41 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

Cycling V3, General talks on Racing/road bikes

butthead
post Aug 15 2012, 12:47 PM

593 posts

not a bad idea... provided the pao'er is a beautiful one...

then i have all the $$$ i need to buy my Canyon Ultimate CF with Mavic Rsys Ultimate and come tapao you all rclxms.gif

Added on August 15, 2012, 12:54 pm

see... now got plan adi...

This Friday...

one of the stops in penang...

第五站~<用马来西亚的"金曲"来说爱你>
这个星期五~你们一定要来!!
第五站~ Jaya One, Petaling Jaya
<用马来西亚的"金曲"来说爱你>
日期: 8月17日 晚上8点
特别嘉宾: 关德辉~
指定乐器: 两只铁汤匙
记得带来和我们乐玩音乐喔^^

This Sunday...

《BFF》单曲CD首卖即将登场啰!

《BFF》首卖新歌分享会@第七届海外华文书市
日期:8月18日(六)
时间:12pm
地点:Level 3, Grand Ballroom, KL Convention Centre

GO!!! GO!!! GO!!!

suddenly become event promoter pulak

This post has been edited by butthead: Aug 15 2012, 01:10 PM
butthead
post Aug 15 2012, 02:09 PM

593 posts

but, nvm rolleyes.gif i whole day off icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by butthead: Aug 15 2012, 02:15 PM
butthead
post Aug 15 2012, 04:25 PM

593 posts

think kindredd bought his ex-s40 for around RM2.5k maybe with some accessories...

try to stay with SCR1 or S40 if possible.. SCR2 has an aluminum fork while SCR1 has carbon with aluminum steerer i think...and also 8 vs 9-s on both the different ranges...
butthead
post Aug 15 2012, 05:08 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(KKLOO @ Aug 15 2012, 04:35 PM)
Yeah... I think carbon fork bike will be lighter... I now realise that famous brand entry level bike quite affordable as well... Think of Trek 1.2 as well... Btw... Any shop recommended for getting complete bike..? Fair price & wide range..??  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
don't go too far...

Trek Alpha 1.2 is reportedly over RM3k... brands like BMC, Specialized and Trek is a bit more costly even on their entry level bikes.... seldom have sub 800USD where you can find on american brands like Jamis Ventura Comp which is a sub 800USD category winner for multiple years on some bike magz...

and for that price, you still only get 9-s sora while most other reputable brands are creeping into 10-s tiagra...
butthead
post Aug 15 2012, 06:02 PM

593 posts

can find fuji.. then fuji lor....

if cannot find fuji.. find next best thing ma...

come out got wat use... must reach malaysia shores first ma
butthead
post Aug 16 2012, 09:25 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Aug 16 2012, 09:22 AM)
You sure you can get 1.8? i cant get that price in a small place of klawang also..
eons ago la....
butthead
post Aug 16 2012, 10:09 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Aug 16 2012, 10:06 AM)
Raya kambing!

4 days long holiday... suddenly too much time to spend in cycling. Everyday cycle cant sustain le...
i thought only action in the bed we can't sustain... cycling... wet wet water la...everyday go 2 rounds somemore... morning and evening...
butthead
post Aug 16 2012, 10:57 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(joonming @ Aug 16 2012, 10:12 AM)
i 4.5days , butthead 5 days
maybe 4 days maybe 5... planning to take leave... but, until now still not yet apply...

apply at last minute 5.15pm today if i feel like it...

QUOTE(hianboy @ Aug 16 2012, 10:15 AM)
The me and the holiday show-off...
My raya will be spent queuing up for an autographed CD...

and a 0.00001 in 200 million chance of winning a Canon DSLR which i don't like the color....

This post has been edited by butthead: Aug 16 2012, 10:58 AM
butthead
post Aug 16 2012, 12:19 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(hianboy @ Aug 16 2012, 11:14 AM)
y local artist? y? y? y? y? y?
support made in malaysia mah pundet... at least this one belum kena rampas to taiwan yet...

after people say me no patriotic and shit...

QUOTE(joonming @ Aug 16 2012, 11:24 AM)
Local can c can touch and maybe can eat
wei... i no pervert buy the CD back home and do naughty things to it, K...

i am gonna buy back, take the disc out and check for scratches and shit and frame it up, just for the fun of it...i already have 1 BRD and CD waiting to frame up... waiting for my ebay ordered poster to arrive and then send it off for framing... hahahhaha...muahahahaha

all never played before... especially the BRD since i don't even have a blu-ray player blush.gif
butthead
post Aug 16 2012, 12:41 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Aug 16 2012, 11:47 AM)
some Q on nutrition:

people normally willing to spend without doubt when paying for alcholol, for smoking, for gambling and etc etc....

but when come to nutrition, people have 101% doubt on it specially supplements.

How we as cyclist can have enough of nutrition to sustain our long ride? by eating more natural foods? but will it sufficient?

If our body did not get sufficient nutrition, our cycling wont be improve to next level. it's about train smart. but how?
haiyah... why give yourself a headache la...

for me... supplements, pre, mid or post recovery drinks is something you have to do for long term one la... not just because you go to events and use it specifically for that event... your body won't be able to adapt on how it is fed to it when it is not previously used to it...

i heard some people who is not used to using powergel actually have problem with it and up to the point of vomiting... some people say it's due to the flavor... but i think it's due to how your intestinal track find itself absorbing so much glucose, sodium and watchamacallit is in that gel pack in a short time frame and then went into overload and cause some unwanted actions after that... it's not only about adapting to it... it's purely also about teaching your body to efficiently absorb and take care of the different medium that is used to deliver this needed nutrients to your body... you can't jus put it into shock at the very last minute...

same like altitude training.. you don't just go to the blardy high mountains for 2 weeks and hope your body will adapt to the thin oxygen and start to develop more red blood cells... before and after that, you have to sleep in a blardy altitude tent for most of the time when you are at home or moving around just to prep, keep and sustain the level that your body is in...

same like girls diet la.. kenot just expect 3 apples for 1 day for 1 week and then expect to lose 5 kilos after that and never ever gaining it back.. wishful thinking la...

i for one got no money to go through proper fueling methodologies... i jus drink cold water as much as i can...

QUOTE(hianboy @ Aug 16 2012, 11:55 AM)
great mentos
mentos is great...

only RM1.70 per stick...i like.. if you lick it slowly... it will take 2 days to finish 1 stick...

QUOTE(joonming @ Aug 16 2012, 12:10 PM)
i only drink water b4 ride , or livita if tired that morning
kudos to that... drink cold if can... shows that you are not old man at the same time...

and maybe some caffeine pre-ride to help release the glycogen stores... but, don't overdo it or your might bonk before you complete your ride...

QUOTE(mrjgx @ Aug 16 2012, 12:19 PM)
Oi who's on leave tomorrow? Any place u guys riding? Hehe
wat is it la with you people... i wanna take leave but as minutes pass... it seems more and more impossible to leave work... WTF!!!

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Aug 16 2012, 12:19 PM)
sweat.gif 

WTF...  doh.gif 

ok la. I go try and bang my head trying every nutrition to improve my cycling endurance and performance.

Fraser Hill KOM race would be the good race to test it out!

oh yeah... btw, anyone joining KOM Fraser hill ? RM50 with limits to 450 cyclists !

450, what ranking should i aim for? top 20%? it's 90th ! wah....
wah.. top 20%.. wishful thinking boh???

think the top end of the group in the previous edition did something like a sub 1.5 hour ride or something like that..

Added on August 16, 2012, 12:46 pm
QUOTE(vin_ann @ Aug 16 2012, 12:24 PM)
anyone know where's in KL selling Drymax shock ??

i have 1 pair ordered from USA land, cost USD8.00 went missing when im moving! sigh....

Been using DryMax brand cycling shock... i can feel my legs are dry even after hours of cycling...
i like defeet... ask Terry from Creative Mill and see if he brought it in..

i have a pair of airator my friend bought from the states.. sayang to the max but still torn after using it for not long... it's as the name suggests... a very airy pair and drys out super fast if you kena pissed on mid rite by mother nature...

me like defeet... but not available in KL... except you want to buy those pedro's branded defeet socks...

u got try the online seller called ccube or not? i think he has a blog selling all this funny brands not available in malaysia one... maybe you got luck that he has it...

Added on August 16, 2012, 12:53 pmEUREKA!!!

the focker does have it... but only 1 type... the low cut ones...

http://ccube-sports-hub.blogspot.com/search/label/Drymax

This post has been edited by butthead: Aug 16 2012, 12:54 PM
butthead
post Aug 16 2012, 01:43 PM

593 posts

is that the 65.1 dogma 2 blink.gif ??? where's the EPS?

EPS!!! EPS!!! EPS!!!

looks like the next chris froome in the making tongue.gif
butthead
post Aug 16 2012, 01:51 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(dinraxxx @ Aug 16 2012, 01:46 PM)
you sir have sharp eyes..Yes! Jami brought in 4 of these from Singapore. brows.gif
it's written very clearly there mar...jus thanks to the excellent Ctrl + on my firefox... i barely made out the writings on the seat tube...

so, we can expect you to break into the sub 2 hour barrier of Cameron KOM this year?
butthead
post Aug 16 2012, 03:10 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(dinraxxx @ Aug 16 2012, 02:28 PM)
sorry, didn't get to register KOM.They closed the registration too fast
haha... Too many people join too fast..they reach the limit to quickly
butthead
post Aug 16 2012, 04:55 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Aug 16 2012, 03:27 PM)
i'm aware of your point. it's not 1 week or 2 weeks can achieve ma....

anyway, btw, you're right on powergel. some people even cant take single powergel... for me, running 5-6 hours of 42km marathon timing pace, i can have 5-6 packs of powergels without any problem... somemore it's 2X caffeine le...

1 pack cost RM7.50, eat 6 pack RM45, complete a 42km marathon priceless...

now i'm changing my diet to much heathier punya... can feel some dizzy....

Give you 1 situation: 1 year reduce 1 inch would be ok right. if 15 years, doing the consistent thing, you will be like kurus dahan batang pokok....
so it's not working.

Thus as workload increase, your body will be become fit. Fit to support the endurance activities. That's why explain the still gemuk me! it's my body to support me!

no doubt, nutrition = money. hope my bonus higher this year... then i can buy more nutrition to feed my body...
in some ways, you're right about the two way supports...

if you're a performance athlete.. you will be looking at things that are more on the edge like weighing food so you are taking in less carbo than you are burning... and only feed or overfeeding a bit your body during times of over-exertion / competition... feeding your body to aid recovery... things of that sort...

which is not wrong if you're a highly paid athlete whose role is to win at all costs...

that being said, performance athletes also have off season weight because they could not afford to strain their body that way all year round as it is unhealthy doing so...and i bet most of us can't even tahan being late for lunch more than 2 hours just sitting in the office tapping away at the keyboard..

my friend who was a nutritionist for an image consultancy once told me that... a normal healthy person needs to have a minimal of 10% and above body fat (let's not talk about the good and bad fats) to operate normally as to many people who doesn't know... fat is actually a source of energy to our bodies as well, not just during the time when your glycogen stores run out.. but it is actually being depleted as time goes by along with all other bodily reserves...below 15% is a bit borderlining, but still safe... and this are guidelines set for normal human beings like you and me.. not athletes which are in a totally different level as they can cope with those burden of not having enough reserves to run on for long periods of time...

the consequences of having too little body fat is wide and can range from constant sickness or even chronic fatigue and stuff like that... imagine stick figure anorexic super models without makeup and you know why...

based on that information... and some other crap i read over time.. i think there is a balance between muscle mass and body fat... in the perspective of us normal folks, that balance is different for everyone and the respective field that they are into... for instance, a person who climbs more would want as little body mass as possible so they themselves are easier to propel forward... but they also just want the right amount of muscle mass so they generate enough power to do so... as muscle = power and muscle also = mass... it also comes to how fast it uses your reserves.. which is why there is a delicate balance in having just enough muscle to get your through... in other words a lean machine...factor in the amount of time you need to sustain maximum effort... the whole shit becomes too complicated...

so, my point.. looking thin is not equaling to being fit... it's about the ratio of muscle mass to body mass with the factor of body fat thrown in as cycling is all about propelling your body forwards in as fast a manner as possible...

woah!!! epic stray off here... i don't even know what i just wrote... good luck with it.. the whack of crap above this most probably makes no sense and wasted your last 2.5minutes reading it...as usual...

back to topic...

think you should read some of the articles from the notorius doctor ferrari...old stuff... but i think it's true...

http://53x12.com/do/show?page=articles

they don't give you direct advise as in to take this or take that... but makes you think about what is needed for yourself and how to strategize it as every different body have different needs...also other interesting articles on the science of the sport...

Added on August 16, 2012, 5:00 pm
QUOTE(vin_ann @ Aug 16 2012, 04:45 PM)
dare to dream top 20% is good ma... 1.5 hours ah? hmmm... i thinks i only can achieve about ngam ngam 2 hours kua... off course with few packs of Hammer gel hentam masuk body system to boost the power and energy on legs pedalling up Fraser hills...
2 hours i think is the winner of KOM cameron....a whole 20++ KM longer than Frasers..

you treat your nutrition like it's dope...

This post has been edited by butthead: Aug 16 2012, 05:00 PM
butthead
post Aug 16 2012, 05:09 PM

593 posts

it's a newer dogma 2... the one team sky is riding now...

i think it's just a matter of learning it... i heard it is not as hard to setup compared to conventional cable operated ones... you just need to set the limit adjustment screws properly and the shifting is spot on automatically...

just need to learn the combination of button presses and stuff to zero the settings and shit..
butthead
post Aug 16 2012, 05:34 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Aug 16 2012, 05:23 PM)
i dont know about the details.

perhaps KH Msia is supported by KH SG, thus, some setup done in SG before send to Msia.

i  thinks i prefer the mechanical groupset... dont know how cheap can Dura-Ace groupset cost when the electronic groupset become common available !
KH SG in the big brother head office... maybe...

i don't think they will slash the price of DA mechanical since they look like making both mechanical and Di2 separate line ups...

QUOTE(tenno @ Aug 16 2012, 05:28 PM)
I think Running Lab got la... why not try Injinji while riding ? Could work ...
running lab is kinda quite pricey...

does it not work for cycling???

just thought it was just another pair of funky socks...
butthead
post Aug 16 2012, 05:37 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(minizian @ Aug 16 2012, 05:34 PM)
Do you guys stand out and ride when climibing over steep hills or just sit on saddle and push your way uphill?
that depends on the situation... short steep one where sitting in the saddle does not generate enough power.. of course... if on loose roads with lots of sand.. better not...

always keep in mind that rising out of the saddle increases your heart rate which in turns wears you down faster...

so, there is a ratio on how much you can do in or out of saddle and that is a very personal thing to individual riders...

usually... even though you don't get out of the saddle.. it is still good to do a 20 or 30 seconder to help rotate and use your other muscles a bit...

Added on August 16, 2012, 5:44 pm
QUOTE(tenno @ Aug 16 2012, 05:28 PM)

Added on August 16, 2012, 5:32 pm
I used to eat Cloud 9 for my feeding. Bananas will spoil easily, unless it was supplied by the team. When I was training on my own I relied on Cloud 9. Those days not a single energy bar/gel can be found in Malaysia, unless the team brought it in. No GNC, Guardian was around, but they dun sell energy bars... the only brand I can remember was Shaklee. Even then it was only sold thru agents...
you just do what you gotta do to survive... i think athletes nowadays have it easy... everything is available and information is abundant on the web...

i use to buy those oat bars or marshmallow rice crispies... on long rides.. oat bars are hard to take because it is dry and hard... rice crispies on the other hand is so sweet you need water to wash it down...

stupidity rocks when you are a teenager...

This post has been edited by butthead: Aug 16 2012, 05:44 PM
butthead
post Aug 16 2012, 05:55 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(minizian @ Aug 16 2012, 05:48 PM)
So how you guys did the standing up? just stand up and ride?

Wondering if the clipless pedal tension setting for everyone is tight(need more strenght to unclip) or light(easy exit)? For me i just put tension as light as pedal allow for to allow me to clip out easier.
dunno wat you meant... just stand up.. rock your bike from side to side away from your pedal downstroke...

it's hard to answer this... how each person do it is slightly different... but basically it is about finding your own rhythm doing it...

clip tension is also preference.. most people want it tight because they don't want their foot to slip out when they are violently sprinting (which is why trackies don't use clipless pedals)... generally, you progressively increase tension as your foot will sure un-clip by itself in the event of a crash...

the stuff about rider gets dragged along with the bike in a crash is pretty much a joke... the jerks involved in a crash is much more than the force you need to unclip at max tension...

but if you are scared.. then jus live with light tension first... as i say... progressive is the key point..
butthead
post Aug 16 2012, 10:20 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Aug 16 2012, 06:49 PM)
KOM 2011 result 2:05 for first, see the author got no.5 from pedaling using one gear only, means it's possible to be top 10 with a fixie!!
unfortunately... yip is not considered much of a human being...

most of the things he do will wear out even the energizer bunny....
butthead
post Aug 17 2012, 09:08 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Aug 16 2012, 11:01 PM)
if worried on the clip shoe, no harm trying with normal shoe. get the feel. also try it as much as you can with ur normal non-clip shoe on roadbike with standup position before proceed to clip shoe.

I believe, when u switch to clip shoe, you able to feel the different ! you wont want to go back to normal shoe or stationery bike...
think he already has clipless la... just whether he needs to tighten the tension up....

jus do it progressively as a big jump in tension is sometimes hard to handle even when trying to clip in...

QUOTE(sunghajung11 @ Aug 16 2012, 11:16 PM)
getting my first road bike real soon. any suggestion where i can ride, get used to my bike and cycling before joinin those group cycling?
putrajaya botanical gardens?
or anywhere in kl?
ask your nearest bike shop... they will organize rides depending on which days...

there are a whole bunch going around at night nowadays... from fixie groups to road riding ones to the weekend MTB warriors...

QUOTE(mrvenkon @ Aug 17 2012, 12:54 AM)
Hello Hello, everybody,
sorry to tell that i am not going to Malaysia this year..m(−−)m
But maybe next year,during my winter holiday (^^)..

By the way,just want to ask whether in Malaysia,
Is there anyone / anywhere
selling second hand 3-bar roller?(sorry dont know how to translate in english) sweat.gif  sweat.gif
in japanese is 三本ローラー..
http://www5.ocn.ne.jp/~bikes/elite_roller01.htm
If there is can i know how much is the price,
Thank You
Hope to see you all next year^^

Regards、
Yamato
i saw some minoura ones being sold...not sure bout the price...

http://www.minourausa.com/english/trainer-...rs-e/moz-e.html

it's just roller by the way.. or at least the way we call it in malaysia...

QUOTE(Veron83 @ Aug 17 2012, 01:08 AM)
anyone know where can I get the GIANT Anyroad bike in K.L?
that freak of nature?

not sure if anyone will be interested in bringing it in... agree with ryan3721... at the rate they operate.. hopefully next year or you can try to go and pester them in bringing it in...

by right 2013 bikes are in stores latest end of Q3 or Q4 of the previous year...

QUOTE(ryan3721 @ Aug 17 2012, 01:39 AM)
Bike Thief Gets Owned

btw any idea we can like customized/marking our bikes so we can identify it later?

Added on August 17, 2012, 1:43 am

by the rate of Malaysia Giant distributor doing their business, I would say by around mid of next year, if they ever decided to bringing in the model  whistling.gif

41 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0373sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 12:44 AM