Astro B.yond Episode V (Version 10.0), HD, PVR, IPTV and VOD

jamesleetech
post Nov 7 2012, 07:14 AM

684 posts

While watching CNN coverage of the US elections, I saw the Astro announcement that the 3 SD channels in Mustika Package including Mustika HD channel will be opened for ALL as*teruk subscribers for 8 days from 9th to 17th November 2012 !!

I wonder why... hmm... I suspect not enough people subscribing to Mustika Package so as*teruk may be "fishing" for more subscribers to this package by putting "bait" with free viewing for all subscribers.

Well... speaking for myself only... eventhough get to watch "free" for a week... and after that... forget about it, NOT interested to add Mustika Package.

Mustika Package
Ch 131 Astro Citra (SD)
Ch 132 Astro Warna (SD)
Ch 133 Astro Bella (SD)
Ch 134 Mustika HD
... ALL in-house As*teruk channels.

Interesting news of Astro share prices drop (shortly after its initial IPO), read on...
23-10-2012 : http://biz.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2012/10/23/business/20121023134354
24-10-2012 : http://biz.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2012/10/24/business/12216640
26-10-2012 : http://biz.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2012/10/26/business/12228772

Whatever the reasons, I expected the as*teruk share prices to drop so I did not apply to purchase the damn as*teruk stocks !! Even if I can make money from the shares, I will never support and help as*teruk with extra capital to continue bullying subscribers with its exclusive satellite TV monopoly from our go_ver_ment! Already more than 16 years monopoly !

In my personal opinion (may be wrong), I believe the as*teruk shares will NOT perform well. I don't know BUT... even if its "normal" to use part of the capital revenue from the share sales to pay debts, my personal opinion is that its not "healthy" to allocate part of the share revenue (I think about 30%) just to pay as*teruk debt !

One of my friends had asked my opinion on whether to apply for purchase of as*teruk stocks from the IPO and I advised him that I believed that it will not be a good investment... and... hehe... he followed my advice and later thanked me when he saw the price drop ! Probably my instinct told me not to invest in the as*teruk stocks so its not based on any professional research. Hehe... utilised some $ on some other public company stocks and made some better profits !

cool2.gif

ADDENDUM
I am not a professional stock market investor. Only sometimes an opportunistic share market player who sometimes make a bit profit and also sometimes got burnt with losses too ! Except for the news article from The Star online... so, whatever opinions I stated about the as*teruk "shares" not performing well are just my "kedai kopi" talk only. brows.gif

According to the news report, Ananda and Khazanah Nasional Bhd had already sold a lot of their shares in the IPO exercise, BUT I suspect that there may be some other big players who may be working behind the curtains to manipulate as*teruk shares to reap more profits... maybe push prices down and then later buy for cheap... hehe... only my uneducated opinion lah.

This post has been edited by jamesleetech: Nov 7 2012, 07:49 AM
Griever5177
post Nov 7 2012, 08:24 AM

32 posts

QUOTE(Fubar20 @ Nov 6 2012, 08:59 AM)
blink.gif Why is like that? Using PVR should use 2 connecting wires from the dish and not one. Didn't u complain to Astro installer when they install it?
Cos problem is my house only has 1 wire. To pull another wire will be difficult as it was totally concealed and will be hard to pull the second wire. That's why the installer suggested to use the wireless transmitter which connected to the PVR and as well as the satellite dish.

Fubar20
post Nov 7 2012, 08:50 AM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(Griever5177 @ Nov 7 2012, 08:24 AM)
Cos problem is my house only has 1 wire. To pull another wire will be difficult as it was totally concealed and will be hard to pull the second wire. That's why the installer suggested to use the wireless transmitter which connected to the PVR and as well as the satellite dish.
hmm.gif And I assume you didn't test HD channels and the PVR functions before the installer left?
Call them to come back and do a proper job then.
Griever5177
post Nov 7 2012, 10:57 AM

32 posts

QUOTE(Fubar20 @ Nov 7 2012, 08:50 AM)
hmm.gif And I assume you didn't test HD channels and the PVR functions before the installer left?
Did tested. All was fine until recently suddenly pop out this "Copy Protection failed" on all the HD channels. wacko.gif
weim76
post Nov 7 2012, 02:21 PM

224 posts

QUOTE(Griever5177 @ Nov 6 2012, 08:49 AM)
Will try call then. Thx
Just the ASTRO PVR recorder and the TV. But there's this transmitter were fixed to connect wireless with the satellite dish due to only 1 existing wire available and 2 wires were needed to setup the PVR decoder.
How much did the installer charge you for the wireless transmitter? Is it capable of transmitting HD video with Dolby 5.1 audio?
Griever5177
post Nov 7 2012, 02:27 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(weim76 @ Nov 7 2012, 02:21 PM)
How much did the installer charge you for the wireless transmitter? Is it capable of transmitting HD video with Dolby 5.1 audio?
RM100 for the transmitter. As far as I know it was meant to solve the 2nd wire issue by just using the 1 existing wire and connect. Not too sure its capability towards the audio you mentioned.

zeone
post Nov 7 2012, 09:04 PM

A Friend...
784 posts

QUOTE(Griever5177 @ Nov 7 2012, 10:57 AM)
Did tested. All was fine until recently suddenly pop out this "Copy Protection failed" on all the HD channels.  wacko.gif
Hi...
Best course of action is like Bro Fubar suggested....
QUOTE(Fubar20 @ Nov 7 2012, 08:50 AM)
OR if that does NOT produce satisfactory results, then call & report yr prob to Astro Custcare....

Best wishes.... icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by zeone: Nov 7 2012, 09:05 PM
Zulguamusang
post Nov 8 2012, 08:33 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(Zulguamusang @ Nov 7 2012, 01:41 AM)
my pvr 'rosak' after 4 month, called cs and make some troubleshoot and 'kompom' my hardisk got problem..

she said, a technician will come to my house in next 48 hours and problem will be fixed in next 5 days working days if my box got problem....

problem: PVR FUNCTION NOT AVAILABLE after on/off my beyond because of 'Hang'..

so, i think the problem cause by too many recorded programs (2HOURS remaining in last record) and shut it down while recording...
11pm 6nov: call cs for complaint about my pvr
9am 7nov: receive SMS about my complain
6pm 8nov: astro technician call for appoiment
7pm 8nov: problem solved!

hehe, nice services astro!!

technician come and replace my box..

This post has been edited by Zulguamusang: Nov 8 2012, 08:37 PM
zeone
post Nov 8 2012, 08:56 PM

A Friend...
784 posts

QUOTE(Zulguamusang @ Nov 8 2012, 08:33 PM)
11pm 6nov: call cs for complaint about my pvr
9am 7nov:  receive SMS about my complain
6pm 8nov: astro technician call for appoiment
7pm 8nov: problem solved!

hehe, nice services astro!!

technician come and replace my box..
Congratz, Bro! rclxms.gif
Hope Astro cont 2provide same services for each & every subscriber... icon_rolleyes.gif
RonanGow
post Nov 8 2012, 09:48 PM

302 posts

Yesterday I had record a movie on fox movie premium HD! But why no subtitle? Isn't Pvr will record subtitle automically ?

Then I try restart the decorder then the subtitle only appear in 2 sec, after that no more subtitle appear

This post has been edited by RonanGow: Nov 8 2012, 09:51 PM
victorwan
post Nov 8 2012, 10:42 PM

292 posts

My Astro is connected to the Satellite wall plug supplied by the Condo.

After a few weeks, some channels cannot watch already and always give bad signal like raining etc.

Those channels are CNN and SuperSports 3 817. Others channels I did not check.

But still can watch those other favorite channels.

No point complain to Condo Management because they also cannot do anything. Even after rectify, problem came back.

Anyone have any idea if there is any Signal Booster device to boost up those channel signal?

Or any other idea to solve this problem??

This post has been edited by victorwan: Nov 8 2012, 10:44 PM
zeone
post Nov 9 2012, 08:32 AM

A Friend...
784 posts

QUOTE(RonanGow @ Nov 8 2012, 09:48 PM)
Yesterday I had record a movie on fox movie premium HD! But why no subtitle? Isn't Pvr will record subtitle automically ?

Then I try restart the decorder then the subtitle only appear in 2 sec, after that no more subtitle appear
Yup, Bro...PVR records with subtitles automatically. smile.gif
Do chk if yr PVR Menu oledi set to display subtitles of the language yu want.
Unless that movie had tech probs...?

Me hv had no probs recording with subtitles. cheers.gif
zeone
post Nov 9 2012, 08:37 AM

A Friend...
784 posts

QUOTE(victorwan @ Nov 8 2012, 10:42 PM)
My Astro is connected to the Satellite wall plug supplied by the Condo.

After a few weeks, some channels cannot watch already and always give bad signal like raining etc.

Those channels are CNN and SuperSports 3 817. Others channels I did not check.

But still can watch those other favorite channels.

No point complain to Condo Management because they also cannot do anything. Even after rectify, problem came back.

Anyone have any idea if there is any Signal Booster device to boost up those channel signal?

Or any other idea to solve this problem??

Hi Bro...
Re Condo probs, no choice but 2keep on complaining...2BOTH Management AND Astro!!
It's yr right... smile.gif

And yup, there are signal boosters 4improving signal strength. Get them from good electronics shop/suppliers...
Mayb also search here in LYN?
weim76
post Nov 9 2012, 09:03 AM

224 posts

QUOTE(RonanGow @ Nov 8 2012, 09:48 PM)

Even when I watch 'live' on certain channels, like BIO, sometimes I do encounter occasions where the subtitles disappear after a while, and I have to press the 'language/subtitle' button and press 'OK' to the make the subtitle re-appear.
zeone
post Nov 9 2012, 01:24 PM

A Friend...
784 posts

QUOTE(weim76 @ Nov 9 2012, 09:03 AM)
Even when I watch 'live' on certain channels, like BIO, sometimes I do encounter occasions where the subtitles disappear after a while, and I have to press the 'language/subtitle' button and  press 'OK' to the make the subtitle re-appear.
Possibly a technical hitch...
As long as easily remedied, feel we can live with it. Agreed?

ps. Nothing is truly perfect in this world.... icon_rolleyes.gif
Qash-M
post Nov 9 2012, 02:15 PM

#FreePalestine
6,103 posts

Still no permanant Indian HD channel...Oh Astro... sweat.gif
zeone
post Nov 9 2012, 03:25 PM

A Friend...
784 posts

QUOTE(Qash-M @ Nov 9 2012, 02:15 PM)

Still no permanant Indian HD channel...Oh Astro... sweat.gif
"Msia Boleh" guidelines...not enuf subscribers in group 2warrant the move/investment lo... brows.gif
zeone
post Nov 9 2012, 06:04 PM

A Friend...
784 posts

Still no sign of new TvN HD ch.... rolleyes.gif
Any Bro hv knowledge of debut date? notworthy.gif
MilesAndMore
post Nov 9 2012, 10:37 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(zeone @ Nov 9 2012, 06:04 PM)
Still no sign of new TvN HD ch.... rolleyes.gif
Any Bro hv knowledge of debut date?  notworthy.gif
The tvN HD commercial was first spotted on Star World HD. Anyway, calling Astro is probably the easiest and fastest way to get the info.
sky3742
post Nov 9 2012, 10:54 PM

561 posts

I saw this in astro fb page.
chakravathy? A mix of kalangar+vijay+2 other indian channel I don't know what are they.
this channel is temp only or what? and is it HD or SD?

125 Pages « < 41 42 43 44 > » Top

0.0295sec    0.42    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 09:43 PM