1,639 posts

KLCI up 0.10% but Small Cap up 1.19%... rclxms.gif TQ Xuzen. smile.gif

davinz18
post Jul 16 2014, 10:24 PM

начинаещ
7,142 posts

BIMB Research: KLCI may be overpriced at the moment, to hit 1,900 anytime soon

The research house said though excess liquidity will carry the KLCI to higher levels, it is concerned over the sudden inflow of foreign funds into the region.

“Such excesses though positive in the short run, could be rather detrimental on the regional financial markets if not properly administered,” it said.

Thought the goings may be good at the moment, BIMB continues to caution that outlook may not be as sturdy and could surprise if and when a downturn sets in.

“It is apparent that liquidity is the main culprit at this juncture and we envision some rocky paths ahead for equities especially when prospects of higher interest rates set in.
xuzen
post Jul 17 2014, 09:19 AM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(j.passing.by @ Jul 16 2014, 07:59 PM)
KLCI up 0.10% but Small Cap up 1.19%...  rclxms.gif TQ Xuzen.  smile.gif
Takes a bow and courtsey.

As for me, I am now looking at regional REITs.

Xuzen
felixmask
post Jul 17 2014, 12:06 PM

6,356 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Jul 17 2014, 09:19 AM)
Takes a bow and courtsey.

As for me, I am now looking at regional REITs.

Xuzen
PUBLIC FAR-EAST PROPERTY & RESORTS FUND ???
xuzen
post Jul 17 2014, 02:05 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(felixmask @ Jul 17 2014, 12:06 PM)
PUBLIC FAR-EAST PROPERTY & RESORTS FUND ???
OMG, I've only just realised that I answered that in Pub-Mut thread.

I won't touch Pub-Mut products anymore. Run far far away...

Tak Nak bayar SC tinggi...

I am looking at Hwang's actually via FSM platform.

Xuzen
j.passing.by
post Jul 17 2014, 02:40 PM

1,639 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Jul 17 2014, 02:05 PM)
OMG, I've only just realised that I answered that in Pub-Mut thread.

I won't touch Pub-Mut products anymore. Run far far away...

Tak Nak bayar SC tinggi...

I am looking at Hwang's actually via FSM platform.

Xuzen
no lar... I'm still keeping my PB real estate... but had totally dropped Public property & resort last year. so far, still okay, YTD nearly 5%.

JtxCool
post Jul 26 2014, 10:21 PM

99 posts

i wan to invest in public mutual...but I dun have any knowledge on it.
anybody can help me?

PM me pls
j.passing.by
post Jul 27 2014, 01:53 PM

1,639 posts

Another long weekend... Selamat Hari Raya!... and another timely Paul Merriman article... "Top fund’s shareholders missed the party." http://www.marketwatch.com/story/top-funds...7-23?link=MW_RM

As a reader commented "Interesting and well-written. I now understand the difference between fund returns and investor returns much more clearly and that makes a world of difference in making choices."

And another comment "Whether you try to time the market by picking stocks or by picking mutual funds, you probably lose out in the long run. This fund is just another example of market chasing. Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't."

Cheers. Stay invested.

P.S. I was guilty of chasing hot funds myself... lose some, win some. My advice: Chase if you want to, but don't set any time frame to hold... pull out when you're ahead. In other words, don't confuse 'trading' with any short-term/long-term buy-sell strategy. Either 'trade' or 'buy-and-hold-forever'.

(How far ahead is ahead? That's the million dollar question! tongue.gif )

j.passing.by
post Jul 27 2014, 02:29 PM

1,639 posts

Here's another article on the benefit of starting young... "Why young investors should embrace bear markets." http://www.marketwatch.com/story/why-young...7-25?link=MW_RM

It is also another angle on the Lump-sum vs. DCA debate.

I am currently doing both lump-sum as well as DCA.

DCA - because: market is high; portfolio is too much on MM/bonds. So have force myself to relocate more into equities with a regular investing plan. (This is mostly local equity bought with EPF money. See the always-pot-black post posted some time ago.)

Lump-sum: There are certain portions of the portfolio which are country specify, Singapore and Australia funds. The Sing fund, done. Still waiting for a good time to get into the Oz fund.

Cheers. Stay invested.

P.S. No fancy financial tools used by this UT beginner to time the lump-sums... only looking at the 200-day moving average of the main index... managed to get into the Sing fund when the STI index was below its 200-day mv.

wil-i-am
post Jul 27 2014, 03:28 PM

10,001 posts

Besides DCA, VCA is an alternative strategy in UT
Zeronl
post Jul 27 2014, 03:39 PM

I have a question based on the following situation,

1. Let's say, I have 1 equity fund (loaded-unit) and 1 bond fund (low-load-unit) on hand.
2. I wanted to move the loaded unit from the equity fund to the same bond fund which is low-load-unit..

So, how will public mutual handle this situation? Will my loaded-unit be converted to low-load-unit, or I will have two account for that bond fund which is 1 for the loaded-unit and another for the low-load-unit, or ......
SUSDavid83
post Jul 27 2014, 07:51 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(Zeronl @ Jul 27 2014, 03:39 PM)
I have a question based on the following situation,

1. Let's say, I have 1 equity fund (loaded-unit) and 1 bond fund (low-load-unit) on hand.
2. I wanted to move the loaded unit from the equity fund to the same bond fund which is low-load-unit..

So, how will public mutual handle this situation? Will my loaded-unit be converted to low-load-unit, or I will have two account for that bond fund which is 1 for the loaded-unit and another for the low-load-unit, or ......
You will not have 2 account. This is only true is you're switching into the existing bond fund account.

They'll tag it internally as loaded and low-loaded units under the same fund account.

Don't worry as your loaded units would not be converted to low-loaded units.

This post has been edited by David83: Jul 27 2014, 07:52 PM
wil-i-am
post Jul 31 2014, 05:12 PM

10,001 posts

Public Mutual declares RM437m in distributions
http://www.thestar.com.my/Business/Busines...-distributions/
Lineage
post Aug 1 2014, 05:26 PM

the Chaotic Throne
4,524 posts

Hi guys,

Just did my 2nd withdrawal from EPF into PRSF as recommended by my agent.

My question is, if I would like to use cash to invest into unit trust, which fund should I invest?

My objective is simple, I just want the return is higher than normal FD, something higher than 4% is great for me I guess and of course higher is better. Planned to hold it as long as I can.

If unit trust average return is higher than FD, I would like to convince my mother to switch over her FD into unit trust for better return.

Appreciate anyone can enlighten me on this. Thank you very much.
V-Zero
post Aug 1 2014, 07:25 PM

Another day, another $
1,213 posts

QUOTE(Lineage @ Aug 1 2014, 05:26 PM)
Hi guys,

Just did my 2nd withdrawal from EPF into PRSF as recommended by my agent.

My question is, if I would like to use cash to invest into unit trust, which fund should I invest?

My objective is simple, I just want the return is higher than normal FD, something higher than 4% is great for me I guess and of course higher is better. Planned to hold it as long as I can.

If unit trust average return is higher than FD, I would like to convince my mother to switch over her FD into unit trust for better return.
Appreciate anyone can enlighten me on this. Thank you very much.
For conventional funds, PRSF and PDSF are my favourite. smile.gif
Lineage
post Aug 1 2014, 09:47 PM

the Chaotic Throne
4,524 posts

QUOTE(V-Zero @ Aug 1 2014, 07:25 PM)
For conventional funds, PRSF and PDSF are my favourite.  smile.gif
laugh.gif My first fund was PDSF..
V-Zero
post Aug 1 2014, 10:09 PM

Another day, another $
1,213 posts

^ don't fix it if it ain't broke smile.gif

The worst PDSF did was -10.16% while PRSF managed -23.24% during the 2007 subprime crisis.
Defense is the best offense. flex.gif

To me they have the best risk/reward ratio among the other equity funds in Public Mutual.
You can't go wrong with 11-12% of 10 year CAGR. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by V-Zero: Aug 1 2014, 10:11 PM
BaeM
post Aug 1 2014, 10:40 PM

42 posts

When should i switch to MM/bond/sukuk? Care to share some switching strategy?
V-Zero
post Aug 1 2014, 11:37 PM

Another day, another $
1,213 posts

QUOTE(BaeM @ Aug 1 2014, 10:40 PM)
When you're near your initial investment goal.
Or your risk appetite decreased as you aged/family commitment.

j.passing.by
post Aug 2 2014, 12:07 AM

1,639 posts

QUOTE(BaeM @ Aug 1 2014, 10:40 PM)
If we were looking internally, and disregard all the 'noise' about the market... to decide when to switch:

1. Re-balancing a matured portfolio, to regain back the desired bond/equity ratio.

2. During the accumulation stage (beginning stage of savings and investing into UT), and if using the Value Averaging method. When the value of the fund is more than the amount that you required or had planned, and you need to 'sell'.

(For more info into value averaging - http://www.bogleheads.org/wiki/Value_averaging

=============
edited: correction on link...

This post has been edited by j.passing.by: Aug 6 2014, 01:21 PM

149 Pages « < 122 123 124 125 126 > » Top

0.0239sec    0.29    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 09:34 PM