Public Mutual v4, Public/PB series funds

j.passing.by
post Jul 1 2014, 05:15 PM

1,639 posts

QUOTE(kimyee73 @ Jul 1 2014, 02:56 PM)
I always got confused with this NAV same day or next day thing. If I buy before 4pm, it will be using yesterday EOD price that is available today (known already) or it will be price that will be calculated at end of day today (unknown yet) and available tomorrow? Please help to clarify. Thanks.
"It will be price that will be calculated at end of day today (unknown yet)." It's correct term is "Forward Pricing".

"... at end of the day today..." can be half correct - if the fund has some (significant) foreign shares, and that foreign market is a holiday or closed (for example Thailand is closed today), today's transaction (even though it was before 4pm) can be priced to tomorrow's NAV price.

For example, SEA Select Fund, if it has significant enough shares in the Thailand market, it will not be calculated and priced today, 1st July. Instead the transaction will be based on 2nd July's NAV price.

"(Forward Pricing - A Securities and Exchange Commission regulation that requires that investment companies price all of their buy and sell orders of fund shares according to the next net asset value (NAV)." from investopedia.com.

==================

Yeah, it can be confusing at times. We have to be careful to look at the dates too, not just the NAV prices. For example reading the unit trusts prices in today's newspapers do not means that all the prices are today's prices, or even yesterday's prices.

Another example, the fund prices in public mutual website will have a mixture of funds having yesterday's NAV and today's NAV from about 7.30pm till 11am. This is because some of the local funds will be updated later at night after the local stock market closes, while the foreign funds will be updated tomorrow morning around 11am.

==============

LOL... long winded post... I've too much time...

This post has been edited by j.passing.by: Jul 1 2014, 05:17 PM
j.passing.by
post Jul 1 2014, 05:22 PM

1,639 posts

Switched out of bond into MM today... and added some into a small cap.

... just following a sifu... and also the portfolio... now at almost 50/50.

j.passing.by
post Jul 3 2014, 04:05 PM

1,639 posts

All markets went up yesterday.... portfolio managed to regain last year's peak... yeah, the portfolio had more aggressive funds last year, went up quick, went down also just as quick. smile.gif

lazybump_nonsense
post Jul 6 2014, 03:59 PM

Gotta Catch'em All
1,654 posts

wanted to let go all of my units, wanted to know how many days does public mutual buy all my units, any sifu can help? biggrin.gif
wil-i-am
post Jul 6 2014, 06:13 PM

10,001 posts

QUOTE(lazybump_nonsense @ Jul 6 2014, 03:59 PM)
wanted to let go all of my units, wanted to know how many days does public mutual buy all my units, any sifu can help? biggrin.gif
Within T+10
V-Zero
post Jul 7 2014, 10:26 AM

Another day, another $
1,213 posts

QUOTE(lazybump_nonsense @ Jul 6 2014, 03:59 PM)
QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Jul 6 2014, 06:13 PM)
Within T+10
It's within 10 calendar (include weekend) days, to be exact. icon_rolleyes.gif
SUSDavid83
post Jul 7 2014, 12:59 PM

52,874 posts

Dear Unitholder, We are pleased to attach the market wrap and bond market review for the week/fortnight ended 13 June 2014 for your information. Regards Customer Service
dewill
post Jul 7 2014, 01:01 PM

1,720 posts

islamic fund all up
lazybump_nonsense
post Jul 7 2014, 02:06 PM

Gotta Catch'em All
1,654 posts

QUOTE(V-Zero @ Jul 7 2014, 10:26 AM)
It's within 10 calendar (include weekend) days, to be exact.  icon_rolleyes.gif
thank you biggrin.gif
cybermaster98
post Jul 7 2014, 10:09 PM

4,440 posts

With the dividends offered by Public Mutual funds, wouldnt it make sense to invest in say Kenanga Growth Fund (moderate risk) or Eastsprings Small Cap (very high risk) for better returns.

Why do people still invest in Public Mutual funds?
V-Zero
post Jul 8 2014, 11:54 AM

Another day, another $
1,213 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jul 7 2014, 10:09 PM)
With the dividends offered by Public Mutual funds, wouldnt it make sense to invest in say Kenanga Growth Fund (moderate risk) or Eastsprings Small Cap (very high risk) for better returns.

Brand recognition, consistency and service.

A fund is only as good as the agent/service.
So yeah if you got the time to keep up with financial news, dive into the reports, good planning and resource/asset allocation skills, those are good.

Not so for the average people. wink.gif

On the other hand, Public Mutual's small cap is comparable to Eastsprings's small cap. nod.gif
xuzen
post Jul 8 2014, 12:38 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jul 7 2014, 10:09 PM)

Imagine this:

With a phonecall, within 30 mins an immaculately dressed man, fully groomed appears from his Mazda Six. His loafers are from Kings, his timepiece, a gleaming Rolex Datejust perpetual, platinum no less, his jacket from Zegna.

He walks over confidently to you, forms all readily filled with all your particulars, with neat and tidy handwriting, from his PA of course. He comes closer, hands you his Le Grande Meisterstruck and you sign on the doted line.

Your transaction is now completed. He gives you a mega-watt smile. Waves like a royalty. And he is gone.

Compared this with FSM... semua lu buat sendiri lar... isi borang, hantar borang, salah tulis, borang tak boleh process, transaksi pending... and pending and pending....

Xuzen

This post has been edited by xuzen: Jul 8 2014, 12:40 PM
guanteik
post Jul 8 2014, 12:52 PM

2,661 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Jul 8 2014, 12:38 PM)
Imagine this:

With a phonecall, within 30 mins an immaculately dressed man, fully groomed appears from his Mazda Six. His loafers are from Kings, his timepiece, a gleaming Rolex Datejust perpetual, platinum no less, his jacket from Zegna.

He walks over confidently to you, forms all readily filled with all your particulars, with neat and tidy handwriting, from his PA of course. He comes closer, hands you his Le Grande Meisterstruck and you sign on the doted line.

Your transaction is now completed. He gives you a mega-watt smile. Waves like a royalty. And he is gone.

<<I want to add something in here>>

Compared this with FSM... semua lu buat sendiri lar... isi borang, hantar borang, salah tulis, borang tak boleh process, transaksi pending... and pending and pending....

Xuzen
<<I want to add something in here>>
When PM funds performs like "sh*t", the immaculate dressed man will not be able to answer that. Neither will meet you up to help submit forms that's not related to sales. Of course the Mazda 6 and Rolex you mentioned.... are thankful to the poor customer who paid the 5.5% service charge.
SUSDavid83
post Jul 8 2014, 01:07 PM

52,874 posts

I did a repurchase instruction on July 1st, 2014 for PAIF.

Got my money today in my Maybank.
j.passing.by
post Jul 8 2014, 01:21 PM

1,639 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Jul 8 2014, 01:07 PM)
I did a repurchase instruction on July 1st, 2014 for PAIF.

Got my money today in my Maybank.
That's relatively fast since Hong Kong market was closed 1st July, and it could only be processed from 3rd July after the 2nd July's NAV price was known.

cybermaster98
post Jul 8 2014, 01:44 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(V-Zero @ Jul 8 2014, 11:54 AM)
Brand recognition, consistency and service.

A fund is only as good as the agent/service.
So yeah if you got the time to keep up with financial news, dive into the reports, good planning and resource/asset allocation skills, those are good.

Not so for the average people.  wink.gif

On the other hand, Public Mutual's small cap is comparable to Eastsprings's small cap.  nod.gif
Im actually refering to the returns. Whats the point of having good agents if the fund doesnt perform? doh.gif

Also in what way is Public Mutual's Small Cap fund comparable to Eastsprings Small Cap?

This post has been edited by cybermaster98: Jul 8 2014, 01:50 PM
V-Zero
post Jul 8 2014, 01:54 PM

Another day, another $
1,213 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jul 8 2014, 01:44 PM)
Im actually refering to the returns. Whats the point of having good agents if the fund doesnt perform?  doh.gif

Also in what way is Public Mutual's Small Cap fund comparable to Eastsprings Small Cap?
Public Mutual has like 70 + - funds.
There are good funds, bad funds.

Good ones are producing compounded roi of 11-13% for the past 10 years.
How is that bad?

Both small cap had been producing 14-15% compounded roi for the past 10 years or so.
I don't look at single year performance. smile.gif
j.passing.by
post Jul 8 2014, 01:56 PM

1,639 posts

Im actually refering to the returns. Whats the point of having good agents if the fund doesnt perform?  doh.gif

There are other factors and issues involved too, as mentioned by V-zero... it's like buying a car - if you want to base solely the buying criteria to speed, that's your choice and preference. smile.gif

cybermaster98
post Jul 8 2014, 01:59 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(V-Zero @ Jul 8 2014, 01:54 PM)
Public Mutual has like 70 + - funds.
There are good funds, bad funds.

Good ones are producing compounded roi of 11-13% for the past 10 years.
How is that bad?

Both small cap had been producing 14-15% compounded roi for the past 10 years or so.
I don't look at single year performance.  smile.gif
When u say compounded you mean annualised return rite?

Also can you tell me a few of the best performing PM funds over the past 5 years?

This post has been edited by cybermaster98: Jul 8 2014, 02:00 PM
xuzen
post Jul 8 2014, 02:03 PM

4,436 posts

One is good, the other is better....

Xuzen

149 Pages « < 120 121 122 123 124 > » Top

0.0238sec    0.78    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 01:22 PM