Public Mutual v4, Public/PB series funds

Kaka23
post Mar 3 2013, 01:33 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Mar 3 2013, 01:27 PM)
On Fri, 1/3/2013 KLSE rebounded to 1,637 pts.

I took the chance to rebalance my portfolio to 80:20 in favour of fixed income compared to 50:50 previously.

Favouring cash position in view of the extreme uncertainty with the coming GE-13.

Preparing my war chest ready for barrel fishing later on.

Xuzen
You rebalance your PM UTs? Cash out or park into bond and money market?
cheahcw2003
post Mar 3 2013, 06:31 PM

5,379 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Mar 3 2013, 12:27 PM)

I took the chance to rebalance my portfolio to 80:20 in favour of fixed income compared to 50:50 previously.

Favouring cash position in view of the extreme uncertainty with the coming GE-13.

Xuzen
why not you switch from local equity to foreign based equity? instead of changing it to fixed income?
SUSPink Spider
post Mar 3 2013, 06:49 PM

Formerly known as Prince_Hamsap
16,872 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Mar 3 2013, 12:27 PM)

Xuzen
QUOTE(cheahcw2003 @ Mar 3 2013, 06:31 PM)
why not you switch from local equity to foreign based equity? instead of changing it to fixed income?
^ Second that nod.gif

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Mar 3 2013, 06:49 PM
xuzen
post Mar 3 2013, 07:39 PM

4,436 posts

Gentlemen,

The reasons are:

I) The moonies are KWSP, hence I am limited by the type of funds I can choose. Pure foreign ones are not part of the menu.

II) Future KWSP withdrawal shall be via Fundsupermart, where all the actions are nowadays. More choices at lower fees. Here's looking at you pinky.

I have never use cash money to buy UT because the Sales Charge are just to expensive to begin with.

For cash, my moonies goes into my paying my commercial properties and PRS where I can take advantage of the zero sales charge and tax relief.

There, my investment profile at a glance.

Xuzen

xuzen
post Mar 3 2013, 07:42 PM

4,436 posts

With regards to point II), what an irony such comment is coming from a Public Mutual UTC. ;p
SUSWintersuN
post Mar 4 2013, 10:05 AM

3,173 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Mar 3 2013, 07:39 PM)
Gentlemen,

The reasons are:

I) The moonies are KWSP, hence I am limited by the type of funds I can choose. Pure foreign ones are not part of the menu.

II) Future KWSP withdrawal shall be via Fundsupermart, where all the actions are nowadays. More choices at lower fees. Here's looking at you pinky.

I have never use cash money to buy UT because the Sales Charge are just to expensive to begin with.

For cash, my moonies goes into my paying my commercial properties and PRS where I can take advantage of the zero sales charge and tax relief.

There, my investment profile at a glance.

Xuzen
If invest wif KWSP we cannot get the money b4 age 55. Unless u plan to invest till age 55 above then can la. If you plan use th emonye for other purpose only option is wif cash investment
Kaka23
post Mar 4 2013, 10:14 AM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(WintersuN @ Mar 4 2013, 11:05 AM)
If invest wif KWSP we cannot get the money b4 age 55. Unless u plan to invest till age 55 above then can la. If you plan use th emonye for other purpose only option is wif cash investment
Normally ppl invest using EPF is because the higher possibility UT can give better return vs EPF in long run. Or do not like how the gov is using/spending/managing our EPF $$.

I have yet to start using EPF, will do so one fine day!

hafiez
post Mar 4 2013, 10:21 AM

2,980 posts

Market rebound, but i didnt get the same value.

Different counter.
xuzen
post Mar 4 2013, 11:06 AM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(WintersuN @ Mar 4 2013, 10:05 AM)
FYI, I plan to contribute towards KWSP untl age 70 or death, which ever comes first. Incidently 70 y/o is the max allowable by law.

This pot of money shall be for my old age use. I do not intend to retire at 55, I am looking at 65 or 70 if health permits.

I have multiple streams of income, and I do not have to rely on my main income (my work) to survive my daily needs. That is why I have good opportunity to save. Hence cash-flow is not an issue with me for the time being.

In case you want to know, my multiple streams come from renting of my shops, my current full time job as a manager, investment income from dividend yielding stocks and some nominal cash-flow from my financial advisory work.

Also, even though I kena tax at the highest tax bracket, I do not own a fancy car, I still drive a MyVi to work and the other vehicle I own is an old Toyota Liteace van.

So, there.... always spend less than what you earn. I advise my clients so, and I walk my talk as well.

Xuzen

==================================================================

So, what do I do with all these extra cash-flow that I have.

Saving? Done.

Insurance? Done.

Education plan for kid? Done.

My wife and I have decided to use our extra cash for donation such as Hospitals, orphanages, house of worship and schools.

I am not here to brag, please don't think of it this way. I only wish to inspire and to tell folks here that financial planning works. Just be patient with it.

This post has been edited by xuzen: Mar 4 2013, 12:00 PM
Kaka23
post Mar 4 2013, 11:10 AM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Mar 4 2013, 12:06 PM)
FYI, I plan to contribute towards KWSP untl age 70 or death, which ever comes first. Incidently 70 y/o is the max allowable by law.

This pot of money shall be for my old age use. I do not intend to retire at 55, I am looking at 65 or 70 if health permits.

I have multiple streams of income, and I do not have to rely on my main income (my work) to survive my daily needs. That is why I have good opportunity to save. Hence cash-flow is not an issue with me for the time being.

In case you want to know, my multiple streams come from renting of my shops, my current full time job as a manager, investment income from dividend yielding stocks and some nominal cash-flow from my financial advisory work.

Also, even though I kena tax at the highest tax bracket, I do not own a fancy car, I still drive a MyVi to work and the other vehicle I own is an old Toyota Liteace van.

So, there.... always spend less than what you earn. I advise my clients so, and I walk my talk as well.

Xuzen
+1
koinibler
post Mar 4 2013, 03:08 PM

2,050 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Mar 4 2013, 11:06 AM)

Xuzen
notworthy.gif respect bro..

This is also what I'm trying to achieve. Spend less on the unnecessary one. Spend less on expensive food. Try to to convey the same message to the other half sweat.gif .
wongmunkeong
post Mar 4 2013, 03:15 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(koinibler @ Mar 4 2013, 03:08 PM)
notworthy.gif respect bro..

This is also what I'm trying to achieve. Spend less on the unnecessary one. Spend less on expensive food. Try to to convey the same message to the other half sweat.gif .
Koinibler - ask your partner to dream with U:
In 5 to 10 years U'd have:
a. enough assets to cover nearly any "emergencies" like buying 2nd hand car with cash,
replace airconds /water filters / roof / airconds / etc. with nary a worry,
able to help relatives, family & friends any time with tens or hundreds of Ks without pains,
able to zzz easily, not through tiredness but because U know U have many options.

A dream / vision shared, becomes a goal shared.

Just a thought notworthy.gif
SUSWintersuN
post Mar 4 2013, 06:49 PM

3,173 posts

Xuzen

Saving? Done.

Insurance? Done.

My wife and I have decided to use our extra cash for donation such as Hospitals, orphanages, house of worship and schools.

I am not here to brag, please don't think of it this way. I only wish to inspire and to tell folks here that financial planning works. Just be patient with it.
Wow wat age u now? Already done children edu and stuff muz b around 40+ right. To think u invest so difficult for charity is really unimaginable notworthy.gif

God bless u
jutamind
post Mar 4 2013, 08:02 PM

2,429 posts

to whom do you provide financial advisory work? and do you need capital market licenses to work as financial advisory?

Xuzen

Saving? Done.

Insurance? Done.

xuzen
post Mar 4 2013, 10:32 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(jutamind @ Mar 4 2013, 08:02 PM)
to whom do you provide financial advisory work? and do you need capital market licenses to work as financial advisory?
Yes, you need to have the necessary license. I have both the capital market and financial advisory from Sec-Com and BNM respectively.

I have said many times, one cannot claim to be a financial advisor nor financial planner or equivalent title without the necessary license. That would be a chargeable offense.

===================================

Yes, I am in my early 40's. I started to be serious in personal financial planning in my mid thirties. All in all my planning is less than 10 years and I can personally vouch that Financial Planning is tedious, boring and a pain in the arse, but it works! Imagine if I have started my financial planning on day one I receive my pay cheque...

Funny enough, with the extra cash initially my wife and I thought it was fun to buy stuff and spend lavishly on dinner and luxury goods. But I can tell you the novelty wears off very quickly.

Now, we turn to charity and somehow, the joy of giving to others unconditionally stays much much longer with us.

Xuzen

Kaka23
post Mar 5 2013, 12:12 AM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Mar 4 2013, 11:32 PM)
Yes, you need to have the necessary license. I have both the capital market and financial advisory from Sec-Com and BNM respectively.

I have said many times, one cannot claim to be a financial advisor nor financial planner or equivalent title without the necessary license. That would be a chargeable offense.

===================================

Yes, I am in my early 40's. I started to be serious in personal financial planning in my mid thirties. All in all my planning is less than 10 years and I can personally vouch that Financial Planning is tedious, boring and a pain in the arse, but it works! Imagine if I have started my financial planning on day one I receive my pay cheque...

Funny enough, with the extra cash initially my wife and I thought it was fun to buy stuff and spend lavishly on dinner and luxury goods. But I can tell you the novelty wears off very quickly.

Now, we turn to charity and somehow, the joy of giving to others unconditionally stays much much longer with us.

Xuzen
Respect to u bro!

Are u christian?

xuzen
post Mar 5 2013, 07:10 AM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Mar 5 2013, 12:12 AM)
Respect to u bro!

Are u christian?
I was born into a christian family, but I am not a practising one. I am agnostic nowadays.

Agnostic = I believe in the concept of GOD, but I could not care less about him/her/it/whatever.

Xuzen
kimyee73
post Mar 5 2013, 11:33 AM

1,007 posts

Charity is always good. People says the more you give, the more you get back. Look like this true for you rclxms.gif
kimyee73
post Mar 5 2013, 11:42 AM

1,007 posts

I would be eligible for early retirement in 2 years time but would probably work till there is some sort of severance package from my company. They are giving it out this year for those eligible and quite a number of colleagues took it. My wife is so worried if I retire early. I promised her that I'll retire early only if I can average about US$10K per month from my investment/trading. Still far from that figure though.
xuzen
post Mar 5 2013, 07:41 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(kimyee73 @ Mar 5 2013, 11:42 AM)
I would be eligible for early retirement in 2 years time but would probably work till there is some sort of severance package from my company. They are giving it out this year for those eligible and quite a number of colleagues took it. My wife is so worried if I retire early. I promised her that I'll retire early only if I can average about US$10K per month from my investment/trading. Still far from that figure though.
If you are severed by your company and you look for a job; you may be dissapointed i.e., your mindset may still be looking at the same kind of activity in the same industry.

However, if you change your mindset and tell yourself to look for an income; perhaps your mind my think outside the box and see further horizon.

Let's take me, I worked in pharmaceutical industry as a sales rep when I first graduate from uni for five years.

Then I took over my dad's kedai runcit for the next ten years, when he passed away.

Now I am in the DIY goods distributor/stockist as a General Manager.

See, three different unrelated industry.

I was not thinking in terms of job or career, I was thinking along income, and my income was used to invest into purchasing positive cashflow assets to create passive income and multiple streams of income.

Hope my answer can give you some guidance.

With respect to giving to charity and getting good things back, well here is some little advise.

When you do charity, you get a lot of chance to meet good people, people who you can network and create profitable relationship. Sometimes I get to meet future clients during such activities.

When you meet people outside their formal role, they are at ease, they are more susceptible to listen to you.

Xuzen

149 Pages « < 38 39 40 41 42 > » Top

0.0301sec    0.77    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 10:28 AM