been to Vietnam 7 times so far.
inachi
post Jun 14 2016, 10:34 PM

i don troll
1,097 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jun 14 2016, 08:32 PM)
Dei, wrong info lar.

Transit visa are only for those ppl who need visa in the first place. Then the country introduce a transit visa which is easier to apply for than a "full" visa.

For ppl who dun need visa (i.e. Malaysians enter Vietnam, enter SG, enter Thailand), u dun need to apply for the transit visa either.
ops sorry..got this info from my friend..maybe her experience was all from those visa-required country. wink.gif
Balalaika
post Jun 15 2016, 07:03 AM

Yey
Thanks, everyone biggrin.gif

Now to figure out what to do in hcm :/
hustlerism
post Jun 20 2016, 12:50 PM

Devil In Disguise
1,641 posts

can i hand carry deuter backpack 45L onboard airasia?
munkeyflo
post Jun 20 2016, 03:48 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,799 posts

QUOTE(hustlerism @ Jun 20 2016, 12:50 PM)
can i hand carry deuter backpack 45L onboard airasia?
I think it is borderline. You might wanna read thru the other backpack thread. I remember others saying preferably below 40L for handcarry.
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1233513&hl=
andrekua2
post Jul 4 2016, 11:10 AM

13,484 posts

Anyone tried Malindo Air? I find their way of doing business is really bad.

Y_vonne
post Jul 15 2016, 12:24 PM

240 posts

ok i dono if this is the right place to ask but anyways, i'm interested to self travel gold coast for like a week, but i'm having some doubts i hope you guys can reply!

1) is it possible to move around in gold coast with public transport eg train, buses..or it's a must to rent a car? Which is cheaper?

2) do renting a car over there require you to apply for some permit or international license thingy?

3) how long ahead should you plan your one-week self travel? Cuz i'm afraid if there's not enough time!

munkeyflo
post Jul 15 2016, 01:38 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,799 posts

QUOTE(Y_vonne @ Jul 15 2016, 12:24 PM)
ok i dono if this is the right place to ask but anyways, i'm interested to self travel gold coast for like a week, but i'm having some doubts i hope you guys can reply!

1) is it possible to move around in gold coast with public transport eg train, buses..or it's a must to rent a car? Which is cheaper?

2) do renting a car over there require you to apply for some permit or international license thingy?

3) how long ahead should you plan your one-week self travel? Cuz i'm afraid if there's not enough time!
Gold Coast thread: https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/895391/+560#bottom
kireyasui
post Aug 19 2016, 01:57 PM

23 posts

sorry guys , i'm so noob , i have a question regarding the time of check in

i dont travel a lot, only during the time of my study like every semester
and only check in (to get the boarding pass?) on the day of my flight

so my question is can i check in early? like my flight is on next monday but
i want to get my boarding pass today? can that be done? thanks
alextan99
post Aug 19 2016, 02:00 PM

Wassup
2,660 posts

depends on which airline you fly with. Air Asia allows you to check in 14 days before the flight. The other airline would be between 24 - 48 hours before your flight. Best is to check on the airline's website for the most accurate info
kireyasui
post Aug 19 2016, 02:11 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(alextan99 @ Aug 19 2016, 02:00 PM)
depends on which airline you fly with. Air Asia allows you to check in 14 days before the flight. The other airline would be between 24 - 48 hours before your flight. Best is to check on the airline's website for the most accurate info
im using mas, and i just checked their website, it says 48hours to 40min(using kiosk) before departure. so i guess
the earliest would be on saturday. thanks for this info sir. how about my luggage? how do i send it to the counter
when i already checked in

alextan99
post Aug 19 2016, 02:16 PM

Wassup
2,660 posts

if you have already checked-in then just go to the counter where its labeled web check in or luggage drop and they will take care of the luggage.
Yveatel
post Aug 19 2016, 02:28 PM

880 posts

QUOTE(alextan99 @ Aug 19 2016, 02:16 PM)
if you have already checked-in then just go to the counter where its labeled web check in or luggage drop and they will take care of the luggage.
thumbsup.gif
kireyasui
post Aug 19 2016, 02:32 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(alextan99 @ Aug 19 2016, 02:16 PM)
I just need to show my boarding pass right? Alright, thank you so much everyone B-)
munkeyflo
post Aug 21 2016, 02:11 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,799 posts

QUOTE(kireyasui @ Aug 19 2016, 02:32 PM)
I just need to show my boarding pass right? Alright, thank you so much everyone  B-)
Show your boarding pass and passport. Then you'll be given the gate number to go to.
OKLY
post Aug 21 2016, 09:32 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,090 posts

Is China the only one which is very strict on power banks? Did some reading and found out that power banks will be confiscated if there is no indication of the capacity/output specs on it.

What about other countries?

I have a Xiaomi 10,400mAh power bank which is about 2 years old and the specs printed on it has faded. So I'd have to buy a new one to be safe from this hassle?
arafat
post Aug 21 2016, 11:44 PM

ROCK ON!
1,747 posts

guys..is cooking oil & dish liquid soap allowed for check in baggage?

malaysian airlines..thanks
munkeyflo
post Aug 23 2016, 12:07 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,799 posts

QUOTE(arafat @ Aug 21 2016, 11:44 PM)
guys..is cooking oil & dish liquid soap allowed for check in baggage?

malaysian airlines..thanks
Yes, but why would you need to bring those?
ru40342
post Aug 23 2016, 07:20 PM

301 posts

QUOTE(OKLY @ Aug 21 2016, 09:32 PM)
Is China the only one which is very strict on power banks? Did some reading and found out that power banks will be confiscated if there is no indication of the capacity/output specs on it.

What about other countries?

I have a Xiaomi 10,400mAh power bank which is about 2 years old and the specs printed on it has faded. So I'd have to buy a new one to be safe from this hassle?
Based on my experience, for China, Beijing capital was the strictest where an officer looked at my power bank carefully and read the label on it.

Shanghai and Hainan Island is less strict. An officer just had a look at it and read the label for few seconds.

Not sure about power bank without label / label without indication of output but I would assume it would be confiscated at Beijing.

For other countries, for the countries i've visited in the last 2 years (around 15), generally western countries are stricter than eastern countries (but not to the extend of Beijing). They will read the label and look at the power bank for few seconds while eastern countries officers did not even touch it.
kireyasui
post Aug 30 2016, 02:50 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Aug 21 2016, 02:11 PM)
Show your boarding pass and passport. Then you'll be given the gate number to go to.
what i meant was, i have my luggage but i have not sent them into the cargo(?)
but i have already got my boarding pass because of early check in.

from what you're saying, i'm to show my boarding pass to them, then they will take my luggage
and tell me the gate number. is that it?

65 Pages « < 49 50 51 52 53 > » Top

0.0239sec    1.01    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 05:30 AM