122 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Bottom

Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V3, Read 1st post to find highest rate.

SUSMNet
post Aug 14 2012, 11:33 PM

11,954 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Aug 14 2012, 11:30 PM)
No offence, but SERIOUSLY your understanding of FD is TOTALLY FLAWED and yet u talk like everyone else is wrong
Problem is how u know mine is flaw?

To answer ur Q

if a person open 12 month FD and decided to withdraw prematurely

after 3 month will get 3.5%
after 6 month 3.6%
after 9 month 3.8%

If withdraw premature
@3 month
Profit rate is
10k x 3.5% x 30/365 x 3 = ur profit rate

@6 month
Profit rate is
10k x 3.6% x 30/365 x 6 = ur profit rate

@9 month
Profit rate is
10k x 3.8% x 30/365 x 9 = ur profit rate

Assumption 1 month = 30 day

Am I right or u have better calculation ?
SUSPink Spider
post Aug 14 2012, 11:35 PM

Formerly known as Prince_Hamsap
16,872 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Aug 14 2012, 11:32 PM)
*ignore silly questions from MNet from now on*
My answer already given in the previous page, I don't wanna repeat anymore sleep.gif

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Aug 14 2012, 11:36 PM
SUSMNet
post Aug 14 2012, 11:43 PM

11,954 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Aug 14 2012, 11:35 PM)
My answer already given in the previous page, I don't wanna repeat anymore sleep.gif
oh u mean this ?

If u place 5 years i.e. 60 months FD at 4.5% at then withdraw after 2 years, u get 4.5% x 1/2 x 2 years (applying conventional banking FD rules), NOT 4.2%

basically the u get the half of the interest rate stated at the fd slip?

if WD @ 3rd yr then calculate

4.5% x 0.5 x 3 ?
magika
post Aug 14 2012, 11:45 PM

2,605 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Aug 14 2012, 11:35 PM)
Same I think there is an ignore button somewhere like previously we did for a bad apple..

n yet moderator allowed known troll to destroy what is supposedly a thread that benefit most of us..

Back to FD at OCBC, I was to closed a savings account that was not used when the RO pointed out to me that I needed that account for keeping the funds for online FD. The recently opened smartsaver account must not be used as that constitutes a withdrawal.. Hope forummers are aware of it..

This post has been edited by magika: Aug 14 2012, 11:54 PM
SUSPink Spider
post Aug 14 2012, 11:50 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(magika @ Aug 14 2012, 11:45 PM)
Same I think there is an ignore button somewhere like previously we did for a bad apple..

n yet moderator allowed known troll to destroy what is supposedly a thread that benefit most of us..
(1) Trolling
(2) Not trolling but is like a glass full of water

Either way, it's ignore button for me.

Added on August 14, 2012, 11:50 pm
QUOTE(MNet @ Aug 14 2012, 11:43 PM)
oh u mean this ?

If u place 5 years i.e. 60 months FD at 4.5% at then withdraw after 2 years, u get 4.5% x 1/2 x 2 years (applying conventional banking FD rules), NOT 4.2%

basically the u get the half of the interest rate stated at the fd slip?

if WD @ 3rd yr then calculate

4.5% x 0.5 x 3 ?
Yes

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Aug 14 2012, 11:50 PM
ronnie
post Aug 14 2012, 11:55 PM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

I always ignore MNet posts... waste time and bandwidth
p.s. uses FEMALE tag but signature says MALE....
magika
post Aug 14 2012, 11:55 PM

2,605 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Aug 14 2012, 11:50 PM)
(1) Trolling
(2) Not trolling but is like a glass full of water

Either way, it's ignore button for me.

Added on August 14, 2012, 11:50 pm

Yes
dont encouraged the troll..
SUSPink Spider
post Aug 14 2012, 11:56 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Aug 14 2012, 11:55 PM)
+100

Then with that rolleyes.gif face

Ok, at least I know I'm not alone, I don't need to seek anger management help

Added on August 15, 2012, 12:00 am
QUOTE(magika @ Aug 14 2012, 11:45 PM)
Back to FD at OCBC, I was to closed a savings account that was not used when the RO pointed out to me that I needed that account for keeping the funds for online FD. The recently opened smartsaver account must not be used as that constitutes a withdrawal.. Hope forummers are aware of it..
Bro, I'm interested to open an account with another bank (I already got one) that has online FD placement function. Can u help me with a few questions on OCBC e-FD?

(1) e-FD can be placed/uplifted anytime, anyday, including on a non-working day?
(2) Is placement/upliftment effected immediately? So that if I uplift now, next minute I can use the funds already?

Please advise notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Aug 15 2012, 12:00 AM
magika
post Aug 15 2012, 12:02 AM

2,605 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Aug 14 2012, 11:55 PM)
well it took up a lot of my time enquiring for the person queries. it makes me think to really considered who to help next time.. my bad for thinking since i am at the bank might as well ask for info to help others. even received a pm, from some forummers to ask on some issues. hopefully this will be a lesson learnt and also a lesson to forummers not to divulge their net worth..

Added on August 15, 2012, 12:07 am
QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Aug 14 2012, 11:56 PM)
+100

Then with that rolleyes.gif face

Ok, at least I know I'm not alone, I don't need to seek anger management help

Added on August 15, 2012, 12:00 am

Bro, I'm interested to open an account with another bank (I already got one) that has online FD placement function. Can u help me with a few questions on OCBC e-FD?

(1) e-FD can be placed/uplifted anytime, anyday, including on a non-working day?
(2) Is placement/upliftment effected immediately? So that if I uplift now, next minute I can use the funds already?

Please advise notworthy.gif
Sorry, my bankers cheque needs to be cleared to my saving account first before i i can do online Fd. I have done with MBB before but has not find a reason to withdraw prematurely. The principle behind eFD/online FD is for this purposes. Just that havent tested early withdrawal before. sweat.gif

eFD at MBB can be done anytime of day provided you have previous FD account no that they can link to. If not the first time it will take not sure one or two days. OCBC will try it this Thursday only can know..

This post has been edited by magika: Aug 15 2012, 12:17 AM
SUSPink Spider
post Aug 15 2012, 12:11 AM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(magika @ Aug 15 2012, 12:02 AM)

Added on August 15, 2012, 12:07 am

Sorry, my bankers cheque needs to be cleared to my saving account first before i i can do online Fd. I have done with MBB before but has not find a reason to withdraw prematurely. The principle behind eFD/online FD is for this purposes. Just that havent tested early withdrawal before. sweat.gif
It need not be premature withdrawal doh.gif

e.g. Your e-FD is maturing on 16-Aug-12, u selected auto renewal previously, then on 16-Aug-12 (maturity date) u decided to withdraw.

Is the fund available for use/transfer immediately?

Or e-FD at OCBC is still new, u haven't encountered a maturity before? laugh.gif
gsc
post Aug 15 2012, 12:15 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Aug 14 2012, 11:33 PM)
Problem is how u know mine is flaw?

To answer ur Q

if a person open 12 month FD and decided to withdraw prematurely

after 3 month will get 3.5%
after 6 month 3.6%
after 9 month 3.8%

If withdraw premature
@3 month
Profit rate is
10k x 3.5% x 30/365 x 3 = ur profit rate

@6 month
Profit rate is
10k x 3.6% x 30/365 x 6 = ur profit rate

@9 month
Profit rate is
10k x 3.8% x 30/365 x 9 = ur profit rate

Assumption 1 month = 30 day

Am I right or u have better calculation ?
as per Gen-x advice, you are correct on your own way of calculation and please deal with the bank happily
TSGen-X
post Aug 15 2012, 12:24 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(magika @ Aug 15 2012, 12:02 AM)
well it took up a lot of my time enquiring for the person queries. it makes me think to really considered who to help next time.. my bad for thinking since i am at the bank might as well ask for info to help others. even received a pm, from some forummers to ask on some issues. hopefully this will be a lesson learnt and also a lesson to forummers not to divulge their net worth..
I must say that your actions did show your sincerity wanting to assist others. But since you are new here, you are at the beginning of the learning curve and with time you will know who are spammers, post count hunters, non contributors (but claim themself to be one just because they posted an uninformative post), who you should just ignore and who are long winded persons (like me, hahaha). If a person keep posting questions, then you should take note.

As for PM, beware of those who sent you a PM, they are many lurkers here out to con people or insurance agents and credit cards agents trying to cari makan tongue.gif
Forum Rules and Regulations
Do not abuse the PM system. Do not send unsolicited messages, however well intentioned. A single PM is sufficient to constitute spam.
magika
post Aug 15 2012, 12:25 AM

2,605 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Aug 15 2012, 12:11 AM)
It need not be premature withdrawal doh.gif

e.g. Your e-FD is maturing on 16-Aug-12, u selected auto renewal previously, then on 16-Aug-12 (maturity date) u decided to withdraw.

Is the fund available for use/transfer immediately?

Or e-FD at OCBC is still new, u haven't encountered a maturity before? laugh.gif
This will be the first time doing online FD at OCBC. My main bank is MBB where most of my transaction take place. MBB online portal is quite good. OCBC are not really customer friendly their online portal i mean. Imagine each time you want to login have to wait for them to send sms for whatever they named it to login..

Even with MBB i just let it rollover the following months. Sorry could not help much.

SUSPink Spider
post Aug 15 2012, 12:30 AM

16,872 posts

Ok thanks bro for layan my question icon_rolleyes.gif
magika
post Aug 15 2012, 12:33 AM

2,605 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Aug 15 2012, 12:24 AM)
I must say that your actions did show your sincerity wanting to assist others. But since you are new here, you are at the beginning of the learning curve and with time you will know who are spammers, post count hunters, non contributors (but claim themself to be one just because they posted an uninformative post), who you should just ignore and who are long winded persons (like me, hahaha). If a person keep posting questions, then you should take note.

As for PM, beware of those who sent you a PM, they are many lurkers here out to con people or insurance agents and credit cards agents trying to cari makan  tongue.gif 
Forum Rules and Regulations
Do not abuse the PM system. Do not send unsolicited messages, however well intentioned. A single PM is sufficient to constitute spam.
Thanks for your concern, I am very careful on this security issues. There were some post in the forum asking the locality of my bank, that also I do not answer. Insurance agent and credit card agent wont find me that compliant. Till today I am insurance free except for mandatory vehicles and mortgage insurance.. notworthy.gif
post Aug 15 2012, 06:25 AM

4,228 posts

QUOTE(magika @ Aug 14 2012, 12:41 PM)
Just deposit today OCBC Combo with Smart Savers.
Did my calculation approx 4.2% pa for 3 months in total.
Initially when met RM for 3 months rate she quote me board rate, and after that only I ask about Combo and Internet FD then did she elaborate.
Thats the reason we have to have to be ready with our homework before depositing. Then after that her assistant was assigned to do all the paperwork. Relationship Officer (as to her title) was more than helpful & efficient, she did all the explaination & recomendation not only the pros but the cons too.  1+ up for her.  rclxms.gif  The RM1k per month deposit I plan to do it via Giro RM2.00. Less hassle..

Also deposit in the Internet FD thingy, and quite good at max RM25k 4.5% pa rate. Only thing is that the Bankers Cheque must await clearance before deposit thru Internet FD.

One thing about OCBC is, all transfer within own account (internet banking) are subjected to RM2.xx fees.

All in all, upliftment at BR plus depositing at OCBC took me 4 hours (2 hour - BR make mistakes in Bankers Cheques . 2 hour at OCBC)
So its quite a time consuming process for those intending to play musical chairs.

Just an update, someone was asking OCBC online giro, its max RM5k only...

BR FD upliftment Banker Cheque's free..
Same with me too. Luckily the staff reminded me not to withdraw from the SmartSaver a/c in the coming 3 months or else will not entitle for the 3% rate. Overall, we will get 4.25% which is the same as 1 of my housing loan interest rate. Not bad huh smile.gif

SUSPink Spider
post Aug 15 2012, 10:52 AM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(magika @ Aug 15 2012, 12:33 AM)
Thanks for your concern, I am very careful on this security issues. There were some post in the forum asking the locality of my bank, that also I do not answer. Insurance agent and credit card agent wont find me that compliant. Till today I am insurance free except for mandatory vehicles and mortgage insurance.. notworthy.gif
bro,

Svc Chg for withdrawal at MEPS ATM network ** RM4
Svc Chg for withdrawal on HOUSe ATM network ** RM1

http://www.ocbc.com.my/assets/pdf/Conventi...c%20Banking.pdf

MEPS ATM withdrawal charges RM4??? rclxub.gif
kwokwah
post Aug 15 2012, 01:09 PM

584 posts

Heard from my Banker that OCBC current Booster Deals which include the "Savings Combo Promo" is ending prematurely on 31st Aug 2012. Please be aware for those who plan to benefit from it during Sept 2012.
TSGen-X
post Aug 15 2012, 01:24 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(kwokwah @ Aug 15 2012, 01:09 PM)
Heard from my Banker that OCBC current Booster Deals which include the "Savings Combo Promo" is ending prematurely on 31st Aug 2012. Please be aware for those who plan to benefit from it during Sept 2012.
Truly appreciate this valuable info. Thank you.
Seybold
post Aug 15 2012, 03:45 PM

169 posts

Hi Guys, i need exp FD advise.

Example, if i open FD at CIMB or Maybank for RM10k for 6 month,
can i top up whenever i want during the 6 month period?

PS: never open FD before and no parent guidance.

Thank you in advance. smile.gif

This post has been edited by Seybold: Aug 15 2012, 03:46 PM

122 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.0377sec    0.35    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 06:13 PM