The LCD Monitor v12.

Ulysses
post Sep 3 2012, 11:37 AM

尤利西斯
2,822 posts

QUOTE(lex @ Sep 2 2012, 10:34 PM)
This one is usually the power supply section, usually badcaps. But the "pop" sounds could be from the backlight section (again possible badcaps). This one is usually easy to fix. If you want, the just ask/PM me... hmm.gif

I've used quite a number of monitors already, though mostly from Acer and BenQ ones, and a few Samsungs. My current one, BenQ FP222W has been running fine (already 5 years). Usually I tend to stick to known big/established brands, rather than going for less known ones like Envision, Proview, IIyama, Planar, VHO, etc. Hardware support is pretty important for LCD monitor. wink.gif

As many has mentioned/recommended here, bigger than 20" would be Dell UltraSharp U2312HM... icon_idea.gif
ur 5 years old benq, does its white turn yellowish?
BlackWoods
post Sep 3 2012, 11:55 AM

Dark Knight
2,152 posts

QUOTE(greggs @ Aug 28 2012, 04:29 PM)
PPZ, how's the sound quality output from PS3 ?? Is it ok?

I wonder if ST2320L is good enough for photo editing?? Anyone can update me on this matter?
I would like to give some feedback on my Dell ST2320L that I've used for around 1 week.

I received the monitor about 3 days after I placed the order.
However, they didn't put in the Power Cord in the box, I emailed them and wait for another 5 working days for the cable.
I use my spare Power Cord to use temporarily while waiting for them.

Display wise, the monitor is mediocre.
Please be noticed that the monitor is a LCD with LED backlit.
It is not a LED monitor, the black is not true black but lit up by back light.
For a true LED, when displaying black color, it is just like you turn off the monitor.

For color, it is slightly yellowish but maybe due to weak viewing angle.
Opt for a IPS, the viewing angle for TN panel is very poor.

The build quality is pretty solid, may last some abuses.

firstknight
post Sep 3 2012, 12:45 PM

2,681 posts

QUOTE(lex @ Sep 3 2012, 12:00 AM)
No idea, but the symptoms described (in bold) are usually indicative of power supply problems (e.g having to switch off or disconnect before can switch on back again). hmm.gif

Short for "bad capacitors". In many power supplies, capacitors can determine the stability of the power being delivered. If capacitors go bad then will have random and intermittent problems. wink.gif

AOC is actually an OEM for many monitor brands, though nowadays they decided to also compete in the market under their own brandname. The others like Acer, BenQ and Samsung are also OEMs to brands like Dell, HP, IBM, etc. Generally in terms of spare parts and replacements, brands like Acer, BenQ, Samsung and Dell are plentiful and easier to find since they are more common... tongue.gif
Although its nice to know I got one hell of a LCD.. but i think i will just wait till its dead then get a new one.. cant really stay on one that long due to nicer screen out there... LED IPS type... super nice...
lex
post Sep 3 2012, 01:19 PM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(Ulysses @ Sep 3 2012, 11:37 AM)
ur 5 years old  benq, does its white turn yellowish?
Nope, still white with no hint of yellowish at all. But its not as bright or as "whitish" as before though. At least it was not reddish (for your information, reddish is usually an indicator of failing CCFL). Mine uses AUO panel (opened up before) while I've seen other FP222W monitors with Chi Mei panels (and different layout internally). Talking about white, my ancient Acer AL1717 is truly paper white (talking about brand new paper color) despite its age. Even my other monitor, Acer H233H (with Samsung panel) cannot match the older Acer monitor when it comes to white. cool2.gif

QUOTE(firstknight @ Sep 3 2012, 12:45 PM)
Although its nice to know I got one hell of a LCD.. but i think i will just wait till its dead then get a new one.. cant really stay on one that long due to nicer screen out there... LED IPS type... super nice...
Which IPS monitor will you choose next? Viewsonic or Dell? brows.gif
firstknight
post Sep 3 2012, 01:32 PM

2,681 posts

QUOTE(lex @ Sep 3 2012, 01:19 PM)
Nope, still white with no hint of yellowish at all. But its not as bright or as "whitish" as before though. At least it was not reddish (for your information, reddish is usually an indicator of failing CCFL). Mine uses AUO panel (opened up before) while I've seen other FP222W monitors with Chi Mei panels (and different layout internally). Talking about white, my ancient Acer AL1717 is truly paper white (talking about brand new paper color) despite its age. Even my other monitor, Acer H233H (with Samsung panel) cannot match the older Acer monitor when it comes to white. cool2.gif

Which IPS monitor will you choose next? Viewsonic or Dell? brows.gif
ME not sure for now... wait and see... will check here when needed it... lol...
Ulysses
post Sep 3 2012, 05:16 PM

尤利西斯
2,822 posts

QUOTE(lex @ Sep 3 2012, 01:19 PM)

hmm.gif nice to see that ur Acer AL1717 maintains its colour.. i guess what is the factor that make it able to retain its colour despite its age? hmm.gif mine previous lcd before quite yelowish, that i can't stand anymore, & let it go.
lex
post Sep 3 2012, 06:37 PM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(Ulysses @ Sep 3 2012, 05:16 PM)
hmm.gif  nice to see that ur Acer AL1717 maintains its colour.. i guess what is the factor that make it able to retain its colour despite its age?   hmm.gif  mine previous lcd before quite yelowish, that i can't stand anymore, & let it go.
Could be the CCFL used as well as the material used for refraction and diffusion layers. Usually when CCFL goes bad, you'll see reddish (sometime orange or ocre) tint as well as flickering (and in worse cases flashing). Anyway, what's your previous LCD brand/model? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by lex: Sep 3 2012, 06:37 PM
Ulysses
post Sep 3 2012, 06:56 PM

尤利西斯
2,822 posts

QUOTE(lex @ Sep 3 2012, 06:37 PM)
Could be the CCFL used as well as the material used for refraction and diffusion layers. Usually when CCFL goes bad, you'll see reddish (sometime orange or ocre) tint as well as flickering (and in worse cases flashing). Anyway, what's your previous LCD brand/model?  hmm.gif
compaq w185q. cheap TN ccfl model..

so, is this yellowish thing happens on ips? hmm.gif
marfccy
post Sep 3 2012, 09:32 PM

Le Ponyland!!!
4,254 posts

hi would like to ask, among all these brands.. which would be the best bang for buck 20" monitors? hmm.gif

1) BenQ GL2055 at RM299
2) LG E2041T (LED) at RM325
3) Samsung S20B300B (LED) at RM325
4) AOC E2051F (LED) at RM349
5) Acer S200HL (LED) at RM309
(prices quoted from All IT)

also, i would like to know some feedbacks abt the product quality too hmm.gif like build quality, colour display, etc etc

This post has been edited by marfccy: Sep 3 2012, 09:40 PM
lex
post Sep 3 2012, 10:00 PM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(Ulysses @ Sep 3 2012, 06:56 PM)
compaq w185q. cheap TN ccfl model..
If not mistaken this monitor is manufactured by TPV Technology. wink.gif

QUOTE(Ulysses @ Sep 3 2012, 06:56 PM)
so, is this yellowish thing happens on ips? hmm.gif
Yes, it can happen on IPS also. As mentioned earlier, could be backlight degradation as well as material used. hmm.gif

QUOTE(marfccy @ Sep 3 2012, 09:32 PM)
hi would like to ask, among all these brands.. which would be the best bang for buck 20" monitors? hmm.gif
If bang-per-buck then of course choose the cheapest one, BenQ in that list. Other candidates are Acer S200HL LED (RM299) and BenQ G2025HD (RM279), prices are from Viewnet. Make sure the monitors you are going to buy has DVI input... tongue.gif

QUOTE(marfccy @ Sep 3 2012, 09:32 PM)
also, i would like to know some feedbacks abt the product quality too hmm.gif like build quality, colour display, etc etc
For the feedbacks, you will have to wait for people who have bought those monitors to comment here... icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by lex: Sep 3 2012, 10:01 PM
marfccy
post Sep 3 2012, 10:37 PM

Le Ponyland!!!
4,254 posts

QUOTE(lex @ Sep 3 2012, 10:00 PM)
If bang-per-buck then of course choose the cheapest one, BenQ in that list. Other candidates are Acer S200HL LED (RM299) and BenQ G2025HD (RM279), prices are from Viewnet. Make sure the monitors you are going to buy has DVI input... tongue.gif

For the feedbacks, you will have to wait for people who have bought those monitors to comment here... icon_rolleyes.gif
All of them have VGA and DVI output. But is the brand BenQ reliable? Cos i would like something that can last at least 3 years without breaking down

If no one purchased it before then ill ask which brand would be the most reliable one then tongue.gif
I have two friends using Samsung monitors, they gave me good reviews. But of course ill try look for cheaper ones brows.gif

If money was no object id grab Dell instead biggrin.gif
ian84
post Sep 4 2012, 12:07 PM

76 posts

Hi, anyone know the place to order and direct pickup Dell U2312HM in Johor ?. I am not sure about online-order to send them to my campus, UTM blush.gif
lex
post Sep 4 2012, 11:28 PM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(marfccy @ Sep 3 2012, 10:37 PM)
All of them have VGA and DVI output. But is the brand BenQ reliable? Cos i would like something that can last at least 3 years without breaking down

If no one purchased it before then ill ask which brand would be the most reliable one then tongue.gif
I think I've mentioned before about the good apple and bad apple analogy when it comes to longevity. Very much depends on your luck actually. Similar to dead pixels (factory defect)... icon_idea.gif

I have two friends using Samsung monitors, they gave me good reviews. But of course ill try look for cheaper ones brows.gif
Even if you bought a Samsung monitor, the panel itself may not be Samsung. As I've fixed lots of LCD monitors before, Samsung monitors also uses panels from AUO, Chi Mei, ChungHwa, Hannstar, etc. tongue.gif

If money was no object id grab Dell instead biggrin.gif
If money was no objection, you would be looking to grab 30-inch Apple Cinema Display... brows.gif

This post has been edited by lex: Sep 4 2012, 11:29 PM
marfccy
post Sep 5 2012, 01:58 AM

Le Ponyland!!!
4,254 posts

QUOTE(lex @ Sep 4 2012, 11:28 PM)
I think I've mentioned before about the good apple and bad apple analogy when it comes to longevity. Very much depends on your luck actually. Similar to dead pixels (factory defect)... icon_idea.gif

Even if you bought a Samsung monitor, the panel itself may not be Samsung. As I've fixed lots of LCD monitors before, Samsung monitors also uses panels from AUO, Chi Mei, ChungHwa, Hannstar, etc. tongue.gif

If money was no objection, you would be looking to grab 30-inch Apple Cinema Display... brows.gif
So ended up ill have to hope not to get a lemon unit sweat.gif

hmm true.. the panels may not be from samsung itself hmm.gif

pergh drool.gif RM3k++ wei brows.gif

This post has been edited by marfccy: Sep 5 2012, 01:58 AM
law1777
post Sep 5 2012, 04:26 PM

DreamMan
2,654 posts

using HP x2301.. i just like bright glass screen better than the matte screen
buffon11
post Sep 5 2012, 10:05 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(Pistacio @ Aug 22 2012, 09:32 PM)
what is the best 23 inch monitor out there??

i just bought 23 inch lg ips model. very good purchase so far.. huge difference with my last samsung lcd.
Pistacio
post Sep 5 2012, 10:18 PM

458 posts

QUOTE(buffon11 @ Sep 5 2012, 10:05 PM)
i just bought 23 inch lg ips model. very good purchase so far.. huge difference with my last samsung lcd.
how much? tongue.gif
lex
post Sep 6 2012, 12:20 AM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(marfccy @ Sep 5 2012, 01:58 AM)
So ended up ill have to hope not to get a lemon unit sweat.gif
Mine lasted 5 years and still going strong, but the same cannot be said for other owners of the same monitor. My brother's Samsung SyncMaster 932B+ is still running fine but I've seen others broke down often. Thus pretty much a lottery draw when it comes to longevity... wink.gif

hmm true.. the panels may not be from samsung itself hmm.gif
That Acer H233H mentioned earlier uses Samsung panel, although its not a Samsung monitor... brows.gif

pergh drool.gif RM3k++ wei  brows.gif
And you thought Dell was the bees knees... tongue.gif

QUOTE(donniebrasco @ Sep 5 2012, 10:38 PM)
my dell st230L just arrived yesterday..
what i can say is..the colour is horrible in factory setting..so..have to choose cool in preset mode..other than that mode, not nice in my point of view..when i play a game (cs:s)  i notice there is very small petak2..only when play a game..
Describe the "petak1" (squarish) thingy. Have run color banding test, as well as the 256 color levels test? hmm.gif

QUOTE(donniebrasco @ Sep 5 2012, 10:38 PM)
is it because my gc?
What's your graphic card brand/model? unsure.gif
buffon11
post Sep 6 2012, 03:13 AM

132 posts

530 viewnet low yat. the cheapest there in low yat i think.. been surveying for almost a day

QUOTE(BlackWoods @ Sep 3 2012, 11:55 AM)
I would like to give some feedback on my Dell ST2320L that I've used for around 1 week.

I received the monitor about 3 days after I placed the order.
However, they didn't put in the Power Cord in the box, I emailed them and wait for another 5 working days for the cable.
I use my spare Power Cord to use temporarily while waiting for them.

Display wise, the monitor is mediocre.
Please be noticed that the monitor is a LCD with LED backlit.
It is not a LED monitor, the black is not true black but lit up by back light.
For a true LED, when displaying black color, it is just like you turn off the monitor.

For color, it is slightly yellowish but maybe due to weak viewing angle.
Opt for a IPS, the viewing angle for TN panel is very poor.

The build quality is pretty solid, may last some abuses.
i'm using IPS LG monitor. without having to change the menu/setting, the default setting is impressive. i read some review saying that IPS monitor have a prob of bleeding color but so far im satisfied. viewing angle is great too
mfashraf
post Sep 6 2012, 07:08 AM

120 posts

I'm using a Chimei 19-inch CMV-958D-C. Really like this screen especially when it's 19-inch and comes with 1680x1050 resolution. My Q. Any 20-inch monitors out there with the same resolution?

Either used or not is fine

Added on September 6, 2012, 8:31 amOne more question. I also have a 17-inch Samsung 740N so is it okay to fix my chimei and 2 740N together? Or should I have all monitors with the same resolution and aspect ratio?

This post has been edited by mfashraf: Sep 6 2012, 08:31 AM

140 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0331sec    0.37    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 05:59 AM