Cycling V3, General talks on Racing/road bikes

butthead
post Aug 17 2012, 09:11 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(cress @ Aug 17 2012, 09:08 AM)
Thanks all for your input, will b staying faithful with me MTB for now till I have the funds for a better setup. Onwards to more cycling, bike shorts, baggy or non baggy? Any reccomendations of shops in KL/PJ which carries a good variety of bike shorts?
For MTB? it's up to you... quite a lot of MTB riders use lycra nowadays... the normal padded shorts are more of a functional thing if you need em.. mostly the downhill riders will use them, i guess it offers extra protection in case of a fall as it is thicker than lycra and is not contacting the skin directly...
butthead
post Aug 17 2012, 09:21 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(cress @ Aug 17 2012, 09:17 AM)
Yep, need up cus my normal sporting shorts doest do a good job of protecting my *ehem* after a 1 hr + ride. Irritation & of course burning sensation down south. Furthermore, looking to do away with me gel saddle cover as it moves alot during my pedalling. Will be hunting for a pair later today and see whether they have it in my size or not....
GH, KH and Pedalspot has a wide selection... the former 2 is a bit more pricier... you can also head to bikepro as they too have some but mostly lycra..

Added on August 17, 2012, 9:22 amVuelta 2012 Startlist

confirmation that Andy is still nursing his broken pelvis... so, it's down to 2 man showdown between alberto and froome...

This post has been edited by butthead: Aug 17 2012, 09:22 AM
butthead
post Aug 17 2012, 09:44 AM

593 posts

think i saw pedalspot is only opening half day tomorrow on their sites...

you can take a look at their site too.. there is some listed apparels there....
butthead
post Aug 17 2012, 10:27 AM

593 posts

yeah... go get your watever spare tubes, patch kits, spare watever, bike service tomorrow... gonna be a long weekend without a ride if your bike breaks down...haha
butthead
post Aug 17 2012, 10:43 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(tenno @ Aug 17 2012, 10:32 AM)
Upshift 1 or 2 cogs, stand up & rock Ur bike. Dun move Urself from right to left, I've seen ppl doing it. On long climbs with gradual inclines, it's more economical to sit down & push, but every 10 mins or so upshift & stand to stretch Ur legs & back. U need to upshift becoz naturally standing will generate more power & Ur cadence will increase.

Dun worry too much about the clipless pedals la, in most cases, in case something happen, Ur feet will automatically be disengaged... even at the strongest setting. Ur lucky ppl these days dun really go thru the toeclip & straps era... tongue.gif  U shud be more worried about the cleats. Old or worn out cleats will be easier to disengage, intentionally or accidentally...
now got sifu teach... should be more convincing tongue.gif

actually... last time toe straps also can come out in case of emergencies because i don't used to tighten the strap up very tightly... lousy at track standing la.. so, have to keep dismounting at traffic lights and stops...

yeah... worn out cleats are a ball buster... imaging climbing out of the saddle and then your foot pops out... lands you right in the kanickies ala lance armstrong style in the 2003 tour up luz ardiden...
butthead
post Aug 17 2012, 03:39 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(hianboy @ Aug 17 2012, 02:35 PM)

Added on August 17, 2012, 3:27 pmAston Martin came out a bike version One-77

http://www.cyclingnews.com/features/photos...ne-77-superbike

old news la pundet...
butthead
post Aug 18 2012, 07:13 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(ryan3721 @ Aug 17 2012, 11:40 PM)
is this sarcastically aimed at someone or wat?
butthead
post Aug 18 2012, 10:42 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(nlik @ Aug 18 2012, 09:46 PM)
Automatic disengage. That is if you are already an experienced clipless pedal user.

Today,  My first time on Clipless pedals.

Beginner, entry level set of Time First and Shimano shoes.
[attachmentid=3006453]

Sadly, I tipped over and Fell down while at a stationary traffic light sad.gif . My mind went Confused n Blank how come my legs stuck to the pedal, then within 2 seconds whole bike tipped to the right and fell to the ground, right knee bleed. Oh well, haha.. we all have to learn the hard way sometimes.  blush.gif

Did read the instruction manual at the shop, practiced on the bike trainer.. at least 30 times each foot. Yet maybe was tired at the end of the day and it's like i was drunk or something .. aih.. I hope it won't happen again. rclxub.gif
it's not automatic disengage... tenno is just pointing out the fact that in an event of a crash while the bike is moving..most likely the forces involved would have been enough to twist your foot out of the pedal even with the strongest tension setup...

on MTB... here is a difference between the Shimano cleats in the old days.. there was a uni-directional one and a multi-directional cleat that allows release via inward, outward and even very heavy upward jerks... for in case you flip over the bars and crash which happens quite a lot in mountain biking...

well, nothing more can be said then get used to it.. the percentage of riders who "never crash" on initial usage of clipless pedals are very little... no matter how much you try on the trainer.. it just does not work because your mind is set on releasing the foot from the pedal while on the road you forgot about it until you come to a dead stop... then you panic and shit happens..

if you are lucky.. it'll never happen again, else.. a few more times and you'll learn...

just think about your foot every time you think of stopping.. until it becomes automatic...

This post has been edited by butthead: Aug 18 2012, 10:43 PM
butthead
post Aug 19 2012, 10:53 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Aug 19 2012, 01:57 PM)
That's why tilll now I still using normal pedal with normal shoe haha.. Furthermore lighter pedal too.
haha... you are missing out on all the "action"... if you count falling over while still attached to your bike and people standing on the road side laughing at your sorry ass hysterically "action"...

QUOTE(nlik @ Aug 19 2012, 05:23 PM)
Yea.. you're right.  So it's slightly heavier to go for the clipless pedals. I have yet to see if they actually help with pedalling or not.
it's something that you will feel when you go back to normal pedal after a while using clipless...

for some people, it's about getting a more complete / smoother pedal stroke.. some people use it because they don't want their foot slipping off under duress..

QUOTE(sunghajung11 @ Aug 19 2012, 07:01 PM)
bought my first road bike and my first ride at putrajaya today!!!
It was FUN but i feeel so broke now... bank account suddenly depleted so much.
sorry to break it to you kid... let's hope you don't have high ambitions with your bike... else, you will go from broke to being in debt whistling.gif

else, i wish you happy riding days and be contempt with what you own...

butthead
post Aug 20 2012, 10:46 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(afn. @ Aug 19 2012, 11:06 PM)
Hi! I need help with buying MTB. I've been looking for an entry level MTB and i am a beginner just about to start mountain biking. Any suggestion? My budget is 3k.
yeah.. agree with stimix... go ask the MTB sifus there... just remember to read the 1st page first before asking them anything or they will give you the...

QUOTE(nlik @ Aug 19 2012, 11:38 PM)
haha.. damn..then i'm geting mine for the wrong reason..    Peer Pressure cool.gif .
Anyway, the practical reason i wanted to try, is  the hope that it will spread/even out the workload on the legs. Shift some work to the back of the legs.
dunno wat you meant back shift work to the back of the legs..

but with clipless or straps... you get to practice a much more efficient pedal stroke and distribute the load or in other words apply power over almost the entire rotation of the crank... not just plain pushing down on the pedal from 1'oclock to 5'oclock position...

which is why i said.. once, you get used to it.. you will notice what you are missing once you go back to normal platform pedals...

give it some read... can't master it in short time.. needs some time to get used to it before it becomes a natural / automatic thing that happens...

http://www.bicycling.com/training-nutritio...ct-pedal-stroke
http://www.body2bike.com/articles/perfect_pedalstroke.pdf
http://www.cyclingtips.com.au/2009/05/effi...stroke-ankling/

QUOTE(stimix @ Aug 20 2012, 08:45 AM)
Well, for me, it's due to the weight and the price. It's not cheap and weighth more than normal pedal. <y current pedal only weight 110gm on each side.  biggrin.gif
haiyah... tak boleh kira until li tat la...

the weight increase there might affect overall bike weight.. but don't have major effects on the performance on the bike la... furthermore... the slight gramage creep gets wiped out by it's massive advantages...
butthead
post Aug 20 2012, 06:41 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(afn. @ Aug 20 2012, 11:31 AM)
Dude, relax i was just asking because the topic title was "Cycling V3, General talks on bicycles". So. Daaa..
dude... i am relaxed... jus giving you a bit of heads up before you get bashed over there.. you know lar.. MTBers are tough dudes...

anyways... was on my lousy phone replying earlier... hard to type too many words blush.gif

RM3k is quite generous if you are starting off with a hardtail... it depends on which aspect of MTB you are looking into..

hardtail XC? full sus XC? All mountain? downhill?

RM3k can start you something quite decent with the first but will not be even enough to make it into the latter 3 cats at all... with MTB.. i guess there is no running away from Merida & Giant since they are quite big in the budget market... of course you can take a look at other brands, but they might start off a bit more expensive...o

of course XDS and the likes makes lots of very interesting bikes too for the price they offer... but i guess the MTB thread guys will agree with most of us in trying your hardest to steer away from it...one way or another among the 2001 reasons...

make way for some money for helmets and protection gear too.. shorts and watchamacallit that you need...MTB has a vast variety of different things to consider (from types of bikes, frame, to drivetrain, mechanical or hydro discs, fork, etc..) ... you should consider hitting the net to take a look at the range of brands to consider first and then the shops later to realize what you can or cannot afford to buy... it's a matter of where you want to invest the majority of your money into...

http://www.merida-bikes.com/
http://www.scott-sports.com/global/en/

specialized, Yeti, and many others in KL...the baikbike directory is a good guide for shops...

QUOTE(stimix @ Aug 20 2012, 02:39 PM)
Time to change the topic title to Racing/road bike rather than Cycling liao for sure haha...

MTB & RB are consider two distinct cat & dog for sure
haha... the topic are kinda greedy in wanting to hit every aspect of cycling... be it fixie, singlespeed or even the japanese ultra mini wheel bike if possible...

This post has been edited by butthead: Aug 20 2012, 06:47 PM
butthead
post Aug 21 2012, 11:02 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(mrjgx @ Aug 21 2012, 10:29 PM)
Suddenly hands itchy wanna buy new bib shorts...saw some of the latest collection from pedalspot and the super sleek looking bib in black red color..however for its price ~rm450 I better get a pair of gp4000s..haihs...but I'm so tempted. It's been long since I last wanna buy cycling related stuffs..managed to control the unnecessary lusts. Lately I've been wanting a new super bright tail light (blinkers), and a big shorts with a nice set of jersey...zzz

Talking about Merida brand..i admit it is very very hard and rare for me to find another Merida owners during my weekend ride..they all only popped out everywhere like mushrooms when there are ride events, charity ride, etc. I don't  know where all those Merida owners ride during weekend... hmm.gif

But merida bike is good you know..I own one. The after sale service is quite good too so I'm happy with my purchased, although I didn't really like its brand name..sounds girlish and Spanish.

For a beginner I would recommend either Merida or Giant bike. For around Rm5k - 10k difference, you can only eliminate a mere kgs only with those top of the line carbon bikes...Better shed your own body weight and keeps the wallet happy  nod.gif

I forgot my bike's weight..hurm....Last I check was 8kg..change wheelsets it reduced to 7.5kg..then I weigh the bike without removing front and tail lights and all the sensors...should be around 7.2kg or less if I didn't wrong on the initial 8kg weight..hehe..

Owh btw, Anyone registered for the granfondo event yet?
yeah.. merida sounds like the mirinda soft drink... a blardy cookie name...

i think all the merida is being used as "crash bikes"... on normal rides with buddies... use the high end carbon ones.. on big events where there is countless idiots that can incite a crash... bring out the merida...no heart feelings breaking a merida...hahaa

no offense la.. but it's not the worst bike there is in the market.. and if it helps anything... i think they are the 2nd largest frame makers both inhouse and for OEM and ODM after Giant... so, technology and experience in frame making is on par with most others... that is unless you want the best of the best of the best.. then you know where to look in that case..
butthead
post Aug 21 2012, 11:57 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(littlebeettle @ Aug 21 2012, 11:31 PM)
guys,

will need some help from any of you here...

my brother upgraded his polygon frame to proton t-sprint half carbon frame.

There will require an additional accessory to hold the shifting cable located at the down tube in order to make his Tiagra groupset fully integrated.

The bike shop owner told us he will take some time to order that part from Taiwan.

Does anyone here know what is the name of this part?
the proton frames should not be using downtube shift levers... so they should not require the shifter boss converter kit for STI levers as far as i know... so, not sure which part your bike shop is referring to...

maybe take a pic of the offending problem and post it up...

it'll be darn funny if this thing is still needed in this day and age...

tat or it broke off.. if it broke off... god help you..

QUOTE(Proclaimer @ Aug 21 2012, 11:50 PM)
Did a Genting Sempah -> Bukit Tinggi Peak(Berjaya Hills) and back, estimated 800+ above sea level, total 40km. All i can say is the ascent is freaking nuts!   rclxub.gif

Descent though is one of the best i've experience!  rclxms.gif
no ascent is un-nuts... as long as it heads up... it's a suffer fest...

i did a 700M climb on sunday before i ran out of water... 600+ on yesteday before i ran out of energy and just a peek over 300M today before my tube finally gave up on me... sucked big time...

Added on August 21, 2012, 11:59 pm
QUOTE(Proclaimer @ Aug 21 2012, 11:50 PM)

Added on August 21, 2012, 11:56 pm

Haha, you ask this in MTB thread you sure die.

Best is to go LBS to get some info of what a 3k bike can offer you. If you dont mind second hand stuff you can check bicyclebuysell out. There are always good deals there if you look hard and smart enough.  smile.gif
tried to warn him... jus hope he is one of the lucky ones who escapes un-harmed blush.gif

This post has been edited by butthead: Aug 22 2012, 12:02 AM
butthead
post Aug 22 2012, 09:10 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(ryan3721 @ Aug 22 2012, 02:05 AM)
Guys need input: roadie odo already around 3300km now and the 105 chain is .75% stretch. lbs quoted me shimano 105 chain RM115.

Is that a normal price? Any idea KMC x10 chain good or not? Saw Ebay selling boxed version of gold color X10SL for USD52 with delivery...

A friend suggested SRAM instead, hmm...

Thank you.
cheapest 10 speed chains are around the price of RM100... +- a bit depending of your bike shop...

KMC good in terms of??? i always personally think of KMC as a fancy chain and a lightweight one with the X10SL... and with anything that is lightweight.. comes with problems of longevity...

i'd say go with the shimano if you want conservative and go with the KMC if you want a fancy chain... just don't gripe about it if it wears down any quicker than your current shimano does... i haven't used KMC before, but i had used one of the token lightweight ones before... killed it in less than 6 months and along with it tore a couple of tooth of the aluminum cassette that i bought along with it... painful experience, never gonna try those stuff again...

in terms of shimano vs sram... there is no difference as far as i have tried... have tried SRAM chain on shimano and both shimano chain on SRAM... no skips or slips or visible degradation of front chain ring shifting performance...

of course, some purist will tell you that the specific chains are designed with their own components in mind especially how the chain ring pins and ramps are designed.. so, it is up to you on whether to believe it or not.. i personally felt no difference... that or i am not picky enough...
butthead
post Aug 22 2012, 09:48 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Aug 22 2012, 09:20 AM)
Guys, gals, boys and girls,

Anyone is joining Ride for Life???

3 days 370KM, from Trolak, Perak to Batu Feringgi, Penang.

your pocket will be burn RM500, but tax examptible.

tax exempted or not... losing RM500 is not going to go well with me...

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Aug 22 2012, 09:34 AM)
that rider in the poster, his ass kena cucuk dengan saddle eh? that has gotta hurt
more like hitting his gonads icon_question.gif

or maybe his balls is itching and he is just scratching his balls with his saddle.

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Aug 22 2012, 09:34 AM)

Added on August 22, 2012, 9:36 am

shimano DA, rm140. only rm25 diff from your quoted shimano 105. not that i'm telling to buy DA chain, but i want to show you that price difference is small. instead of DA, you might want to get ultegra chain. lighter, durable and cheaper than DA.
yeah.. same like cassettes... even team sky also uses ultegra cassettes for their domestiques... slightly heavier so it doesn't drop the bike below uci weight limit and more stronger than DA...

This post has been edited by butthead: Aug 22 2012, 09:49 AM
butthead
post Aug 22 2012, 11:57 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Aug 22 2012, 10:07 AM)
but i thinks Rife for Life charity event must have lot of chicks...  laugh.gif
you're the friggin devil... you trying to temp me or wat?

QUOTE(mrjgx @ Aug 22 2012, 10:21 AM)
until today havent tried other routes apart from hulu langat area and sempah-janda baik..bored already...  smile.gif
haha... try gohtong jaya from sempah.. more challenging...

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Aug 22 2012, 10:25 AM)
have you tried broga loop?
the 140K one? you wanna kill him meh?

QUOTE(mrjgx @ Aug 22 2012, 11:00 AM)
wheres captain butthead?  rclxms.gif
too far away la... i already lost interest before i get to starting point... i got very short attention span.. like 6 seconds or something like tat... wonder if they call that ADD...

Added on August 22, 2012, 12:00 pm
QUOTE(miaopurr @ Aug 22 2012, 11:10 AM)
get a few friends crazy enough, then hit the road. i've gained back my sanity, so i'll wait for your report here. smile.gif
you cunning *******... i just ain't stupid, me will wait for it too blush.gif

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Aug 22 2012, 11:10 AM)
congratulation on your new purchase and glad to know you are enjoying it. but i have to warn you, your fund will continue depleting further and further, month after month. don't worry, it's prefectly normal.
in the utterly fashion of hidden meanings.. miaopurr means bankruptcy due to cycling is a very common thing.... deal with it...

QUOTE(mrjgx @ Aug 22 2012, 11:32 AM)
haha..why..the route insane enough is it? im tempted to try...
don't tell us we didn't warn you... try to start at 9AM... more fun... will become roast chicken by the time you get back...

QUOTE(littlebeettle @ Aug 22 2012, 11:33 AM)
thanks buddy!

I found this Proton T-Sprint frame exactly like my brother unit.

I look carefully on the downtube, the cable stop on downtube looks much similar like the STI conversion kit u showed.

Right?

CIALATNESS!!! doh.gif whistling.gif

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Aug 22 2012, 11:43 AM)
genting, ulu yam bentong fraser.
oooo... twin peaks... i like... especially the lady ones..

This post has been edited by butthead: Aug 22 2012, 12:00 PM
butthead
post Aug 22 2012, 12:33 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Aug 22 2012, 12:12 PM)
6 secs only? hmm......

140k broga is the one that starts from bt14 - bt 18 - broga loop - bt 18 - bt 14, right? no bukit hantu right?

i tot kenot cycle up to gohtong jaya anymore?
yeah... explains why i don't have a GF... cannot focus attention on her more than 6 secs tongue.gif

can lar... with the will... no shit can stop you... worst case, go rambo 300m before the guard house... cyclocross style through the woods and come out after the guard post...
butthead
post Aug 22 2012, 01:35 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(mrjgx @ Aug 22 2012, 12:45 PM)
anyone tried broga loop alone? hehe. care to share the route map?
alone... you mad? with a sufferfest like this... you need mates to accompany you through the journey to hell...

QUOTE(mrjgx @ Aug 22 2012, 12:50 PM)
wanna buy but damn expensive! hopefully china will copy one and produce a much cheaper version...

http://www.bikerumor.com/2012/08/21/charge...dal/#more-47728
wat the heck is that? wat charges you when you run out of charge... chicken & egg situation here...

the china one will most probably give you a shock or fry your iphone when you plug it in...

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Aug 22 2012, 01:04 PM)
butthead, u wanna give some pointers to mrjgx on his maiden broga jantan attempt?
expect all hell to break lose on you... no amount tubes, powerbar/gel or steroid can prep you for that...

or at least that is wat i think the time i tried it riding from home... or, maybe i didn't have my dose of EPO the day before rclxub.gif

my pointers... just bring enough money and a fully charged phone... and put supercab on speed dial in case you need one mid-way through the ride and enough money to pay for cab fees...

QUOTE(Proclaimer @ Aug 22 2012, 01:13 PM)
For bukit tinggi there is only one road to enter which is by karak highway right?  hmm.gif
thought there is a way to take the bentong road to the kampung and then head up from there... don't dare try myself cause it's a long climb back up if cannot...

butthead
post Aug 22 2012, 02:30 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Aug 22 2012, 01:47 PM)
Not sure i posted this before or not:

Let me re-intro to you: Magnic Light !

this 1 peice of poison light cost as below:

Back light: USD 85
Front light USD 130

Combo of two above: USD 160.

technology = cost bomb.
on my 3000 dollar wheels (if i have lar)??? NO WAY!!!
butthead
post Aug 22 2012, 02:57 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(mrjgx @ Aug 22 2012, 02:34 PM)
haha interesting..but i rather buy cheap coin battery for rm3-5 tongue.gif

Added on August 22, 2012, 2:39 pm

haha thx bro..yea I guess since it's gonna be my virgin ride attempt up the loop..better i ask my cycling buddies to tag along...I never ride solo for a long distance before..tried HOA-sempah before and regret doing that alone..it's too risky.

im gonan bring 2 handphones just in case one failed..equipped with 2 telcos..

i dont have the patch tubes lor..
haha..with Mr. DIY around... slash that price by half...

yea... yea... definitely bring people to suffer with you... no fun suffering alone... jus remember to bring some slow pokes because watching them suffer gives you motivation and the chance to laugh at them slow pokes rclxms.gif and then seeing the buggers in front romping away gives you more motivation to catch them...

patch kits... go buy lar... cheap cheap only... saves your ass in case you run your tubes out...

buy the glueless patches as those are smaller kits and easier to use... you don't want to end up with sticky hands far away from any water source... you don't wanna pee on your hands to wash the glue off do you?

This post has been edited by butthead: Aug 22 2012, 02:58 PM

41 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0586sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 01:19 AM