157 Pages « < 37 38 39 40 41 > » Bottom

Shell Recruitment Day (SRD), What's all about ... and Shell Lounge

speedfamgirl
post Jan 24 2008, 01:18 PM

Not afraid of #138
1,900 posts

QUOTE(depster666 @ Dec 28 2007, 11:06 PM)
Hi speedfamgirl,

Been with shell for just few months . And I'm in the same dept with Praba, Zol and Robin Tan. U r in E11 hub right? Should be going to the platforms for my FIV soon. Hope to see u there... BTW, met Dern already....
haha...just now realize your reply.

well i'm onboard now...dont see any of your guys here atm...
maybe no such big problems
lousai
post Jan 24 2008, 02:30 PM

95 posts

hi all:

Attended an interview on Tuesday, by 2 HR reps and 2 technical reps.

Process is lengthy 2.5 hours for a permanent position at Hosting-storage.

Hence, i still have few question after the session which i missed out to ask.

1. What the range for permanent staff as in IT (experiences 4-5 yrs)
2. The Petrol& Toll Allowances rm1000 will be terminated and converted to housing/car subsidy in 2009 ,
Is that good?
3. Heard from this thread T-systems is going to take over, any idea when is it mid 2009 or 2010.?
4. When the dept/team outsource to vendor does permanent staff retain the same salary but diff benefits
5. For outstation ppl

sweat.....man

That all i have... rclxub.gif
tishaban
post Jan 24 2008, 03:08 PM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(lousai @ Jan 24 2008, 02:30 PM)
2. The Petrol& Toll Allowances rm1000 will be terminated and converted to housing/car subsidy in 2009 ,
    Is that good?
3. Heard from this thread T-systems is going to take over, any idea when is it mid 2009 or 2010.?
4. When the dept/team outsource to vendor does permanent staff retain the same salary but diff benefits
5. For outstation ppl
1. Can't say, depends a lot on your experience and how much they want you and how well you did in that interview. If I were to guess it'll be 5+k after allowances.

2. No it's not good

3. Outsourcing will start in mid 2008

4. Yes

5. Outstation folks get to stay at a hotel for 3 weeks while they look for a place to stay in KL. I think it's at Cyberview Lodge. Not sure if it applies for everyone though.

DarReNz
post Jan 24 2008, 03:19 PM

7,496 posts

hmm so that means those that get hired will work around 6 months till T-Systems take over ......
Luthaine
post Jan 26 2008, 12:59 PM

205 posts

QUOTE(moonstone13 @ Jan 23 2008, 03:38 PM)
As a matter of fact, I did  rclxm9.gif

I've just received the offer letter as a Mechanical Engineer (static).  biggrin.gif
Where will you be based at? KL or outstation?
lousai
post Jan 29 2008, 12:00 PM

95 posts

QUOTE(tishaban @ Jan 24 2008, 03:08 PM)
1. Can't say, depends a lot on your experience and how much they want you and how well you did in that interview. If I were to guess it'll be 5+k after allowances.

2. No it's not good

3. Outsourcing will start in mid 2008

4. Yes

5. Outstation folks get to stay at a hotel for 3 weeks while they look for a place to stay in KL. I think it's at Cyberview Lodge. Not sure if it applies for everyone though.
Thx tishaban for your input, appreciate that.

Actually, my friend got offered 5 figured with same year experiences on contract basis. rclxub.gif
popcorn513
post Jan 29 2008, 02:52 PM

僕は戦闘機君は航空母艦
1,332 posts

QUOTE(lousai @ Jan 24 2008, 02:30 PM)
hi all:

Attended an interview on Tuesday, by 2 HR reps and 2 technical reps.

Process is lengthy 2.5 hours for a permanent position at Hosting-storage.

Hence, i still have few question after the session which i missed out to ask.

Is that good?
5. For outstation ppl

sweat.....man

That all i have... rclxub.gif
1. Depend on how confident you are, I really regret to not put high enought as this company should able to pay more compare other, but i'm not dare to put too high as i really want to join Shell (After getting Shell then join Petronas should be no problem thumbup.gif, Petronas more rich)

2. House and Car allowance RM1000 sure is better compare to Loan. Impossible for us to get the same benefit amount from loan compare to allowance, benefit only if you make a huge loan (RM>500k bungalow, RM>200k car thumbup.gif , then u can save a lot of loan since company subsidy huge interest).

3. Outsource start on mid 2008

4. same salary diff benefit

5. Outstation really best, i travel from Penang and stay in Hotel PutraJaya Shangri-La + temporary transport (Honda Accord) for 3 weeks thumbup.gif , but if you got this Relocation benefit try stay Cyberview Lodge lor. The Shangri-La hotel is not very good (3 stars only), swiminng pool so small doh.gif .

Added on January 29, 2008, 2:54 pm
QUOTE(lousai @ Jan 29 2008, 12:00 PM)
Thx tishaban  for your input, appreciate that.

Actually, my friend got offered 5 figured with same year experiences on contract basis. rclxub.gif
Contract for IT make 5 figures? Don't think IT can make so huge amount
How many yesrs exp?

This post has been edited by popcorn513: Jan 29 2008, 02:54 PM
tishaban
post Jan 29 2008, 03:37 PM

3,615 posts

Shell has been interesting so far. The benefits that Shell employees get that people don't usually talk about are:

- if a public holiday falls on Saturday, it's replaced by that Friday instead. 2007 was a bumper year with I think 4 public holidays falling on a Saturday which means 4 long weekends!

- personal development is very much emphasized. You can arrange with your boss to have half a day each week for online training. People can just do online training and get certified, all on company time and money, without getting bonded. It should be related to your job of course. If you're in the leadership track then you get even more attention.

- health & safety are emphasized significantly, to the point where if I stop at a zebra crossing and a car stops to let me pass, I'm 95% sure that the driver works in Shell biggrin.gif I'm happy to see that Malaysians can be as good as the Europeans safety wise when their work environment is conducive.

- many teams are truly global teams, there is a fair number of foreigners and a fair number of Malaysians going for short/long term assignments overseas as well. If you're good you'll get the chance to go somewhere.

However there are things I don't like as well...

- people are just not very competitive. They're too laid back, the side effect of being in a rich company.

- promotions are still somewhat age related, it seems as if you need to be a certain age before you can be promoted to a certain level. Sometimes this can be only in name eg. you can be just an analyst and still make RM15k per month or more.

Just my own gripes with Shell biggrin.gif

popcorn513
post Jan 29 2008, 05:28 PM

僕は戦闘機君は航空母艦
1,332 posts

QUOTE(tishaban @ Jan 29 2008, 03:37 PM)
Shell has been interesting so far. The benefits that Shell employees get that people don't usually talk about are:

- if a public holiday falls on Saturday, it's replaced by that Friday instead. 2007 was a bumper year with I think 4 public holidays falling on a Saturday which means 4 long weekends!

- personal development is very much emphasized. You can arrange with your boss to have half a day each week for online training. People can just do online training and get certified, all on company time and money, without getting bonded. It should be related to your job of course. If you're in the leadership track then you get even more attention.

- health & safety are emphasized significantly, to the point where if I stop at a zebra crossing and a car stops to let me pass, I'm 95% sure that the driver works in Shell biggrin.gif I'm happy to see that Malaysians can be as good as the Europeans safety wise when their work environment is conducive.

- many teams are truly global teams, there is a fair number of foreigners and a fair number of Malaysians going for short/long term assignments overseas as well. If you're good you'll get the chance to go somewhere.

However there are things I don't like as well...

- people are just not very competitive. They're too laid back, the side effect of being in a rich company.

- promotions are still somewhat age related, it seems as if you need to be a certain age before you can be promoted to a certain level. Sometimes this can be only in name eg. you can be just an analyst and still make RM15k per month or more.

Just my own gripes with Shell biggrin.gif
The major problem i don't like is:
1) Not much single young girl/FRESH girl. When intro all married sweat.gif
Seems i will need to go DELL walk around, there a lot call center lenglui? drool.gif
2) 90% communication is through email, office is very quiet (compare to DELL), rarely heard people shouting/cursing/debating in office phone
all work leisurely seems no stress also
- so no chance for me to learn the art of shouting/cursing/debating

This post has been edited by popcorn513: Jan 29 2008, 05:34 PM
moonstone13
post Jan 30 2008, 02:32 AM

509 posts

QUOTE(Luthaine @ Jan 26 2008, 12:59 PM)
Where will you be based at? KL or outstation?
I will actually be based in Miri, Sarawak. I'll undergo a one year probation and training before a high possibility transfer to a offshore location (also in the East Malaysia vicinity) as I was told several plants are lacking support.

dinozilla
post Jan 30 2008, 10:54 AM

1,680 posts

QUOTE(popcorn513 @ Jan 29 2008, 05:28 PM)
The major problem i don't like is:
1) Not much single young girl/FRESH girl. When intro all married sweat.gif
Seems i will need to go DELL walk around, there a lot call center lenglui? drool.gif
2) 90% communication is through email, office is very quiet (compare to DELL), rarely heard people shouting/cursing/debating in office phone
all work leisurely seems no stress also
- so no chance for me to learn the art of shouting/cursing/debating
u wont know if u still hav those when u move to EDS lo....
popcorn513
post Jan 30 2008, 01:28 PM

僕は戦闘機君は航空母艦
1,332 posts

Just pray the job scope,environment,benefit don degrade too much.
Touch wood
dinozilla
post Jan 30 2008, 02:11 PM

1,680 posts

pray ah....nono....
i want promotion there....wohohooho.....
jz act fun....
popcorn513
post Jan 30 2008, 05:15 PM

僕は戦闘機君は航空母艦
1,332 posts

Sell to EDS become director i don mind rclxms.gif
dinozilla
post Jan 30 2008, 05:37 PM

1,680 posts

if u can....work well then.....
sktwo2
post Jan 30 2008, 06:03 PM

96 posts

hie there.... i have questions here..

does any one of you have any ideas what's the job scope of an industrial hygienist?

Is Shell taking microbiology student?

arigatou...
dinozilla
post Jan 30 2008, 10:15 PM

1,680 posts

hygiene???
unless shell putting more effort to venture in bio-energy....hardly imagine they hire bio graduate for....shed some light pls....
tishaban
post Jan 30 2008, 11:30 PM

3,615 posts

Yes there are positions for industrial hygienists. It's more towards the manufacturing side however. Don't know if they have openings in Malaysia, particularly for a fresh grad.

Luthaine
post Jan 31 2008, 08:38 PM

205 posts

QUOTE(moonstone13 @ Jan 30 2008, 02:32 AM)
I will actually be based in Miri, Sarawak. I'll undergo a one year probation and training before a high possibility transfer to a offshore location (also in the East Malaysia vicinity) as I was told several plants are lacking support.
Hey, I just passed my SRD too. Am so glad about it.
moonstone13
post Jan 31 2008, 09:08 PM

509 posts

QUOTE(Luthaine @ Jan 31 2008, 08:38 PM)
Hey, I just passed my SRD too. Am so glad about it.
Congratulations...what position were you offered? Where will you be posted?

157 Pages « < 37 38 39 40 41 > » Top

0.0302sec    0.93    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 07:45 PM