122 Pages « < 17 18 19 20 21 > » Bottom

Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V3, Read 1st post to find highest rate.

SUSPink Spider
post Sep 2 2012, 01:59 AM

Formerly known as Prince_Hamsap
16,872 posts

Added on September 2, 2012, 1:59 amOops double posted, Unker Gen-X lagi cepat doh.gif

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Sep 2 2012, 01:59 AM
gsc
post Sep 2 2012, 03:36 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Sep 2 2012, 01:59 AM)

Added on September 2, 2012, 1:59 amOops double posted, Unker Gen-X lagi cepat doh.gif
Yours with gift...an additional info......looks like Ocbc is still better with top up on saving combo..3.8% for 3 months fd after depositing rm10k into hong leong
TSGen-X
post Sep 2 2012, 11:01 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ Sep 2 2012, 03:36 AM)
Yours with gift...an additional info.....
would you go for the free gift CASA option and earn less tongue.gif

For those of you who prefer Free Gift, Alliance Bank is offering Samsung S III, but if one was to deposit the amount required into FD (even at Board Rate) instead of CASA, after the earmarked period, he/she will earn extra money equivalent to almost 7 Free Samsung S III laugh.gif

And for those who have AMBank Account, you get to win Gold Bar when you deposit into AmBank Islamic products.
The AmBank AmAdvance Investment Account-i is expected to pay 3.45% for 6 months tenure. Offer good till end October 2012. Every RM10,000 incremental deposit in Term Deposit account (including AmAdvance Investment Account-i) is entitled to receive five (5) entries for the Gold Contest.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Sep 2 2012, 11:50 AM
post Sep 2 2012, 12:01 PM

4,230 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Sep 2 2012, 01:20 AM)
Latest UOB FD Promo - 3.75% for 12 months.

Too bad - looking for something with shorter tenure (1 mth) in Oct.

This post has been edited by 1282009: Sep 2 2012, 12:01 PM
Human Nature
post Sep 2 2012, 01:19 PM

- student of human nature -
26,532 posts

3.75% for 12 months is the highest so far with the exception of BR. Going there this week biggrin.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Sep 2 2012, 01:23 PM

Formerly known as Prince_Hamsap
16,872 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Sep 2 2012, 01:19 PM)
3.75% for 12 months is the highest so far with the exception of BR. Going there this week biggrin.gif
No T&C like minimum placement? hmm.gif

U seem to have ready funds for FD placements sweat.gif
Human Nature
post Sep 2 2012, 01:28 PM

- student of human nature -
26,532 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Sep 2 2012, 01:23 PM)

Min placement is RM10k. There is a full T&C at the website. Actually I wanted to go for their previous 3.65% but too busy last month. Blessing in disguise.

http://www1.uob.com.my/assets/pdf/tnc/GiftzaniaFD_tnc.PDF

If the FD is partially or prematurely withdrawn before the completion of the tenure, the penalties are as follow:
Before completion of first 3 months of the FD placement : No interest will be paid
Thereafter: 50% of the contracted Promotional Rate is payable for each completed month

This post has been edited by Human Nature: Sep 2 2012, 01:38 PM
BoomChaCha
post Sep 2 2012, 03:37 PM

2,490 posts

Just want to confirm the profit rate if put 3 months FD in OCBC's Combo
FD & saving account:

Let's say if put RM 10K in FD + RM 2K in saving account:
(RM 10K x 4%) + (RM 2K x 3%) = RM 400 + RM 60 = RM460/RM12000
= 3.83% p.a.

So the return rate for OCBC FD Combo & Saving is 3.83% p.a.

I would like to know is 3% rate for OCBC saving account is correct?
Why the 3% saving account rate in OCBC is so high?

TSGen-X
post Sep 2 2012, 04:08 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Sep 2 2012, 01:23 PM)

Bro, you post the promo and then you ask about T&C blink.gif Anyway, the minimum placement amount is stated in Post#1 for most Promos.

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Sep 2 2012, 03:37 PM)
Just want to confirm the profit rate if put 3 months FD in OCBC's Combo
FD & saving account:

Let's say if put RM 10K in FD + RM 2K in saving account:
(RM 10K x 4%) + (RM 2K x 3%) = RM 400 + RM 60 = RM460/RM12000
= 3.83% p.a.

So the return rate for OCBC FD Combo & Saving is 3.83% p.a.

The first month you will enjoy 3% interest for the Smart Savers Account because you need to deposit minimum RM2K.

For the 2nd and 3rd month, you only get 3% if you deposit RM1K each month.

If you deposit RM0-RM49.99 you'll get 2.5%. And if you deposit RM50 to RM999.99, you will earn 2.85%.

So, once again, here are your options for the 2nd and 3rd month:

Deposit nothing and you'll get 2.5% for the month.
Deposit RM50 and you'll get 2.85% for that particular month you did deposit RM50 up to RM999.99
Deposit RM1K and above, you'll enjoy 3% for the month you did the deposit.

And if you do any withdrawal, the interest rate for the month drops to 0.5%

However, since you going for the Combo Plan, you are not allowed to withdraw the 20% for 90 days. So you can just assume you'll get minimum 2.5% or like me deposit RM50 and get 2.85% for the 20% smile.gif

BoomChaCha
post Sep 2 2012, 05:37 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Sep 2 2012, 04:08 PM)

The first month you will enjoy 3% interest for the Smart Savers Account because you need to deposit minimum RM2K.

For the 2nd and 3rd month, you only get 3% if you deposit RM1K each month.

If you deposit RM0-RM49.99 you'll get 2.5%. And if you deposit RM50 to RM999.99, you will earn 2.85%.

So, once again, here are your options for the 2nd and 3rd month:

Deposit nothing and you'll get 2.5% for the month.
Deposit RM50 and you'll get 2.85% for that particular month you did deposit RM50 up to RM999.99
Deposit RM1K and above, you'll enjoy 3% for the month you did the deposit.

And if you do any withdrawal, the interest rate for the month drops to 0.5%

However, since you going for the Combo Plan, you are not allowed to withdraw the 20% for 90 days. So you can just assume you'll get minimum 2.5% or like me deposit RM50 and get 2.85% for the 20%  smile.gif

For the 2nd and 3rd month, you only get 3% if you deposit RM1K each month

Captain, is this RM 1K deposit into saving each month (for 2nd and 3rd month) calculate based on the 10% percentage from the RM 10K
FD placement?
For example, If I make a FD placement for RM 20K, then I need to deposit RM 4K (20%) into saving for the 1st month, and deposit each
RM 2K (10%) into saving for 2nd and 3rd month in order to get full 3% in saving account?

Or I just needs to deposit minimum RM 1K each month (for 2nd and 3rd month) in order to get full 3% in saving? Regardless the FD placement amount? (the minimum FD placement is RM 10K)

And do I need to go to OCBC to make a deposit for 2nd and 3rd month?
I cannot just make the deposit for 2nd and 3rd month when I go there to place the FD during the first time?
I prefer to settle everything at a time. sad.gif

TSGen-X
post Sep 2 2012, 06:55 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Sep 2 2012, 05:37 PM)

For the 2nd and 3rd month, you only get 3% if you deposit RM1K each month

Captain, is this RM 1K deposit into saving each month (for 2nd and 3rd month) calculate based on the 10% percentage from the RM 10K
FD placement?
For example, If I make a FD placement for RM 20K, then I need to deposit RM 4K (20%) into saving for the 1st month, and deposit each
RM 2K (10%) into saving for 2nd and 3rd month in order to get full 3% in saving account?

Or I just needs to deposit minimum RM 1K each month (for 2nd and 3rd month) in order to get full 3% in saving? Regardless the FD placement amount? (the minimum FD placement is RM 10K)

I cannot just make the deposit for 2nd and 3rd month when I go there to place the FD during the first time?
I prefer to settle everything at a time.  sad.gif

Bro, you make it so complicated lah. The Smart Savers interest rate has nothing to do with the Promo but based on it's own Terms and Conditions. Why you never read my blog, I did point out how the Smart Savers Interest Rate works.

Answer is (taken from your post) -

just need to deposit minimum RM 1K each month (for 2nd and 3rd month) in order to get full 3% in saving .. Regardless the FD placement amount.

And if you sign up for the Combo in September, of course you need to go deposit in October and November. That's what it means by Monthly Deposit lah. IF lazy to go still earn minimum 2.5% smile.gif Unless you want to park some money ( more than RM1K into the Smart Saver Account) to earn 3%, then only worthwhile to do deposit. For my case, I go add RM50 when I drop by to pay my OCBC Titanium MasterCard bill.

Say take example you go for the Combo Plan in September, deposit RM20K in 4% 3 Months FD and RM4K into Smart Savers. So the difference between 3% and 2.5% is 0.5% for the Smart Savers interest rate (for October and November). So with difference of 0.5% for RM4K, that's only difference of RM1.67 per month lah, don't waste your time going to OCBC just to deposit RM1K if it is inconvenient.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Sep 2 2012, 07:00 PM
kwokwah
post Sep 2 2012, 06:57 PM

584 posts

If lazy to go to OCBC, just GIRO lah!
gsc
post Sep 3 2012, 01:01 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Sep 2 2012, 05:37 PM)
[color=blue]

I prefer to settle everything at a time.  sad.gif

if you have spare cash or FD mature from other bank in the 2nd month, you can use it (min 10k) to top up the saving combo. Since you are topping up, the 20% FD which you need to deposit into Smart Saver is considered as you are meeting the requirement of monthly deposit into your saving account.

BoomChaCha
post Sep 3 2012, 01:34 AM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Sep 2 2012, 06:55 PM)
Bro, you make it so complicated lah. The Smart Savers interest rate has nothing to do with the Promo but based on it's own Terms and Conditions. Why you never read my blog, I did point out how the Smart Savers Interest Rate works.

Answer is (taken from your post) -

just need to deposit minimum RM 1K each month (for 2nd and 3rd month) in order to get full 3% in saving .. Regardless the FD placement amount.

And if you sign up for the Combo in September, of course you need to go deposit in October and November. That's what it means by Monthly Deposit lah. IF lazy to go still earn minimum 2.5%  smile.gif Unless you want to park some money ( more than RM1K into the Smart Saver Account) to earn 3%, then only worthwhile to do deposit. For my case, I go add RM50 when I drop by to pay my OCBC Titanium MasterCard bill.

Say take example you go for the Combo Plan in September, deposit RM20K in 4% 3 Months FD and RM4K into Smart Savers. So the difference between 3% and 2.5% is 0.5% for the Smart Savers interest rate (for October and November). So with difference of 0.5% for RM4K, that's only difference of RM1.67 per month lah, don't waste your time going to OCBC just to deposit RM1K if it is inconvenient.
Thank you so much for the detail information, really appreciate it. notworthy.gif

Yes, I have visited your blog sometimes; just recently I did not check it out...

Considering the opportunity cost including need to wait for 2 working day to clear the check
in OCBC, I think I will go for UOB..

Thanks for the lighting speed to update UOB FD promo, this really helps.... smile.gif

Added on September 3, 2012, 1:51 am
QUOTE(gsc @ Sep 3 2012, 01:01 AM)
if you have spare cash or FD mature from other bank in the 2nd month, you can use it (min 10k) to top up the saving combo. Since you are topping up, the 20% FD which you need to deposit into Smart Saver is considered as you are meeting the requirement of monthly deposit into your saving account.
You mean can top-up minimum RM 10K into saving account from the OCBC Combo FD & saving promotion?

Minimum RM 10K..??

Anyway, this is a good idea, but minimum RM 10K.... sweat.gif

Thanks for the info... notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Sep 3 2012, 01:51 AM
gsc
post Sep 3 2012, 11:00 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Sep 3 2012, 01:34 AM)
Thank you so much for the detail information, really appreciate it.  notworthy.gif

Yes, I have visited your blog sometimes; just recently I did not check it out...

Considering the opportunity cost including need to wait for 2 working day to clear the check
in OCBC, I think I will go for UOB..

Thanks for the lighting speed to update UOB FD promo, this really helps....  smile.gif

Added on September 3, 2012, 1:51 am

You mean can top-up minimum RM 10K into saving account from the OCBC Combo FD & saving promotion?

Minimum RM 10K..??

Anyway, this is a good idea, but minimum RM 10K.... sweat.gif

Thanks for the info...  notworthy.gif
Top up rm10k in fd plus rm2k in smart saver.

If banker cheque, it is considered as valid on day of opening fd.
magika
post Sep 3 2012, 12:03 PM

2,620 posts

OCBC Combo Deals, Smart Saver interest is in.. exactly 3%..

I think smart savers account cannot be touched even after 90 days is up, as it would constitutes as withdrawal, simply have to wait until the calender month is up..

This post has been edited by magika: Sep 3 2012, 12:18 PM
TSGen-X
post Sep 3 2012, 01:18 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Sep 2 2012, 03:37 PM)
Yah, Smart Saver Interest Rate up to 3% is one of the highest interest rate you can find for Savings Account (not Savings Plan).

QUOTE(stchan @ Aug 17 2012, 11:13 PM)
To all the musical chair sifus:

When you are in between musical chairs, meaning, when your FD has matured and while waiting for another good promotion, where is the best place to park your money?
The wait could be a few days to a few weeks.
I usually park my money in CIMB Money Multiplier account - a current account that pays 2.5% pa if your deposit is RM10,000 or more.
Just wondering what better options there are.
QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Aug 18 2012, 12:37 AM)
Same here, my temporary parking lot. Currently the highest interest rate for the most liquid deposit category. But there is one downside though, you are allow only 3 free withdrawals in a calender month, any withdrawal thereafter will be charged RM5 per withdrawal.
QUOTE(AVFAN @ Aug 18 2012, 11:40 AM)
cimb preferred current a/c pays 2.4%, no restrictions on withdrawals but must be >50k at any time.
if you temp park at cimb i-trade trust account before buying stocks, it pays 2.5%.
think can't get better than that.
QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Aug 30 2012, 12:21 AM)
Great information bro! I didn't know they actually have these types of account that offer pretty attractive interest rates. One has to very hardworking in tracking all this benefits though as the account with so many T&C. Anyway, it's yet another great alternative when it comes to choosing a savings account. Thanks again for sharing  thumbup.gif
I just published my latest article The Best and Highest Savings Account in Malaysia for Adult, Children, Parents and Grandpas too. Hope can be some use to you guys and give you more options on where to park your money for short term besides FD smile.gif
MilesAndMore
post Sep 3 2012, 04:24 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Sep 3 2012, 01:18 PM)
I just published my latest article The Best and Highest Savings Account in Malaysia for Adult, Children, Parents and Grandpas too. Hope can be some use to you guys and give you more options on where to park your money for short term besides FD smile.gif
You're THE man bro! rclxms.gif

Anyway, you should consider to include CIMB Air Asia Savers Account as well as AMIslamic Bank Basic Savings Account-I into your table too.

By the way, last time I went to Maybank to open a regular Savings account, i kept on insisting I want the annual fee-free ATM card. But the guy told me if this is the case, he will help me to open a BSA instead but I insisted that he open a regular savings account for me and give me the 4x free ATM cash withdrawal ATM/debit card. In my opinion, this is better as you won't be charged on the 5th and so on Maybank ATM cash withdrawal if you have at least RM5k inside thumbup.gif

Anyway, back then my primary savings account was CIMB Air Asia Savers account as there was still no M2U savers. This CIMB Air Asia Savers Account pays me a flat interest of 1.60% pa and gives an extra incentive of RM5/month if i have an average balance of at least RM5k in a month. I opened a Maybank savings account so that I can view everything under a single login username and there is no need to call or go to the branch to link any new account as everything is automatic if you have a Maybank savings or current account.

gsc
post Sep 3 2012, 11:01 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(magika @ Sep 3 2012, 12:03 PM)
OCBC Combo Deals, Smart Saver interest is in.. exactly 3%..

I think smart savers account cannot be touched even after 90 days is up, as it would constitutes as withdrawal, simply have to wait until the calender month is up..
Smart saver interest highest is 3%, or can be 2.85% or 0.5%...depending on the amount deposited or any amount was withdrawn..I have attached a link before on SS.

Interest is credited monthly. You can log in internet banking and checked has the interest being credited. I got my SS interest on 31 Aug. But cant withdraw if I want to continue enjoy 3% interest. For those who open or top up saving combo in Sept, can only withdraw from smart saver in Dec.
aeiou228
post Sep 4 2012, 12:31 AM

5,867 posts

I would like to seek the opinion of all sifus here about the following concern.
With the Malaysia's sovereign debts reaching 52% of GDP as of last year and Gomen printing "NEW DESIGN" money. Do u think we should allocate certain % of our RM FD fund to foreign currency FD like Reminbi or USD ?

122 Pages « < 17 18 19 20 21 > » Top

0.0342sec    0.66    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 03:58 AM