Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V3, Read 1st post to find highest rate.

MilesAndMore
post Aug 16 2012, 06:04 PM

9,301 posts

OCBC is not the only foreign bank charging RM4 for every successful withdrawal at local banks ATM. A few other foreign banks are charging the same too. However, some banks such as HSBC and Citibank for instance, are subsidizing their customers holding certain account types by giving them x times of free cash withdrawal at local banks ATM.

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Aug 16 2012, 05:22 PM)
or it means NON-OCBC ATM cardholder withdraw at OCBC ATM terminal kena charge RM4? hmm.gif
No. You should refer to your bank for that. Local banks should still charge only RM1, even at foreign bank ATM through the MEPS network. RM4 is what most foreign banks charge to their ATM/debit card holder when withdrawing money through local banks ATM.

By the way, for those banks under House ATM network (HSBC, SCB, UOB and OCBC), you'll be charged only RM1 for each successful withdrawal using your OCBC ATM card at SCB ATM (just an example). If you're a SCB PB customer, you'll get unlimited fee-free withdrawals at all HSBC, UOB and OCBC ATM nationwide using your SCB PB VISA debit card.

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Aug 16 2012, 06:12 PM
MilesAndMore
post Aug 22 2012, 08:51 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Aug 22 2012, 08:13 PM)
And you know what, I just found out that the  "OCBC FD Cert" is "worthless". You don't need to bring that piece of paper when you want to withdraw your FD with OCBC. Just bring your NRIC will do.
Same goes to HSBC's. All they need is your MyKad and very important, your thumb biggrin.gif
MilesAndMore
post Aug 24 2012, 03:10 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Aug 23 2012, 11:50 AM)
Bro, you receive Monthly Statement from HSBC? And if you have online account, do they still sent it?
Yes. They still send me a monthly consolidated statement biggrin.gif However, HSBC HK will completely stop sending out statement to all account holder starting next month and this includes Private Banking & Premier Banking customers. Last year they said they will only charge those on non-packaged account as well as Advance customers. Guess they have a change of mind again... sweat.gif

On a different note, two or three months ago, all overseas customers staying outside of Singapore holding a HSBC SG account started to get their monthly statement mail in directly from HSBC HQ in Hong Kong. Previously all statement was mailed directly from HSBC SG. So I guess all HSBC SG overseas customers staying outside of Singapore will soon get a hard copy letter informing them that they must sign-up for online banking account because it will be the only way to check your account details/transactions sweat.gif

QUOTE(ViNC3 @ Aug 22 2012, 09:13 PM)

Just wondering, I plan to do FD with HSBC, since I have account with them, its easier to transfer to FD etc.
I been searching for it from the Websites, it seems like @ HSBC, they called it Time Savings?

I also saw Foreign Currency Time Savings? But I am not sure how it works.
Anyone know how it works?
Thanks for any advice.
It is called Time Deposit. The Islamic one is called Term Deposit-I. Not too sure about HSBC Foreign Currency Time Deposit as I do not have any FCTD with them smile.gif

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Aug 24 2012, 03:23 AM
MilesAndMore
post Aug 30 2012, 12:21 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Aug 29 2012, 10:45 PM)
Bro, if you had read my blog, I have a table there which clearly shows the interest rates for OCBC Smart Savers Account.

Having said that, OCBC do have another savings account which also pays 2.5% and above (if deposit RM1 and above) called Starter Savings Account (so you guys better not use SSA for Smarts Savers Account) BUT only pays interest rate of 0.5% if one does not deposit a single sen.
Great information bro! I didn't know they actually have these types of account that offer pretty attractive interest rates. One has to very hardworking in tracking all this benefits though as the account with so many T&C. Anyway, it's yet another great alternative when it comes to choosing a savings account. Thanks again for sharing thumbup.gif

MilesAndMore
post Sep 3 2012, 04:24 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Sep 3 2012, 01:18 PM)
I just published my latest article The Best and Highest Savings Account in Malaysia for Adult, Children, Parents and Grandpas too. Hope can be some use to you guys and give you more options on where to park your money for short term besides FD smile.gif
You're THE man bro! rclxms.gif

Anyway, you should consider to include CIMB Air Asia Savers Account as well as AMIslamic Bank Basic Savings Account-I into your table too.

By the way, last time I went to Maybank to open a regular Savings account, i kept on insisting I want the annual fee-free ATM card. But the guy told me if this is the case, he will help me to open a BSA instead but I insisted that he open a regular savings account for me and give me the 4x free ATM cash withdrawal ATM/debit card. In my opinion, this is better as you won't be charged on the 5th and so on Maybank ATM cash withdrawal if you have at least RM5k inside thumbup.gif

Anyway, back then my primary savings account was CIMB Air Asia Savers account as there was still no M2U savers. This CIMB Air Asia Savers Account pays me a flat interest of 1.60% pa and gives an extra incentive of RM5/month if i have an average balance of at least RM5k in a month. I opened a Maybank savings account so that I can view everything under a single login username and there is no need to call or go to the branch to link any new account as everything is automatic if you have a Maybank savings or current account.

MilesAndMore
post Sep 5 2012, 04:28 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Sep 4 2012, 01:18 AM)
Bro, I am honored to get a compliment from you, my sifu  biggrin.gif

And like I said, you my sifu, you already open a MBB SA with the option of FREE annual fee for the ATM Card way before I was even aware there was one  notworthy.gif
I respect you, you also respect me. Sama-samalah tongue.gif

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Sep 4 2012, 01:18 AM)
However, I don't think I want to go revise my table because when I did it, I specifically only wanted to list out SA that pays 2% above. Less than 2%, there are many. Moreover, many current accounts also pays close to 2% and above.
Sure. No problem icon_rolleyes.gif And you are right. There are quite a few current accounts in the market paying close to 2% and above.

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Sep 5 2012, 01:06 AM)
This is Standard & Chartered Bank ESaver Plus saving account, the Ringgit amount
requirement for 3% interest rate is very high    sweat.gif
When the e$aver account was first introduced back in October 2007, Standard Chartered was paying 2.50% for balance between RM1-RM100,000. Back then it was also giving out 7% rebate for petrol. The 7% petrol rebate was a promotion of course but the promotion was extended 3 or 4 times. It was the BEST savings account back then rclxms.gif But now... it's so cry.gif
MilesAndMore
post Sep 15 2012, 09:57 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Sep 15 2012, 02:29 AM)
As for UOB PB, in the previous months they did offer 0.05% higher FD rate to their PB customers and they do invite their PB customers to good dinner/talk once a while. But other than that, no major diff and they still charge me RM2,15 for their cheque!!!
HSBC will only invite you to some fancy dinner or ask you to go to their branch to have some free moon cake/light refreshment if you've invested in their unit trust/structured product etc. in that particular year doh.gif

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Sep 15 2012, 02:29 AM)
By the way, i totally agree with what you said in your blog about not to be influenced blindly when your Relationship Manager advises you to invest in one of their bank's structured investments. I invested in a 4-year structured product in 2009 and the return to date is nil. Yup, 0 cry.gif I should have just put the extra money in ASW2020 (lots of unsold Bumi units then). The lowest dividend ever declared for ASW2020 in the past 3 years was 6.30% doh.gif On the bright side, this structured product that I invested in will mature next year. Finally sweat.gif

QUOTE(plumberly @ Sep 15 2012, 09:05 AM)
As economy recovers later, OBR will increase and thus FD rate as well. OBR's increase to dampen the inflation as economy picks up pace.
The correct term is OPR smile.gif

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Sep 15 2012, 10:13 AM
MilesAndMore
post Sep 15 2012, 08:22 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Sep 15 2012, 12:38 PM)
No need go with ASW2020, deposit into FD at board rate also guarantees you positive interest tongue.gif
Bro, you qualified CPA kah?
Ya lah doh.gif Won't buy any of these things again sweat.gif

MilesAndMore
post Sep 16 2012, 06:00 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(plumberly @ Sep 16 2012, 10:14 AM)
Moderator, if this discussion is not allowed in this thread, please let me know. Thanks.
No worries. You have not gone off-topic so it's fine smile.gif

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Sep 16 2012, 11:10 AM)
Cash is King
Totally agree with you nod.gif

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Sep 16 2012, 06:00 PM
MilesAndMore
post Oct 2 2012, 08:39 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(plumberly @ Oct 2 2012, 07:46 PM)
Read in Oct's Personal Money magazine something too good to be true. Page 43 states " A notable mention is Alliance Bank's Alliance Buddy account which gives bonus interest of 10% on the total yearly interest."

Don't have Alliance bank in my town. Give them a call if you are interested. And keep me posted. Thanks.
No. It's not too good to be true. The 10% interest is given on the total yearly interest earned.

Assume that your savings account comes with a per annum interest of 1%, and let say that you've earned only RM10 for this savings account of yours last year, the 10% extra interest will be given based on the RM10 you got. Basically it's like interest on your interest earned.

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Oct 2 2012, 08:40 PM
MilesAndMore
post Oct 5 2012, 09:23 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(plumberly @ Oct 5 2012, 07:52 PM)
Is FD dividend taxable ?

Less than RM100k, no tax ?

Or no tax for any amount ?

No tax for any amount for a few years already. Last time one had to split his FD in several RM100K in each account to avoid being taxed.
MilesAndMore
post Oct 5 2012, 10:13 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(kslee79 @ Oct 5 2012, 09:25 PM)
I think interest-bearing accounts in Malaysia such as FD, the paid-interest is already after-tax. Anybody can confirm this?
Not. It is not.

MilesAndMore
post Oct 6 2012, 01:01 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(tbheng @ Oct 6 2012, 12:08 AM)
The IBG I did last week went through within the same day. The fund was available @ 6pm when I checked.  thumbup.gif
All online IBG transfers made before the bank's daily cut-off time on a banking day (varies by banks, normally between 11.30am-12.30pm) will be credited to the designated bank account on the same day by 6pm. For money transfer to banks such as Maybank, CIMB Bank, HSBC etc, sometimes you'll get the money as soon as 2pm on the very same day.
MilesAndMore
post Oct 12 2012, 09:52 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(hotnikon @ Oct 12 2012, 09:26 AM)
I save RM10000 in pbb FD for 3motnhs.
It matures until this month and I received letter from Maybank yesterday.
The letter said that tell me to brind the letter to bank for withdrawal!
PBB or Maybank ? Anyway... see below.

QUOTE(hotnikon @ Oct 12 2012, 09:26 AM)
Is not FD automatically renew???????
It depends on what your instruction is when you opened the account.

MilesAndMore
post Oct 16 2012, 01:18 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Oct 16 2012, 12:26 AM)
Anyway, it gave me an idea, those of you who opt for early retirement can join a bank and earn 1% extra from your FDs smile.gif No need waste time playing FD musical chair.
drool.gif My friends who work in bank told me quite a few things about the perks they get, but they did not mention about this 1% extra. That is so good!!! ... for them that is sweat.gif

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Oct 16 2012, 01:18 AM
MilesAndMore
post Oct 16 2012, 07:31 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ Oct 16 2012, 11:17 AM)
When you have 2 million and more you probably wont be in this forum playing musical chair
I think having RM2 million or above gives one even more reason to play musical chair. Yes. There are other investments that give better return but the risk is greater and timing is crucial. And not to mention that certain types of investment make your money very illiquid unlike FD. A wise man with RM2 million or above should diversify his investment and at the same time keeping a big portion of his cash in highly liquid FD biggrin.gif

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Oct 16 2012, 11:46 AM)
I was thinking more like back office jobs that does not need to entertain complains nor meet the public - e.g. IT support, Building Management, Security, Human Resource, Credit Valuation Dept, Credit Card Processing Dept (maybe I should apply for this), etc.
LOL. There was one Public Bank staff that used to frequent this site. Unfortunately I don't remember his username. Else you can contact him to see if he is still working at PBB and if there is any vacancy at their credit card department. Public Bank definitely can use your expertise to beef up their game tongue.gif

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Oct 16 2012, 12:22 PM)
Work in banks also can get 0% sales charge in unit trust. That is what I know from UOB.
0% interest for housing loan up to RM100K. Above that amount, it is something like 2% fixed! drool.gif For car hire purchase, I think it's 1%. Have to ask them again biggrin.gif

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Oct 16 2012, 02:17 PM)
I would think the more money one have, the more sensitive one would respond to even a slight increase of interest rate in FD musical chair.
Agreed biggrin.gif
MilesAndMore
post Jan 4 2013, 04:21 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(s_kates81 @ Jan 4 2013, 03:18 PM)
Does Premium Banking allow for an interbank transfer more than 5K per day by online banking?
HSBC (not restricted to HSBC Premier Banking) has a daily IBG limit of RM40,000. The default limit is RM5,000/day though. You need to change the limit at any HSBC branch.

MilesAndMore
post Jan 5 2013, 01:26 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(fahrur_07 @ Jan 4 2013, 09:21 PM)
i have 14k
i plan to use it on march this year for car downpayment
better to put it in ASB or fixed deposit?
Huh ? Anyway, if it is between ASB or FD, the answer is ASB. No doubt!

QUOTE(s_kates81 @ Jan 4 2013, 09:21 PM)
You mean to say that if HSBC Premier, there are no limits on IBG ?
Not restricted to HSBC Premier means all HSBC accounts get RM40,000/day online IBG limit too.

MilesAndMore
post Jan 12 2013, 01:49 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(magika @ Jan 12 2013, 01:14 PM)
Not scared BR collapse meh !
It is highly unlikely for any banks in Malaysia to collapse though. If something goes wrong, most likely it will be taken over by another bank and the bank that took over the failed bank will assume all the liabilities. So basically your deposit is safe.
MilesAndMore
post Jan 13 2013, 01:59 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Jan 12 2013, 01:49 PM)
It is highly unlikely for any banks in Malaysia to collapse though. If something goes wrong, most likely it will be taken over by another bank and the bank that took over the failed bank will assume all the liabilities. So basically your deposit is safe.
Haha. I see. Didn't get it then sweat.gif

0.0538sec    1.03    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 11:11 AM