Public Mutual v4, Public/PB series funds

Kaka23
post Feb 19 2015, 01:05 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(dhui @ Feb 18 2015, 07:13 PM)
I have been investing in Public Mutual since year 2002. My understanding is that mutual fund is type of long-termed investment and is more to passive mode. I also aware that the fund is handled by fund manager. All I do since 2012 is to invest a monthly sum into it.

Since this is one of my investment portfolio for long-termed purpose, I would like to ask for experienced sifus' advice & recommendation if Public Mutual Fund a good vehicle for long-termed investment (i.e. 20 years & above)?

From my research and my seniors' experience, most of them did not trust in mutual fund. From my current prospective, I do not wish that after 20years only I know I invested in a wrong place and regret...

In short, is Public Mutual Fund a good investment vehicle for long term i.e. 20 years and above?

Appreciate to all sifus' opinion. smile.gif
Since you already invested for more than 10 years, you should roughly know the risk investing in mutual funds.

dhui
post Feb 19 2015, 01:33 PM

Sinful Believer
2,296 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Feb 19 2015, 01:05 PM)
Since you already invested for moreĀ  than 10 years, you should roughly know the risk investing in mutual funds.
Sorry my typo error, is from year 2012. Already amended my first msg. tongue.gif

It about 2 year plus I started this investment.

Therefore I am thinking which sifus here who have 10 years plus experience in investing mutual fund whether if it is a good long termed investment.

This post has been edited by dhui: Feb 19 2015, 01:41 PM
dhui
post Feb 19 2015, 01:36 PM

Sinful Believer
2,296 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Feb 19 2015, 12:42 PM)
can give the list of fund u invested under PMutual  icon_rolleyes.gif
1. PFSF
2. PISGIF
dhui
post Feb 19 2015, 01:40 PM

Sinful Believer
2,296 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Feb 19 2015, 08:24 AM)
So far how much money dump and what is the return?
Dumbed RM21,770.00 now the balance is RM21,610.00. But the drop is mainly due to last month January dividen just been announced.

Since I only invested for 2 years plus, so I also no expect high return. But I am wondering those who already invested like 20 years on how your experience and comment?

My expectation at the minimum level for this investment is at least 5% per annum on average after 20 years.

This post has been edited by dhui: Feb 19 2015, 01:46 PM
SUSsupersound
post Feb 19 2015, 01:56 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(dhui @ Feb 19 2015, 01:40 PM)
Dumbed RM21,770.00 now the balance is RM21,610.00. But the drop is mainly due to last month January dividen just been announced.

Since I only invested for 2 years plus, so I also no expect high return. But I am wondering those who already invested like 20 years on how your experience and comment?

My expectation at the minimum level for this investment is at least 5% per annum on average after 20 years.
So you are getting -0.7% return. Based on this, by 20 years you should be having balance of rm6531 whistling.gif
I put rm20000 in FD 2 years back, now is rm21000. If I never touch it, by 20 years I'm getting rm34000.
Some of the veterans I met with in coffee shops, their lost mostly are at 80-90% after 20 years. My uncle and auntie are the only lucky 2 where they are getting 2000-5000% as they are selling hmm.gif
dhui
post Feb 19 2015, 02:13 PM

Sinful Believer
2,296 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Feb 19 2015, 01:56 PM)
So you are getting -0.7% return. Based on this, by 20 years you should be having balance of rm6531 whistling.gif
I put rm20000 in FD 2 years back, now is rm21000. If I never touch it, by 20 years I'm getting rm34000.
Some of the veterans I met with in coffee shops, their lost mostly are at 80-90% after 20 years. My uncle and auntie are the only lucky 2 where they are getting 2000-5000% as they are selling hmm.gif
Lost 80-90% under mutual fund after 20 years??
SUSsupersound
post Feb 19 2015, 02:17 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(dhui @ Feb 19 2015, 02:13 PM)
Yup, that's the initial "investment" they put it.
And they are forced to dump in more money to dilute the lost and after 20 years, they are getting about 0.1-0.2% in average.
j.passing.by
post Feb 20 2015, 03:07 PM

1,639 posts

QUOTE(dhui @ Feb 18 2015, 06:13 PM)
I have been investing in Public Mutual since year 2012. My understanding is that mutual fund is type of long-termed investment and is more to passive mode. I also aware that the fund is handled by fund manager. All I do since 2012 is to invest a monthly sum into it.

Since this is one of my investment portfolio for long-termed purpose, I would like to ask for experienced sifus' advice & recommendation if Public Mutual Fund a good vehicle for long-termed investment (i.e. 20 years & above)?

From my research and my seniors' experience, most of them did not trust in mutual fund. From my current prospective, I do not wish that after 20years only I know I invested in a wrong place and regret...

In short, is Public Mutual Fund a good investment vehicle for long term i.e. 20 years and above?

Appreciate to all sifus' opinion. smile.gif
1. You came to the right place to continue your research... I think you think you are right as you are already into mutual funds, and that you are not sure whether to trust what you heard from other people who are less informed than you.

2. Yes, to your last question. But you could do better to know that the initial fee charged by Public Mutual is not competitive, and there are other fund companies (via online platform) charging much lower (sometimes, almost zero%) service charge on each new purchase.

3. "Dumbed RM21,770.00 now the balance is RM21,610.00. But the drop is mainly due to last month January dividen just been announced."
Get the basics correct. It is 'income distribution', not dividend - as the funds are variable priced funds, which are priced at the end of each day; unlike fixed-price funds like some funds offered by ASNB. Any drop in the growth rate or value of your fund is due to market forces, it is never due to income distribution.

I guess you have checked your funds via PMO (Public Mutual Online)... and the funds are updated with the correct units 2 days after the income distribution. If so, the lost is due to the service charge incurred and the funds have grown some but yet to fully cover the amount invested.

Dig back a couple of old posts on what is the difference between fund's returns and investor's returns; and also 'amortizing' the service charge over several years to avoid being disheartened by poor returns in the beginning stage of savings/investment.

4."1. PFSF 2. PISGIF"
Take a bit more risk and go for small cap funds. If you read back some older posts, you will get to know about Paul Merriman and his academic opinion on small caps growth over the long term.

Cheers. Keep saving & invest regularly over the years.

eternity4life
post Feb 21 2015, 10:45 PM

113 posts

QUOTE(dhui @ Feb 19 2015, 01:40 PM)

I think you should seriously consider taking more risk on your investment and go for equity funds focusing on stronger returns and diversify yourself across different market (example go for China and global funds). You have RM 21.6k, put around RM 4k across multiple funds rather than focusing on those two funds you currently have. Diversification is a good way for you to earn consistent returns and minimize market based risk like what's happening in Malaysia.

If you are a Bumi, considering your choices, you are better off dumping the money inside ASB or Tabung Haji. At least you'll get better returns than the funds you chose currently.

Honestly, I might be bias though as I am not a big fan of Public Mutual funds, and in my personal opinion, there are a lot of other better fund houses out there that can provide better fund management than them. Check out lipper leaders or morningstar to look on potentially good funds to invest. Other than that, you can also go for fundsupermart or eunittrust to access funds at lower sales charge (around 2%). I am also currently doing a promotion on WRAP account which has 0% sales charge subject to annual management fee.

wodenus
post Feb 21 2015, 11:12 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(koinibler @ Jan 11 2015, 07:06 PM)
I think the author use some kind of old data. He/She not really right though, right now anyone can just publish a book.

Even PM only charge 3% for EPF. Maybe there are other fund house which is more expensive than PM, but I'm very sure that there is also a lot of other fund house which has a cheaper initial charge.

You will trade the EPF dividend with your mutual fund dividend. More than 6% can be easily achievable with mutual fund if you know what you're doing.
EPF should sue them lol.. anyone can see how EPF trades on Bursa.. they are good smile.gif

wodenus
post Feb 21 2015, 11:14 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(dhui @ Feb 19 2015, 02:13 PM)
I'd like to see those funds.. that's quite impossible unless they go for sector-targeted funds smile.gif look at FSM's list.. literally no fund has lost money after 10 years smile.gif

This post has been edited by wodenus: Feb 22 2015, 11:01 AM
cybermaster98
post Feb 21 2015, 11:57 PM

4,440 posts

As Warren Buffet once said, the best investors are those who make the most money in the shortest time with the smallest investment. A

Anybody can make a return on investment but its HOW MUCH you make which is more important. Every day our money is being eaten away by rising inflation and if ure living in cities like Penang, KL or JB, your inflation is easily about 10% per annum. So even if you make a return of 10% on your investments per year, all ure doing is offset inflation. Ure not actually making any profit.

Investments must always be diversified to spread risks. The same with mutual funds. If you put all your money into very safe funds then ure only gonna see a small % of return which will not even cover half of inflation. My opinion is that if ure not prepared to invest in high risk funds, then dont even bother investing in mutual funds in the first place. Just stick to FD's.

Kaka23
post Feb 22 2015, 09:21 AM

8,259 posts

Currently FD looks promising with 4.5%pa the highest I seen...
wodenus
post Feb 22 2015, 10:53 AM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Feb 21 2015, 11:57 PM)
As Warren Buffet once said, the best investors are those who make the most money in the shortest time with the smallest investment.

People say he said a lot of things he didn't say lol smile.gif

takalimc
post Mar 12 2015, 02:41 PM

252 posts

What do you think of the returns on PDSF? They are now paid 2 dividends last year but the NAV is very low
Kaka23
post Mar 12 2015, 09:43 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(takalimc @ Mar 12 2015, 03:41 PM)
What do you think of the returns on PDSF? They are now paid 2 dividends last year but the NAV is very low
Ignore the dividends and nav figure when investing in unit trust..

basSist
post Mar 13 2015, 10:22 PM

Don't look at my stars
3,567 posts

New fund will be launching on 18 March.
Kaka23
post Mar 14 2015, 07:35 AM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(basSist @ Mar 13 2015, 11:22 PM)
New fund will be launching on 18 March.
Apa nama itu fund? Equity? Investment regions mandated?

transit
post Mar 14 2015, 07:51 AM

360 posts

Public Islamic Enterprises Equity Fund, up to 25% foreign.
(Similar to PISEF, except PISEF is 100% Domestic)
Kaka23
post Mar 14 2015, 09:20 AM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(transit @ Mar 14 2015, 08:51 AM)
Public Islamic Enterprises Equity Fund, up to 25% foreign.
(Similar to PISEF, except PISEF is 100% Domestic)
Thanks for the info!

149 Pages « < 140 141 142 143 144 > » Top

0.0216sec    0.44    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 03:40 PM