128 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Bottom

English Clubs Liverpool FC- The Kop Talk 2012, Liverpool 0-2 Arsenal - 2nd defeat!

redkop63
post Aug 20 2012, 03:53 PM

110 posts

QUOTE(Duke Red @ Aug 20 2012, 02:17 PM)
Success does attract more wealthy sponsors, without a doubt. Having said that, Liverpool is a club in a very unique situation. I mentioned the 3 clubs who sell more kits than us and if you look at them. They constantly challenge for honours every year. There are many clubs who do but sell less kits than us. It is indeed about revenue for the sponsors. If we sell kits and people watch our games, they'll be happy because all they want are eyeballs. The only uncertainty is how long we can keep growing our fanbase. You may be right to suggest that growth in this aspect has stagnated but I'm more inclined to believe that the global fanbase has been diluted with the introduction of more contending teams like Chelsea and Man City. In the past it was either Man Utd or Liverpool.

Not saying that we'll be all good if we continue to struggle but the situations is hardly critical yet. Just saying that to compare us with Ranger at this point is a little extreme.
Yes, the club is very steep in tradition that not many clubs can rival. By having the statistics to show that 3 clubs sells more kits than us gives us a good indication that they may have a wider fan base worldwide than us. I wouldn't imply that our fanbase growth has stagnated but more of others are growing at a much faster rate than us due to their success on the field.

I believe Chelsea's fan base has grown steadily over the years while Man City is just beginning to and if we had achieved similar success like them, these fans should have been ours instead of theirs. People likes to be associated with winners and I for one won't deny that, paritularly the younger generation of supporter, like what happened to me when I was young. I believe, the club still has a very strong fan base because of their successes during those all conquering years of the 70s and 80 and some moments during 90s and 2000s. The older generation of supporters will slowly phase out and the club need succeses to attract new generation of supporters.

Yeah, your're right to say that we are not at a stage of Rangers, I may be overly cautious or excited but if we're not careful and let succeses drifts further aaway from us while the overheads continues to rise and the fanbase doesn't grow but dwindles, it may lead to that direction.

So, what's the prediction for Man City's game?

hfi
post Aug 20 2012, 03:54 PM

598 posts

QUOTE(Cloud0890 @ Aug 20 2012, 03:32 PM)
Can certainly understand why BR wants Downing on the right. Let's not forget we are now playing 4-3-3, its not a winger position, its a wide forward role. You can think of him as Barcelona's Pedro. His role is to cut in from wide positions to make penetrating through balls or take a shot not make crosses. I believe the crossing and width job now belong to our full backs which Johnson particularly excels at. The problem was Enrique's last minute injury, Kelly isn't quite the adventurous type and the same goes to Robinson regardless of whether or not he is ready for the first team, they are certainly better at defensive duties than offense. Glen Johnson on the other hand does better a offensive job than any of our full backs even when playing on the left.

Saying BR not making any changes to our style of play is too extreme. If you look back at our first half I can see us trying to play how BR's Swansea played last season albeit not quite getting it. Too many stray passes even for our captain fantastic. It can be down to understanding and the team need to be given time to gel and learn, its only the first game after all. From what I've seen I think that the players are often standing too far away from each other instead of constantly moving which is needed to play this passing style. Barca's tiki-taka utilizes players' constant movement to form little triangles to make quick short passes and one-twos when moving the ball around while we were being too static and holding the ground looking and waiting for the ball. It would have worked if we were Barca but our players weren't good enough technically to thread accurate long on the ground passes which led to too many interceptions by Mulumbu and Yacob who were leading the counter attacks. When you play a possession game and a high defensive line, every counter attack opportunity by the opponent can be lethal. That, I believe was our downfall. Of course it doesn't help when Suarez is wasting chances left and right.
Agreed. That's how i see it as well. It's early days still, lots of issues still need to get sorted out.
Cloud0890
post Aug 20 2012, 04:00 PM

128 posts

QUOTE(redkop63 @ Aug 20 2012, 03:53 PM)
Yes, the club is very steep in tradition that not many clubs can rival. By having the statistics to show that 3 clubs sells more kits than us gives us a good indication that they may have a wider fan base worldwide than us. I wouldn't imply that our fanbase growth has stagnated but more of others are growing at a much faster rate than us due to their success on the field. 

I believe Chelsea's fan base has grown steadily over the years while Man City is just beginning to and if we had achieved similar success like them, these fans should have been ours instead of theirs. People likes to be associated with winners and I for one won't deny that, paritularly the younger generation of supporter, like what happened to me when I was young. I believe, the club still has a very strong fan base because of their successes during those all conquering years of the 70s and 80 and some moments during 90s and 2000s. The older generation of supporters will slowly phase out and the club need succeses to attract new generation of supporters.

Yeah, your're right to say that we are not at a stage of Rangers, I may be overly cautious or excited but if we're not careful and let succeses drifts further aaway from us while the overheads continues to rise and the fanbase doesn't grow but dwindles, it may lead to that direction.

After a 3-0 trashing on our first day, I would be happy with a dull draw against the reigning champions. tongue.gif
digilife
post Aug 20 2012, 04:10 PM

The MNP guy, its me yeah.
8,025 posts

Okay, now the hatred towards BR is gone( because he used the wrong tactics and undermine Steve Ckarke capabilities in out smarting him)

Lets support BR for atleast ONE point in our next game, We can do it because our fans sing a song whenever we play and this will win games.

Even if we lose, i dun mind BUT BR must get the tactics right by fielding the correct players in the right position.

Go BR go, do your best and play good passing and possession football, we have Allen which was the best player other than Reina in our last game.

Duke Red
post Aug 20 2012, 04:42 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(redkop63 @ Aug 20 2012, 03:53 PM)
We will create chances, this is almost certain. City have conceded 4 goals in their past w Premiership games. 2 against QPR when they clinched the Premiership and another 2 against Southampton over the weekend. My concern is we're still struggling to score. Suarez could have had a hat trick against WBA.

I think we played pretty well against WBA until Agger got sent off. We did concede a goal before that but it was a wonder strike from Gera. If we can keep our shape against City, I think we could steal all 3 points. We'll need to keep it tight at the back. Agger's absence will be felt.

Added on August 20, 2012, 4:44 pm
QUOTE(digilife @ Aug 20 2012, 04:10 PM)
Okay, now the hatred towards BR is gone( because he used the wrong tactics and undermine Steve Ckarke capabilities in out smarting him)

Lets support BR for atleast ONE point in our next game, We can do it because our fans sing a song whenever we play and this will win games.

Even if we lose, i dun mind BUT BR must get the tactics right by fielding the correct players in the right position.

Go BR go, do your best and play good passing and possession football, we have Allen which was the best player other than Reina in our last game.
Considering that hindsight is 20-20, why don't you go out on a limb and tell me what tactics you think he should deploy and which personnel he should play?

There was hatred directed at Rodgers?

This post has been edited by Duke Red: Aug 20 2012, 04:44 PM
redkop63
post Aug 20 2012, 05:25 PM

110 posts

QUOTE(Cloud0890 @ Aug 20 2012, 04:00 PM)
After a 3-0 trashing on our first day, I would be happy with a dull draw against the reigning champions.  tongue.gif
Yes, I'll go along with your thoughts eventhough we're playing at home. Hopefully, they've licked the wounds and come out playing like men possessed. But my only reservation is the referee, we could be beaten by him not Man City.

Added on August 20, 2012, 5:45 pm
QUOTE(Duke Red @ Aug 20 2012, 04:42 PM)
We will create chances, this is almost certain. City have conceded 4 goals in their past w Premiership games. 2 against QPR when they clinched the Premiership and another 2 against Southampton over the weekend. My concern is we're still struggling to score. Suarez could have had a hat trick against WBA.

I think we played pretty well against WBA until Agger got sent off. We did concede a goal before that but it was a wonder strike from Gera. If we can keep our shape against City, I think we could steal all 3 points. We'll need to keep it tight at the back. Agger's absence will be felt.

Added on August 20, 2012, 4:44 pm

Considering that hindsight is 20-20, why don't you go out on a limb and tell me what tactics you think he should deploy and which personnel he should play?

There was hatred directed at Rodgers?
Looking at current sitution, I wll be honest to say that the team's confidence is not at an all time high and has taken a big jolt. We may have to alter our style a bit by defending deeper as Man City is very dangerous on the offensive and Agger not around will somewhat weaken our defence. We may have to play a counter attacking game. If we could nick an early goal will be good as ManCity will moev higher up the pitch leaving more space at the back. Without being too optimistic, I'll be happy with a 0-0 score.

This post has been edited by redkop63: Aug 20 2012, 05:45 PM
digilife
post Aug 20 2012, 05:47 PM

8,025 posts

Next game, play 4-5-1 to control midfield, so that the ball wont reach our box.

-----------------Reina

Johnson Skertel Coates Enrique

Gerrard Allen Lucas Borini Henderson

----------------Carroll

skeleton202
post Aug 20 2012, 07:33 PM

Perdana Malaysia ke-9
1,132 posts

we dunt have a real scorer... that's all... even dalglish last season we still have good in possession but just godly poor in scoring
ahmar
post Aug 20 2012, 08:07 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ Aug 20 2012, 05:47 PM)
Next game, play 4-5-1 to control midfield, so that the ball wont reach our box.

-----------------Reina

Johnson Skertel Coates Enrique

Gerrard Allen Lucas Borini Henderson

----------------Carroll
I think if you wanna pack the midfield, we are better off like this

------------------Reina------------------
Johnson Skrtel Carra Coates Enrique
-----------------Lucas-------------------
----Gerrard----Allen--------Hendo----
----------------Carroll------------------

Kao kao main angkat bola ke depan hahaha.. brows.gif
Ammo90
post Aug 20 2012, 09:20 PM

QUOTE(ahmar @ Aug 20 2012, 08:07 PM)

Kao kao main angkat bola ke depan hahaha..  brows.gif
No suarez?ban for next match?
digilife
post Aug 20 2012, 09:22 PM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(ahmar @ Aug 20 2012, 08:07 PM)

Kao kao main angkat bola ke depan hahaha..  brows.gif
bang, Carra Xbole la...............

Suarez need a rest, he complained too much.......
Ammo90
post Aug 20 2012, 09:31 PM

QUOTE(digilife @ Aug 20 2012, 09:22 PM)
bang, Carra Xbole la...............

Suarez need a rest, he complained too much.......
Agreed. I know he is the most dangerous player for us, he create a lot of chances, give opposition defend a hard day, but sometime he is too selfish. People around such as borini can't even involved in the game when this happen.

Differ from Carroll, although he can't create a lot of chances or be dangerous with skills, his rate of goal conversion per chance is higher. So, may be try to start without Suarez,and give Andy chance to be lone striker.
skeleton202
post Aug 20 2012, 09:32 PM

Perdana Malaysia ke-9
1,132 posts

why fan forgetting new signing ossama to play?

he's freaking fast suitable for counter attacking formation... no loss if use him coz if we lost the game then it's predicted
hfi
post Aug 20 2012, 10:30 PM

598 posts

WTF rest Suarez after the first match of the season and when we are severely lacking creativty up front ? Utter madness.
kevafk
post Aug 20 2012, 10:53 PM

209 posts

great news, skrtel sign new long term contact
http://www.liverpoolfc.com/news/latest-new...s-future-to-lfc
shamsul_LP
post Aug 20 2012, 11:35 PM

673 posts

QUOTE(Ammo90 @ Aug 20 2012, 09:31 PM)
Agreed. I know he is the most dangerous player for us, he create a lot of chances, give opposition defend a hard day, but sometime he is too selfish. People around such as borini can't even involved in the game when this happen.

Differ from Carroll, although he can't create a lot of chances or be dangerous with skills, his rate of goal conversion per chance is higher. So, may be try to start without Suarez,and give Andy chance to be lone striker.
suarez is creator..we must find a natural goalscorer.not another center midfield doh.gif
digilife
post Aug 21 2012, 01:17 AM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(hfi @ Aug 20 2012, 10:30 PM)
WTF rest Suarez after the first match of the season and when we are severely lacking creativty up front ? Utter madness.
Not rest Suarez, but him in the bench and use him as a super sub would be more effective when the opposition is tired.

Look how well Lukaku tormented our defence when he came on as a super sub icon_idea.gif
jimbet1337
post Aug 21 2012, 02:37 AM

meh
2,672 posts

Link: No Value in the Market? - Oh, really, now?
Ammo90
post Aug 21 2012, 02:59 AM

QUOTE(shamsul_LP @ Aug 20 2012, 11:35 PM)
suarez is creator..we must find a natural goalscorer.not another center midfield doh.gif
I'm not saying Suarez did not create chances,but sometimes he is too selfish. So what is the function of having goalscorer when the creator don't even assist. That's what happen to Borini last game, cannot involve in the game,Suarez wanna do all by himself. So, maybe we should try to start without Suarez, and sub him later if we really need him.
digilife
post Aug 21 2012, 04:58 AM

8,025 posts

Nice win by Everton over ManU, look at their Central Defence against Kagawa and gang, Carra should learn from them........

128 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Top

0.0215sec    0.61    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 01:29 AM