6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Food Only Danok, Thailand (Border) & Bukit Kayu Hitam, Alert!! 1/5/2014- A MUST to DECLARE!

TSck23
post Aug 12 2012, 11:08 AM, updated 8y ago

717 posts

Well, i found out that in LYN, most people are talking about Hatyai, there is no DANNOK thread so far.

I am creating one just to share to you guys.

Dannok is close to Malaysia Border. Just within walking distance. It's a good place for a half day or a day trip. Day trip at Thailand? Only Perlis/Kedah/Penang people can do this.

I need all of you to share your experience and recommendation here.

For those who are unable to drive in, can park their car at Duty Free Zone. Then walk into Thailand.

For those who are genuine car owner, can refer below: May Refer Hatyai Thread

FAQ:
Bukit Kayu Hitam Immigration Office for Passport & Border (Application and Renewal)
Call 04-9221621

Driving -in Info:

Latest Info updated 01/05/2014

CAUTIOUS! ALL CARS MUST DECLARE AND DO A VEHICLE IMPORT PERMIT BEFORE HEADING IN TO THAILAND.
IT IS A MUST NOW!! IF YOU ARE DRIVING INTO DANOK, SADAO, HATYAI, PLEASE DECLARE ELSE YOU WOULD BE FINE IF FOUND OUT. MAX. FINE RM30K. (A SINGAPOREAN WITH SINGAPORE CARS ALREADY KENA)

Update 13/11/2015

Must fill:

(Outdated Info):
For those intended to drive-in, please prepare the followings:
1. Photocopy of Car title (Geran) under your own name.
2. No need insurance cuz it's just a few hour.
3. Driver drops off passenger for them to stamp.
4. Driver can stamp at Driver booth (get your white card filled if you are using passport) or just drive in if you have a borderpass. (Give border to your friend to stamp for you)
5. The Thai custom wont check and wont even look and scrutinize on your Car Title, but make sure you are genuine owner.
6. Drive in and drive to your destination.

Food:-

1. Ped Restaurant
Blog 1

2. Waterview Restaurant

3. Pork Leg Rice

4. 7-Eleven: Burger, Ham, footlong cheese sausage
Blog 1

5. Street Food : Coconut Jelly, Nuts, fried chicken, steamed crab.
6. McDonalds : Samurai Pork Burger

7. KFC : Spicy Rice Combo meal

Shopping
1. Tesco Lotus: Lays Chips, cheap grocery, 50% off bakery after 6pm
2. Right hand side of street stores after passing customs to shop for cloth and stuff

Massage

Need you guys to update. Please share TQ~

QUOTE(fuzagi @ Aug 15 2012, 04:56 PM)
KPK is a hotel and club somewhat further down from the rest of Dannok. the shooting range is called THANAPAT SHOOTING SPORT CLUB. its not very visible from the main road though, look out for a signage with cocacola. your best option is to ask the motosaai guys to get u get.

Added on August 15, 2012, 5:19 pmmy fav supper is the steamed crabs on the street. those stalls along the mainroad are quite good. prices are according to sizes. starting from RM13 for a small one to RM30++ to a larger one. what makes the difference is their dipping chilli sauce. i personally like the one on the left side of the main road, ran by 2 ladies, with a drinks stall with lots of fresh coconut. their stall is one of the longer ones and has more seats, even up to the shoplot walkway. other than crabs, they have other seafood like squid, fishes and clams. very reasonably priced and the best thing is their chilli sauce. try out the many stalls for yourself and share the best u like here.

Added on August 15, 2012, 5:31 pmfor breakkie or brunch, the pork leg rice, on the right side of main road which also serves kuay teow soup. crowded and fast turnover of customers so eat quick or get unpleasant stares from one of the worker aunty there. also, a small stall nearby sells a kind of kuih (still dont know the name) which i guess is steamed coconut milk, flour and egg, and served with sugar, which tastes quite good to me.

other than that, the big and tasty fried chicken, som taam, and McD's samurai pork burger is what i eat in between meals

Added on August 15, 2012, 5:46 pma note, the Waterview Restaurant vans are available for 240baht, which will be added to your bill later. it includes pick up from your hotel, and a ride back to your hotel. just ask for it at the frontdesk. but, u might have to wait for 10mins++ at the hotel. if your lucky, less than 5mins.
QUOTE(skon9 @ Aug 15 2012, 07:03 PM)
Currently the best hotel ate definitely Siam Thana for me, it's new, clean, cheap and it's big.. Ask for the normal room without balcony will save you 200bth..

Also it's better for you guys to do advanced booking, because the hotel room are limited, for the past few weeks, trying to get the room by walk-in but all fully book, even on normal day..

Agree with fuzagi, those stall selling kuih are great and most important it's cheap, where can you get a bak Chang for only 15bth with full ingredient?
My favorite stall is the one after the orange Minimarket, in front of the handphone accessories shop, but be there early..
QUOTE(Nub! @ Aug 26 2013, 08:19 PM)
Guys, I need urgent help here. I'm driving to hat yat from kl early morning tomorrow. So swift reply is much appreciated. I have did some research as you have to buy insurance there to obtain something call carnet which I have no idea what is that. Also Im driving my mom's car with an original geran but under her name. So I reckon this is a problem as well as I read the car you use must be your own name? Anyone face similar situation like me? Please share your experience.
An authorization letter is needed. ( in English )

Here is a sample written by my friend and asked me print.

Wong XX
Address
Taman
81400 Senai, Johor.

(Pejabat Immigresen Bukit Kayu Hitam,
Kompleks Imigresen,
06050 Bukit Kayu Hitam,
Kedah Darul Aman.​​​​​​​​     ) optional

Date

To whom it may concern,

AUTHORIZATION LETTER FOR CAR TO BE ENTERED TO THAILAND
MALAYSIA REGISTRATION NUMBER WXX1111 

I’m Wong XX (Malaysian IC Number : 6xxx22-08-5xxx)and writing a letter that giving authorization of my car with Malaysian car registration number WXX1111 to my son, Wong YY (Malaysian IC Number: 89xxx3-01-5xx3) to drive enter to Thailand.

2.​Detail specification of my car is Brand: Perodua, model: Myvi, Make: 2012 , Malaysian car registration number: WXX1111 and with color Classic.

Yours faithfully,

Insurance can be bought at Changlun. Look at your left side when you near Changlun town. In front Changlun Speed mart has got a few. Near money changer 55 has got one. CTC n naluri aman also got. (Better/ample parking place)

Entering Thai, you need to get a temporary car import permit. The form must be returned upon exit.

This post has been edited by ck23: Nov 13 2015, 10:12 PM
TSck23
post Aug 12 2012, 01:29 PM

717 posts

i think 7-eleven is over 10 stores.
TSck23
post Aug 12 2012, 01:34 PM

717 posts

QUOTE(Xploit Machine @ Aug 12 2012, 01:30 PM)
inclusive "Thai" dupe 7E's?
whats that?
TSck23
post Aug 13 2012, 04:41 PM

717 posts

I heard there are two casinoes, one at the left, one at the right, immediate turn after walking into Thai's Land.
TSck23
post Aug 14 2012, 01:03 PM

717 posts

QUOTE(ghoss @ Aug 14 2012, 11:29 AM)
from penang to there around 2-3 hours but not so much , so always go hatyai better tongue.gif
yea. you are from Penang. heading to just Danok is like no meaning. Cuz Jitra, Changlun, Alor Star ppl always go Danok.
Since you coming from far away, a little bit distance further makes no difference. Better go Hatyai.

But for those who are coming back from Hatyai, can always stop by at Danok for dinner or supper before heading back.
There's a Pig Leg Rice very nice. Near McD there only.

Added on August 14, 2012, 1:05 pm
QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Aug 14 2012, 11:13 AM)
haha my main reason to go there is to have some really nice thai food with cheap booze

so danok is sufficient enuf for me

hatyai still need extra 1hour....so meh...
Samlee, i saw your blog. You like to go PED RESTAURANT too?
I just had dinner there 2 days ago.

The curry crab damn nice!! But quite pricey.

2 ekor, RM95-120

This post has been edited by ck23: Aug 14 2012, 01:05 PM
TSck23
post Aug 15 2012, 09:09 AM

717 posts

QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Aug 14 2012, 04:15 PM)
Yea PES restaurant my favorite in danok  Ordering crab there is really expansive although the size quite big la.

Care to tell which pig leg rice??

Also got 1 lame question, any good hotels in danok got connecting rooms? Or bigger rooms with 1 queen bed 1 single bed? @@

Added on August 14, 2012, 4:16 pmThinking to go this Friday after work, wonder will highway north up will be shitty jam or not lolx
Reach in after 7.30pm. Buka puasa. So should be not jam at all.
Back around 9pm, should be good. Still at the midst of buka puasa. So no traffic~

Add in:-

Pig Leg Rice. I don't remember the shop name.

Let me describe.

From CheckPoint. Driving in, look at your left. Pass by McDonalds a bit. The shop got rent to an Iced Store. (selling ice like truitty fruitty kinda store, but i nvr tried the ice)
It's a bit narrow to walk in since the food stall and ice store is twin sharing. But inside got a lot of room for seats.

They got sell chicken rice too. Their CHAR SIEW damn nice. Pork Leg Rice also. Me and my friend sometime purposely go there for Pork Leg Rice.

The shop tauke is thailander chinese. They can speak Mandarin. So dont worry about language.

First impression would be: wah.. hawker stall must be dirty, not good. But never try, never know.

This post has been edited by ck23: Aug 15 2012, 10:54 AM
TSck23
post Aug 15 2012, 04:40 PM

717 posts

QUOTE(fuzagi @ Aug 15 2012, 04:25 PM)
i miss the icecream at the sunday night market. its at the lane beside McD. first stall. other than PED restaurant, try also Chinatown restaurant, which i think is better. its somewhere further up the lane behind Satit Grand View hotel.

anyway, prices in Dan nok is somewhat similar to KL due to market spoiler and exploitation. and the culture u experience there is not truly that of the Land of Smiles. prefer Hat Yai for more authenthic Thai food and experience.

tipping is expected and common in Thailand, esp. in places like waterview and the moo ka taa. generally, a tip of 50-100baht is appreciated.

Further down the main road, passing KPK by some, theres a basic shooting range where u can rent a Glock 21 and the classic M16 for 1200baht inclusive of bullets. u might wanna bring your own earplug if u need as the headphones  provided are in a state of despair. guns needs servicing though, as they frequently get jammed.
THANKS FOR SHARING BRO!~
Mind to show us more precise about the shooting place? KPK is what, though?
TSck23
post Aug 24 2012, 09:37 AM

717 posts

QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Aug 15 2012, 09:01 PM)
yes yes...those road side seafood stall at night is oushum!!! the crab and the squid!! yummy....!! also the nasi biryani very nice tooooo!!!
siam thana hotel? got their phone number or not? also, how far isit from the thai border in terms of walking?

nvm, got their contact after google. looks like i staying there this week hehe
how's the hotel? How much during peak?
TSck23
post Aug 24 2012, 01:20 PM

717 posts

QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Aug 24 2012, 10:52 AM)
nope
http://www.siamthanahotel.com/en/accommadation/

standard or deluxe?

Walk in or pre book?
TSck23
post Aug 24 2012, 04:39 PM

717 posts

QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Aug 24 2012, 01:33 PM)
nono. i did not stay there coz full liao

instead i stay at paramount palace

i actually did walk up to siamthana, but there really too far away from the main area that sell food d. unless got transport then good la
you are not driving in?

the steam crab near road side is where? maybe i can try next time.

the road side stall that sells fried chicken not tasty one. Sometime not fully cooked, the bone looks bloody and disgusting.

TSck23
post Aug 24 2012, 05:17 PM

717 posts

QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Aug 24 2012, 04:59 PM)
nope , no drive in, if drive in can stay far nvm, h aha

there are many stalls (after 6pm) selling crab by the road side, right and left (opposite) of McDonald also have. 1kg RM45 when i go , around 3 crabs lo, nice. Got BBQ squid or prawns too.

the fried chicken, yea, sometimes not fully cooked, and the oil they used might turn most ppl off. I prefer the BBQ chicken instead, but not many selling it. the one i tried is a mobile stall, ngam ngam i walk down saw it pass by the hotel i stay, much better than those fried one.

Added on August 24, 2012, 5:04 pmoh ya, i did try the pork leg rice for my breakfast, damned, its soooo sedap.

Also try the roasted pork rice, when served, looks not nice, but in real, is damned gooding!!

PS: another thing i noticed when i exit thailand. When pass my border pass to the officer, he don't even bother to open it (mine was folded), and terus chop on top =.='

PPS: the crab i mentioned, is just normal BBQ nia, but since the crab is fresh and the size is quite big also, it's very tasty hehe
ok. i'll try next time.
since you mention after 6pm, it reminds me the stalls.

Yes, border pass they wont even glance. 1 ppl can take whole bunch of border and ask them to chop without the present of the person.

TSck23
post Sep 2 2012, 04:02 PM

717 posts

QUOTE(kakakhase @ Sep 2 2012, 03:41 PM)
Quite some interesting places in Danok. I have heard this is a cowboy wild wild west town, is this true? What do you think?

Use ringgit can right?

Also, I saw this shortform, LYN, what does LYN mean? Is it another website? Thank you.
cowboy wild2 west town? huh?
Yes. Ringgit is acceptable.

LYN = LowYat.Net
TSck23
post Sep 3 2012, 10:13 AM

717 posts

QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Sep 3 2012, 09:11 AM)
if you driving yourself in, which means not taking bus or van.

then actually you can bring back a lot

reason is:

1) they don't have use scanner to scan your luggage, which means chances are high that your luggage won't be checked 100% by the officer
2) you can hide the liquor bottle inside the car, and they won't check it unless you are very the unlucky. you can even hide any illegal stuff there =.='
3) The immigration there is just the 1st hurdle. There might be few more stops by the army after the border, which they will also check your luggage and tax u if they wish. they usually target better cars, and cars that being modified heavily from the look, or also those that looks nervous.
eh...need 3 nights a? always thought 2 nia haha
agreed!~
A friend of mine just bought 1 carton Heineken, 5 bottles of Chivas. Only few hours of stay at Thailand.
TSck23
post Sep 3 2012, 12:40 PM

717 posts

QUOTE(skon9 @ Sep 3 2012, 10:39 AM)
Yup, by law it's minimum 72hour, only 48hours for langkawi.. As for Backdoor, there's no limit :-p
somebody told me that all bars, clubs in Malaysia are selling DUTY NOT PAID beers. Especially those beer towers, keg, and barrel.
they open duty not paid beers and pour them into the tower.
its to maximise their profit.
TSck23
post Sep 5 2012, 10:50 AM

717 posts

QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Sep 4 2012, 06:23 PM)
sigh....beers are so cheap if without duty sad.gif

just like price of coke...haizzzz
this is malaysia, they know 65% of Muslim is not allowed to drink, so tax those who are non-Muslim.
TSck23
post Sep 8 2012, 01:52 PM

717 posts

Sadao = Danok is the same la. All under Thailand.

TSck23
post Sep 8 2012, 07:05 PM

717 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Sep 8 2012, 02:34 PM)
The best part of Danok- Not even listed as one of the town in Sadao district  biggrin.gif

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sadao_District

Probably due to the fact that Danok was just a border stop over less than 20 yrs ago just like Bkt Kayu Hitam...Now so thrilling  biggrin.gif
ive added in. haha

Added on September 8, 2012, 7:08 pmactually danok is a town name. Sadao is district.

This post has been edited by ck23: Sep 8 2012, 07:08 PM
TSck23
post Oct 31 2012, 01:58 PM

717 posts

QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Oct 31 2012, 12:42 PM)
2 days 1 nite include wut???

hotel - RM80
food  - RM20 (every meal is only noodle, chicken rice, pork rice)
immigration form and to pay thai customs - RM3 (Rm1 for the immigration form, unless u can get it for free. RM1 when let thai custom chop ur passport when u enter, and RM1 when exit)

Total: RM103

you can of course manual select ur phone carrier to digi,maxis,celcom. mine is maxis, but when i am there, usually i will face network loss problem. U can also buy their sim card la, TRUE only 90 bath for the sim card and can used EDGE to online

PS: of course you can also spend RM1k++ there for 2 days 1 nite
white card is FOC la, just walk into the office at your left, get one and fill it at the side table.
TSck23
post Nov 1 2012, 09:17 AM

717 posts

QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Oct 31 2012, 02:07 PM)
i been there almost 10 times, at least 5 times i go using my passport which means i need to fill up the white card. and for the every 5 times i went, they are out of stock . maybe you are lucky, or i am unlucky, i don't know

PS: white card is supposed to be free. just that all those suckers there want to earn bucks
impossible out of stock, show them your passport to get white card. it happened once to my bro, he was gonna get extra white card for me, then the person says one person can only get one, need to show passport.
TSck23
post Nov 4 2012, 10:10 AM

717 posts

QUOTE(skon9 @ Nov 3 2012, 10:14 AM)
I normally get it from the zone and the Thai checkpoint, just grab a bundle from them. I have enough stock-pile in my house for my entire life :-p
WOW... The zone is it at Duty Free? Got meh?

6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0407sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 12:27 AM