Food Only Danok, Thailand (Border) & Bukit Kayu Hitam, Alert!! 1/5/2014- A MUST to DECLARE!

fuzagi
post Aug 15 2012, 04:25 PM

Cushcushiers
1,052 posts

i miss the icecream at the sunday night market. its at the lane beside McD. first stall. other than PED restaurant, try also Chinatown restaurant, which i think is better. its somewhere further up the lane behind Satit Grand View hotel.

anyway, prices in Dan nok is somewhat similar to KL due to market spoiler and exploitation. and the culture u experience there is not truly that of the Land of Smiles. prefer Hat Yai for more authenthic Thai food and experience.

tipping is expected and common in Thailand, esp. in places like waterview and the moo ka taa. generally, a tip of 50-100baht is appreciated.

Further down the main road, passing KPK by some, theres a basic shooting range where u can rent a Glock 21 and the classic M16 for 1200baht inclusive of bullets. u might wanna bring your own earplug if u need as the headphones provided are in a state of despair. guns needs servicing though, as they frequently get jammed.

as a general guide for newbies by newbie,
-the lanes on the left are usually 'safer' than those on the right.
-for guys, do not accept the service of the pimps riding bikes. u either turn a deaf ear or give a friendly and firm NO.
-more authentic massage are available at Oscar Hotel and SatitGrandView Hotel
-other than SGV hotel, many other hotels were reported to have experienced paranormal activities, including the Siam Thana hotel.
-always be courteous to anyone around esp the locals as they are mostly vastly connected. Dan Nok is almost like a cowboy town, though it seems peaceful. ppl do go missing and guns are easily available.

This post has been edited by fuzagi: Aug 15 2012, 04:46 PM
fuzagi
post Aug 15 2012, 04:56 PM

Cushcushiers
1,052 posts

KPK is a hotel and club somewhat further down from the rest of Dannok. the shooting range is called THANAPAT SHOOTING SPORT CLUB. its not very visible from the main road though, look out for a signage with cocacola. your best option is to ask the motosaai guys to get u get.

Added on August 15, 2012, 5:19 pmmy fav supper is the steamed crabs on the street. those stalls along the mainroad are quite good. prices are according to sizes. starting from RM13 for a small one to RM30++ to a larger one. what makes the difference is their dipping chilli sauce. i personally like the one on the left side of the main road, ran by 2 ladies, with a drinks stall with lots of fresh coconut. their stall is one of the longer ones and has more seats, even up to the shoplot walkway. other than crabs, they have other seafood like squid, fishes and clams. very reasonably priced and the best thing is their chilli sauce. try out the many stalls for yourself and share the best u like here.

Added on August 15, 2012, 5:31 pmfor breakkie or brunch, the pork leg rice, on the right side of main road which also serves kuay teow soup. crowded and fast turnover of customers so eat quick or get unpleasant stares from one of the worker aunty there. also, a small stall nearby sells a kind of kuih (still dont know the name) which i guess is steamed coconut milk, flour and egg, and served with sugar, which tastes quite good to me.

other than that, the big and tasty fried chicken, som taam, and McD's samurai pork burger is what i eat in between meals

Added on August 15, 2012, 5:46 pma note, the Waterview Restaurant vans are available for 240baht, which will be added to your bill later. it includes pick up from your hotel, and a ride back to your hotel. just ask for it at the frontdesk. but, u might have to wait for 10mins++ at the hotel. if your lucky, less than 5mins.

This post has been edited by fuzagi: Aug 15 2012, 05:46 PM
fuzagi
post Aug 16 2012, 02:25 AM

Cushcushiers
1,052 posts

siam thana is a good place to stay being the most modern decorate if u dont mind the little distance from the happenings. for a lazy bum like me, its either motosai or staying at oscar.
fuzagi
post Aug 17 2012, 11:58 PM

Cushcushiers
1,052 posts

ofcourse this weekends gonna be crowded like xmas is in town.3groups of my friends are going up to join the crowd. infact, most of the weekends, its difficult to book rooms. so book early if you are not going in on sun-thurs. good thing is that the hotel rates do not go 'peak seasoning'
fuzagi
post Aug 19 2012, 02:09 AM

Cushcushiers
1,052 posts

oh ok. didnt know that. cuz the last time i went on a long weekend, rates are as per normal.

entertainment, what kind wo? liquor is quite cheap, but mixers and ice cubes are exhorbitantly priced.
fuzagi
post Sep 14 2012, 12:27 AM

Cushcushiers
1,052 posts

dan nok = near entry point
fuzagi
post Dec 17 2012, 01:02 AM

Cushcushiers
1,052 posts

wonder would it be packed if we go on JAN 24-28. anyone going in during that period? and to hatyai as well
fuzagi
post Mar 29 2013, 07:39 PM

Cushcushiers
1,052 posts

should be Aphrodite hotel
fuzagi
post Apr 2 2013, 11:42 PM

Cushcushiers
1,052 posts

near hailam kopitiam, >RM130 with a jacuzzi
fuzagi
post Apr 3 2013, 10:44 PM

Cushcushiers
1,052 posts

yep. few mths old hotel hotel.
ps. jacuzzi fits 2pax. or 3 if u choose wisely =D

await your story of the week ya?

This post has been edited by fuzagi: Apr 3 2013, 10:46 PM
fuzagi
post Apr 9 2013, 12:08 AM

Cushcushiers
1,052 posts

QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Apr 7 2013, 01:50 PM)
i just back from there.

i get the deluxe room, RM138 with Jacuzzi

well, of coz, in terms of decoration, it's the best in danok. comparing with PP hotel, paramount, grand satit.

the bed is among the best too.

however, my room is on the ground floor, got some bad smell when enter the room, but still bearable. however, the toilet also got some bad smell (like shit smell)sometimes, which is not good. Also, my there seems to be some water leaking, but i don't know from where, hence the toilet floor is always flooded with water (which I hate).

also, the toilet doesn't have a separate shower room besides the jacuzzi, and since it's an open jacuzzi, without curtain to cover, when u bath, whole toilet will be wet too

i also saw "xiu keong" in my room, luckily it disappear in 5 seconds

i might go and stay again next time, but this time will definitely take standard room only, coz i hate wet toilet. however, if i still face bad smell from both the room and toilet , i will never back again.
thanks for the share. appreciate it. mind sharing what do u usually do in danok? ive been there for a few times and im out of things to do over there. most of the time ended up in hatyai
fuzagi
post Apr 10 2013, 11:14 PM

Cushcushiers
1,052 posts

which is your fav restaurant there? mind sharing the place? how do u find the steamed crabs + seafood at the roadside stalls?
fuzagi
post Apr 10 2013, 11:15 PM

Cushcushiers
1,052 posts

QUOTE(idvdi @ Apr 10 2013, 10:23 PM)
any idea how do i book a hotel at danok from malaysia?
u can call their msia line numbers. which hotel are u looking for?
fuzagi
post Nov 17 2015, 12:17 AM

Cushcushiers
1,052 posts

QUOTE(skeith @ Oct 14 2015, 10:09 PM)
I'm planning to take the new ktm train from BM to bukit kayu hitam custome.

How to go to hat yai from there? Tut tut? Or another train?

Just 2 of us.
after the customs, on the thailand side, there is a shared-van service to hatyai city. at one of the 7-11 on the left side if u r walking from msia to thailand direction

0.0468sec    1.03    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 01:28 AM