41 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Food Only Danok, Thailand (Border) & Bukit Kayu Hitam, Alert!! 1/5/2014- A MUST to DECLARE!

samlee860407
post Aug 13 2012, 10:15 AM

4,631 posts

QUOTE(psmalaysia.com @ Aug 13 2012, 09:46 AM)
I never go Danok but is just walking distance from the Immigration where you stamp your passport.

I only go Hatyai but not Danok. But did stop a Danok to have a nice Thai food in a restaurant at the lake. Forget the name but it was very famous. One thing I hate this place is the waiter and waitress, soon after you finish your meal, they request for tips upon you paying the bill. Is very impolite.
i assume its waterview restaurant, which i went before too

since the restaurant size is huge (around the lake ma), they assign a waiter nearby us to help us refill our drinks everytime our cup is empty, which is good

but i did not encounter they ask for tips

QUOTE(skon9 @ Aug 13 2012, 09:56 AM)

There's no train into changlun, the train is on the other side in Padang besar..

hm..i rmb i saw at ktm website got...maybe i see it wrongly
ghoss
post Aug 13 2012, 11:22 AM

975 posts

Danok ~~

Land of booze and party tongue.gif

Added on August 13, 2012, 11:29 am
QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Aug 13 2012, 10:15 AM)
i assume its waterview restaurant, which i went before too

since the restaurant size is huge (around the lake ma), they assign a waiter nearby us to help us refill our drinks everytime our cup is empty, which is good

but i did not encounter they ask for tips
hm..i rmb i saw at ktm website got...maybe i see it wrongly

Waterview drool.gif

This post has been edited by ghoss: Aug 13 2012, 11:29 AM
TSck23
post Aug 13 2012, 04:41 PM

717 posts

I heard there are two casinoes, one at the left, one at the right, immediate turn after walking into Thai's Land.
skon9
post Aug 13 2012, 07:00 PM

384 posts

QUOTE(ck23 @ Aug 13 2012, 04:41 PM)
I heard there are two casinoes, one at the left, one at the right, immediate turn after walking into Thai's Land.
It's an illegal casino, so play at your own right.. 😏
DarkNite
post Aug 14 2012, 07:38 AM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(skon9 @ Aug 13 2012, 07:00 PM)
It's an illegal casino, so play at your own right RISK... 😏

icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by DarkNite: Aug 14 2012, 07:38 AM
samlee860407
post Aug 14 2012, 08:51 AM

4,631 posts

QUOTE(ghoss @ Aug 13 2012, 11:22 AM)
Danok ~~

Land of booze and party tongue.gif

Added on August 13, 2012, 11:29 am

Waterview  drool.gif
yea yea...nice view le....hehe

but i pay RM30 for a van to go there lolx

ghoss
post Aug 14 2012, 11:03 AM

975 posts

QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Aug 14 2012, 08:51 AM)
yea yea...nice view le....hehe

but i pay RM30 for a van to go there lolx
yea ~~ hehe

my friend drove in ~ so no problem tongue.gif

But still prefer hatyai , food more happening
samlee860407
post Aug 14 2012, 11:13 AM

4,631 posts

QUOTE(ghoss @ Aug 14 2012, 11:03 AM)
yea ~~ hehe

my friend drove in ~ so no problem tongue.gif

But still prefer hatyai , food more happening
haha my main reason to go there is to have some really nice thai food with cheap booze

so danok is sufficient enuf for me

hatyai still need extra 1hour....so meh...
ghoss
post Aug 14 2012, 11:29 AM

975 posts

QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Aug 14 2012, 11:13 AM)
haha my main reason to go there is to have some really nice thai food with cheap booze

from penang to there around 2-3 hours but not so much , so always go hatyai better tongue.gif
TSck23
post Aug 14 2012, 01:03 PM

717 posts

QUOTE(ghoss @ Aug 14 2012, 11:29 AM)
from penang to there around 2-3 hours but not so much , so always go hatyai better tongue.gif
yea. you are from Penang. heading to just Danok is like no meaning. Cuz Jitra, Changlun, Alor Star ppl always go Danok.
Since you coming from far away, a little bit distance further makes no difference. Better go Hatyai.

But for those who are coming back from Hatyai, can always stop by at Danok for dinner or supper before heading back.
There's a Pig Leg Rice very nice. Near McD there only.

Added on August 14, 2012, 1:05 pm
QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Aug 14 2012, 11:13 AM)

Samlee, i saw your blog. You like to go PED RESTAURANT too?
I just had dinner there 2 days ago.

The curry crab damn nice!! But quite pricey.

2 ekor, RM95-120

This post has been edited by ck23: Aug 14 2012, 01:05 PM
samlee860407
post Aug 14 2012, 04:15 PM

4,631 posts

Yea PES restaurant my favorite in danok Ordering crab there is really expansive although the size quite big la.

Care to tell which pig leg rice??

Also got 1 lame question, any good hotels in danok got connecting rooms? Or bigger rooms with 1 queen bed 1 single bed? @@

Added on August 14, 2012, 4:16 pmThinking to go this Friday after work, wonder will highway north up will be shitty jam or not lolx

This post has been edited by samlee860407: Aug 14 2012, 04:16 PM
mirage2000
post Aug 14 2012, 04:18 PM

28 posts

now no more go liao, malaysian like to spoil market there, not cheap anymore..rather go some place for cheap premium beer brows.gif
samlee860407
post Aug 14 2012, 04:27 PM

4,631 posts

QUOTE(mirage2000 @ Aug 14 2012, 04:18 PM)
now no more go liao, malaysian like to spoil market there, not cheap anymore..rather go some place for cheap premium beer  brows.gif
Where?

I want place with good food and cheap booze only

Nothing there also tak pa, as long as food is good, average price and cheap booze
mirage2000
post Aug 14 2012, 04:47 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Aug 14 2012, 04:27 PM)
Where?

I want place with good food and cheap booze only

Nothing there also tak pa, as long as food is good, average price and cheap booze
not telling brows.gif the place not many malaysian go one

relax place, good food, very cheap booze and ciggies and gooding... brows.gif
samlee860407
post Aug 14 2012, 05:08 PM

4,631 posts

QUOTE(mirage2000 @ Aug 14 2012, 04:47 PM)
not telling  brows.gif the place not many malaysian go one

relax place, good food, very cheap booze and ciggies and gooding... brows.gif
then u rather don't post ya
mirage2000
post Aug 14 2012, 05:18 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Aug 14 2012, 05:08 PM)
then u rather don't post ya
sked become like danok,betong or changping
TSck23
post Aug 15 2012, 09:09 AM

717 posts

QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Aug 14 2012, 04:15 PM)
Yea PES restaurant my favorite in danok  Ordering crab there is really expansive although the size quite big la.

Care to tell which pig leg rice??

Also got 1 lame question, any good hotels in danok got connecting rooms? Or bigger rooms with 1 queen bed 1 single bed? @@

Added on August 14, 2012, 4:16 pmThinking to go this Friday after work, wonder will highway north up will be shitty jam or not lolx
Reach in after 7.30pm. Buka puasa. So should be not jam at all.
Back around 9pm, should be good. Still at the midst of buka puasa. So no traffic~

Add in:-

Pig Leg Rice. I don't remember the shop name.

Let me describe.

From CheckPoint. Driving in, look at your left. Pass by McDonalds a bit. The shop got rent to an Iced Store. (selling ice like truitty fruitty kinda store, but i nvr tried the ice)
It's a bit narrow to walk in since the food stall and ice store is twin sharing. But inside got a lot of room for seats.

They got sell chicken rice too. Their CHAR SIEW damn nice. Pork Leg Rice also. Me and my friend sometime purposely go there for Pork Leg Rice.

The shop tauke is thailander chinese. They can speak Mandarin. So dont worry about language.

First impression would be: wah.. hawker stall must be dirty, not good. But never try, never know.

This post has been edited by ck23: Aug 15 2012, 10:54 AM
yeezai
post Aug 15 2012, 09:36 AM

-using no way as way-having no limitation as limitation-
2,531 posts

nothing to do in dannok except u know i know ....
samlee860407
post Aug 15 2012, 10:28 AM

4,631 posts

QUOTE(ck23 @ Aug 15 2012, 09:09 AM)
Reach in after 7.30pm. Buka puasa. So should be not jam at all.
Back around 9pm, should be good. Still at the midst of buka puasa. So no traffic~
i worry at highway nia lolx

QUOTE(yeezai @ Aug 15 2012, 09:36 AM)
nothing to do in dannok except u know i know ....
just the cheaper booze at duty free complex, and great food is enough for me

don't need those
fuzagi
post Aug 15 2012, 04:25 PM

Cushcushiers
1,052 posts

i miss the icecream at the sunday night market. its at the lane beside McD. first stall. other than PED restaurant, try also Chinatown restaurant, which i think is better. its somewhere further up the lane behind Satit Grand View hotel.

anyway, prices in Dan nok is somewhat similar to KL due to market spoiler and exploitation. and the culture u experience there is not truly that of the Land of Smiles. prefer Hat Yai for more authenthic Thai food and experience.

tipping is expected and common in Thailand, esp. in places like waterview and the moo ka taa. generally, a tip of 50-100baht is appreciated.

Further down the main road, passing KPK by some, theres a basic shooting range where u can rent a Glock 21 and the classic M16 for 1200baht inclusive of bullets. u might wanna bring your own earplug if u need as the headphones provided are in a state of despair. guns needs servicing though, as they frequently get jammed.

as a general guide for newbies by newbie,
-the lanes on the left are usually 'safer' than those on the right.
-for guys, do not accept the service of the pimps riding bikes. u either turn a deaf ear or give a friendly and firm NO.
-more authentic massage are available at Oscar Hotel and SatitGrandView Hotel
-other than SGV hotel, many other hotels were reported to have experienced paranormal activities, including the Siam Thana hotel.
-always be courteous to anyone around esp the locals as they are mostly vastly connected. Dan Nok is almost like a cowboy town, though it seems peaceful. ppl do go missing and guns are easily available.

This post has been edited by fuzagi: Aug 15 2012, 04:46 PM

41 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0270sec    0.35    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 01:47 AM