Gardening

watabakiu
post Jul 11 2017, 09:27 PM

1,572 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jul 6 2017, 09:46 PM)
Perhaps can consider cucumbers or winter gourd? I guess it depends on what you like and what type of fence you are talking about (whether it can support the weight of fruits/vegetables which can get real big).
Some people prefer to plant butterfly peas (bunga telang) instead as these plants are low maintenance and produce striking and abundant flowers which can be used in both drinks/meals.
Some other ornamental plants like morning glory and passion flowers can be considered too
Anyway, regardless of what you choose, growing creepers may be a problem when they get "out of control"- quite cumbersome to remove them from fences laugh.gif

Do let us know what you choose in the end~
Depends on how big an area you are talking about?  hmm.gif
I suppose if you want to clear an area for you to start planting something it would be feasible. However, if you are going to plant fruits and vegetables it may be a better idea to leave the plots for a while, so that you don't end up eating chemicals  puke.gif
After that you will probably have to rely less on chemicals, which is not really good for the environment.
My fence is the sturdy metal material, so i hope it can withstand the weight of fruits/vegetables.

And yeah, bunga telang did indeed cross my mind. That, and kacang panjang. But not sure whether it is worthwhile to plant different types of plants, especially considering that their need for water/air/sun may be different.

Well, my idea is to have creeper plants with flowers that bloom all the time, it sort of beautify my area the whole year round. anyways, will let you all know what plants I end up planting, hehe

On the weed, I sprayed Roundup during late evening. And since this is a systemic type of weedkiller, i should be able to see the impact in a couple of days.
badigol
post Jul 13 2017, 11:06 PM

135 posts

QUOTE(watabakiu @ Jul 11 2017, 09:27 PM)
My fence is the sturdy metal material, so i hope it can withstand the weight of fruits/vegetables.

And yeah, bunga telang did indeed cross my mind. That, and kacang panjang. But not sure whether it is worthwhile to plant different types of plants, especially considering that their need for water/air/sun may be different.

Well, my idea is to have creeper plants with flowers that bloom all the time, it sort of beautify my area the whole year round. anyways, will let you all know what plants I end up planting, hehe
On the weed, I sprayed Roundup during late evening. And since this is a systemic type of weedkiller, i should be able to see the impact in a couple of days.
U can consider rangoon creeper if u want creepers which blooms with flowers. Its very aromatic and blooms beautiful flowers.
badigol
post Jul 15 2017, 10:36 AM

135 posts

Today I ordered 1 Set 20m Auto Timer Plant Self Watering Drip Irrigation System Kits from lazada. RM98.90

Lazada
watabakiu
post Jul 15 2017, 08:17 PM

1,572 posts

As for carpet grass, which would you guys suggest? I am looking for one that's minimal maintenance, and doesn't grow so fast!
hutazi
post Jul 17 2017, 08:55 AM

496 posts

QUOTE(watabakiu @ Jul 15 2017, 08:17 PM)
As for carpet grass, which would you guys suggest? I am looking for one that's minimal maintenance, and doesn't grow so fast!
my old place i just use those carpet type from the nursury. just flatten the land with some soil + sand and then plop those grass rectangles down.
1tanmee
post Jul 17 2017, 10:04 PM

~noMNom~
970 posts

QUOTE(watabakiu @ Jul 15 2017, 08:17 PM)
Cow grass, Philippines grass only i know got sell in Malaysia. but dunno which one best
watabakiu
post Jul 27 2017, 09:45 PM

1,572 posts

QUOTE(1tanmee @ Jul 17 2017, 10:04 PM)
Cow grass, Philippines grass only i know got sell in Malaysia. but dunno which one best
How to handle clay type ground? very ma fan to dig the ground!
1tanmee
post Jul 31 2017, 10:24 AM

~noMNom~
970 posts

Money plant should be easy to maintain?
miaopurr
post Aug 2 2017, 07:44 AM

587 posts

hi, didn't know there's a gardening club in lowyat forum. great! gonna follow this tered.
i suck at raising roses, many failed attempts. so i raise the kind i can use for cooking or can bear fruits. i have a few in my yard:
stevia, lemongrass, aloe vera, chinese chives, betel, turmeric, harbanero chili, chinese violet, pandan, lemon basil, cili padi, limau kasturi, bunga raya, belimbing buluh, mint, rambutan jarum emas, kedondong, semambu, mulberry, kari, henna, asian pigeonwings, passion fruit.

planning to add mango and bergamot.

hope to learn from sifus here.

first question wanna ask, how much water does chili plant need? a lot? frequent watering? once a day only?

This post has been edited by miaopurr: Aug 2 2017, 07:46 AM
miaopurr
post Aug 2 2017, 07:54 AM

587 posts

QUOTE(watabakiu @ Jul 27 2017, 09:45 PM)
How to handle clay type ground? very ma fan to dig the ground!
u diy? my neighbour diy initially, but gave up. he hired a bangla to do it properly. the fella dug 1 ft, removed stones and construction debris. and put layer or soil n sand.

This post has been edited by miaopurr: Aug 2 2017, 08:15 AM
hutazi
post Aug 2 2017, 09:16 AM

496 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Aug 2 2017, 07:44 AM)
hi, didn't know there's a gardening club in lowyat forum. great! gonna follow this tered.
i suck at raising roses, many failed attempts. so i raise the kind i can use for cooking or can bear fruits. i have a few in my yard:
stevia, lemongrass, aloe vera, chinese chives, betel, turmeric, harbanero chili, chinese violet, pandan, lemon basil, cili padi, limau kasturi, bunga raya, belimbing buluh, mint, rambutan jarum emas, kedondong, semambu, mulberry, kari, henna, asian pigeonwings, passion fruit.

first question wanna ask, how much water does chili plant need? a lot? frequent watering? once a day only?
i also dunno how to raise it well. but seems like need to water it everyday. and the nursury said to use goat manuere to feed it.
topearn
post Aug 4 2017, 09:23 PM

3,459 posts

I bought 5 budgrafted fruit trees last week.
RM20 each nangka , jambu madu and belimbing madu. RM18 for seedless jambu batu. The seller said will take 2-3 years to bear fruit. Is this cheap ?
The seller told me can either grow in flower pot or ground. Can suck trees really be grown on flower pots ?
badigol
post Aug 5 2017, 10:34 AM

135 posts

Hahaha... nowadays everything got madu. Classic scam.

Yes, hybrid or enginered fruit trees can be grown in large pots. But best is to grow on ground.
watabakiu
post Aug 5 2017, 06:22 PM

1,572 posts

Apparently, you only suck at raising roses, but doing well for the rest! Kudos biggrin.gif
miaopurr
post Aug 5 2017, 08:43 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(watabakiu @ Aug 5 2017, 06:22 PM)
Apparently, you only suck at raising roses, but doing well for the rest! Kudos biggrin.gif
chili not so good. wrinkled and falling leaves.
badigol
post Aug 6 2017, 11:54 AM

135 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Aug 5 2017, 08:43 PM)
chili not so good. wrinkled and falling leaves.
Hope these articles help:

Curling leaves

Falling leaves
badigol
post Aug 6 2017, 12:01 PM

135 posts

I watered only once every 3 days when my pepper plants were young. Pepper plants soil should be dry and can withstand dry soil.
When they grown bigger, I water once every day.
The correct mixture of soil is very important too. Cannot be 100% compost soil because compost soils holds water.
miaopurr
post Aug 6 2017, 04:41 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(badigol @ Aug 6 2017, 11:54 AM)
Hope these articles help:

Curling leaves

Falling leaves
QUOTE(badigol @ Aug 6 2017, 12:01 PM)
I watered only once every 3 days when my pepper plants were young. Pepper plants soil should be dry and can withstand dry soil.
When they grown bigger, I water once every day.
The correct mixture of soil is very important too. Cannot be 100% compost soil because compost soils holds water.
thanks. i guess i've been watering it too much. can overwatering cause stress too, then lead to curling? i didn't find signs of pests.

This post has been edited by miaopurr: Aug 6 2017, 04:42 PM
badigol
post Aug 6 2017, 10:53 PM

135 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Aug 6 2017, 04:41 PM)
thanks. i guess i've been watering it too much. can overwatering cause stress too, then lead to curling? i didn't find signs of pests.
Yes, overwatering leads to curling. I had experienced it when my plants were still young. There's where I started to control the watering.
miaopurr
post Aug 7 2017, 07:56 PM

587 posts

my harbanero. leaves not so good. but fruiting just just fine

29 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Top

0.0262sec    0.45    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 09:06 PM